Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Intel versus AMD; why the insane price difference?

• Registered Users Posts: 83,309 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Torqay wrote: »
    And you really believe that? DELL as OEM also has to provide support for Windows, Microsoft does not provide support for OEM-Software incl. Windows. So either DELL was utterly greedy and kept the "Windows Tax" all for themselves or the reasons are somewhat more sinister. And in light of Microsoft's track record as a bully, I am inclined to believe the latter.
    I doubt it. Today, anyway. Maybe back around the time of this lawsuit, when Dell first tried a Linux line, but after the Intel settlement, I think at worst MSFT would have seen what trouble might be in store for them if such a lawsuit ever hit them and backed off.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,301 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Back again. Rereading this thread, as I've given up on upgrading my machine, but getting a laptop for the father, and thus rereading the AMD vs Intel arguments, as all he'll use it for is movies, Excel, Word, but I would prefer quad-core as he tends to have 5 applications open at once; Excel, Logmein software, Internet Explorer (some sites still don't play well with Chrome), Sky program (golf), and some random (non-MS) database program.

Looking at the i5's, and wondering would the AMD's do a good job? Don't want to get anything that'll warm up too much, as the current (Medion) laptop has lasted about 4 years, thus I don't want him to have to get another one any time soon. Budget would be around the €600 mark, so the i5's do come into play, but none of the quad cores.

Would also prefer something that has a good name such as Lenovo or HP, etc, just as the build quality tends to be less flimsy (hinges on the screen, etc).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,835 ✭✭✭Torqay

the_syco wrote: »
    Looking at the i5's

Unlike its desktop equivalent, the mobile Core i5 processor has only 2 cores (and HT)
    I would prefer quad-core

That only leaves you the choice between the AMD A8 or A10 and Intel Core i7 3xxxQM or 4xxxMQ... not exactly a fair fight. ;)
    wondering would the AMD's do a good job?

Not really. In CPU benchmarks, the AMD A10 can compete with Intel's Ivy Bridge Core i3 processors, though AMD's HD 7660G on-chip graphics is better than Intel's HD 4000 (which hardly matters with the applications you have mentioned).

With AMD out of the picture, SOL is selling an Acer with Ivy Bridge Core i7 processor for €600*, Komplett has a Tosh with Haswell Core i7 processor and Nvidia GT 740M graphics for €800. Or have a look around at pcspecialist.co.uk, all their laptops can be configured with i7 processors, SSD and most of them can be ordered with a full HD display. They still offer the choice between Windows 7 and 8 (or save around €85, if you already have an operating system).

* expect more "stock clearance deals" on Ivy Bridge laptops in the coming weeks.

• Registered Users Posts: 18 NathanDrake

This is not exactly true, in 2011 AMD held a pretty solid market share of 20% here (24% in desktop CPUs, 17% in mobile CPUs). Which isn't really a surprise because not only are AMD servers competitively priced, they also deliver performance (which cannot be said for their laptop chips).

Having said that, I couldn't find any conclusive figures for 2012 and chances are that Intel's E5-1650 might have hurt AMD sales somewhat, since it outperforms AMD's fastest Opteron, the 6272 and costs just $18 more.

The only company Intel sees as a real competitor is Qualcomm. AMD is small fish compared to that Titan

Well, fair play to them and the best of luck... But the console market is no longer what it used to be and SONY headlines lately aren't exactly of the most favourable kind. Not that I feel particularly sorry for them. ;)

Can't tell if serious? All the Sony news has been overwhelmingly positive. Microsoft on the other hand made a complete tit of their console reveal. Practically handed the next generation to Sony on a plate.

I wrote this about 6 month ago and it was meant in respect to SONY's overall performance. The figures weren't exactly shiny back then, they were loosing out on the TV, camera and smartphone markets and had to lay off more than 10% of their workforce..

Well in that case, I agree with you! Thankfully Kaz has turned that ship around!

