Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it ever right to cheer a death?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

Who was paying this gig ?

I assume you mean who was playing? To be honest with you I don't remember. It was nearly 20 years ago. It might have been John Martyn but I couldn't say for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

<gets pen and starts to write song> anyone have any other lirics? think i'l write it as an upbeat traditional irish type song

It's already been written

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭EmptyTree

Cheer it? No. But I won't be losing any sleep over it either.:cool:
    starlings wrote: »
    Did you cheer Jimmy Saville's death when you heard the accusations against him? Or Milosevic's in custody? Surely the satisfaction should be in seeing them being held to account, as this child-murderer was, rather than their deaths?

Good point.

In fairness, death is something that will happen to all of us, it's not solely reserved for the scum of the earth. (Pity really:()

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

This beast had his time in front of a judge and his evil was spelled out in rational terms and without emotion. He probably felt like a victim in his final moments which he had no right to feel like. I have no joy at his death, nor have I sorrow. It will never undo his despicable acts.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭gallag

Why do people not like Thatcher?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Perfectly acceptable to be happy when some people die. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭Lingua Franca

gallag wrote: »

Welcome to our planet, visitor!

We will furnish you with a history of our planet in the fullness of time but first you must tell us about all your planet, where they have never heard of Margaret Thatcher and reasons why people might be a little miffed with her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭doubleyoubee

For £5 million its probably fair to say he underachieved at Spurs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Killer Wench

I image if I was an enslaved sex worker or child being raped or molested, I would cheer the death of the person abusing me. And for those saying that you would never cheer a death, are you saying you wouldn't cheer the death of the person assualting you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

It's probably not right but there are quite a few people whose last breath I would cheer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

I image if I was an enslaved sex worker or child being raped or molested, I would cheer the death of the person abusing me. And for those saying that you would never cheer a death, are you saying you wouldn't cheer the death of the person assualting you?

You'd be more likely to cheer the end of it. If a series of people were abusing you, the death of one while the abuse continued would be neither here nor there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Larkin00 wrote: »
    I didn't cheer when she died. She never really did much to harm anyone except the Shilpa Poppadom episode but other than that I think she was just another fame whore. I mean how desperate for media spotlight does someone have to be to have there last few months broadcast on national TV. In saying all that, she did raise awareness for cancer and if the widespread coverage of her illness encouraged even one person to get tested and detect cancer early enough to survive then it was a success I suppose :D

I felt really sorry for the girl. She was a young woman dying of cancer who had children. So what if her chosen career was reality TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,157 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Except Twink

No

Not Thatcher
    Not Bush
    Not Hitler
    Not Hussain

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭CINCLANTFLT

Amen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭3rdDegree

krudler wrote: »

I dunno there's times where the world is a better place when someone isn't in it anymore.

It certainly is true that there are some people who bring nothing but misery to the world. In that case, I might be pleased to see them gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭Furious_George

I wasn't sure which way to answer the OP's question, until I read what he did to that poor child and found myself involuntarily smiling when i thought of a slow, scary, painful death that bastard probably experienced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

...latter day slave factors, liars, cheats, sadists, exploiters, hellhound bitches from hades, Lucifers servant maidens who deserve to reside in the deepest pits of hell for the best part of eternity.

Roll out the band when they all die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭MickFleetwood

Of course it's alright sometimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

Dunno, Denis seemed to be a good awld skin really.......

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

So all we can take from this thread is we can't cheer any death except Margret Thatcher.
    Well, at least we have that to look forward to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

No

A death is a death and is never something I will cheer on

Not even twink?

So ill ask again, why do yous hate Thatcher? Was it standing up to the militant trade unionists? Do yous not wish the government now would stand up to the unions a bit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

Everyone out there has someone that cares for them. They're only human past it all. Cheering on the death of someone is kind of barbaric and primitive in itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

The way I see it is, If the world is better off or safer with certain people dead, well then there's no difference in showing no sympthy/expressing relief and cheering it on.

Can't wait until Thatcher kicks the bucket. The drinking sessions which follow will be immense.

MaxSteele wrote: »

Can't wait until Thatcher kicks the bucket. The drinking sessions which follow will be immense.
    Why? Really having a hard time understanding why so many irish people have so much hate for a British pm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭tfitzgerald

Rabidlamb wrote: »
    I bet you're christian. . . . & possibly vegetarian too, I don't know which is worse.
    Well forgive me either way.

Off topic I know. But I love this post. I'm going to use it I. The next argument I get into :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Why? Really having a hard time understanding why so many irish people have so much hate for a British pm?

It's to do with Northern Ireland. For instance many here think that she should have intervened during the hunger strikes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭Lingua Franca

Because she went on a killing spree in Northern Ireland in 1968.

Look, we know you're down with the BNP etc but you're being disingenous here. Do you pretend to be this surprised when people express their disdain for George W Bush/Berlusconi/Putin as well?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭MaxSteele

She was a cold, stubborn, elitist, tight fisted geebag.

Plus the celebratory sessions for her send off to hell will be mighty craic.

