Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Rules Newbie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

How are you finding stage 2?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Gauge

I preferred Stage 1 in a way because I liked the simple lifts and I felt like it was easier to make progress... not sure about this whole thing of combining moves/doing things on one leg or from a box that Stage 2 has introduced. That said it is fun and I'm enjoying it (except lunges. Feck those). What was your opinion of it?

Meant to go spinning last night but with getting organised for the weekend and sorting some car stuff out I had zero time after work. Bit annoyed as I won't be able to make it to the class tomorrow either (driving down to Cork for the weekend).

Weighed in this morning. Up 1-2lbs (over two weeks I guess). Effectively wiping out any losses for the past 4 weeks, NOT happy :mad: but trying to just move forward and not let the scales rule me. It's bloody hard though! I did cut a bit loose last weekend when my mother was up, eating out and that, but from Monday onwards I was back to normal. Oh well.

NROLFW Stage 2
    Workout A3

Warm Up

Elliptical
    4 minutes TABATA intervals
    4 minutes medium-high intensity

10 Squats (no weight)

Barbell front squat to push press
    Warmup sets

8 x 10kg
    8 x 15kg

2 sets
    10 x 20kg

YAY, finally push-pressed the bar!

2 supersets
    10 x 10kg step up (on bench)
    10 x 8kg one point row (+0.5kg from last time)

2 supersets
    10 x 10kg Static Lunge with rear foot elevated
    10 push ups

These lunges are irritating. If I'm not totally, perfectly positioned everything goes to wobbly hell.

2 super sets
    Set 1:

Three point plank
    On left leg for 30 seconds, on right for 30 seconds, both legs for 30 seconds
    Cable woodchops x 40.5kg (+9kg from last time)

Set 2:
    Plank 90 seconds
    Cable woodchops x 40.5kg

Stretching/Cooldown

This time next week (assuming I can get to a gym over the weekend!) I'll be finished Stage 2. Odd as it feels like I'm just getting started with it. Hopefully the end of stage 2 measurements will show some progress that the scales don't.

Yesterday: Walked the dog. Not really a workout :)

I'm down in Cork for the weekend and decided to seek out a gym for my Sunday workout. It felt incredibly strange being in a different gym! The weights area was tiny but I managed to do what I needed to do. Ended up being a good workout.

Stage 2 Workout B3

Warm up

Elliptical- 10 minutes medium-high intensity

10 x Squats (2 sets)

Wide grip deadlift from box
    Warm up sets

10 x 20kg
    10 x 22.5kg

Actual sets
    10 x 30kg
    10 x 35kg

+5kg from last time (but only for one set)

2 supersets
    Bulgarian Split Squat - 10 x 10kg
    Dumbbell prone cuban snatch- 10 x 5kg (+1kg)

2 supersets
    Underhand lat pulldown - 10 x 35kg (+3kg- tried 40kg, knew I wasn't going to be able to get 10 reps out of it so dropped down)
    Reverse lunge from box with forward reach - 10 x 5kg

I should have increased the weight for the lunges but I was getting fairly tired (*cough* lazy) at this point.

2 supersets
    10 x swiss ball crunch (with 6kg dumbbell)
    10 x reverse crunch
    10 x side flexion (legs & upper body)

2 x 1 minute prone cobra

HIIT

16 minutes on the spin bike, 1:1 intervals

Stretching

NROLFW Stage 2
    Workout A4

Warm Up

Elliptical
    4 minutes medium-high intensity

10 Squats (no weight)

Warmup sets

8 x 10kg
    8 x 15kg

2 sets
    10 x 20kg

2 supersets
    10 x 10kg step up (on bench)
    10 x 8kg one point row

Attempted a few step ups with the 12.5kg dumb bells but I was wobbling all over the place.

2 supersets
    10 push ups

2 super sets
    Set 1:

Three point plank
    On left leg for 30 seconds, on right for 30 seconds, both legs for 30 seconds
    Cable woodchops x 27kg (-13.5kg(!) from last time)

I did the woodchops on a different machine than usual- I thought the machines were all the same but it was WAY harder than usual so I had to drop the weight significantly. Not sure if I've been misreading the weight on the other machine or something- meant to take a look before I left but forgot.

