Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Arrival

• 08-02-2013 4:41pm

Something large just got delivered to my house,:D:D
    something quite large.
    I wonder what it could be?
    Need to get out of work!20mins left
    Pics to follow............................

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 29,832 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

*insert anti Mystery Get sentiment here*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,726 ✭✭✭The Last Bandit

urbanledge wrote: »
    Something large just got delivered to my house,:D:D
    something quite large.
    I wonder what it could be?
    Need to get out of work!20mins left
    Pics to follow............................

My credit card bill ?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,509 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Maybe his/her next door neighbour bought a cab and asked for it to be left at urban's gaff if there was no answer. Ouch! :pac:

My credit card bill ?
    Nearly
    My credit card bill next month :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

*insert anti Mystery Get sentiment here*

No need, its obviously a CD-i. Besides Mystery GET! posts are really fun!

/end anti mystery GET! sarcasm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,387 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Your wife has given birth to a really big fat baby? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭TechnoFreek

A cab. But which one?

Naomi of some sort is my guess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭safetyboy

Blast city?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭Los Lobos

I'm saying nothing! :D

Also - I hate you! :p

:D:D:D:D
    2013-02-08%252016.37.09.jpg

Now,how the **** am I going to get this into my dining room!
    CP is off but still 2" too wide!
    ha ha ha

Lovely cab urban! :cool:

Master of the Universe

Yay! Congrats! I'd say you're delighted!

As for needing extra door space, take the door off the hinges! :D

Edit - I'd love to see a graph of the importation of Japanese candy cabs in Ireland over the last few years.

Thanks lads,
    Got it into place,
    Now we have a problem,
    switched her on and the screen is blank?
    any ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭CathalDublin

Try a different board? chase cables back to monitor an make sure they are all plugged in.

thanks cathal,
    this is wrecking my head

i dont have any other boards either

No familiar with the layout of candies but can you see the neck of the monitor, is it glowing?
    Is the game playing blind?

Give me a sec,
    Any idea what dip should be on a neo geo main board?

Master of the Universe

Is the monitor black and not powering on or is it on but with no picture?

You should get the test screen with just the neo geo board plugged in without game
    Not sure the dips, what model board is it?

Is it a JVS - Jamma converter?

Are you hearing game sound? You using a step down or was it converted to 240v?

It was converted to 240,
    its an mv-1
    no glow at the back,
    Im fairly sure its not powering on at all.
    I was getting sound but I fliped some dips on the neo board now im not.
    Dips on the monitor are set as follows 1-on 2-on 3 -off as per page 49 of the manual
    https://docs.google.com/file/d/0BxZBmi5A5XSpNjVhZWRkOGMtNjFjZi00YTA4LWE3ZDEtYzExNzU2MjUzNjk3/edit?hl=en&authkey=CMD_s5gI

Master of the Universe

Basically you either have something up with your monitor (something came loose in transport etc) or else the game board is dodgy.

If the monitor has a glow (look at the screen, there's a difference between a black screen that's on and a screen that's not powering on) then it's something up with your 1 slot.

If its your monitor, then messing about with the MVS 1 slot isn't going to really yield any results. It was outputting sound so that must mean the MVS slot is working. You may have flipped a dip switch which goes into the settings so that would have stopped the sound.

ffs this is wrecking my head,
    the monitor is deffinitly not coming on at all.no glow.

I'd contact who you bought it from anyway incase its something obvious
    Then I'd get out your multimeter and check the power cables running to the chasis, if theres power running to it check the chassis for goo

thanks again cathal,
    Im getting 110v going into the chassis.
    Wtf is going on i should have something happening.
    No goop ether

Anypros fancy coming to take a look?
    I think I'll go and drink my self silly

Do you mind me asking where/who you got the cab from ledge?

Master of the Universe

thanks again cathal,
    Im getting 110v going into the chassis.
    Wtf is going on i should have something happening.
    No goop ether

Anypros fancy coming to take a look?
    I think I'll go and drink my self silly

No random wires hanging loose inside which may have disconnected from the chassis? Everything wired into the neck board? Is there a humming sound coming out if it or is it just totally dead?