So she did not give into militant trade unions or prisoners who wanted all the benefits of fighting a declared war respecting the Geneva convention while also planting bombs in shoping centers? What other world leader would have done things differently? Seriously, think of your favourite world leader of all time and put them through the decisions MT had to make, I honestly think if it was a man leading at the time and made the same choices he would not be as hated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

So she did not give into militant trade unions or prisoners who wanted all the benefits of fighting a declared war respecting the Geneva convention while also planting bombs in shoping centers? What other world leader would have done things differently? Seriously, think of your favourite world leader of all time and put them through the decisions MT had to make, I honestly think if it was a man leading at the time and made the same choices he would not be as hated.

I know it was an awful time for both sides but she needed to use more tact with the IRA, her cold stance only prolonged the troubles and created even more hostility in the nationalist community towards Britain. The issue needed to be seen to, we can't pretend that there wasn't civil rights issues present in NI at the time.

Proper dialogue and balanced debate could have saved lives.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Dont think I would cheer but I certainaly have no sorrow that this person was murdered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Did you cheer Jimmy Saville's death when you heard the accusations against him? Or Milosevic's in custody? Surely the satisfaction should be in seeing them being held to account, as this child-murderer was, rather than their deaths?

Yeah, Ian Huntley was "brought to account" and has a cushy life in prison, where's the justice there?

Don't think the world would be any worse off if someone took a shank to him someday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 683 ✭✭✭starlings

Yeah, Ian Huntley was "brought to account" and has a cushy life in prison, where's the justice there?

Don't think the world would be any worse off if someone took a shank to him someday.

I don't think prison life is cushy.
    And yes, I think the world would be worse off if someone took a shank to him, because running prisons as death rows by proxy would undermine our principles of justice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

No

A death is a death and is never something I will cheer on

Agreed.

Death is never really deserved, but it can be earned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

Sauve wrote: »
    Yes it was a bit of a circus, but come on- the girl didn't deserve that :confused:

It was a circus because others made it one though. If there's anyone in that story who's death deserves cheering it's the likes of Carol Malone and the tabloid press journalists.

And yes, I think the world would be worse off if someone took a shank to him, because running prisons as death rows by proxy would undermine our principles of justice.

He has nearly everything he would have in the outside world in his cell, TV radio etc, do you think he deserves these things?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 683 ✭✭✭starlings

He has nearly everything he would have in the outside world in his cell, TV radio etc, do you think he deserves these things?

He does not have the outside world itself. Everything in his cell is a reminder of that. I couldn't handle that. Maybe Huntley can, but to think of ways to hurt him would just be vengeance, not justice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Free room and board, exercise, free clothes and all the books you could want.... TV's and such in some prisons. Cushy enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

Sure all you're going to hurt when you cheer that someone is dead, is their family? The dead person won't give a shiite, they're gone.

As another poster said, I don't think I could 'cheer' anyone's death other than a person that abused me, hurt me or my family. Even then, cheer is a wrong word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Madam

I don't think I'd cheer anyone's death but I'll be quietly smug about Mrs T's death. I don't think she will be particularly mourned much in Scotland anyway and tbh 'some' people will be out cheering I'm sure!

Some people are too liberal in here. **** that child murdering **** of course he deserved to die.

I didn't use the word cheer but I do think prison life is too cushy for the likes of child killers, 23 hour lockdown, no TV etc, let them really suffer for their crimes.

I didnt exactly jump up and down with happiness, but when I heard I was delighted, just wish the lads who did it, didnt have more time to give him a little taste of his own medicine
    Baby killers deserve what they get.

May he rot in hell if there was such a place. Scumbag.

There are literally multitudes of people out there that if they died I'd feel the world a superior place to live in.

Jon Venables and Robert Thompson, for example.

There are literally multitudes of people out there that if they died I'd feel the world a superior place to live in.

Jon Venables and Robert Thompson, for example.

mmm, them not so much, I suppose just because they were children when they commited their heinous crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Don't know if I would cheer, but I'd feel no sympathy, and would be quite content with their death.

Jake1 wrote: »
    mmm, them not so much, I suppose just because they were children when they commited their heinous crime.

I hope they both die extremely violent and excruciatingly painful deaths. Are you going to defend two monsters who planned out the torture and death of a ****ing two year old?

The world has gone mad.

Also, I do believe one of them has been locked away again due to possession of child pornography. So he's still a disgusting, worthless piece of ****.

I hope they both die extremely violent and excruciatingly painful deaths. Are you going to defend two monsters who planned out the torture and death of a ****ing two year old?

The world has gone mad.

Nah, Im certainly NOT defending them, I just think that they were children when they commited the crime. Bit different from a grown man doing what they did. I hate what the did, ****ing hate it.

The world hasnt gone mad, its always been mad

Jake1 wrote: »
    Nah, Im certainly NOT defending them, I just think that they were children when they commited the crime. Bit different from a grown man doing what they did. I hate what the did, ****ing hate it.

The world hasnt gone mad, its always been mad

True.