Set 2:
    Plank 65 seconds
    Cable woodchops x 27kg

Stretching/Cooldown

45 minute bootcamp this evening.

Circuits. Lots of squat variations. Also burpees *puke*

Did my HIIT tonight as I know I won't have time tomorrow morning.

Stationary Bike- 2 minutes warm up, 20 minutes 1:1 HIIT, 3 minute cooldown

Pushups
    10 reps x 3

Prone Jacknife
    10 reps x 3

Stretching

+2lbs this morning. That's an increase of 3lbs in as many weeks. Not happy to say the least. I'll be tracking very carefully over the next week.

Stage 2 Workout B4

Warm up

Elliptical- 4 minutes TABATA, 4 minutes medium-high intensity

Wide grip deadlift from box
    Warm up sets

10 x 20kg
    10 x 30kg

2 sets
    10 x 35kg

2 supersets
    Bulgarian Split Squat - 10 x 10kg
    Dumbbell prone cuban snatch- 10 x 5kg

Tried 6kg for the snatch- couldn't even get 2 reps out of it.

2 supersets
    Underhand lat pulldown - 10 x 36kg (+1kg)
    Reverse lunge from box with forward reach - 10 x 6kg, 10 x 7kg (+1kg and 2kg)

2 supersets
    10 x swiss ball crunch (with 6kg dumbbell)
    10 x reverse crunch
    10 x side flexion (legs & upper body)

2 x 1 minute prone cobra

Stretching

And that's Stage 2 down :) I'll take some updated measurements tomorrow. Even if the scale is p1ssing me off, I am noticing improvements in my shoulders, arms, stomach, legs- everywhere really!

I'm taking a week's break between Stages this time around but will still be fitting cardio-based workouts in.

Yesterday was a rest day- today I did a 45 minute spin class + 15 minute ab class.

Tonight- tried a 45 minute "Pump and Tone" class.

The 5kg weights I used were too light for some moves and too heavy for others so I felt "off" for most of it. Probably won't do it again.

45 minute spinning class tonight.

Found off I have a half day on Good Friday :) I'm looking forward to starting NROLFW Stage 3 when the gym is hopefully nice and quiet.

45 minute bootcamp tonight.

Mostly intervals of things like push ups, squat holds, lunges, planks, split squats, all the fun stuff!

Rest day tomorrow and Stage 3 begins on Friday.

Gah, bit behind on my tracking. Started Stage 3 on Good Friday:

NROLFW
    Stage 3 Workout 1A
    Warmup

8 minutes crosstrainer- 4 minutes TABATA, 4 minutes medium-high intensity

3 sets
    One armed dumbbell snatch

5kg x 6
    (and some practise sets with lower weight)

3 supersets
    Romanian deadlift

8kg x 6
    9kg x 6
    10kg x 6

Barbell bent-over row
    20kg x 6
    25kg x 6
    25kg x 6

Yeah, I could NOT do a single leg romanian deadlift without falling over, so swapped it out for a standard dumb bell Romanian deadlift. Need to practise it I suppose.

3 supersets
    Dumbbell single-arm overhead squat

2kg over head, 4kg in hand x 6
    Dumbbell incline bench press
    8kg x 6
    9kg x 6
    9kg x 6

I found those overhead squats incredibly hard to do, couldn't keep my arm from bending :( Will need to practise them too I think.

Bodyweight Matrix - 2 sets
    24 squats
    12 lunges
    12 jump lunges
    12 jump squats

Bodyweight matrix was definitely a workout! I was exhausted afterwards.

