Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ireland v Poland, International Friendly. SS2 KO 7:45pm.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Forde's distribution has been poor. Very uncomfortable on the ball.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 605 ✭✭✭Lemmy Scott

Poles have 12 players-mcshanes setting up loads of chances for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

LOL, the poles should be about 3 ahead at this stage.
    Fair bit of bite out there tonight in the tackles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

Ok what we learned from tonight is Forde is not the answer. 2 horrible kicks already, got away luckily with both

donfers wrote: »
    we really are a fabulous side when we're on song, few can live with us when we're in this mood and certainly not the swan-eaters

Too true.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭Rezident

Hilarious dive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭dorkacle

Can't believe we are in front hah... COYBIG!

Forde is looking decent atleast!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,258 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

also can we get off mcshane's back - ok he's not a silky smooth brazilian sweeper but he is as talented as a rock, tough as nails and the type of enforcer that every team needs

Fixed that for ya...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Always worth a post.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,948 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

Situations like this convince Trap that the "system" actually works.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

What the fuck was that from Whelan? He actually looks half decent when he plays with Stoke but looks like a LOI player when he puts on an Irish jersey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭franglan

Forde needs to figure out if he's coming for crosses or not, otherwise he's going to end up in no mans land with the ball in the net.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

What the fuck was that from Whelan? He actually looks half decent when he plays with Stoke but looks like a LOI player when he puts on an Irish jersey.

He leaves his brain at Stoke id say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭dorkacle

Ah heya polish 'talent'! :eek:

EDIT: Highlight of the game so far!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 605 ✭✭✭Lemmy Scott

Mcleans a headless chicken.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

If Sammon continues to display the same explosive performances as he is tonight then it won't be long before the barcelonas and real madrids come calling - a class act who has been criminally ignored for a while now, ahead of doyle and keane in the pecking order for me

• Registered Users Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

surprised more folk are not watching the England v Brazil game seeing as most of ye seem to do nowt but whinge about quality, and not being entertained enough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Filthy by Glik on McClean, scumbag tackle with no place in football.

If Sammon continues to display the same explosive performances as he is tonight then it won't be long before the barcelonas and real madrids come calling - a class act who has been criminally ignored for a while now, ahead of doyle and keane in the pecking order for me

His footballing intelligence is unparalleled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭markie29

Simon Zebo showed more soccer skill for the rugby team on Saturday than any of these Irish players today

• Registered Users Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭roanoke

Interesting first half. No way Ireland deserve a lead on balance. Forde has probably been our best player so far. McShane his usual headless self. Right before half-time seen in CM doing a "Gerrard" pass back to the goalie. Himself and Ward should open a travel agency.

It's kind of counter-intuitive that Ireland did nothing up to the goal and then actually opened up and started playing AFTER 1-0.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

Glick is a pretty filthy player, he does know this is a friendly, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

Filthy by Glik on McClean, scumbag tackle with no place in football.

He is lucky to still be on the pitch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭EdenHazard

Kinda ironic isn't it given Stoke's reputation, he starts for them and he certainly isn't a bruiser type midfielder, I'd see him as a player who likes to pass it and he's not exactly imposing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Psychedelic

Peter Collins: "It's been an entertaining first half."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

Think Forde is doing well so far, has had a few shaky moments but made some good saves...

Also McClean in defense has been good, some positives to come out of the first half all considered...mainly when you consider the polish side out against us

markie29 wrote: »
    Simon Zebo showed more soccer skill for the rugby team on Saturday than any of these Irish players today
    "Soccer".

GTFO

Solid first half. Hope we sit back even further in the second half and hold onto the win. Would be a huge win for Trap and the system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,520 ✭✭✭Dubh Geannain

Solid first half. Hope we sit back even further in the second half and hold onto the win. Would be a huge win for Trap and the system.

Any further back they'll be in the stand with the fans

"Soccer".

GTFO

last time i looked i was in the soccer forum

this would be brilliant for our fifa ranking alright - we've slipped a bit in recent times but this result would be huge, hope we can hold out and pick up the points

so far they have been incredibly brave and committed especially in such a hostile environment - yes the quality could be better but they are understandably tense and often in these big games it's about competing rather than stepovers and nutmegs

markie29 wrote: »

last time i looked i was in the soccer forum
    Touché.

**** people who call it soccer though.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Madam

Touché.

Or 'footie';)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Ray said the lad that when studs up into McClean would have been sent off if there were points on offer tonight,regardless of that he should have got the line no attempt to play the ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,245 ✭✭✭✭briany

Just watching a highlight reel on one of the Arabic streams. Why the techno music?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭Max Power

Touché.

You must have little to be worrying about.

briany wrote: »
    Just watching a highlight reel on one of the Arabic streams. Why the techno music?

Make McShane's menacing defending seem more intense.

come on guys, stop sniping and support the team

we can be a force again but all of us need to get back on the horse

ireland play better when whipped up into a frenzy

intense, pressurised football is what we do best and we need your backing for that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

Touché.

You do know where the name "soccer" comes from, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,245 ✭✭✭✭briany

Why not just call it association football or is that a mouthful for some?

hopefully the half-time teamtalk is going well and that translator bird is firing up the lads

• Registered Users Posts: 1,948 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

Paul Green. Sweet jesus

• Registered Users Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭roanoke

hopefully the half-time teamtalk is going well and that translator bird is firing up the lads

Ah Traps instructions to the lads are fairly straightforward.

you-shall-not-pass.jpg?w=300&h=181

Paul Green on to boss the second half.

its ok lads Paul Green coming on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭sonic85

paul green. sweet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,800 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Green on :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

Honestly, Paul Green? Why not Hendrick?

green and mcshame seem to be the targets for the boo-boys and lads I agree they aren't technically world class but you can't fault their work ethic or determination

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

I always feel like Trappatoni is slapping me in the face whenever i see Paul Green in an Ireland jersey.

Paul Green, good stuff. We needed a ball player in the middle of the park.