Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Manchester United Talk/Gossip/Rumours Super-di-dooper-thread 12/13

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Moyes usually likes to play a 4.5.1 or a 4.2.3.1 formation,United have been playing the latter formation lately.
    If Rooney does go then we have Kagawa to fit into the centre of the 3 as a number 10 just as he did at Dortmund.

Depending on transfers we could line out a bit like this.Rooney wouldn't really be missed despite his qualities.

..................................DDG.............................

RAF.....................VIDIC............EVANS........EVRA

..............CARRICK...............FELLAINI.................

ZAHA.......................KAGAWA....................NANI

................................RVP.................................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭shadowcomplex

Could we get a better centre midfielder than Fellaini for 24 million?

Fabregas wound be better

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

DDG
    Raf Rio Vida Evra
    Powell Carrick Strooooooootman
    Zaha RVP Messi

It's my belief that all the players included above would fit in well to our system.

We could offer Cleverley and 5M for Strootman and then unlock the financial takeover in the career mode section and use the funds to buy Messi.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Had to laugh at Strachan here and the story after by Neale Cooper

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=RCQLwsKRPu8#t=838s

That story was gas.

Watched the rest of documentary while I was eating my dinner. Tribute from Cantona at the end probably expressing how all the fans feel this week: http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=iJUHzBK9me4#t=480s
    Could we get a better centre midfielder than Fellaini for 24 million?

Roman Neustadter imo. Better CM and probably cheaper, although he would be moving country so that's more of a risk over Fellaini. I know that Fellaini's red card record isn't too bad, but I think that his tendency to commit silly fouls is a mark against him, especially when playing deep in CM and especially if he's to play in the CL. But, I certainly wouldn't complain if Fellaini was the signing.

I must go and watch some more of Camacho, haven't seen enough of him myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Pro. F wrote: »

Roman Neustadter imo. Better CM and probably cheaper, although he would be moving country so that's more of a risk over Fellaini. I know that Fellaini's red card record isn't too bad, but I think that his tendency to commit silly fouls is a mark against him, especially when playing deep in CM and especially if he's to play in the CL. But, I certainly wouldn't complain if Fellaini was the signing.

I must go and watch some more of Camacho, haven't seen enough of him myself.

A few people have mentioned him to me but I have to admit I only watch Schalke 3 or 4 times a season if even that and don't remember seeing him play. Is he that good? As in would he be ready to slot in beside Carrick next season if we bought him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,775 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

zerks wrote: »
    .Rooney wouldn't really be missed despite his qualities.

People have such short memories at times.

Rooney would be badly missed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭sReq | uTeK

Guys is anyone heading over to the Swansea game and can pick me up a program? It's the fathers 60th and he would love it, obviously if needed ill pay up front, in the Dublin area an happy to PayPal / bank xfer. Hit me up with a pm really would appreciate it

A few people have mentioned him to me but I have to admit I only watch Schalke 3 or 4 times a season if even that and don't remember seeing him play. Is he that good? As in would he be ready to slot in beside Carrick next season if we bought him.

I think he's real quality. Imo he is very good both with and without the ball, quality close control, good vision and range of passing and very good defensively too. So I'd see him as being able to play alongside Carrick or instead of him.

I think if the midfield were fixed and so the team's passing was more fluid then Kagawa would be able to replace Rooney well enough. But if it carries on as it is, I think there are very few players in the world who could link up the play as well as Rooney does off such poor support.

If Moyes sorts the midfield this summer and Rooney leaves, I think it will be a terrible injustice when the next number 10 gets talked about as being better than Rooney if the team start playing better.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Ya that was a nice touch by Eric in that documentary,nearly in tears he was at the end

Got to love Strachan though,witty little fecker :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=bF0USQNUEoY#t=697s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭enviro

Also looking to know if anyone who is going to the game on Sunday would mind picking me up an extra program? I would really appreciate it. More than happy to pay up front of course. Thanks a million.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

FAO wanting a programme: Nick Coppack just put a link on Twitter if anyone wants to order a programme:

https://www.programmemaster.com/united-review/detail/73-united-review-issues/flypage/641-manchester-united-v-swansea-city?sef=hcfp

Must order a few of them meself.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,623 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

From Goal.com
    The Portuguese said he was called personally by the retiring Manchester United manager, who knows 'The Special One's' next managerial destination

Real Madrid coach Jose Mourinho admits he was devastated to hear the news that Sir Alex Ferguson was retiring as Manchester United manager at the end of the season.

The former Porto, Chelsea and Inter boss revealed the United legend and called him personally to inform him of the decision.

Mourinho said he was saddened to hear the Scot’s 26-year reign at Old Trafford was coming to an end and admitted fielding a team against the Premier League champions will never feel the same again.

"When Sir Alex called me to give me the honour of knowing from him his decision, I was surprised and sad," he said in an interview with Sky Sports.

"It will be difficult for me, and I think all managers, to go to Old Trafford and play against Manchester United without this mythical figure waiting for us.

"At the same time, I was happy to feel his emotion, and pride for such an amazing career.”

United face Swansea City on Sunday in what will be Ferguson's last home game in charge of the club but Mourinho said he would be too emotional to watch the match.

When asked if he would take in the game, he said: "No, certainly not - no, I don't want to cry!"

