Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

6N: France vs Wales, Sat 9th Feb, 5pm

12346»

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,758 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

andrewdcs wrote: »
    which is very disappointing.
    We'll see Parra and Trinh Duc, we'll have to play Real France (tm)(c) whereas Italy and Wales played Phillipe St Andre.

Trinh Duc is dreadful at 10 for France though. I don't know who they could play there though, they've no depth, as usual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭Taco Corp

Almaviva wrote: »
    No, but has a law degree and is doing his masters.

Definitely doing a masters if not done already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,902 ✭✭✭accensi0n

Not currently qualified, but will be soon. Has a masters from trinity I believe.

He's the best analyst that RTE have currently (unless you count O'Shea)

It'd be great if they put a new show together that had him, toland, emmet byrne and matt williams

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 357 ✭✭ballygowan1

Almaviva wrote: »
    No, but has a law degree and is doing his masters.

That's a long long way from being a solicitor fella.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

He has his masters and is doing the exams I believe. Dunno if he'll ever throw himself into it full time hough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

"Ça fait deux défaites d’affilée et ce n’est pas pardonnable à ce niveau. On a été très mauvais encore une fois, on est nuls",

Rough translation: "That's two defeats in a row and that's not forgivable at this level. We were very poor once again, we feel terrible"

He has his masters and is doing the exams I believe. Dunno if he'll ever throw himself into it full time hough.

What exams? The blackhall entrance exams? Has he even started a traineeship?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,841 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

What the hell does it matter at what stage Horgan's law studies are at?

Christ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭Fishooks13

Are you trying to say Horgan is stupid here or something?

He's a very good analyst, remarkably objective for a guy who's only finished his career two years ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭jamiedav2011

Who gives a toss really, we're talking about his rugby analysis here, you seem to have a vendetta against his intellect!
    He's a very good rugby analyst, end of.

Just responding to the poster stating he was a solicitor, which he clearly isn't. Also I think he is an average analyst and nothing special. That's my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

He's insightful tbf but by jesus he does go on at times.

Loves the sound of his own voice.

corny wrote: »
    He's insightful tbf but by jesus he does go on at times.

Loves the sound of his own voice.

Exactly. Popey doesn't get a word in. He constantly talks over mcgurk also.

no harm done there

I actually find Horgan insightful myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

Again, tbf thats not a bad thing.;)

These are bad things how?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭jamiedav2011

Makes a change from McGuirk constantly interrupting anything resembling analysis. Should take a leaf from Billo's book and leave the analysing to those paid for it.
    Don't mind him talking ****e over Hook though.

McGurk tried to imply today at one stage that the French could be losing on purpose to get rid of the manager. Like ffs, I'd like to think some of the posters here would do a far better job. Ak. could play McGurk! Bring back Captain Blackbeard to fill in for Hook :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

France off to Twickers in 2 weeks, and will likely be in Dublin having lost 3 games.

Bit of trivia: The last French player to convert a try in Twickenham was...
    Gérald Merceron (2003)
    Rough translation: "That's two defeats in a row and that's not forgivable at this level. We were very poor once again, we feel terrible"

On est nuls = we feel terrible?

I would have said it meant "we are/were terrible"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Fishooks13 wrote: »
    McGurk tried to imply today at one stage that the French could be losing on purpose to get rid of the manager. Like ffs, I'd like to think some of the posters here would do a far better job. Ak. could play McGurk! Bring back Captain Blackbeard to fill in for Hook :D

An [Jackass] for Shaggy? :P

tolosenc wrote: »

rough translation :p

I took it in the context of feeling terrible.

An [Jackass] for Shaggy? :P

I think jackass may actually be Neil Francis so that might be hard!:D

Fishooks13 wrote: »
    I think jackass may actually be Neil Francis so that might be hard!:D

If he is I'll be shocked, jackass hates franno! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭OnTheCouch

Talking over McGurk is probably not the worst thing in the world, the man should be part of the RFU/IRB pre 1995, he is a dinosaur, describes Italy as if they were some ex-convict gang that had invaded his Dalkey garden party, (I have no idea where he originates from but he gives the impression of being from the exclusive class shall we say), does he not remember Ireland losing most games a year in the 90s? You'd think he was born in 1997 with his superfluous comments over the pundits, hint to McGurk, you're the PRESENTER, not the analyst, no one cares about what you think, you alredy get far too high a percentage of the taxpayer's money in your inflated salary. Even though Hook may be controversial at times, at least he gives the impression he may know more or less what he is describing and can give some sort of insightful analysis, as opposed to that other eejit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭jacothelad

It's really none of our business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭iroced

rough translation :p

I took it in the context of feeling terrible.

