Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Xbox One - General Discussion (NO DISCUSSION REGARDING PS4 - MOD WARNING Post 6903)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭Xenji

Of course its ok. I encourage people to do so. I had a slight issue with the dpad with my controller ok now but still an issue.

I think you know why people are calling you out for what your doingnits just constant negativity from you. Well thats the way I am seeing it I might be missing your positive posts but when im reading the thread I generally see negative posts or linkd from you..

Xbox go to youporn... ;)

I have no issues as it is always the same two people :pac: other people do not seem to have a problem, so it does not bother me :) due to a funeral I have yet to see my other half's console, I was curious as to see if people had the same issue as she wants to use the function.......but hey let the same people have a personal attack :rolleyes: (not you)

• Registered Users Posts: 9,202 ✭✭✭maximoose

No problems with discs for me, been switching between FIFA and COD regularly and no problems.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭Stone Deaf 4evr

Xenji wrote: »
    Would it not be better to discuss the issue like others have and not have another go at me, you know it is ok to discuss issues relating to the console in its own forum don't you :rolleyes:

Fair enough discussing an issue but It can come across like taking any excuse to have a go at the console, I've unsubbed from this thread in the past cause it was a storm of negativity. You can understand too that people who have just forked out about 560 euros for a console may be a bit defensive too.

plus, the console wars, man!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,212 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

tony1980 wrote: »
    All working fine for me too. Loving the console actually, I am really enjoying DR3 and I am pleasantly surprised with Forza as Racing Sims wouldn't usually be my type of game! The Kinect is working really well for me except when I say XBOX, Record that. Must not like my lovely Limerick Accent :D , seems to work ok for everything else though!

Canto you big culchie ;)

Xbox doesnt support limerick slang like

Xbox record my tackies

Or

Xbox go buy me a slab....

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

I might be missing your positive posts but when im reading the thread I generally see negative posts or linkd from you..

He posts plenty of positive links and content. I think people are just a bit too keen to attack the negative stuff.

Not saying he doesn't take any joy in posting the negative stuff but he does post plenty of both.

In any case people need to stop treating their Xbox as their first-born and not be so protective when someone criticises it or highlights its short-comings, of which there are plenty given the list of features that are "coming soon".

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

281867.png

The iss ue I had was the right dpad button was unresponsive and spongy.. ms have said I can return itbto store and get a new controller or if I want the day one controller will take a couple of weeks to get to me..

Ill wait as not a major issue and the dpad isnt something I usevthat often

• Registered Users Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭tony1980

Canto you big culchie ;)

Xbox record my tackies

Or

I was in a party with two of the lads the other night and it was funny as we all seemed to struggle with that function except Failsafe with his proper posh accent ;) Now where was I, oh ya, XBOX - Make the Tea, two sugars and feed the child something after that, whatever keeps them quiet :D

Failsafe talkingbthe talk and walking the walk.. wearing his smoking jacket. Running his mansion with several slaves.

Xbox inform the servants that one is feeling quite peckish ;)

Ok, In the interest of not appearing one sided, heres what I feel about the xbox one so far.

Pros - the UI and Kinect voice commands are great and work pretty perfectly 95% of the time. it'll completely blow away the technologically unaware. I use voice commands everywhere I can. The speed of app switching is great and the snap function is cool to watch a bit of tv while a game is loading - you can also use it to control the volume on your tv.Facial recognition and the code scanning is fantastic, its so quick and resposive. The ability to play games as they download or install is a cool feature. Gesture commands work very well also. The "record that" function is something that I think will really take off. Graphics and sound are amazing on battlefield and forza, but I picked these because I felt they were the greatest jump forward from the 360.

Cons - Theres no denying that certain aspects of the software is buggy, games quit to dashboard with no explanation given. The friends list / activity feed is a complete mess. Its hard to seperate whos online on xbox one and whos still on 360. The HDMI in from your satellite box - you need to have the console on to watch tv at any time once you connect this - probably not the most energy efficient solution. The controller feels light in my hands and the thumbsticks are a bit smaller than i'd ideally prefer.The achievements section is now in an app of its own and it has too many layers / screens to navigate through to see what it is you just unlocked. If anything the've made the "x" button on the centre of the controller useless because that quick menu type thing that they had on 360 is gone now - this makes certain menus difficult to find.The communicator headset is (imo) uncomfortable.

summary - I'm very happy with it, but there are definitely signs of where the software has been rushed to meet the launch date. I'm excited to see where it goes in the future and would recommend it to anyone.

I added the friends I know who have the xbox one as Favourites as a work around to know who is online on the xbox one. You can change the view back very easily.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,563 ✭✭✭✭peteeeed

Canto you big culchie ;)

Xbox record my tackies

Or

fif14 has love for the irish accent , although i wanted to take off eto and it brought off oscar but its all good :)

I love the voice commands in FIFA, work surprisingly well.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,476 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

People complaining about some things being buggy is surely something that will be fixed by updates in the future as more users experience them. Isn't this normal?

