Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Madeleine Lookalike Sends DNA Sample To Police

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭yermandan

Its not her then?! /unsubscribes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

Wattle wrote: »
    Ok you can call it that but from what I remember they were only a few hundred yards away and were checking on the kids every half hour or so. It's not as if they went to another town and left them alone for the whole night while they got hammered drunk.

Does it matter that they didn't? What they did had a disasterous result. You just don't ever leave toddlers and babies alone - EVER!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Still far enough away that they wouldn't hear anything. The last person to check on the Mccanns kids (If it's even true) said that he didn't even see Madeleine in her bed, it was too dark.

Also not sure who it was, but one of their check ups was listening outside the apartment. Would you really call that a check up?

You really think they were getting up every 15 min? basically while one comes back, it would be time for another to leave.

Listening outside and they never notice the window wide open and the shutter jemmied open (even though there was no evidence of this)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Maybe, maybe it's Madeleine..........:pac:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭Dontfadeaway

Boombastic wrote: »
    Listening outside and they never notice the window wide open and the shutter jemmied open (even though there was no evidence of this)

Well it depends where they listened. If they walked up to the front door, then yeah they would have seen it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

remember the PJ inspector Gonçalo Amaral, who was taken off the case, wrote a book and the McCanns were suing for libel and defamation??

01/Sept/2012
    Goncalo Amaral, 55, was the police boss who led the initial search for Maddie after her abduction in May 2007 in Praia da Luz, Portugal. He went on to write a book sold worldwide in which he claimed her parents covered up her death from an accident or overdose of sedatives. Kate and Gerry, both 44, from Rothley, Leics, said the slurs left them “totally destroyed”.
    Their lawyer, Isabel Duarte, told The Sun: “We reasonably expect compensation for the dreadful damages this book has brought the family.”
    Read more: http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/4515088/Maddie-McCann-parents-1m-bid-over-lies.html#ixzz2KGHJQMrv

28 January 2013

Kate and Gerry McCann have sued Amaral for 1.2 million euros in damages, but reports by the Lusa News Agency stated this week the case has been put on hold due to an apparent attempt by the McCanns to reach an out-of-court settlement.

Why would they want an out of court settlement? Would they not want to clear up all the lies and defamation? Very suspicious. Can they not prove what was actually printed was libelous, after all he claimed they killed her/covered up her death?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

Ok you can call it that but from what I remember they were only a few hundred yards away and were checking on the kids every half hour or so. It's not as if they went to another town and left them alone for the whole night while they got hammered drunk.
    Any responsible parents would not leave their children alone while they went for a meal and a drink ever. Ten yards or ten thousand yards it should be a no no for any parents. It was child neglect plain and simple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,895 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Any responsible parents would not leave their children alone while they went for a meal and a drink ever. Ten yards or ten thousand yards it should be a no no for any parents. It was child neglect plain and simple.

Alot of parents would eat meals while there kids are outside miles from their house, I know what your saying, as its vice versa, Kid was home, parents were out, But I think parents at home and kids out is even more dangerous, But that happens everyday, every where, though it does not give anyone right to abduct someone, The circumstances are what drives people nuts

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Jumboman

The parents are definitely hiding something.

Why was Gerry looking so happy just days after Madeleine went missing ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,803 ✭✭✭oranbhoy67

Its a disgrace the way people talk about the McCanns & make jokes at the expense of what happened to there little girl, they are innocent till proven otherwise & right now that means that as far as we are aware they have lost a child ...yet people on here are calling them scum.. id say your the scum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Boombastic wrote: »
    I didn't watch the videos, do they mention anything about using the find Madeline fund to pay their mortgage?

No.

oranbhoy67 wrote: »
    Its a disgrace the way people talk about the McCanns & make jokes at the expense of what happened to there little girl, they are innocent till proven otherwise & right now that means that as far as we are aware they have lost a child ...yet people on here are calling them scum.. id say your the scum

Have you read the police report on them ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

Every big sporting event in England it is a sure bet to see Kate and Gerry in front row seats. You have to wonder what all that is about?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 495 ✭✭bootybouncer

It was a swingers holiday /resort was it not ?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Jumboman wrote: »
    Have you read the police report on them ?

