Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Sparta Praha vs Chelsea Europa League K.O 18:00 (Setanta Ireland)

• 14-02-2013 1:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭

• Registered Users Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Caveman1

I'm looking forward to this game, don't really know what to expect. Hope we take it seriously, some people discount this competition but at the end of the day it's still a european cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

As I put in the main thread inly 19 players travelled, Rafa will have no other option but to play a strong team.

Starting line up could be :

Cech
    Azp Cahill Ivan Bertie
    Ramires Lamps
    Hazard Oscar Marin
    Torres

Luiz suspended, Ba ineligible and Romeu injured.

• Registered Users Posts: 234 ✭✭Blue Shamrock

Hope we go for this be nice to be one of only 4 clubs to win all 3 major European trophies

A nice 2 or 3 goal lead after the away tie would be excellent, it would ease pressure on the up coming Brentford game and home leg of this game before we play City away, its a chance to rest players and keep them fresh for the City game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,627 ✭✭✭Sgt Pepper 64

GavRedKing wrote: »
    A nice 2 or 3 goal lead after the away tie would be excellent, it would ease pressure on the up coming Brentford game and home leg of this game before we play City away, its a chance to rest players and keep them fresh for the City game.

I've warned you before Gav about your predictions! :eek:

10-0 Sparta so :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭S28382

This should be a Chelsea win tonight. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Didn't realise kick off was so early. Is the game not on ESPN?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzovision

Cech - Azpilicueta, Ivanovic, Cahill, Bertrand - Ramires, Lampard - Marin, Mata, Hazard - Torres.

This will be a tough game, Sparta have a great home record.

Cech - Azpilicueta, Ivanovic, Cahill, Bertrand - Ramires, Lampard - Marin, Mata, Hazard - Torres.

So close with my prediction.

PM to a stream anyone?

Anyone else on sky, saying ESPN hd not available

got one.

Lamps had a good shot there.

• Registered Users Posts: 202 ✭✭getuponthis

Is ba injured or what's the Craic!? Why does rafa persist with Torres!??? Doing my head in, so much for squad rotation. Torres is starting every game and getting 80+ mins everytime.

Ba is cup tied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

Mata played an almost perfect ball there for Torres

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Anyone else on sky, saying ESPN hd not available

You can see it on sky go then

Excellent link between Marin & Hazard, very unlucky from Hazard

So close! Good start by us.

We've started well, an early goal would be nice.

Marin looks lively.

That's it, forgot he was cup tied! Marin is looking lively

Decent chance for S.P.

efb wrote: »

cheers you are right

and thanks for the pm, gav

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

After nearly killing myself tearing home from work for this, ESPN isn't showing it in Ireland. Fúckers. Ringing Sky later and they can come and take their fúcking useless shítebox out, to be fúcked.

Watching it on laptop, huddled around it with 3 mates that I had invited up for the match, and I feel like a right tart... Fúck sake... :mad:

DazMarz wrote: »
    After nearly killing myself tearing home from work for this, ESPN isn't showing it in Ireland. Fúckers. Ringing Sky later and they can come and take their fúcking useless shítebox out, to be fúcked.

Watching it on laptop, huddled around it with 3 mates that I had invited up for the match, and I feel like a right tart... Fúck sake... :mad:

Just got off the phone with them, had a load of calls, problem with the channel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Just got off the phone with them, had a load of calls, problem with the channel

You've been misinformed if you're not talking crap.

Europa League football isn't available on ESPN over here, it's always like this. ESPN only have the UK rights.

Good covering by Dave done the right.

SantryRed wrote: »
    You've been misinformed if you're not talking crap.

Europa League football isn't available on ESPN over here, it's always like this. ESPN only have the UK rights.

Wow, didnt know that and I got through to tech support as well, he said it was a problem, lying buggars

Even though it was offside we've dropped off....again, typical from us.

We'll have to go 1-0 down before we start playing.

All Sparta now.

Torres you fcuking donkey!!

Good counter, should have scored!

That was a ridicilous ball by Mata back to Torres, why didnt he shot himself!!

Marin is lively

Thats a half chance and a decent chancce for Torres in 3 mins.

Commentator believes its only a matter of time before hes gone.

He could be right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,852 ✭✭✭homer simpson

This game could should be the final nail in the coffin for Torres. He is showing everyone yet again the true Donkey that he is with his inability to put away, even get his shots away, against what is a very poor team who haven't played a competitive game since before Christmas.

Its not just Torres, Ramires has been poor, only Marin looks lively of the trio of himself , Mata and Hazard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭RichT

efb wrote: »

For the next hour and a bit, you Sir are at LEGEND status!

Average 1st half, very average.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,852 ✭✭✭homer simpson

RichT wrote: »
    For the next hour and a bit, you Sir are at LEGEND status!

Whats better is even the Medium quality stream on Sky Go is 100 times better that that muck they are showing on 3e :o

• Registered Users Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

Jaysus but chelsea are redefining the word 'fragile' here. Total domination in the first few mins, then Sparta get a chance out of nothing and we go to pieces - it's like the slightest setback knocks the stuffing out of this group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭RichT

Whats better is even the Medium quality stream on Sky Go is 100 times better that that muck they are showing on 3e :o

I always forget about 3e :o

I clicked over to see what was on and it's effing Liverpool :mad:

MY EYES MY EYES !

RichT wrote: »
    I always forget about 3e :o

I clicked over to see what was on and it's effing Liverpool :mad:

MY EYES MY EYES !

Did they lose 2-0 in the end??

GavRedKing wrote: »
    Did they lose 2-0 in the end??