You're both being very nicely polite ;). The way Michalak said it was a TV-acceptable formulation of "we are sh*te" and I'm afraid he's dead right...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,238 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

I was watching this one but fell asleep at the beginning of the second half. Woke up to the good news that North had scored a try(fantasy points).

From what i saw of it Wales were bad but France were shocking, even Dusautoir had a nightmare in the first half however i was kinda impressed by Huget apart from him butchering a certain try he was one of their brighter sparks.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,758 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Who got MOTM? The guy with the fork?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,317 ✭✭✭gavmcg92

Think they might have raffled it amongst the crowd :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,238 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

I think quartertwopenny got motm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,889 ✭✭✭✭bilston

OnTheCouch wrote: »
    Talking over McGurk is probably not the worst thing in the world, the man should be part of the RFU/IRB pre 1995, he is a dinosaur, describes Italy as if they were some ex-convict gang that had invaded his Dalkey garden party, (I have no idea where he originates from but he gives the impression of being from the exclusive class shall we say), does he not remember Ireland losing most games a year in the 90s? You'd think he was born in 1997 with his superfluous comments over the pundits, hint to McGurk, you're the PRESENTER, not the analyst, no one cares about what you think, you alredy get far too high a percentage of the taxpayer's money in your inflated salary. Even though Hook may be controversial at times, at least he gives the impression he may know more or less what he is describing and can give some sort of insightful analysis, as opposed to that other eejit.

I think he is from Tyrone - ironic given I've always had the perception that he is very dismissive of any player from Ulster - might just be me and my Ulster cyncism mind.

I would say Daire O'Brien and maybe Joanne Cantwell are being groomed for his job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭BoarHunter

iroced wrote: »
    Great result ! :rolleyes:

I sincerely hope we do get thrashed in Twickenham and in the Aviva and with that humiliating run on our mind we get beaten at home by a valorous scottish side to finish with our first "cuillère de bois" since 1957 so that we quickly get rid of Philippe Saint-André.

A lot could be said about team composition, hasty decisions and changes in the starting XV, over appreciation of November results but this following summary speaks for itself. 7 games in the "Tournoi" : 4 defeats, 1 draw, 2 victories. Probably the worst stats in a half century and some of the worst French rugby display ever !

Saint André casse toi !

I find your post totally disgraceful and insulting against the game. Never a true supporter would hope for his own national team to lose a game especially against England. Please grow up.

Now you can blame everything on the coach. Myself i think he got the point and we'll see a different 23 tomorrow which will differ from November momentum To be honest i find your post very disgraceful and so French. So from one French to another i will tell you that it is easy to blame it on psa that the players throw the ball in each other face or even pass it to no one or forget a simple 2 on 1.

Yes PSA made mistakes and thought the team who were irresistible last autumn would the same rugby. He was wrong. The backrow is diminished. ouedraogo Is no use if not fully fit, the team seem less fluid with dusautoir style of play ( nyanga was flying it last autumn ) , the first row is cremated and w're just getting completely bullied in the ruck zone. That makes us look like puppies and with players in the backline not playing in their favourite positions it just looks a mess.

France played a game last autumn that even here on this forum people wanted to see them playing the blacks.

You can put any coach in place that won't make the players fitter and hungrier.

Now we have seen that we were able for the best and the worst, the truth is in the middle but cutting heads is not going to fix the problems and you know it.

Please don't use insulting expression against the staff in French or English it adds nothing to the debate.
    Worst French display ever... Remember tonga, Italy 2010 ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,841 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

bilston wrote: »
    I think he is from Tyrone - ironic given I've always had the perception that he is very dismissive of any player from Ulster - might just be me and my Ulster cyncism mind.

I would say Daire O'Brien and maybe Joanne Cantwell are being groomed for his job.

