Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rant - Idiot dog owners

• 12-02-2013 3:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭

Why is it that dog owners think it's hilarious that their single, badly socialised dog tries to take on my pack of dogs?!?!?! Just back from a walk on the beach and have encountered such a prize of humanity. The tide is full in which means that there's very little beach left, I had seen her in the distance in the car park letting her dog out of the car and then get back in the car herself!! She left him outside for about 10 mins and I avoided that bit of the beach, then she obviously decided he wasn't going to walk himself and got out of the car and down the beach, I headed to the other bit of limited sand thinking I could have 1 half and her the other cos very few people like my dogs too near theirs (totally understand, 6 dogs can look intimidating so I give people tons of space). But she headed straight for me, with her off lead dog giving it loads to each of my dogs he passed, and she comes straight up to me for a chat! Her little bugger is darting around barking into each of my dogs' faces and she's saying "would you look at him, he thinks he's so brave" and laughing!!!!! She made absolutely no effort to call him back or correct him, I told her he was going to get himself into trouble acting like that with the wrong dog and she justified it by saying he's never seen so many dogs at once before!! I tried moving away but she kept following me and finally I told her he wouldn't be so brave if mine got pissed off and turned on him as a group (now they wouldn't be let but days like today I'd be tempted :rolleyes: ) Still very little reaction so in the end I had to leave and go home.

VERY effing annoying

PS on a different note, does anyone have those dry dog bags, that you zip your dog into when they're wet and muddy and they dry off inside quickly? Thinking I need one cos Wiley is not massively impressed being tied into a towel with only her head sticking out :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Totally agree, I was wanting to post something similar. I've a 75lb 8 month old Dogo Argentino and it's really starting to pee me off. People just don't have full control of their dogs, especially tiny little yappy ones. Every single day with out fail there is always an out of control dog running up and barking and basically having no dog manners what so ever. My fella is a big baby and only reacts when challenged but once that happens he's a different dog and its only a matter of time before a dog gets hurt and I'm probably going to be the one that gets blamed because of his size. I've a fairly good understanding of doggy body language and behavior so i know before hand if something will happen and when I say it to the owners they looks at me like I was some sort of idiot and then of course the dogs are barking and they are looking at me as if to say why is your dog doing that! Complete morons!

The park rules even says all dogs should be kept on a lead (mine is) and all the park workers drive around doing or saying nothing. Whats happening more and more is kids walking around and not having any control of dogs. Over the week end there was a girl no older than 12/13 who had a fully grown Husky barking like mad trying to get to mine and if I didn't notice from a distance and turn and go the other way pretty quickly I would of had a hysterical kid and hurt dogs.

I feel your pain OP I really do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,528 ✭✭✭ShaShaBear

Agreed, and I hate it even more so because my dog is very aggressive with other dogs. I've had him approached and attacked so many times that the only safe place for me to walk him is actually in the street. I go absolutely out of my way to avoid other dogs, even one on leads, to keep Shadow as stress free as possible. People seem to take " Excuse me, my dog WILL defend himself if you do not control your dog" as some sort of personal challenge.
    Keeping in mind that Shadow developed his aggression from being attacked by off-lead dogs in the park and estate where I lived when he was younger. Its a horrid cycle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭gregers85

Ye things like this happen me all the time! I have 2 German Shepherds (and recently added a springer spaniel)! My 2 are very well trained and very well socialized! i regularly go to obedience and agility classes with them so they are very used to other dogs and people so rarely even give other dogs a second glance while on the lead when out for walks! I am very aware of the stigma a lot of people have for "restricted breeds" so rarely leave mine off lead unless it is very secluded! I constantly meet people who let there dogs go crazy pulling at mine barking and growling and dont try move them out of the way or people who have there dogs off lead and there dogs run right up into mine!! I have no fear of dogs and often have to used my leg as a divide to keep the strange dog away! what amazes me is how many people find it amusing/ funny and smile/ laugh or crack a joke! when people react like this now I generally respond by saying "if my 2 where acting like that would you still be laughing??" it usually wipes the smile off haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭fatmammycat

Same with me gregers85, have a large gsd; at 11 months he's still only a pup but well socalised and pretty easy going, but the amount of small dogs that charge up to him barking and carrying on is ridiculous. Had to actually tell a woman to control her dog recently. Turns out her dog is dog aggressive, but unleashed for some reason. She was laughing and saying 'oh your guy could have him for breakfast!' and I said, 'That's great, I don't actually want my dog reacting in a negative way to your dog.' It was beyond stupid. In the end it took her 10 minutes to catch her dog and carry it away (my dog was on his lead).
    Very frustrating, because that kind of encounter can set my training back a little, and it's annoying. I like that my lad has learned how to approach dogs in a calm manner ( he was a holy terror for bounding before -scary and impolite), sniff, wag and off we go: snarling lap dogs who could easliy be hurt need to be on leads JUST as much as any other dog aggressive dog, more so even.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

OK, I totally understand your frustration with this person, but what about you having six dogs....if they did attack this dog, could you control them all, I doubt it.... I think you are a bit of idiot having six dogs out at once too.
    Think of it this way, if it did go wrong and you both ended up in court, I think you both would be equally guilty, her for not been in control of her dog in a public place and you for thinking you can manage six dogs by yourself, or 'pack of dogs' in your own words.

