Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

St Angelas Sligo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 662 ✭✭✭aimzLc2

The work load is ferocious in first year so avoid bunking down with IT students as you'll go doo lally with envy 😣
    You do need the support of a few classmates to survive

do you have any tips for starting angela's? i'm nervous to be moving out for the first time :P and were you able to get a job there? i'm worried about the costs too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭happywithlife

aimzLc2 wrote: »
    do you have any tips for starting angela's? i'm nervous to be moving out for the first time :P and were you able to get a job there? i'm worried about the costs too

I'm. Too long gone 😜 to be of much use - there was a thread here last year so look for that

First off all, don't buy half the stuff on the list they send you
    Memory tells me you need
    2 lab coats
    1 knife set - pay the extra for engraving so you can mind your knives - 14 years on, I'm still using mine at home 😀
    1 sewing machine. I got singer cos I'm southern based and there's a shop in cork. Those from the Sligo direction gen bought brother
    Don't buy the linen cloths and all that stuff if its still on the list
    Nothing can prepare you for the cost of the course though 😰
    It's sooooo expensive.
    Workload is hectic but a part time job is perfectly manageable.
    Make friends with the RA if they still have one or if not a 2nd yr during orientation
    Friends for life are made there so best of luck 😃

• Registered Users Posts: 15 kds24

I'm in angies at the moment. On campus accommodation is by far the nicest, after that it's ard nua. On campus is handy cause you can go back to your apt during lunch and (very rare) hours off during the day. the workload is very intense! it's only about 10 mins from sligo town, and most taxi's do rates of 8euro which is nothing when there's 4 people in the taxi! there's probably an even split between those with cars and those without. ask me any specific questions and i'll do my best to answer :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Mugatuu

kds24 wrote: »
    I'm in angies at the moment. On campus accommodation is by far the nicest, after that it's ard nua. On campus is handy cause you can go back to your apt during lunch and (very rare) hours off during the day. the workload is very intense! it's only about 10 mins from sligo town, and most taxi's do rates of 8euro which is nothing when there's 4 people in the taxi! there's probably an even split between those with cars and those without. ask me any specific questions and i'll do my best to answer :)

Hi kds24
    What course are you doing? Do you know anyone doing the applied food science course? What are the timetable hours like overall? Do many students drive in? Is parking hard to find? Parking spaces were like gold-dust in WIT in the mornings. Is the traffic bad in the mornings etc? Can Angelas students join clubs and societies over in Sligo IT? The student union said there's only about 4 or 5 in the college presently.
    Thank you :D

• Registered Users Posts: 15 kds24

Mugatuu wrote: »
    Hi kds24
    What course are you doing? Do you know anyone doing the applied food science course? What are the timetable hours like overall? Do many students drive in? Is parking hard to find? Parking spaces were like gold-dust in WIT in the mornings. Is the traffic bad in the mornings etc? Can Angelas students join clubs and societies over in Sligo IT? The student union said there's only about 4 or 5 in the college presently.
    Thank you :D

i'm doing home ec and economics. i dont really know the girls in food science but i know their hours aren't quite as intense as ours. no parking is usually fine! obviously the ones closest to the college are gone early, but theres plenty of spaces.no idea what traffic is like as i lived on campus last year. nope angela's is not affiliated with the IT so as far as i know you can't join their clubs and socs. yeah there's only a few clubs, but there's always the option to start your own!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭Pang

When I was in first year, Ard Nua put all us gals from Angela's together in either apartments or houses. There were 7 of us in the apartment and it was such a great way to meet and get to know people from the course.

For the other three years, some of us actually requested the same apartment and rooms and stayed together during that period of time. We had people that we knew from the IT from first year leave Clarion and come live with us as well! I really enjoyed my time there. Plus Ard Nua use to throw a Christmas party with plenty of vouchers!

In relation to the course, it's going to be expensive and intense. Definitely buy the knife set and the lab clothes. I bought a Brother sewing machine when I started there and I would recommend that noone buys the one they recommend. I found it poor quality and it was difficult to ever get the tension correct on it. Look around for value for money. If you have your own machine at home, this can be used. Lidl had a Singer recently for 99euro.