Is that the report by the same police force who officially removed them as suspects due to lack of any evidence that they committed a crime?

Although, going by the 6 second clip you posted above of Gerry McCann daring to smile, I guess they should have locked them up and thrown away the key based on that startling evidence right there.

It was a swingers holiday /resort was it not ?????

No, It was a family resort run by Mark Warners.

Although, going by the 6 second clip you posted above of Gerry McCann daring to smile, I guess they should have locked them up and thrown away the key based on that startling evidence right there.

What sort of sicko laughs and jokes just days after his daughter has allegedly been kidnapped ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭RossFixxxed

What sort of sicko laughs and jokes just days after his daughter has allegedly been kidnapped ?

Anyone in shock, anyone who forgets even momentarily the situation they are in, anyone who is on the verge of breakdown and their mind is blowing off pressure, anyone who is losing their sanity in an immesely stressful situation.

The Irish with our gallows humour, always someone laughing around funerals etc.

Laughing, even in the worst of times, doesn't mean you are super happy or is an actual sign of guilt.

We only have the botched investigation to go on, and it all looks like a shambles to me. You could make a theory out of anything. For my €0.02 they always seemed... off. The whole thing never added up right, but I wouldn't take one laugh to be a sign of absolute guilt, or madly out of the ordinary. The same thing has lead to incredibly aggrivating and tacky conspiracy theories around Sandy Hook.

You would be surprised the horrible situations you can end up laughing in, and I say that from first hand experience. It wasn't a happy laugh, it was some kind of pressure valve releasing trying to stop me completely crashing and burning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Creasy_bear

Anyone in shock, anyone who forgets even momentarily the situation they are in, anyone who is on the verge of breakdown and their mind is blowing off pressure, anyone who is losing their sanity in an immesely stressful situation.

The Irish with our gallows humour, always someone laughing around funerals etc.

Laughing, even in the worst of times, doesn't mean you are super happy or is an actual sign of guilt.

We only have the botched investigation to go on, and it all looks like a shambles to me. You could make a theory out of anything. For my €0.02 they always seemed... off. The whole thing never added up right, but I wouldn't take one laugh to be a sign of absolute guilt, or madly out of the ordinary. The same thing has lead to incredibly aggrivating and tacky conspiracy theories around Sandy Hook.

You would be surprised the horrible situations you can end up laughing in, and I say that from first hand experience. It wasn't a happy laugh, it was some kind of pressure valve releasing trying to stop me completely crashing and burning.

Gerry on the verge of a nervous breakdown? To me, that man looks like he hasn't aged a day since that night she went missing. There's defiantly something very strange about them and the whole thing. Do I think they murdered their daughter? No, I don't. But it's their fault the twins will grow up without their older sister.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭RossFixxxed

Gerry on the verge of a nervous breakdown? To me, that man looks like he hasn't aged a day since that night she went missing. There's defiantly something very strange about them and the whole thing. Do I think they murdered their daughter? No, I don't. But it's their fault the twins will grow up without their older sister.

I was just listing these off the top of my head tbh! It's impossible to tell, but things just have a weird vibe, and a cock up of an investigation doesn't help.

Leaving their children unattended and sedated does push responsibility onto them, of course. They didn't deserve THIS obviously but they didn't help at all.

There is always the chance that Maddie died due to accident/overdose. Or was abudcted. It's such a mess we'll never know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Some incredibly harsh judgements here. Yes they made a mistake in not hiring a babysitter but should the price of that be to lose their daughter forever?

A mistake? A mistake is forgetting to change your child's nappy and it gets a rash.

What they did was negligence. The whole Tapas 9 should have been investigated. But a) the McCanns were politically connected to Labour who were in power at the time and b) the British media preferred to lampoon the Portuguese Investigation rather than ask hard questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭badabing106

Team Mcann tried to stop a book being published , and a court case ensued.