Doom wrote: »
    OK, I totally understand your frustration with this person, but what about you having six dogs....if they did attack this dog, could you control them all, I doubt it.... I think you are a bit of idiot having six dogs out at once too.
    Think of it this way, if it did go wrong and you both ended up in court, I think you both would be equally guilty, her for not been in control of her dog in a public place and you for thinking you can manage six dogs by yourself, or 'pack of dogs' in your own words.

That is a simply ridiculous statement.

ShaShaBear wrote: »
    That is a simply ridiculous statement.

Would you like to back your statement up.....I really would like to hear it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 406 ✭✭Rommie

First of all, you are being extremely offensive calling the OP an idiot for going out with six dogs. Second of all, plenty of people can do pack walks without a single issue, they have trained their dogs for one thing. Unlike the other person who's dog clearly had no training. I don't doubt for a second that the OP had control over the dogs, as the OP stated their dogs did nothing while an annoying dog was barking into their faces. Sounds like they had complete control to me

Would you like to back your statement up.....I really would like to hear it.

It is perfectly within the OPs rights to walk all of her dogs at once if they feel the need to (expecting them to walk them all separately is utterly absurd :rolleyes: )
    Dogs need to be under effective control. The other dog clearly was not under effective control, and since OPs dogs did no harm, they were under effective control.

One dog on a lead could just as easily break away from their owner on a lead if they were provoked enough. I know my collie-bernese cross would have no problem dragging me through mid air if he ran fast and hard enough. But since he is trained not to pull on the lead, I don't have to worry about it, except in circumstances where he is approached by an unattended dog, whose owner is either not present or breaking the law by not controlling their dog. I am just as likely to have no control over six of my Shadow as I am of one of him, and I know I certainly wouldn't stop walking my dog simply because he might try to defend himself from a dog whose owner is blatently breaking the law.

Use Google you will find plenty of 'my dog never done that before' stories...welcome to the real world....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

There's one particular dog on my local beach that is always off lead, always comes bolting up to me with my dogs and gets in my females face immediately. Coco is great with other dogs, except when a dog completely invades her space and doesn't act politely and this dos is always the same, bounds over, no manners, doesn't take my girls body language into account and is all over her.

It's always the same, the owner comes over and apologises and says that he only wants to play but he never seems to act on it, or bother even leashing him when he sees us coming.

• Registered Users Posts: 198 ✭✭johnny-grunge

I agree with the OP. A person out walking six dogs could not do so if they weren't in control of the animals. The other person he bumped into sounds like a complete donkey.

I'll have to give out to my housemate then for regularly walking four akitas and a bernese together. People's lives are in danger apparently!

Use Google you will find plenty of 'my dog never done that before' stories...welcome to the real world....:rolleyes:

Exactly. "My dog"... not "my six dogs"

Are you suggesting no one walk their dog in case they cannot control them when the need arises?

It would seem the law appears to think that having 5 dogs or more requires a person to register with the local authority......are you a responsible person?

"more than 5 dogs aged over 4 months at any premises unless the premises are registered under regulations"

Exactly. "My dog"... not "my six dogs"

Are you suggesting no one walk their dog in case they cannot control them when the need arises?

I think you will find the law is clear on that....

Control of Dogs Act, 1986

22.—(1) Where—

(a) on a complaint being made to the District Court by any interested person that a dog is dangerous and not kept under proper control, or

(b) on the conviction of any person for an offence under section 9 (2) of this Act,

it appears to the Court that the dog is dangerous and not kept under proper control, the Court may, in addition to any other penalty which it may impose, order that the dog be kept under proper control or be destroyed.

(2) Whenever the Court orders the destruction of a dog pursuant to subsection (1) of this section, the Court may—

(a) direct that the dog be delivered to a dog warden or any suitable person to be destroyed, and

(b) direct that the expenses of the destruction of the dog be paid by the owner of the dog.

(3) Whenever a dog is delivered to a dog warden or any other person pursuant to an order of the Court to be destroyed, the person to whom the dog is delivered shall, as soon as possible, destroy the dog, or cause it to be destroyed, in a humane manner.

(4) Any sums payable by the owner of a dog pursuant to a direction of the Court under subsection (2) (b) of this section may be recovered by a local authority as a simple contract debt in any court of competent jurisdiction.

(5) Where a dog is proved to have caused damage in an attack on any person, or to have injured livestock, it may be dealt with under this section as a dangerous dog which has not been kept under proper control.