With AMD out of the picture, SOL is selling an Acer with Ivy Bridge Core i7 processor for €600*, Komplett has a Tosh with Haswell Core i7 processor and Nvidia GT 740M graphics for €800.
    There is a quad (i7-3630QM) Tosh, but only has Intel HD Graphics 4000. The Tosh going for €799 i7-4700QM has the 740M, though. Both are 2.4GHz. For a non gamer, would the Intel 4000 be okay, and how is Toshiba's record regarding laptops?

There is a graph (from 2011) making the rounds here, ranking Toshiba pretty much at the top (behind ASUS).

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,079 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

For what he is using it for an i7 is overkill (as long as that database isn't huge and running a lot of queries). An i5 should be more than enough. I know you want a quad core but it is overkill. You'd be better off saving the cash or spending what you save on an SSD or better quality screen.

For what he is using it for an i7 is overkill

It might be an overkill today...

I just so happen to have two 2008 laptops here, one is a Fujitsu Siemens with a Celeron 570 M and the other is a Dell Latitude with a C2D T9400. Guess which is bound for the dump and which is still standing its ground vs the likes of current Ivy Bridge Celeron and Pentium processors? ;)

Maybe overkill, but it'll last.

The i5 we looked had had 640GB rather than 500GB, and 8GB RAM rather than 4GB, and had a better graphics card. All for €20 less. He won't need a kick ass graphics card, as he doesn't game on it, and I'd say the Intel 4000 range graphics card should handle the odd mkv movies just fine, he never fills the HDD, and the RAM can be upgraded at a later stage.

I also want something that will be a noticeable speed increase, and not something that will "just about" do what the current one does now.

He got the Aldi Medion P6620 in probably 2009 with a 2.1GHz Intel Core 2 Duo T6500, with 4GB of RAM, a 320GB hard disk, and a GeForce GT 220M.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31 iamcornholio

For every day use and gaming you will not notice the difference between an i5 processor and say the 8320 processor. The i5 is a better processor but you will not notice any difference and saving money.

AMD processors are good

It seems I'm back like a bad penny :P

So, got rid of the need for touchscreens. Seems they add about €100 to the price, and also for some reason limit the resolution of the laptops? Odd. Anyhoo's, looking at the various Acer and Asus i5's and i7's. Mainly going for bang for buck now. From what ye all have been saying, the Intel graphics these days should be grand (as he won't be gaming on it), so it should be okay.

Was looking at laptopsdirect.ie for the touchscreens, but since I'm no longer looking for touchscreens, I'm going to widen the search to Elara and possibly Dell, but my father doesn't seem to be too set on getting a Dell (no trouble in the past with them, though), but he views them as out of date compared to the current competition, for the price that their tech is offered at. So pretty much anything goes. Budget is set at the €500 to €750 range, but would prefer around the €650 range I think. Current RAM isn't that important as most allow upgrading, and he wants one with USB 3 ports (I think this was another reason he dropped the touchscreen idea like a hot potatoe).

Oh, and when I suggested wiping his current laptop and reinstalling everything, he just doesn't see the point. I think he just wants rid of it, and to get a new laptop.

Budget is set at the €500 to €750 range, but would prefer around the €650 range I think. Current RAM isn't that important as most allow upgrading, and he wants one with USB 3 ports (I think this was another reason he dropped the touchscreen idea like a hot potatoe).

Look at this MSI laptop. Just outside your budget but it pretty much has it all: Haswell Core i7, 8 GB RAM, 1 TB HDD and a decent GPU... €775.

A tad bit too beyond the budget. Also it's getting bad reviews for the flimsy build quality.

Looking at the HP Pavilion, G6-2380sa which is probably what he'll get. Can't find any bad reviews about it. It is about 9 months old, which can be seen as a negative as it's old, or a plus as there isn't 1000's of people saying don't buy it.

Also came across the "HP ENVY 15-j000ea", but I can't seem to find out the max RAM. Every site just says 4GB, but it's an i5 that came out in May, so should support a lot more. No DVD drive, but a very kickass system apart from that. Also no reviews on it all, which is odd (and something I'm wary about).