Luis Neves, the head of Portugal’s anti-terrorism unit, told the court they had employed a British profiler who gave him the impression that the McCanns were guilty of involvement in Madeleine’s disappearance.
    Mr de Almeida said their suspicions about the couple appeared to be confirmed when sniffer dogs found traces of blood and the smell of death at the McCanns’ holiday apartment.
    One of the dogs was in a nervous, excitable state and wanted to get into the room, said Mr de Almeida.

He said: “Inside the apartment there were two places where the dogs gave a sign. One was in the bedroom, the other was in the dining room.
    “It was also found in the McCanns’ new apartment on a piece of clothing and in the rental car.”

Asked if it was the dog’s reaction that led police to make the McCanns formal suspects in the investigation, he said: “No, they were already suspected of simulating a kidnapping and concealing the body.”

http://www.express.co.uk/posts/view/...nt-court-hears

Here are the actual police files ending report signed by Chief Inspector Tavares de Almeida on 10th September 2007 , translated into English

Where he concludes, after analyzing all the evidence gathered, that the child is dead and the parents were responsible for cadaver occultation

http://www.mccannpjfiles.co.uk/PJ/TAVARES_ALMEIDA.htm

Summarized further with illustrations

http://jillhavern.forumotion.net/t21...da-illustrated

Heres the book the mccanns tried to censor.

http://goncaloamaraltruthofthelie.blogspot.ie/

Heres the book the mccanns tried to censor.

http://goncaloamaraltruthofthelie.blogspot.ie/

Full of theory and hypothesis. He made a nice bit of money out of it too.

He didnt make any money out of it hes now bankrupt and lives with his parents.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 809 ✭✭✭frankosw

I hear the Mc Canns are making a movie about the whole incident.

It's called "Honey I Murdered The Kid"

He didnt make any money out of it hes now bankrupt and lives with his parents.

It's reported he made over 300k between his book and his DVD. I suspect if he's now broke, it's because of legal fees and restrictions on the sale of his book.
    He was also hundreds of thousands of Euros in debt before the McCann case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭Ann22

I wouldn't necessarily attach a sinister motive to meeting the Pope. They were probably desperate that the case get as wide a publicity as possible all over the world because if the child were abducted then she could possibly have been transported outside of Europe (This girl giving the DNA lives in New Zealand which is about as far away from Portugal that you can get).

As for leaving Portugal after a few weeks it's possible that they were advised to do that. The police were in charge of the investigation and the McCann's are not trained police. There was probably only so much they could do. They also had young children and they may have felt like it was unfair to keep them in a foreign country under such fraught circumstances.

Eh... They left their kids in Portugal when they went travelling.

It wouldn't matter how many cops told me to go off travelling round the world, no way would I leave my children there:mad:.

As for the McCanns doing what the police advised them to do...they were warned by the police not to publicise Madeleine's eye defect as it would put her life in danger but they chose to ignore it. Also, Kate complained about the police car speeding when they were racing to a place where they were informed there was a sighting:confused:. If they didn't want to leave the country they wouldn't have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭The Th!ng

Fingers crossed that the lookalike's DNA is partially that of a horse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭Ann22

That's the first I've ever heard of that. There's no evidence on the night that she was abducted that they left the children alone for anything like two hours. They were checking regularly.

Witness statement of Pamela Fenn PJ Files

Processo IX, pages 2412 to 2414

Date: 2007/08/20
    Time: 15H30

Comes before the Court as a witness.

Being of British nationality and in spite of living in Portugal, does not have knowledge of the Portuguese language in its oral and written form, therefore a police interpreter is present, LIEVE VAN LOOCK.

Thus, according to the facts noted in the files, she says that she has lived in the apartment since 2003, which is located on the upper floor, immediately above the room from which the child disappeared.

She states that on the day of the 1st May 2007, when she was at home alone, at approximately 22H30 she heard a child cry, and that due the tone of the crying seemed to be a young child and not a baby of two years of age or younger.

