Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Xbox One - General Discussion (NO DISCUSSION REGARDING PS4 - MOD WARNING Post 6903)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,419 ✭✭✭FAILSAFE 00

Otacon wrote: »
    Not to bring the PS4 into this conversation again, but they have confirmed that voice commands for it will work through its camera AND via the headset. Not sure why Microsoft haven't done the same thing.
    Seems a bit odd why PS would do that. Why would the mic need to hear voice commands if the camera already hears them. I suppose maybe its for if someone was whispering and doesn't want to say 'Xbox! Go to porn'

• Registered Users Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Seems a bit odd why PS would do that. Why would the mic need to hear voice commands if the camera already hears it.

F-all people are gonna have that camera. If I can get a good price for my killzone bundle one... Gone!

Grayditch wrote: »
    F-all people are gonna have that camera. If I can get a good price for my killzone bundle one... Gone!
    Of course, I forgot the camera sensor isn't bundled in the standard edition. So some people will have it and others won't.

And I stil ain't gonna use voice controls, on either console. It makes me feel awkward. More power to the people who get use out of it, though.

I am looking forward to saying 'xbox record' and then 'upload' after seeing something cool in a game, it looks very fast.

By the time I'm picking up an Xbox in the new year, I might have changed. I don't even do it in single player squad games with voice commands. I'm pretty sure the Xbox will have voice control nailed anyway.

It's 2013, I thought it would be standard on everything including toasters by now.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭Xenji

Xbox One and Kinect video shows off voice dashboard navigation.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,352 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

By the time I'm picking up an Xbox in the new year, I might have changed. I don't even do it in single player squad games with voice commands. I'm pretty sure the Xbox will have voice control nailed anyway.

It's 2013, I thought it would be standard on everything including toasters by now.

Xbox, Toast.

Still ain't using that camera. I'm don't trust MS with data gathering, despite what they say. I think its too much of a temptation for them. Skype, Google, all the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

One positive for xbox one is the price... reason is thats what will seal deal for parents buying little kids console so enjoy the screaming 10 year olds xenji you are welcome to them... the xbox one is a gamers machine decent controller too itsnot for those with little hands and youknow what they say about men with little hands lads ;)

k-bigpic.jpg

Ha. That's the first time I've seen them side by side.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭Xenji

Any chance I can get a Gamecube version of that and use it on the other halves X1 :D

• Registered Users Posts: 10,216 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

Still ain't using that camera. I'm don't trust MS with data gathering, despite what they say. I think its too much of a temptation for them. Skype, Google, all the same.

I personally will never use kinect 2 as when i game its one of a few games i play regular. And as far as i know none of them need kinect to play. I do not get the conspiracy theories that microsoft will use kinect to gather info of some sort tbh its a little bit tinfoil hat wearing club.

Although i hate the idea of it if i am honest

• Registered Users Posts: 10,216 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

RasTa wrote: »
    k-bigpic.jpg

Well i can see where it is wider but thats because of the touchpad i imagine but where you hold the controllr eitherbside is same as ds3 is it? Plus the analogue sticks are at a very unatural place to use which was always an issue for me with the ps3 controllers

• Registered Users Posts: 45,874 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

NOt trying to bait anyone - but the PS4 controller is so fugly. Looks like a cheap knock-off controller. I'm getting a PS4 so I'll get used to it, but DAMN, its fugly.

I do not get the conspiracy theories that microsoft will use kinect to gather info of some sort tbh its a little bit tinfoil hat wearing club.

It's not at all. It's 2013. Information is a commodity. If you don't mind your info being used to advertise back at you or sold to other companies, then you've nothing to worry about. Personally I don't like the idea. Nothing tin foil hat about it, I think that's a buzz term you've latched onto there.

Microsoft have said Kinect wont be used in that way.

Kinect will be taken apart by hackers within minutes of the X1 release, and if that type of data is being tracked and uploaded to MS - it will be found out very quickly and MS will be in an absolute sh1tstorm. Can't imagine they are lying, far to much to lose.

Yeah, Microsoft say a lot of things. Time will tell, but I have to say, I won't be flapping my hands, or spinning an imaginary hulahoop in front of the thing, either way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

NOt trying to bait anyone - but the PS4 controller is so fugly. Looks like a cheap knock-off controller. I'm getting a PS4 so I'll get used to it, but DAMN, its fugly.

For the United fan http://cdn.dualshockers.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/10/PS4_Magma_Red_Color_Variation_15.jpg

Yeah, Microsoft say a lot of things. Time will tell, but I have to say, I won't be flapping my hands, or spinning an imaginary hulahoop in front of the thing, either way.

neither will i, cause I dislike those types of games, but i won't be putting the kinect sensor in a lead lined box or something either!

I think it looks quite alien, alright. Reports that it feels great in the hands dont surprise me, though.

neither will i, cause I dislike those types of games, but i won't be putting the kinect sensor in a lead lined box or something either!

I'll be putting it on Adverts :) It'll be safe there.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 7,401 Mod ✭✭✭✭pleasant Co.

A bit of masking tape would work just fine :P don't know why some people think there's something suspicious or conspiracy worthy about not wanting to allow data about yourself be collected by someone else, feckin bizarre reaction in my book.

so you will be disconecting your console completely from XBOX Live and not playing online, so they can't find out what games you play, and for how long, and who with.

I just don't think the Kinect will represent any information risk over what you already agree to.

I don't think it will be scanning my tshirts for logos or anything like that.

The same way people think the Government are a great bunch of lads. I'd never get at someone who remains oblivious to this kinda thing, that's their business and I'm not preachy, but it takes a bit of a weirdo to get at the people who like to keep their data private as possible.

"Oh yeah, bunch of looneys, sure everything is grand!"

so you will be disconecting your console completely from XBOX Live and not playing online, so they can't find out what games you play, and for how long, and who with.

That kind of data, I can live with. Personalised dashboard ads based in what games you play etc. That's unavoidable, but that camera is seriously powerful. Some will take the chance or not mind, some will disconnect it. Neither party should be either preached at or ridiculed. It's a personal choice. I'm just glad you can unhook it. It was what was stopping me buying one.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭wampyrus77

[h=2]Xbox One graphics currently output in 900p worse than PS4′s 1080p then how it come more expensive then ps4[/h]http://www.extremetech.com/gaming/168630-xbox-one-graphics-output-in-900p-worse-than-ps4s-1080p

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,352 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

wampyrus77 wrote: »
    [h=2]Xbox One graphics currently output in 900p worse than PS4′s 1080p then how it come more expensive then ps4[/h]http://www.extremetech.com/gaming/168630-xbox-one-graphics-output-in-900p-worse-than-ps4s-1080p

There's so much factually inaccurate information in there that I had to stop reading.

I'm loving this console war. It's made Microsoft change so many ridiculous restrictions it had in place, and it's made Sony actually try hard at launch this time around.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭bur

Only thing MS can do at this point to make a customer out of me is by offering a kinect-less SKU that brings the price down to match the PS4.