Seems to me that people are finding the UI and dashboard to be quite good and better more suited to the XBOX then it's Windows 8 PC brother.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,839 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Superior Playstationer here (jk) looking for some advice. Has anyone got both AC Black Flag and NBA 2K14 for Xbox One? I can't decide which one to get for the PS4 on launch. Seeing as ye have the console for a few days now, might be the right people to ask which is better?

I like both series, bar AC 3, but just wondering if you have both, what are you playing more?

Thanks!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,798 ✭✭✭MiskyBoyy

sheehy83 wrote: »
    Superior Playstationer here (jk) looking for some advice. Has anyone got both AC Black Flag and NBA 2K14 for Xbox One? I can't decide which one to get for the PS4 on launch. Seeing as ye have the console for a few days now, might be the right people to ask which is better?

I like both series, bar AC 3, but just wondering if you have both, what are you playing more?

Thanks!

You can download demo for NBA 2k14 on Xbox. 9gb tho! lol

• Registered Users Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭Nolars

maximoose wrote: »
    I love the voice commands in FIFA, work surprisingly well.

I haven't even tryed them myself yet. is there a list somewhere

murpho999 wrote: »
    People complaining about some things being buggy is surely something that will be fixed by updates in the future as more users experience them. Isn't this normal?

Seems to me that people are finding the UI and dashboard to be quite good and better more suited to the XBOX then it's Windows 8 PC brother.

eh, not really, its hardly too much to ask to be able to play a game is it? Im literally gone back to playing COD ghosts on my xbox 360 because battlefield 4 quits at completley random intervals and your progress isn't saved. Dont get me wrong, the game looks and sounds STUNNING, but I've limited time to play and want to make that time count, So I'll just wait until its stabilized before going back at it.

I havent used a windows 8 pc, but if its anything like the xbox one dash, I could see it working well in a tablet - a desktop, maybe not so much.

BF4 is suffering big issues across all the consoles though, I think some patch was due out the last few days but nothing yet, so hopefully it will be resolved soon.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,618 ✭✭✭Mr Freeze

BF4 is suffering big issues across all the consoles though, I think some patch was due out the last few days but nothing yet, so hopefully it will be resolved soon.

Dice are offering double XP from Nov 28th to Dec 5th as an apology for all the issues. Hopefully they have the issues fixed by then, so you don't have any issues during that period.
    "To show its appreciation for players' "patience," DICE is offering double experience for every multiplayer match played between Nov. 28 and Dec. 5. DICE will also give any player that logs in on Dec. 5 a M1911 pistol scope, which was previously reserved for DICE developers."

Nolars wrote: »
    I haven't even tryed them myself yet. is there a list somewhere

In the pre-match screen there's an option for KINECT HELP or something like that, gives you the list in there

Off top of my head:

Substitution
    Swap wings
    Run On
    Formation 1, 2, 3 etc
    Defensive/Balanced/Ultra attacking

maximoose wrote: »
    In the pre-match screen there's an option for KINECT HELP or something like that, gives you the list in there

Off top of my head:

Substitution
    Swap wings
    Run On
    Formation 1, 2, 3 etc
    Defensive/Balanced/Ultra attacking

yeah and quite useful too , will only get better as everyone gets used to it

• Registered Users Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭shuffles03

I just logged into my Xbox account on my comp and none of my Xbox One history is there. It's only showing 360 info (which is from ages ago). When I log in with the Smart Glass app on my phone, all is good though. My account when viewed on a computer has no history of my Xbox One whatsoever.

Any ideas? Do I need to register the Xbox One under 'Manage Devices' for it to appear? If so, how would it be appearing on my phone?

Just logged on there myself and its the same, but it tells you to use smartglass to check your xbox one activity. Id assume this is another instance of waiting a while to get the software up and running to get the two feeds merged into one.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,058 ✭✭✭shuffles03

I'll try registering the One as a device when I get home later tonight to see if anything changes.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭ibFoxer

peteeeed wrote: »

Actually just tried there now, everything working perfectly thankfully.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,798 ✭✭✭MiskyBoyy

foxerv1 wrote: »
    Actually just tried there now, everything working perfectly thankfully.

Yeah mine works perfectly too and so do any of my friends who purchased ONE. With any new piece of hardware there's going to be SOME cases of faults. It's not that many really, it's just internet sensationalism.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭Tippex

peteeeed wrote: »

Yep it works fine. was a blue ray and no issues with the playback either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭firestarter51

is killer instinct any good, i just spotted its free on the store

its free for 1 character , in game purchases for the rest