Apart from the crying that continued for approximately one hour and fifteen minutes, and which got louder and more expressive, the child shouted "Daddy, Daddy", the witness had no doubt that the noise came from the floor below. At about 23H45, an hour and fifteen minutes after the crying began, she heard the parents arrive, she did not see them, but she heard the patio doors open, she was quite worried as the crying had gone on for more than an hour and had gradually got worse.

When questioned, she said that she did not know the cause of the crying, perhaps a nightmare or another destabilising factor.

As soon as the parents entered the child stopped crying.

That night she contacted a friend called XXXX XXXX, who also lives in Praia da Luz, after 23H00, telling her about the situation, who was not surprised at the childs crying.

etc:(

If I thought my child had been crying for 10mins without me I'd be sick to my heart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,917 ✭✭✭✭GT_TDI_150

I have an eye defect similar to maddys, i was always told my eye was damaged by a stone when i was small, should i get my dna checked?

Would i want these people as my parents knowing how they treated their small children while on hols?!

PS: i really do have an eye defect similar to maddies but im a 34yr old male ...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 809 ✭✭✭frankosw

I hate the Mc canns..i hate Gerry in particular,a pair of supposedly distraught parents merchandising images of thier daughter for profit.

Then there are little hints...on the Late late Show,Tubridy asked them what would they "say to people who might,y'know think that,like youse mighta something to do with Maddie's disappearance?"

to which they *both* choroused "Read the book"...

Then Kate spoke at length about how the numerous reported sightings of thier supposedly-abducted daugher were "probably not true".

A spot of smugness there perhaps?

To my mind these people are perjurors,liars and very probably killers..had the "kidnapping" occured in england,and been investigated by British police(as opposed to a Manuel-Spic-Dago Johnny Foreigner that the british public regards as a bunch of oily incompetants) the pair of them would be in jail now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

Senna wrote: »
    They deserve all the anguish and pain that comes with losing a child.

Anyone that would genuinely say and mean that, is disturbed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,917 ✭✭✭✭GT_TDI_150

My main reason for not liking them is the Late Late show interview where one of them answered a question with something along the lines of "its in the book" or "read the book" - wtf?!?

Are you trying to find your little girl or sell ur book?!?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Good Lord what happened to innocent until proven guilty???

And since when does smiling make you a child killer?

Seriously some of you here want to rethink what you're posting.

frankosw wrote: »

To my mind these people are perjurors,liars and very probably killers..had the "kidnapping" occured in england,and been investigated by British police(as opposed to a Manuel-Spic-Dago Johnny Foreigner that the british public regards as a bunch of oily incompetants) the pair of them would be in jail now.

Guilty until proven innocent eh?

Gotta love how armchair judge and jury's minds work...It's almost as if you were actually there and saw what happened that night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,762 ✭✭✭✭dubstarr

If half of Potugal hadnt trampled over the crime scene maybe they could have got something.And maybe teh parents and friends actually told the truth she could have been found by now.

After all whats a slap on the wrist by telling the truth by how long they were actually away compared to never seeing their daughter again.

Also how do the other kids feel knowing that they left them you cant ask madeline but you can ask them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭kingtiger

frankosw wrote: »

sweet Jesus :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

I've always found Gerry McCann a little suspicious. He always talks about the whole event in a very clinical, kind of straight-forward way, whereas the wife seems a lot more on her nerves to me. I don't know whether they were involved or not, but I've always had the feeling they know more than they're letting on. At the very least, they're guilty of negligence. The Portuguese police should be shouldering some of the responsibility too for how terribly they dealt with the case. Farcical really.

As for the little girl, if she was taken, I would be very, very surprised if they ever see or hear anything about her again. I'd say she was killed within the first few days of going missing, if she was indeed snatched. The media frenzy around the whole thing would have made it almost impossible for an abductor to hold onto her without panicking or being found out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I wonder will we ever know the truth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭jsbj

Has the little girl in New Zeland been checked to see if she has a mole on the back of her leg ? This mark appeared in the police report from the description given on the first night she disappeared. To my knowledge it has never again been mentioned and no publicity generated for it, unlike the famous eye defect which was "a good marketing ploy" according to Mr McCann. Ms Healy has more recently stated that the eye defect "was just a fleck" and that they "never made much of it". Funny that with quite a big video production made, t shirts printed, all with the look into my eye catch phrase.