It would seem the law appears to think that having 5 dogs or more requires a person to register with the local authority......are you a responsible person?

"more than 5 dogs aged over 4 months at any premises unless the premises are registered under regulations"

Since you are quoting a regulation put in place for people who own a premises that keeps guard dogs, I'm going to leave it at that :p

Where did I say that all the dogs belonged to my housemate exactly? I said she walked them all together

The law applies to dogs not under control, which as previously stated the OPs dogs are. I really don't get why you're trolling this thread?

Rommie wrote: »
    Where did I say that all the dogs belonged to my housemate exactly? I said she walked them all together

Think he's referring to the OP, but the regulation is meant for people who keep guard dogs, and geared towards commercial or business premises :D
    Im sure the OP has dog licences for them all, if they all belong to the OP, in which case the Local Authority is aware ;)

If it came to court, the owner of the unrestrained dog wouldn't have a leg to stand on, because all six dogs were on leads, which is what the Local Authority consider to be effective control. Not that any owner would bring it to court when they risk getting pulled on breaking dog control laws themselves :p

Think he's referring to the OP, but the regulation is meant for people who keep guard dogs, and geared towards commercial or business premises :D
    Im sure the OP has dog licences for them all, if they all belong to the OP, in which case the Local Authority is aware ;)

If it came to court, the owner of the unrestrained dog wouldn't have a leg to stand on, because all six dogs were on leads, which is what the Local Authority consider to be effective control. Not that any owner would bring it to court when they risk getting pulled on breaking dog control laws themselves

19.—(1) The Minister may, by regulations, specify standards for premises in which more than five dogs aged over four months are kept and may make provision for the use and control of dogs

If it came to court, the owner of the unrestrained dog wouldn't have a leg to stand on, because all six dogs were on leads, which is what the Local Authority consider to be effective control. Not that any owner would bring it to court when they risk getting pulled on breaking dog control laws themselves :p

On leads does not mean 'under control'

Btw...I'm not trolling, I am the only one here backing up my side with facts and laws.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,281 ✭✭✭Valentina

I absolutely hate this. As a dog owner I always keep mine on the lead and under control and will always give other dog walkers plenty of space to get past.

I have a horse and I like to take her to the beach which I am permitted to do so at certain times of the day/year. She doesn't mind dogs at all at home but snarling, yapping dogs running around her fetlocks can get her agitated. Dopey owners looking on and making no attempt to get their dogs under control will find same dogs being on the receiving end of a swift kick from my mare. :mad:

If it came to court, the owner of the unrestrained dog wouldn't have a leg to stand on, because all six dogs were on leads, which is what the Local Authority consider to be effective control. Not that any owner would bring it to court when they risk getting pulled on breaking dog control laws themselves

19.—(1) The Minister may, by regulations, specify standards for premises in which more than five dogs aged over four months are kept and may make provision for the use and control of dogs

What local authority deem that a dog must be on a lead? And by the way it's
    'effectual control' not effective. If you're going to go spouting rubbish about laws, the least you can do is get it right:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,045 ✭✭✭✭tk123

On leads does not mean 'under control'

Btw...I'm not trolling, I am only one here backing up my side with facts and laws.

?! What exactly are you supposed 'backing up'?! That the woman's dog was not under control or that TMD is meant to be automatically at fault for having 6 dogs?! :confused:

'effectual control' not effective. If you're going to go spouting rubbish about laws, the least you can do is get it right:rolleyes:

?? My quote at the bottom in bold is copied and pasted directly from the Act

No Borderlinemeath, I didn't say that they have to be on leads, I said that because they are on a lead, the Local Authority would consider them to be under effective control, whereas the dog who is not on a lead definitely wasn't under effective control when he annoyed the OPs dogs.
    Dog laws quote as both Effective and Effectual. I mean that if all six of the OPs dogs were not on the lead as they were, then of course both owners would be at fault

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,770 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

Mod Note: Warning issued to Doom for using personal abuse against another user.
    It is clear in the forum charter: attack the post, not the poster. Personal abuse will not be tolerated.
    Do not reply to this post on-thread.
    Thanks,
    DBB

DBB wrote: »
    Mod Note: Warning issued to Doom for using personal abuse against another user.
    It is clear in the forum charter: attack the post, not the poster. Personal abuse will not be tolerated.
    Do not reply to this post on-thread.
    Thanks,
    DBB

Fair enough, DBB, can I say <snip>

Mod note: no, you can't

?? My quote at the bottom in bold is copied and pasted directly from the Act

What does the Act of 1986 require of the owner of a dog in relation to keeping control over the same?
    According to Section 9(1) unless a dog is in the premises of an owner or “such other person in charge” or in the
    premises of a person where the consent of that person has been given, a dog shall not be in any other place unless
    such owner or other persons in charge of the dog “accompanies it and keeps it under effectual control.”

ShaSha, it wasn't directed at you at all;)