Stretching

And today's workout. Wanted to do this on Sunday but was in Cork for the weekend and didn't get a chance to go to the gym :(

NROLFW Stage 3
    Workout 1B

Warmup

3 sets
    Barbell romanian deadlift/ bent over row

30kg x 6

3 supersets
    Partial single leg squat

6 reps (bodyweight)
    Wide grip lat pull down
    36kg x 6

3 supersets
    Prone Cobra

(No back extension machine in the gym that I could see)
    60 seconds
    YTWL
    2.5kg

3 supersets
    Swiss Ball Crunch
    5kg x 6
    Prone Jacknife x 6
    Side flexion x 6

Stretching

Will do HIIT this evening along with the prone cobras I was supposed to finish with- ran out of time.

Last night:
    HIIT on the bike (20 minutes total, about 7 1:1 intervals + warmup/cooldown)

Then did 3 sets of:

Prone Cobra x 90 seconds
    Push Ups x 10

Tonight:

45 minute bootcamp. We did our monthly fitness test- I beat my last "score" by 1 set but only barely so I was a bit disappointed!

Felt an urge to go for a run tonight but forgot to set my pedometer yoke so I don't actually know how far or what pace I went at :D was about 40 minutes of running/walking when I felt like it. Very nice evening.

NROLFW
    Stage 3 Workout 2A
    Warmup

7 minutes crosstrainer- 4 minutes TABATA, 3 minutes medium-high intensity
    Some bodyweight squats

7.5kg x 6
    8kg x 6
    8kg x 6
    (+2.5/3kg from last time)

I could do these all day, they're great fun.

3 supersets
    Romanian dumbbell deadlift

12.5kg x 6 (+2.5kg)

Barbell bent-over row
    30kg x 6 (+5kg)

3 supersets

3kg over head, 6kg in hand x 6 (+1kg)

10kg x 6 (+1kg)

One set was a flat press as I couldn't get a bench.

3 sets (forgot to log these last time!)

Reverse cable woodchop - 31kg or thereabouts, I don't actually remember.
    Plank x 90 sec

I feel like an eejit, there are two different machines I do woodchops on depending on which is free, and one is way easier than the other- I think it has stretchy/elastic cables or something and the other doesn't? I keep meaning to check and compare the two so I can figure it out!

Stretching

Ran out of time so will do bodyweight matrix this evening.

45 minute spin class + 15 minute ab class this morning.

NROLFW Stage 3
    Workout 2B

Warmup

Warmup Sets

20kg x 6
    30kg x 6

3 sets
    32.5kg x 6 (+2.5kg)

3 supersets
    Partial single leg squat

8kg x 6
    Wide grip lat pull down
    38.3kg x 6 (+2.3kg)

3 supersets
    Prone Cobra

60 seconds
    YTWL
    3kg (+0.5kg)

3 supersets
    Swiss Ball Crunch
    7kg x 10
    Prone Jacknife x 10
    Side flexion x 8

HIIT
    15 minutes on bike doing 1:1 intervals. Tough going straight after lifting!

Stretching

NROLFW
    Stage 3 Workout 3A
    Warmup

10 x bodyweight squats

8kg x 6 (picked up the wrong dumbbell, blah)
    9kg x 6
    9kg x 6
    (+1kg)

3 supersets

15kg x 6 (+2.5kg)

Barbell bent-over row
    32.5kg x 6 (+2.5kg)

3 supersets

3kg over head, 6kg in hand x 6

10kg x 6

3 sets
    Reverse cable woodchop

40.5kg (+9kg)
    Plank
    90 sec (switching between regular and single leg)

Stretching

Ran out of time (as usual) so will do the bodyweight matrix this evening.

45 minute bootcamp class tonight- first outdoor one of the year so it felt harder than usual! Also, birdsh1t. Birdsh1t EVERYWHERE including all over my pants :mad:

Boo, sore throat/cough for the last two days so I missed a workout.

Thankfully feeling better today so went to my usual spinning + abs class.

Back to lifting tomorrow!

NROLFW Stage 3
    Workout 3B

Warmup

Warmup Sets

20kg x 6

2 sets
    32.5kg x 6
    1 set
    35kg x 6 (+2.5kg) (Yay!)

