Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Blog log-in for sitewide profile

Options
  • 06-02-2013 9:32pm
    Registered Users Posts: 12,746 ✭✭✭✭

Hi,

So I'm embarking on a mission to create a website with user profiles. That bit doesn't hugely bother me as it's a pretty common task these days (tutorials ahoy!) and I've some experience doing it.

What I'm wondering about is using those same profiles on the site's blog for commenting etc.

I was planning to use Wordpress for the blog, but I've never tried using Wordpress with any database that Wordpress didn't first create.

So, can I edit the wordpress generated database to contain more info, or can I get the blog to reference the site database?

I guess, to boil it all down, I'm just wondering how handy Wordpress is to integrate into a bigger database setup. Or maybe there's a better CMS than Wordpress for this?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭KonFusion

Fewcifur wrote: »
    So, can I edit the wordpress generated database to contain more info, or can I get the blog to reference the site database?

Both!

As for whether wordpress is the best solution, I've no idea.

Best of luck :)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,746 ✭✭✭✭FewFew

KonFusion wrote: »
    Both!

As for whether wordpress is the best solution, I've no idea.

Best of luck :)

Both are doable? Ah sure that's grand. Wasn't sure if Wordpress was a bit annoying about the sanctity of its database.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭brimal