Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thai Curry?

Options
  • 14-02-2013 2:58pm
    Registered Users Posts: 17,044 ✭✭✭✭

Why, oh why, oh why would anybody who calls themselves a chef lace a Thai curry (green or red) with dairy cream.
    I'm no expert on Thai cooking but as far as I know there should never be dairy cream in these dishes yet twice in the last six months I've gotten Thai curries that tasted like creamy korma of stroganoff - no real Thai flavours, no heat and lashings and lashings of cream. WTF???

To compound matters, too much cream really doesn't agree with my system - it tries to get out again very quickly?

Do I have to stop ordering these dishes when eating on the road or ask the usually clueless server if there is cream in the curry?

The offenders were The White Horse in Ballincollig, Cork yesterday and Lang's in Grange, Co. Sligo some months ago (I've previously really liked Lang's but this put me off).

I understand that a lot of punters don't like a curry too hot but that doesn't mean you have to put cream in it, does it?

Rant over.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Curry Addict

i have to agree I really dislike the restaurant style thai curries here, they are way ott creamy and sweet in general.
    if u want a proper thai curry, you will enjoy this.... http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056870424

• Registered Users Posts: 17,044 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

i have to agree I really dislike the restaurant style thai curries here, they are way ott creamy and sweet in general.