3 supersets
    Partial single leg squat

10kg x 6 (+2kg)
    Wide grip lat pull down
    1 set at 38.3kg x 6
    2 sets at 41kg x 6 (+2.6kg)

3 supersets
    Prone Cobra

60 seconds
    YTWL
    1 set at 4kg
    2 sets at 3kg

3 supersets
    Swiss Ball Crunch
    9kg x 10 (+2kg)
    Prone Jacknife x 10
    Side flexion x 8

HIIT
    Ran out of time AGAIN. Booked a spinning class for tomorrow evening instead.

Stretching

45 minute spinning class tonight, in the new branch of my gym that opened near my workplace- bit weird being in a new gym! It was very busy with the after work crowd but I might check it out before work on Friday and see how busy the weights area is at that hour of the morning.

45 minute bootcamp class tonight. Windy!

NROLFW
    Stage 3 Workout 4A
    Warmup

10 x bodyweight squats

10kg x 6 (+1kg)

3 supersets

17.5kg x 6 (+2.5kg)

Barbell bent-over row
    15kg x 6 (+2.5kg)
    35kg x 6 (+2.5kg)
    30kg x 6 (+2.5kg)

3 supersets

3kg over head, 6kg in hand x 6

12.5kg x 5
    10kg x 6
    10kg x 6

Once you get above 10kg, the increments go from 1kg to 2.5kg... going from 10kg to 12.5kg was a real struggle.

3 sets
    Reverse cable woodchop

49.5kg (+9kg)

Stretching

Will do the planks and bodyweight matrix after work this evening.

Warm up on bike for 7 minutes.

3 x 90 sec plank.

Bodyweight Matrix (2 sets)

24 squats
    12 lunges
    12 lunge jumps
    24 jump squats

Stretching

Weighed myself this week... my scales are crazy. They jumped up 3lbs :eek: at first, then each time I tried again they went down ~1lb until I was back at the weight I was last week :o decided to leave it and try again tomorrow, I'm guessing I'm pretty much the same this week.

Also feel like a total bottomless pit, raging hungry all day.

NROLFW Stage 3
    Workout 4B

Warmup

10 x bodyweight squats

Warmup Sets

20kg x 6
    30kg x 5

3 sets
    35kg x 6

3 supersets
    Partial single leg squat

10kg x 6
    Wide grip lat pull down
    41kg x 6

3 supersets
    Prone Cobra

60 seconds
    YTWL
    4kg x 6

3 supersets
    Swiss Ball Crunch
    10kg x 10 (+2kg)
    Prone Jacknife x 10
    Side flexion x 8

HIIT
    15 minutes on the rower- 12 minutes 1:1 intervals + 3 minutes for warmup/cooldown

Stretching

And that's all for Stage 3 \o/ I enjoyed this stage! I was very happy with today's workout too. Will take some updated measurements tomorrow morning and then it's on to Stage 4.

45 minute spinning class- tough one! Included 8 minutes of TABATA, which worked out my legs nicely, they were a bit stiff today.

I took updated measurements today and was happy to discover I was down a half inch pretty much everywhere- waist, hips, thighs, calves, biceps, and triceps. The notable exception was my bust, which went down an entire inch :mad: less from there, more from my tummy please! Still quite happy though. Scales are still not moving so it was nice to see some progress.

NROLFW Stage 4
    Workout A1

Warm Up

Elliptical
    10 Squats (no weight)

Warmup set

8 x 20kg

2 sets
    8 x 22.5kg (+2.5kg)

Will aim for 25kg next time.

3 supersets
    8 x 12.5kg step up (on bench) (+2.5kg)
    8 x 10kg one point row (+2kg)

Couldn't even do one 12.5kg step up at the end of Stage 2 so that was a nice improvement.

3 supersets
    10 push ups

3 sets
    Cable woodchops x 49.5kg

2 sets

120 sec plank

Stretching

I definitely feel much stronger this time around than I did last time I had to do the same moves (in Stage 2).