Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Fall (RTE1/BBC2) [** Spoilers **]

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,931 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

Mister R wrote: »
    Possibly but she seems like such an idiot. She'll be too dim to realise it, I feel a lot of the characters are oblivious to things right in front of them. Though thats probably cause as a viewer I see everything.

She's dumb as dirt. The story he fed her about why he had the hair was so creepy anyway, even without the knowledge that we have. It's his dead mother's hair that he occasionally takes out and washes and he physically attacked her to get it back.

To quote Whoopi...

11w5w8wjpg.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 112 ✭✭lindascribbler

Could someone let me know what happened after cop got shot & Spector got lock of hair back...my UPC recorder ran out...:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,722 ✭✭✭brian_t

Could someone let me know what happened after cop got shot & Spector got lock of hair back...my UPC recorder ran out...:(

It's repeated on Saturday evening at 11.05 (RTE1)

Not much did happen after that really. It pretty much ended after Paul told the baby sitter the hair was his dead mothers.

• Registered Users Posts: 112 ✭✭lindascribbler

So it is. Many thanks Brian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,061 ✭✭✭✭event

I think its a very good show.
    Christ some of you are very harsh, seems like a lot of nit picking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,677 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

event wrote: »
    Christ some of you are very harsh, seems like a lot of nit picking.
    The trailers for this show on RTE claimed it was "home grown" - thus the nitpicking. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 315 ✭✭Mister R

I tend to be more critical of shows that present themselves as "high quality" which this one does. I can watch something like Revenge day in day out and not criticise the inaccuracies and implausibilities, cause its kinda fluffy and soapy. But when you make a "gritty" show like this I don't feel you can just go light on details and character development.

For example I'm not sure girls like the babysitter exist in real life, she's too much of an imbecile. Also one thing that grates on me is trying to make characters who appear like douches on paper likable, in this show I feel the young detective is one such character, if he was 45, bald with middle age spread I'm not sure people on twitter and other forums (not this one) would be sad about his shooting however he's young and attractive so they are. If anyone watches the Newsroom I feel Maggie is also this type of character she acts terribly on paper but is still liked by a lot of people, mainly cause they didn't cast a bombshell to play the role.

For example I'm not sure girls like the babysitter exist in real life, she's too much of an imbecile.

Unfortunately I think there are plenty of them about. There's always stories on the news about girls running off with their teachers, or meeting people that they've been chatting to on the internet and other such stupid things.

It's weird that the current generation of teenagers are exposed to so much more and are far more internet and social network savvy than any previous generations and yet are still so dumb when it comes to things like this. I mentioned it before but the story he told her about it being his mums hair was very creepy in itself even without knowledge of what he was really doing and yet she probably sees it as sweet or romantic or something dumb. I blame Twilight ;)

Yeah the hair bit was when she needed to "exit to the left" before that I get the teen wanting the older guy, but she's a bit forward for a 15 year old Irish girl. Maybe up North they're different but having traveled overseas I reckon Irish girls are definitely less "up for it" in this manner than girls from other countries.

So her blatant seduction seemed a little ridiculous, like a cheap porno.

I like the young female officer, also its clear Gibson wants her to find out about the sex with the douchey detective, she was with her when she mentioned the room number and then has her go to her room (for a lame reason) where she knew she'd find the condoms. TBH Gibson is more of a mystery than this murderer guy.

I got more of the impression that Gibson just didn't give a s**t about the female officer finding out. Like she needed some stuff and it never even crossed her mind that the condoms were there because it's irrelevant to her. I wasn't sure why yer one emptied them into the toilet tough? Was that on the list that Gibson gave her or did she take it on herself to do that? I don't know which is stranger.

I thought that too but then cause the female officer was with her when she propositioned him I thought it looked more like she wanted her to know. On another forum I saw a suggestion Gibson wanted Burns (Eric Cantona lookalike) to find out cause they have history. I don't really think that's the direction of this show but who knows.