Surely a mole on the back of her leg is far more helpful to the average man on the street, seeing a small child who may look like Madeleine, without having to get up close and personal and stare into her face and frighten the be jaysus out of her. Of course it will not always be visible if wearing trousers.

It has always bothered me though that it was never given to members of the public to help with identification.

The debate about the parents being right or wrong in leaving her alone is a ship that has long since sailed and one that plays right into the hands of Healy and McCann, diverting attention from the true debate and discussion about their story.

It is not about them and their suffering. A little girl went on holiday and never returned. Regardless of what happened it was she who suffered at that time and in the unlikely event she is still alive will continue to suffer.

This latest press story is just another well timed piece to divert attention away from the recent court hearing in UK tied into yet another one of their money generating libel trials.

The fund no longer needs to function for the search for the child. It no longer employs detectives, Scotland Yard are conducting a multi million pound review at the tax payers expense. All the while the limited company set up as the "fund" continues to operate.

The bottom line with this story is that there are many questions that need to be answered by the parents, not least the 48 Ms Healy refused to answer in her police interview. If they truly wanted to find their daughter they could start with those, then move onto a reconstruction they have so far refused to take part in. That would be much more beneficial than sitting on chat show sofas telling us to buy a book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭12gauge dave

i just watchd the late late interview there and i havent looked too much into it to be honest so cant comment too much!

my thoughts are that the parents dont have anything to do with it to be honest but stranger things have happened i guessed!

the fact they were there with friends with other kids and were goin round checking eachothers kids puts a spanner in the works for me against say if they were there holidaying alone but again i havent looked into it too much

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

TBH I dunno quite who to believe, though in cases like these cops worldwide have learned to look first at the parents. Experience and history has shown this to be a good bet.

So who do I tend to believe? The sniffer dog. It has no axe to grind, no motive either way and it strongly indicated the smell of blood and a body in the apartment and most of all in their hire car. The hire car being the damning one.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Wibbs wrote: »
    TBH I dunno quite who to believe, though in cases like these cops worldwide have learned to look first at the parents. Experience and history has shown this to be a good bet.

So who do I tend to believe? The sniffer dog. It has no axe to grind, no motive either way and it strongly indicated the smell of blood and a body in the apartment and most of all in their hire car. The hire car being the damning one.

Axes to grind and motives still are possible with sniffer dogs though, since their non motivated actions, reactions, and control is still reported by, and under the supervision of people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Creasy_bear

Bruthal wrote: »

Axes to grind and motives still are possible with sniffer dogs though, since their non motivated actions, reactions, and control is still reported by, and under the supervision of people.

In over 200 cases Eddie (the dog)had never given a bad alert. Straight away the McCanns said the dogs were wrong and pointed to a case in the states, whereby a dog give a wrong alert. A few months later it turned out the dog was right. Eddie also worked with the FBI in some cases.

In over 200 cases Eddie (the dog)had never given a bad alert. Straight away the McCanns said the dogs were wrong and pointed to a case in the states, whereby a dog give a wrong alert. A few months later it turned out the dog was right. Eddie is still working to this day. With the FBI in some cases.

Im not disputing anything about the dog. This case seems strange in some ways.

But once humans are in the chain between sniffer dog and people`s tv sets, nothing is certain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 754 ✭✭✭repsol

If the McCanns had been Wayne and Waynetta from some council block of flats instead of members of the medical profession their other kids would have been put in care due to their obviously negligent parenting.

Wibbs wrote: »

Add to that the immediate jumping-on-the-silly-foreign-police by the English media and the whole thing stinks.

repsol wrote: »
    If the McCanns had been Wayne and Waynetta from some council block of flats instead of members of the medical profession their other kids would have been put in care due to their obviously negligent parenting.

I doubt that. It would have been another disappeared child, and little else would have been heard about it after the sky news frenzy and vulture burley die down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭12gauge dave

Whats the story with the sniffer dog exactly?