Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Real Madrid v Manchester United

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,038 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Ferguson outsmarted Jose in the tactics battle tonight, utd were set up to stop Madrid playing and did it very well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

Decent game...not the classic it was hyped up to be.

Good result for Man U tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,391 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Stupid really, the moment the clock hit 3 mins he blew, the run up was nearly starting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Van Persie was trying to make sure the corner was the last kick by taking his time and it backfired. It was fair enough by the ref.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

It was 3 mins ET. Ref blew it up too early, ofc doesn't stop the fans of a certain team being happy about it...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Chinpool wrote: »
    Wasnt it 3 minutes?

Yeap.

And it didn't take 50 seconds. RVP shot at 92:30, and moved (albeit at a walk) to take the corner within the 20 seconds afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,172 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

niallo27 wrote: »
    In fairness to the ref the 2 minutes was well up when van Persie took his shot.
    It was 3 minutes additional time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,889 ✭✭✭✭klose

Excellent first half and boring enough second half, some sloppy passing at times and both teams had chances to win, united will take a score draw no doubt.

Chinpool wrote: »
    Wasnt it 3 minutes?

I'm sure it was 2 but it did say +3 at the end. It changed at the end.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Great result especially with such a hometown ref

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

FutureGuy wrote: »
    There's your fcuking De Gea for ya. There's your world class keeper.

Super result to bring back to OT. Game on.

Did anyone ever say he wasn't a good shot stopper though? For the corners he was dodgy enough but hes one of the best shot stoppers in the world.

Good result for ManU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Ferguson outsmarted Jose in the tactics battle tonight, utd were set up to stop Madrid playing and did it very well.

Poor attempt at a backhanded comment. Are you annoyed you lost money?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,769 ✭✭✭dmc17

I'm sure it was 2 but it did say +3 at the end. It changed at the end.

And the assistants board had 3 on it too

• Registered Users Posts: 3,054 ✭✭✭ParkRunner

adox wrote: »
    Tie still beautifully balanced but a fantastic result for Utd.

Welbeck and De Gea were stand out players.

Jones deserves a nod as well IMO. United were lucky to hold out for the draw and could have even slipped in a winner but a draw is more than a fair result as far as United are concerned. In fairness to De Gea he did well, although my heart skipped a beat a few times when he punched instead of caught!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

CSF wrote: »
    If the time is up, the time is up to be fair.

Eh? 3 mins is the MIN time added, not MAX.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,320 ✭✭✭v3ttel

Oranage2 wrote: »
    Exactly united are one of the guys goliath easily killed that aren't even named.
    Oranage2 wrote: »
    for united fans to think the have a chance is just delusional!

Please, tell us more.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Nuri Sahin wrote: »
    I reckon there'll be over 10 corners and Ronaldo scoring a brace or more.

1 out of 2. Delighted it's the former :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭supersean1999

Get over the early whistle. Christ, good result, game on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,428 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Giggsy11 wrote: »
    Eh? 3 mins is the MIN time added, not MAX.

It's at the discretion of the referee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,928 ✭✭✭dubmick

Getting a bit tired of listening to Giles.

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    Poor attempt at a backhanded comment. Are you annoyed you lost money?

Yes I'm pissed off at losing money but I'm just calling it as I saw it. What backhanded comment are you on about.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,603 ✭✭✭grumpymunster

As a Chelsea supporter can I say what a fantastic result hopefully you can see it through in 3 weeks. I wil be really surprised if Jose does not get sacked so I do have an ulterior motive for my congratulations so we can get him back.

But regardless excellent result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

What the **** are the RTE lads on about? Utd will have to push forward at OT looking for a goal? Eh no they won't. 0-0 will se them through you eejits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

great result, well done De Gea, Wellbeck top performances

Yes it was 3 minutes but the 3 minutes were up.

dmc17 wrote: »
    And the assistants board had 3 on it too

Did it say +2 on the screen at 90 or am I going mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭Renn

United were lucky to hold out for the draw

Not at all lucky really. They were solid for the entire 2nd half and just totally frustrated Madrid. Pretty good defensive performance from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

dubmick wrote: »
    Getting a bit tired of listening to Giles.

....and Dunphy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭aindriu80

Agree with Dunphy, I don't know how either of the teams will win this years champions league :S

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭supersean1999

Jose really pissed off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,785 ✭✭✭killwill

No it said 3 on the screen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,432 ✭✭✭secman

Tv showed as 2 min in error and corrected it to 3. Good result, can let RM come on to them in OT and get them on the break. We don't have to go gung ho .

Secman

It's at the discretion of the referee.

Are you sure?

I thought it was some lads on boards

It definitely said 2 and changed to 3.

I thought it was strange as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭Andersonisgod

It's a good result for Man Utd but a pretty average Madrid performance. When Man Utd dropped deep and really kept it tight through the centre it illustrated the big problem this Madrid team has long had, they struggle to break down teams that defend well in numbers. Therein lies the huge difference between Real Madrid and Barcelona, Barcelona have the guile, the sharpness of thought and feet to create against teams like that.

Not an ideal situation for either team going into the second leg but particularly for Madrid. However while they are a far more effective counter attacking side they may very well still beat Man Utd at OT, personally I'd still fancy Madrid to go through.

I do agree with Dunphy also, I don't think either of those teams will win the Champions League, IMO Barcelona and maybe Bayern Munich are on a different standard to both teams.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,237 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Rooney10 wrote: »

Please, tell us more.

Ah now, don't expect a response for a while. Lolololololololol.

aindriu80 wrote: »
    Agree with Dunphy, I don't know how either of the teams will win this years champions league :S

Sure he will be saying that at half time in the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,787 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

It said +3, it had just moved into the fourth minute when the ref blew the final whistle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Lol that is all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Fantastic result and performance. Tactics were spot on and worked a treat.
    Welbeck, Jones and in particular RvP were excellent.
    How van Persie managed to retain possession in some of those situations was sublime, the man is pure class.

Rooney - ' Mr odd jobs "

Would yas **** off with the Rooney persecution bollix.
    He was brutal tonight. Full stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,949 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

It said +2 on the top and +3 on the bottom.
    That's as much as I saw from the game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

Is anyone still listening the Eamon Dunphy???? "It's the end of an era for Madrid" :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

The only loser was the referee. Shocking.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

Bradys asked what he thinks, says nothing. Dumphy prattles on about Rooney and now suddenly Bradys full of opinions about Rooney

adox wrote: »
    Would yas **** off with the Rooney persecution bollix.
    He was brutal tonight. Full stop.

I think he wants to be the main man on the big night rather than putting in a shift on the wing. He didn't look happy at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

I think he wants to be the main man on the big night rather than putting in a shift on the wing. He didn't look happy at all.

Just a tip for the future,

if you want to try and sounds intelligent by saying something, best not steal it almost word from word off the same thing we were all just listening to on RTE

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

don't know why this game was hyped up so much, barcelona, bayern and even dortmund on a different level to both these sides

real madrid dominated but united parked the bus, 0-0 will do them at old trafford so they may do the same there but i think they play better when they go at teams and real won't miss as much chances again, real to go through as they have better attacking players overall while both defenses are average