Another thing, I'll say to anyone doing Home Ec, is to be aware of the cost of teaching practice. You'll be expected to have plenty of resources and visual aids which can cost alot, between colour printing and laminating etc...

• Registered Users Posts: 25 Coughlans

is there anybody thinking of doing or already doing the irish elective? Also someone told me that you can swap electives once you get in. Is this true?

Could anyone pm me rough prices for ard nua accomadation please? i can't see prices on their website :/

aimzLc2 wrote: »
    Could anyone pm me rough prices for ard nua accomadation please? i can't see prices on their website :/

AimzLc2, if you want to PM me your email address I can give you their price packages and all the info they sent me on :-)

Done.That would be brilliant thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭Pang

Coughlans wrote: »
    is there anybody thinking of doing or already doing the irish elective? Also someone told me that you can swap electives once you get in. Is this true?

Nobody in my year swapped elective nor has anyone I know that did the course. I don't think think it is allowed. I'm open to correction!

• Registered Users Posts: 6 Tanita123

Im going into second year in St.Angelas and would recommend not living on campus! its waaay better craic out where all the other students are and a bus goes every morning to St.Angelas, and back home in evenings and its 2e per journey! Taxis from campus to town cost between 10-20e sometimes, depending on how many people:P Its also very quiet, not many people tend to stay there and theres nothing to do in the evenings out there. St Angelas is a nice college though, very friendly and a nice atmosphere! :)

Wooo :D Got my first choice in St. Angela's and I'm absolutely delighted :D Anyone here going to Sligo? :)

Got my first choice too :) Angelas's bound :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6 eimeardreamer

I got my first choice too!! :D Is ther any space left at Ard Nua? :)

I'd give them a quick ring but I'd say there is!:)

Application done and in the post! :) Does anyone know are Angela's students housed together?

May get down to the post with my acceptance of accommodation:)
    Yeah they mix Angelas students in with Sligo IT students :)

Congrats to all the happy people - best of luck with it 😀

Does anybody know when we get out letters from the college, when we start ad how much holidays we get each year?

We get our letters in the next 2-3 days! We're starting the first week of September and then off for a week and back starting properly the following week. I've no idea how much holidays we get but I presume similar holidays to the other colleges.

• Registered Users Posts: 9 bonbons

Is it true that the b. ed. course is going to be five years in length? I heard this from a past student who said they were increasing the length.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Captain Hman

If anyone here needs a house mate or flat mate, PM me i'm going to IT Sligo and I'm looking for accommodation.

Got my college registration pack from St. Angela's today, the amount of stuff we have to get!

Post it up and people can advise what is essential and what is not

I'm doing the Applied food science so my equipment list might be a tiny bit different but ill post it anyway :-)

Black safety shoes
    Food lab coat and black trousers
    Science lab coat (lancer type)
    Bakers style hat

Knife set contents:
    Knife wallet
    Piping bag with two nozzles
    Chef knife
    Bread knife
    Pairing knife
    Filleting knife
    Silicone pastry brush
    Spatula
    Grapefruit knife
    Garlic crusher
    Palette knife
    Vegetable peeler
    Apple corer
    Melon ballet
    Tablespoon
    Teaspoons
    Table knives
    Temperature probe
    Dessertspoons
    Dessert forks
    Forks
    Teaspoon
    Fine skewer

Science manuals, safety glasses and a permanent marker!

Haven't got the book list yet I get that on the 9th! :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 1 Molloy068

I'm doing the Applied food science so my equipment list might be a tiny bit different but ill post it anyway :-)

Black safety shoes
    Bakers style hat

Knife set contents:
    Knife wallet
    Chef knife
    Bread knife
    Pairing knife
    Filleting knife
    Silicone pastry brush
    Spatula
    Grapefruit knife
    Garlic crusher
    Palette knife
    Vegetable peeler
    Apple corer
    Melon ballet
    Tablespoon
    Tablespoons
    Table knives
    Tenpeture probe
    Dessertspoons
    Dessert forks
    Forks
    Teaspoon
    Fine skewer

Hello, I'm doing food science and business management also.. Although I didn't receive any information today.. Where you told when we start? :)

Molloy068 wrote: »
    Hello, I'm doing food science and business management also.. Although I didn't receive any information today.. Where you told when we start? :)

Hey! :-) great to find someone else that's doing the course! We have to be in the college at 10.00am on Monday 2nd of September for registration etc. We then start classes on Monday 9th at 8.55am. Hope that helps! :)

is anyone else here staying in ard nua and are they moving in Monday?