He's the bet presenter we have I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭iroced

BoarHunter wrote: »
    I find your post totally disgraceful and insulting against the game. Never a true supporter would hope for his own national team to lose a game especially against England. Please grow up.

Now you can blame everything on the coach. Myself i think he got the point and we'll see a different 23 tomorrow which will differ from November momentum To be honest i find your post very disgraceful and so French. So from one French to another i will tell you that it is easy to blame it on psa that the players throw the ball in each other face or even pass it to no one or forget a simple 2 on 1.

Yes PSA made mistakes and thought the team who were irresistible last autumn would the same rugby. He was wrong. The backrow is diminished. ouedraogo Is no use if not fully fit, the team seem less fluid with dusautoir style of play ( nyanga was flying it last autumn ) , the first row is cremated and w're just getting completely bullied in the ruck zone. That makes us look like puppies and with players in the backline not playing in their favourite positions it just looks a mess.

France played a game last autumn that even here on this forum people wanted to see them playing the blacks.

You can put any coach in place that won't make the players fitter and hungrier.

Now we have seen that we were able for the best and the worst, the truth is in the middle but cutting heads is not going to fix the problems and you know it.

Please don't use insulting expression against the staff in French or English it adds nothing to the debate.
    Worst French display ever... Remember tonga, Italy 2010 ?

Well you missed my point completely. Over exagerating a situation (which is what my previous post was about -- do you think I was 100 % serious in mentionning the wooden spoon for Les Bleus ? --) is a way of expressing irony.

Then calm down on the "insulting" part. "casse toi" is colloquial and can be said ironically which was my intention. My mistake though to have forgotten to add a smiles after it...

However PSA work can be heavily criticised. And I'm feeling OK to do so as I very much appreciate him, both as a player and a coach (I thought I had mentionned it here numerous times but in the same time I'm not very regular). I actually saw him in Stade 2 (one of the main TV sport program in France) last Sunday and I found his explanations very convincing. He was and generally is very sincere and accepted the reproaches on his management. He changed the 9-10, made players play out of positions and didn't try to build enough on young players. Lievremont did it, had one bad season, a couple of bad results but in the end got a Grand Slam and a WC final. Lievremont also tried to make France play a passing game. He didn't succeed but was not far off and was kind of forced to change a bit his mind. PSA chose efficiency. He said it. He justified his players selection like that. And up to now if you exclude the Australia game (*) it is an absolute fail !

As we say in French "the facts are stubborn". And whatever happens now it is 2 crap 6 Nations campaigns in a row. The worst part is we have no certainties in our game and in our players. We may now go back to Trinh-Duc Parra. If he does we'll just have lost 2 years preparing the next WC. This is just unacceptable.
    Look at what England did. Lancaster brought in / made starters young players and let them grow in the white jersey. Now e.g. Farrell-Youngs look so threatening and efficient.

And I'm maintaining "some of the worst display ever" (every word has its importance in a sentence you know ;)), which is valid for both our games, even though we all know that the word "ever" can't be taken litterally. But if you want to look at it in detail I'll remind you that both the Tonga and Italy games you refered to were away and that we weren't outplayed like we were this year (outplayed in Italy and inefficient and solutions-less against Wales). If you can not see the huge major difference here I can't help you.

Oh and finally there is no need for your moral lessons on how bad a supporter I am and how good you presumably are. I always support my team until the final whistle is blown. But afterwards I am entitled to criticise. Positively or negatively. I am just placing the standards high and that is something a couple of sports in France should really do.

(*) The excitement after the game against Australia seems to have been badly handled by PSA and the staff. First I can't remember any questioning on Australia real level and form back in November. Secondly I can't remember many people mentionning the special context of this game: we had been completely destroyed at home a couple of years before and the players wanted revenge. It was so obvious the way they played. If they had put the same agressivity these last 2 weeks we'd go in Twickenham for the Grand Slam.
    Then the Argentina game. Many forgot that Argentine players were worn out by their first ever participation in the 4 Nations.
    Finally the Samoa game was pretty close to what we've seen in the 6N...

So where's the truth ? Of course it's not all good or all bad but we are certainly not going in the right direction now (notably in the perspective of the WC).

Just to finish I'm severely blaming PSA but don't assume I'm not blaming the players.