Im sure youre aware but have to say it anyway, careful not yo touch anything if it hasnt been discharged. Even if powered off.

Yeah i'm bearing carefull.
    Got it off jeff from digital design systems .

theres a humming but i think its from the speakers/psu fan

the small board directly behind the tube is the chassis yea?Every thing looks connected,

Are your monitor cables attached?
    see here

Master of the Universe

Yeah i'm bearing carefull.
    Got it off jeff from digital design systems .

theres a humming but i think its from the speakers/psu fan

the small board directly behind the tube is the chassis yea?Every thing looks connected,

I'm not too sure what monitor is in those to be honest. On mine, I have a small neck board connected to the tube, wires then connect that up to the main chassis board which is much bigger.

Glad to hear you got it from Jeff anyway, he should sort you out. If everything is connected up and you're sure nothing is loose then there may be a broken solder joint somewhere. May have happened when it was being transported.

I'd say get on to Jeff and ask for advice. As I was saying, something might just be loose, but best not to go fiddling and putting pressure on things until you're sure there's no charge left under that anode!

**** man,
    this is my worst fears coming true.

What exactly is neck glow?And is it visible from the back of the monitor?

Master of the Universe

You know the little glass tube coming out the back of the monitor? That should have an orange glow coming from it if it's working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭unky chop chop

crap man hope its some loose connection.
    Weird that there is 110v going to chassis and no glow or anything.

Is it the original monitor?
    check out this thread
    http://forum.arcadeotaku.com/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=16118

seems to be some safety switch on chassis of the blasts?

Actually looks like its on the pcb door

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 894 ✭✭✭Dale Parish

hold a fluorescent bulb against the high voltage cable on the back of the monitor and see if it lights up

Get on to Jeff asap.

oh i'll try the fluorescent bulb thing,
    Will a cfl work?

heres a few more cab pics for yous,
    room for a small vertical cab and thats it!

20130208_212933.jpg

20130208_212948.jpg

20130208_212959.jpg

Right lads,
    thanks for all the help.
    Not getting anywhere with this at all.
    Nothing has changed.No luck with with the florescent tube test.
    I have no idea what to do now,apart form ring Jeff on Monday.
    This sucks balls

Right lads,
    thanks for all the help.
    Not getting anywhere with this at all.
    Nothing has changed.No luck with with the florescent tube test.
    I have no idea what to do now,apart form ring Jeff on Monday.
    This sucks balls

Drop Jeff a mail now. He often replied to me at weekends.
    However you might find his response slower post sale compared to pre sale. Well that was my experience when I bought my cab from him.

If you're not getting high voltage and it's not a problem outside of the crt pcb then you'll need a person with an oscilloscope... Fun times are ahead of you!
    I don't know what type of machine that is (heresy I know...) but it might be worth checking transistors & diodes on the board too, and of course the input voltage

IMG_0385_zpsb69d9d4d.jpg

thanks dale,
    Input is good.
    I dropped jeff a mail.I doubt I'll hear back from him (anytime soon anyway)

so whats my options with getting a pro to take a look at it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭Los Lobos

Jaysus man, hope ya get it sorted. I wanna kick your ass at some neo geo games!

If your not getting high voltage your best either sending the chassis off for repair to someone in the UK(maybe grant Spain on the uk forums) or try get a replacement chassis over here

Master of the Universe

I'd say Jeff will send out a replacement chassis if that's what the problem turns out to be.

Yeah thought that all right,
    Sure I'll have to wait to hear what jeff says.
    hopefully he has an idea.
    Seriously browned off,

Did you test the voltage regulator on the board? If it's something as severe as no HV it could be something fairly important (like the regulator or diodes) failing

Sorry dale I dont have the experience to really get stuck into it.I took a few pics when I had it out.
    If your interested in taking a look here is a link.
    https://www.dropbox.com/sh/jidc5n1muscy793/31Y-nio_Zd

Should the frame be earthed to the the body of the cab?

Did you check if any of the fuses are blown? I know its simple but could be an option.

safetyboy wrote: »
    Did you check if any of the fuses are blown? I know its simple but could be an option.

I did indeed,