Black safety shoes
    Bakers style hat

Knife set contents:
    Knife wallet
    Chef knife
    Bread knife
    Pairing knife
    Filleting knife
    Silicone pastry brush
    Spatula
    Grapefruit knife
    Garlic crusher
    Palette knife
    Vegetable peeler
    Apple corer
    Melon ballet
    Tablespoon
    Teaspoons
    Table knives
    Temperature probe
    Dessertspoons
    Dessert forks
    Forks
    Teaspoon
    Fine skewer

Sounds about right. Pay the extra to have your knives engraved with your name -- well worth it!

I have 90% of that equipment from my previous course and all my knives are fully engraved :-) (except my pairing knife! The blade is so small) Is there any point getting a grapefruit knife?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,186 ✭✭✭dee_mc

You'll only use the grapefruit knife once (in college I mean!) but it does make the job a bit easier, I picked one up for a few euro in Homestore and more a couple of years ago (my Angela's model was stolen... the mind boggles!!) and they have a store in Sligo now so should be easy enough to pick one up :)

• Registered Users Posts: 3 hannahmatt1

Hey! :-) great to find someone else that's doing the course! We have to be in the college at 10.00am on Monday 2nd of September for registration etc. We then start classes on Monday 9th at 8.55am. Hope that helps! :)

I too am doing this course haha, have received no info yet though

is anyone else here staying in ard nua and are they moving in Monday?

Im staying in ard nua and im moving in on the 2nd!!

Moving my things in tomorrow! Ill prob see ye at registration! :)

are you getting keys for ard nua tomorrow?

Got them this morning! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1 Eimear_95

Anyone doing nursing here?

• Registered Users Posts: 3 lisa_3

Hiya,
    I am a first year in general nursing in NUI galway looking for someone studying general nursing in St. Angelas and wanting to switch. The courses are linked so we study the same things at the same times so a switch is apparently possible. I have been told that the course is currently full so i cant transfer in next year unless someone drops out or i find someone to switch with. The course at NUIG galway is excellent, i am only looking to transfer as i live in sligo and would like to live at home. So if any of ye want to switch to nuig or know someone who does please let me know asap! :]

• Registered Users Posts: 1 cherry208

hi guys i have just done my leaving cert and i have accepted and deferred my place for the home ec and bio course in st angelas until next year. I'e been reading loads of peoples comments about the course saying the work load is really intense and im kind of worried that maybe it will be too much. Also does anyone know how difficult the biology part is. i loved bio for the leaving cert but wasnt a major fan of chemistry and physics in the junior cert. how difficult is the physics and chemistry part of the course?

cherry208 wrote: »
    hi guys i have just done my leaving cert and i have accepted and deferred my place for the home ec and bio course in st angelas until next year. I'e been reading loads of peoples comments about the course saying the work load is really intense and im kind of worried that maybe it will be too much. Also does anyone know how difficult the biology part is. i loved bio for the leaving cert but wasnt a major fan of chemistry and physics in the junior cert. how difficult is the physics and chemistry part of the course?

Well done on getting offered the course to start. I'm about to start 3rd year Home ec and bio. There's no point in lying to you and saying it's all plain sailing when it isn't.
    The course is very intense but, 100% doable. You make such good friends. Everyone supports each other and you do get by! The hours are long and you do have to make time to socialise and what not. There are so many aspects and modules of the course I couldn't begin to break it down for you. You will be busy all the time, but once you put the time and effort into assignments it pays off.
    The biology is grand..lectures can be pretty intense and stuff can be hard to grasp at times but there will be about 14 of you so you can ask as many questions as you like. It's interesting particularly the human biology modules!!
    The physics and chemistry are very daunting at the star but the lecturer is great. If you don't understand something she doesn't let it go. Your whole year will be doing chemistry and physics but the biology elective so an extra module in it after Christmas because we are going to be science teachers after all!! 😋
    I hope u haven't scared you or turned you off the course now, there are so many positive aspects to the course as well.
    Hope this may have helped! ✋ðŸ¼ðŸ™ŒðŸ¼