I think Gibson just wanted the officer to collect some things from her hotel room. But if I recall correctly it seemed a pointless task. So maybe she didn't even consider the female officer rooting around the room. Surely though housekeeping would have called that morning and thrown out the condoms. Unless she never took the "Do Not Disturb" sign off the door. I'm probably over-thinking this show but I feel almost every tiny detail is relevant. Like for example there were two condoms so they had sex twice or she had sex with another person we didn't see :confused:

Yeah I'm over-thinking this show. :p

I feel Panjabi's character will need to get bigger, no way did she come over for a minor role on a show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,499 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Just started..

So Olson is dead and involved in that prostitute stuff it seems. Didn't see that coming. Loving the young female officer already this episode.

Great writing: "Mummyyyyy!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

I don't think the audience should have known who the killer is, it would have been better if we didn't know, for me anyway, adds to the suspense.

From this episode I got a few things.

I want more of the young female copper and Archie Panjabi (I assume they'll feature more in the final 2 episodes, Panjabi hardly took this role for these minor scenes)

Dead detective is a total douche, glad to see the back of him. Seems he must have been involved with that prostitution (trafficking) stuff or something the way his partner rang him. So yeah pretty face, awful person. God love his wife when she finds out all the ****.

Initially I see Stella as being a total sociopath like Paul, but then they added that bit in the hospital where she looked at Olsen photo, totally unnecessary, I was happy with her having no ounce of humanity whatsoever. Even with that she is still a total bitch on many levels.

The wife is seeming to get a bit more clued in than before. So I'm not as suspicious of her as I was. I'm still not sure what to make of Paul, the whole bit with the grieving mother was very odd. The shirtless scenes are getting too gratuitous.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,493 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Solid. Enough progression and weirdness.

What's the role of the young PSNI officer again? Stella appointed to her as something then she disappeared for about 30 minutes or more. Is she a runner/go for? Again this one perhaps suffered a little from being stuffed with characters - such as the beaten up prostitute and that thread. I get that it was background for the deceased detective, but meh. Also, the media advisor seemed largely redundant given that Stella was essentially fine tuning the talking points prior to the press conference. Understandably so, but why bother with the spin doctor?

I liked how some of the narration was cross cut with what Paul was doing, his routine, preparation, etc. Also liked the 'man fcks woman/woman fcks man' thing from Stella. Her colleagues noticing her wearing a gun was unnecessary. We had already seen her at the range, then a glimpse of it after she parked her car, then again when she was being questioned. I'm being picky...

The daughter has some pretty tough scenes in this. Where was that abandoned farmhouse, on the land belonging to Paul's father in law?

Yeah I think the land belonged to the father in law.

I didn't mind the prostitute bit, cause it sets up for The Fall I feel, the thing that is bigger than the murders almost. Seem a ton of PSNI coppers are bent.

There are only 2 episodes left but I wondered if Olsen's wife could require bereavement counselling and thereby kinda link Gibson and Paul. That just popped into my head.

I really don't like Gibson, I wouldn't mind her dying to be honest, he whole chat with Burns about married men and sh1t was almost as creepy as Paul's craziness in many ways, which I why I feel she's as much a psycho as Paul at the back of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,677 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

When the killer was "browsing the web" in the Internet cafe all the files he needed were all helpfully stored on the PC's desktop. :D

NNDHSbP.png

Also, the media advisor seemed largely redundant given that Stella was essentially fine tuning the talking points prior to the press conference. Understandably so, but why bother with the spin doctor?

Assume it was just done for accuracy. There would be press liaison officer involved in real life so they had one appear briefly. Although there was stuff last week that seemed random and unnecessary that was kind of carried over this week so maybe we'll see her again.

Still don't get why the uniformed officer flushed the condoms. If it was just to show she knew Olson had been there they could have just shown her noticing them. Why flush them? Like someone said earlier the maids would have been in at some point to clean up anyway.

I think the female officer felt obliged to cover for Gibson, she knew it wouldn't be appropriate for Gibson to come in and screw PSNI officers at the drop of a hat and in a way was trying to help her. Why I don't know, maybe some sisterhood obligation thing.