Mourinho, who himself had been linked with taking over at Old Trafford, went on to endorse David Moyes, who has signed a six-year contract with the Red Devils.

"I think David is a great choice,” added the Portuguese coach.

“I like him as a person; I like his character as a manager. I believe Manchester United will support him, I think he has the qualities to do a good job.

"I wish Sir Alex a happy life, and I wish David a successful career at Old Trafford."

Talking about his own future, Mourinho indicated he had informed Sir Alex about where his next destination in management will be.

"We are good friends, and my good friends know which club I would like to manage when I finish my work at Real Madrid."

• Registered Users Posts: 487 ✭✭Thatsfootball

Guys is anyone heading over to the Swansea game and can pick me up a program? It's the fathers 60th and he would love it, obviously if needed ill pay up front, in the Dublin area an happy to PayPal / bank xfer. Hit me up with a pm really would appreciate it

I'm in the same boat! Anybody able to help please throw me a PM (except it's not my father's birthday!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

FAO wanting a programme: Nick Coppack just put a link on Twitter if anyone wants to order a programme:

https://www.programmemaster.com/united-review/detail/73-united-review-issues/flypage/641-manchester-united-v-swansea-city?sef=hcfp

Must order a few of them meself.

Tried to order it there but they said its not in stock?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,623 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Want to order one to frame...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

The problem is, Rooney seems to have the shortest memory.

Timmyctc wrote: »
    Tried to order it there but they said its not in stock?

Yeah it seems to have sold out fairly quickly! Didn't get round to ordering one either but Coppack said to keep trying the link over the next few days.

Edit: I'd imagine it'll be a case of seeing what is left over after the game (if anything) and fulfilling the rest of the orders. Surely they'll print any number of them off? It's like printing money for the company!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,954 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Yeah, they're out of stock. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭enviro

Want to order one to frame...

Yeah sold out. I had entered my card details and all... Must have just missed the last few :-(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Why are people putting Zaha in their starting Xls?? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭mewe

Fair point!

Haven't you heard? He's the new Ronaldo

Because everyone is so dissillusioned with Valencia,they won't put him in.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭TheTownie

Kags out tasting English cuisine :pac:

BJ2PexACEAAOOEZ.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,247 ✭✭✭Meglamonia

TheTownie wrote: »
    Kags out tasting English cuisine :pac:

BJ2PexACEAAOOEZ.jpg

Big respect for De Gea some catch there.

Is that Kagawa's pornstar girlfriend?

Edit: it's not.

Meglamonia wrote: »
    Big respect for De Gea some catch there.

Hes probably just looking unless hes broke up with his Spanish girlfriend.

Its being reported that Scholesy is re-retiring now before the Swans game.

Is that Kagawa's pornstar girlfriend?

Edit: it's not.

No thats Adele Thorley

Pro. F wrote: »
    I think if the midfield were fixed and so the team's passing was more fluid then Kagawa would be able to replace Rooney well enough. But if it carries on as it is, I think there are very few players in the world who could link up the play as well as Rooney does off such poor support.

If Moyes sorts the midfield this summer and Rooney leaves, I think it will be a terrible injustice when the next number 10 gets talked about as being better than Rooney if the team start playing better.

I can see what you are saying. However, if we sort the midfield WITH Rooney still in the team in his favoured position we are a much better team.

His goals would be hugely missed too
    Liam O wrote: »
    The problem is, Rooney seems to have the shortest memory.

Yeah he's a bit wired alright but in fairness to him he has been moved around way too much of late. Play him in his best position and we will see the best of him

• Registered Users Posts: 350 ✭✭Rojiblancos

Anyone else unable to order a match programme coz its looking for a postal code.. cant get past it??!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

If all else fails, Parcel Motel.

No thats Adele Thorley

Who is she? She sure likes that nurse outfit.

she wears it well

She works at The Birdcage nightclub in Manchester.

Anyone else unable to order a match programme coz its looking for a postal code.. cant get past it??!!

00000 is your friend.

She works at The Birdcage nightclub in Manchester.

I'll make sure to go there next time I'm over!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

Reading Scholes is to retire at the end of the season too.... Not unexpected, but I can't take any more.

Use post code BT11AA for UK,it get's sent to Belfast & will be forwarded to your address.;)

New home kit to be launched 6th June.

photo-21.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

New home kit to be launched 6th June.

Always liked black....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,670 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

@indykaila wrote:
    Assistant manager Mike Phelan to leave #MUFC is gathering pace. Unconfirmed report

l9hO30Z.gif

They didn't photoshop the red glow on the lads arms out so at least we know it's red.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,954 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Is it gonna be Chevrolet on the shirt for the up coming season?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

Mars Bar wrote: »
    Is it gonna be Chevrolet on the shirt for the up coming season?

Is it not still Aon for the 13/14 season then Chevrolet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

zerks wrote: »
    Use post code BT11AA for UK,it get's sent to Belfast & will be forwarded to your address.;)

You should just be able to use IRL or EIRE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,713 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Would like a European assistant manager. Just someone that can bring a bit of a experience from across European leagues besides England

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Headshot wrote: »
    Would like a European assistant manager. Just someone that can bring a bit of a experience from across European leagues besides England

Like who?