Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sim City

• Registered Users Posts: 37,299 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I'm finding upgrading the City Hall building equals more disasters, fires, looting, etc...!

So I'm not touching it. 2nd city is going along very well, and earning lots more :)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,456 ✭✭✭Blisterman

errlloyd wrote: »
    Has anyone worked out how to make the game recognise existing regional city hall modules. Really could do with a big loan here, I know the neighbouring city has dept of finance.

Sometimes it takes a while. It took me several hours until I got a notification that I would be able to charge different tax etc.

Speaking of which, has anyone got any advice for taxes? Is it better to charge higher or lower taxes for high and middle income earners relative to lower income ones?

Should I be increasing taxes to reduce demand for certain zone types? Should I increase taxes as I provide a higher level of services for my Sims?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,998 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Managed to get casions working pretty well last night, whenever i hosted a stadium event my city filled up with tourists and my casinos were bursting, the rest of the time they are pretty dead but i get my income to about 15k/hr for 2 days so its a nice little earner plus whatever my stadium pulls in from the event.
    Im the only one sending resources into the airport on IRL sinisters region, taking its time but itll get there, up around 60k of 250k of oil and havent started on the alloys or metals yet

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,710 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

A picture speaks a thousand words.

To think there are people on here who welcome this and some even call it innovation :rolleyes:

o8OiC.jpg

Dcully wrote: »
    A picture speaks a thousand words.

To think there are people on here who welcome this and some even call it innovation :rolleyes:

o8OiC.jpg

That is something that i cant understand, fair enough they say each city block has to be that size for processing/performance issues whatever, but why not put each city right beside each other like previous games instead of leaving these bizarre swathes of green empty spaces all over the place, whatever about all the online excuses theyve been coming up with this one makes no sense from a visual or gameplay sense

• Registered Users Posts: 2,509 ✭✭✭NotorietyH

I wouldn't mind the cities being a bit larger, but I like the region set up. It really forces you to really plan out your city because you're more limited, so you do have to focus on making your city a very specific city. It's when you're in a server with 15 other cities that you really feel it come into play. I've noticed a massive difference in how successful my cities are in the full regions versus ones where there's only one or two cities. Tourist, commuters etc. My city in the full region is flourishing while some of my other cities are struggling. I think in a few weeks when the servers are stable and people really get to grips with the region that the game will really come into its own.

It encourages you to try different types of cities and has really upped the replay value for me. Before, though I haven't played a sim city game in years, I used to get bored after a certain amount of time with my cities as they'd become a sprawling unmanageable (for me) mess. In this Sim City I find myself creating new cities to compliment the ones I have, and to experiment with different types of cities. It's like that compulsion I have with the Civilization games where I try toget every type of victory, I'm the same with wanting to try different combination of specializations in different cities.

I can understand why people don't like the region play, but personally I think it's really interesting, and it has completely sucked me in. Much more than any other Sim City game has. I love the feeling of passive co-operation with the other cities in my region. It gives a nice sense of responsibility. I had a city on one of the boards' region that got in major budgetary problems, that would have made me walk away from a city before and just start over, but because i didn't want to leave an abandoned city in the region, and didn't want to **** up the region for everyone else, I spent hours turning the city around, turning off parks and services and trying to refocus the city. I never would have done that in the old games, and the satisfaction when that city started to stabilize was fantastic.

Any boardsies got a region going,id love to join one.
    Its been hard to keep tabs on whos where with friends not working properly and full servers etc.

Cully_IRL Origin name

• Registered Users Posts: 12,611 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Any boardsies got a region going,id love to join one.
    Its been hard to keep tabs on whos where with friends not working properly and full servers etc.

Cully_IRL Origin name

On my way home from work, I'll set one up with you in about 45 if you're keen?

From what ive seen the 7 person server actually seems to be the best for interaction as all 7 cities are connected instead of where in the 16 person ones they are grouped up into blocks of 4

• Registered Users Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

Same here, I'm sick of basically playing with myself! :p

JaxxYChicK on Origin.

On my way home from work, I'll set one up with you in about 45 if you're keen?

Hell yeah count me in.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,456 ✭✭✭Blisterman

I don't think anyone's posted this yet:

http://www.incgamers.com/2013/03/city-sizes-will-be-expanded-in-sim-city-says-maxis-ocean-quigley/

According to Ocean Quigley, creative director at Maxis,
    "At some point in the future, especially with mainstream computers become more capable, we could certainly make the city sizes larger."

“We’ll eventually get around to expanding the city size but I can’t make any promises as to when.”

What are the bets it'll be in the form of an expensive add-on pack?

• Registered Users Posts: 20,541 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

more than likely it will be a paid add on. surely this option should have been included in the first place for people with capable PC's :confused:

Jaxxy, Cully I added both of ye.

If it didn't work, try adding me. user = errlloyd

Gis a shout what server your on please, i think friends can only see eachother when on same server.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

Nice one! I'm in work today but I shall catch yas later hopefully. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

My buses are going right after one another. So the waiting time is like 57 minutes. Is it a bug or did I screw it up?

Gis a shout what server your on please, i think friends can only see eachother when on same server.

I usually play on Europe West 5, but you're not showing in my origin friends list / chat client thing. Add me.

My buses are going right after one another. So the waiting time is like 57 minutes. Is it a bug or did I screw it up?

No just piss poor ai, like where fire engines all go to one fire instead of fighting several different ones.
    Had a bus yesterday picking people up and dropping them down the road they would then walk back to the first bus stop where he would pick them up again and drop them off at the same stop down the road, this happened for 10 minutes

I usually play on Europe West 5, but you're not showing in my origin friends list / chat client thing. Add me.

Added you there but your not showing up either.

Well there is no server search function, so we might have to solve this before we can play. Two of the lads from this thread managed to add me yesterday, so there must be a way.

Request sent is all im seeing.

• Registered Users Posts: 867 ✭✭✭IgsTer

I'll be up for this as well lads be on in a little bit. Think im already friends with yous

IgsTer how did you add me yesterday? - I know this sounds stupid, but adding just doesn't work for me.

Cully, try adding me through my email address errlloyd@hotmail.com

IgsTer how did you add me yesterday? - I know this sounds stupid, but adding just doesn't work for me.

Cully, try adding me through my email address errlloyd@hotmail.com

Request sent message again, this is a joke lol, i add people all the time on origin.

got it this time.

I just added you through origin itself not simcity. Went up to friends and clicked add friend. Put your name in searched and just clicked add friend. That was it. It said request sent until the other person accepted the friendship.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭BKtje

Just bought and installed this. Any suggestions what server to join? I've seen so many suggested over the last few pages but would like a boards one if possible :D

made a 7 city region on eu west 2 just there called aran islands. Me and errloyd already on it so anyone else feel free to join.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭BKtje

Right this newb will join you after he's done the tutorial :p