I'm still amazed there were 2 condoms considering she apparently kept her clothes on and the sex looked fairly average. They did it twice and he wanted more :rolleyes: I mean he didn't even see any tit and was badgering her for sex the next day, a hot guy who could pick up most chicks if he wanted, rather implausible. He could have just had one of those hookers he was trafficking.

• Registered Users Posts: 540 ✭✭✭Limerick91

Am I missing something does the baby in the hospital, the mother and priest were praying for it last night, have any relevance.
    Is it the baby of any of the characters, or will it be another women that will need grief counselling if/when the baby dies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭playedalive

Limerick91 wrote: »
    Am I missing something does the baby in the hospital, the mother and priest were praying for it last night, have any relevance.
    Is it the baby of any of the characters, or will it be another women that will need grief counselling if/when the baby dies

Yeah I was wondering that too. I've a feeling we are leading to another female character :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,297 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

It has been renewed for a second season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,344 ✭✭✭✭starlit

I am finding the series very good. How much can they put in in 5 episodes so not surprised its going for another season to finish the story. We only starting to get to know the characters.

Spector is quiet creepy though. He convinces me as a killer. He is looking for his next kill but think stella be his ultimate kill a target for him when he saw her on tv . If he tries to kill her or the babysitter or even his wife he be found out though how he cover his tracks, stella hasn't a place of her own and she is armed!?

I don't know is what happened to the police man has a link to the other girls possibly. The daughter saw what spector did to the babysitter would she not get suspicious of him and especially with him with his notebook up in the attic.
    She has mentioned it to the mother has seen the necklace so could provide a clue that the wife of spector find out the whole thing at some point or she turn on him...or he on her...I wonder is the daughter's nightmares has any baring on what he is doing to the girls like a link to what he is up to. Part of her mind is linked to him that she can visualise some of what he is doing but she can't see him?

The poem is quiet good that he wrote but the whole thing about the shadow confused me.

It was interesting how stella described him in the commentary during the investigation.

I do find it a bit strange that he is just an ordinary person but the fact he is a psychologist he can play on that which makes him cover his tracks and he understands the mind. If he wanted to carry out the extreme things he should be a bit more discrete and not try to kill them though but I suppose its the whole lead up to it he gets his thrill as stella says. Its a matter of him getting caught out, but guess the suspense be better if we did not as an audience see spector. Its a bit creepy the way he stalks women though yet he wouldn't go near one if one he considers tainted as said in the description of the episode.

The pilot and the second episode was very good but last nights was a bit ok not much in it but its building up the plot but does get into more of an insight into stella a bit more but ya I see one posters point that she might be as much like spector as we think! And how some characters go inline I suppose similar scenes like in last weeks episode. The way spector washed the girls hair and so on. Bit horrifying about the police man and his kid to see him. Didn't expect it but I think the guy in prison did say he knew where he lived...bit weird all right how the whole thing with him and stella!

You would wonder about the girl and her baby. Has she a link to one of the characters I first thought might be spector's or possible future victim but think the girl at the bar be likely one. It was interesting how the two lads on the street thought he was going the wrong way at the estate. They and the girls husband must find spector a bit odd?

The babysitter be too odd a choice as a victim. Did she really believe him about the hair it was his mother's? Weird. I think his daughter could catch him in the end. Its sad to see that she trusts him so much. I think her nightmares could be so true that they could possibly what she sees that he is doing? Its odd he waits till she is gone to bed? Though at night I can understand. Surely the wife find it a bit weird he late back and carry on as normal? He went off home again after being at her parents house he didn't even stay the night would she not find that strange?

Surely someone will find his notebook at some point though?? Its evidence.

I can see where other posters are going with it though. I look forward to how it all builds up and how the story turns out in the end.

Could the mother and baby be linked to the police man?

The storylines are quiet good though.

Which policeman, the dead one?

Yes

Maybe but I feel another character would have mentioned if he had a baby in hospital. Burns in particular.

I feel his link to the illegal prostitution thing could become relevant. That storyline has to go somewhere.