Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Barrack St.

pah wrote: »
    I'm sure the Drug Squad in Anglesea will be delighted with all this great intel that you've passed on to them.

I'd be relatively sure they're more than clued in to what's going on in the area and also who's behind it ;)
    Which you no doubt know.

rob316 wrote: »
    ................ Do you know this as fact or did you hear this from someone?...............
    I don't suppose you have any better evidence other than saying "Fact"?

I was asked a question ;)

But seems as you are interested google is your friend (I imagine posting a direct link would be against the charter, certainly not something I'd do anyway, if you're struggling please do PM me)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,958 ✭✭✭delthedriver

Gosh I never realised there was so much activity in Barrack Street.
    My memory was the Fish & chip shop and terraced houses overcrowded with students and student parties!:)

• Registered Users Posts: 17,025 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

RoverJames wrote: »

I was asked a question ;)

But seems as you are interested google is your friend (I imagine posting a direct link would be against the charter, certainly not something I'd do anyway, if you're struggling please do PM me)
    Link away.
    No problem.

Link away.
    No problem.

The last time I looked you weren't a mod or an admin ;)

I take it google wasn't your friend?

The last time I looked you weren't a mod or an admin ;)

I take it google wasn't your friend?
    Gosh, you are clever, aren't you?

You claim to have evidence, more than hearsay for your claim.
    Why not link to this evidence so everyone reading this thread can see it?
    Not against any charter I know of-people post links all the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 28 La Buka

I used to live on Barrack Street, currently work on the street. Well not literally on the street!!! The students will wreck your head. Last year's UCC rag week was insane. They left a trail of destruction after them! But this year was fine. It used to be very very noisy at night, but doesn't seem to be so bad these days. I'd be happy enough to live there again. There are some fantastic pubs & like someone else mentioned there's Lennox's! And it's close to town which is very handy.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,563 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Cork ~500 years ago.

I'd say Cork 1500 years ago looked like a big Crannog.

Somewhat of an aside, but anyone interested in the history of Cork city should get hold of the Atlas of Cork City. It's expensive, but it's truly comprehensive.

Gosh, you are clever, aren't you?

You claim to have evidence, more than hearsay for your claim.
    Why not link to this evidence so everyone reading this thread can see it?
    Not against any charter I know of-people post links all the time.

People post links to prostitute's advertisements all the time do they?

Gosh, you aren't clever are you.

Hearsay it is, then:D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,657 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Why don't you post a link to the google search, then, instead of posting repeatedly about something you refuse to back up in the slightest. So we can all be sure we're looking at the same thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,424 ✭✭✭440Hz

Time to take a step back and calm down a bit on this one guys.

Firstly, please be careful what you post if you cannot back it up, whether that is from personal experience or whatever it may be. If you are unwilling to share how you know/heard such a thing, please don't post about it, as it will simply end up causing arguments. Please remember that this thread is discussing a place where a number of forum posters/regulars live, so of course it is going to be a sensitive issue. Personal insults will not be tolerated. If the topic cannot be discussed in a polite and mature manner, it will no longer be discussed at all.

Thanks.

Hearsay it is, then:D
    Faith wrote: »
    Why don't you post a link to the google search, then, instead of posting repeatedly about something you refuse to back up in the slightest. So we can all be sure we're looking at the same thing.

Google the following <mod snip>

Cork escorts Barrack Street

Massage - Dreams TS Cork escort and TS Alexandra awaits :pac:

Just because ye don't believe people doesn't make it hearsay folks, keep the eyes closed.

If ye can appreciate how google works etc ye can appreciate that's only a snapshot in time, over the course of a year 10s of them (not just TS) operate from the area, hearsay again no doubt :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Barrack St. is a good spot. I lived near the Lough for a bit and walked up and down it to work, and at all hours of the night coming home from town and I never had or even saw hassle there.

I'm amazed that I actually did that search and guess what - nothing to directly link anything to the Barrack Street area.
    I suspect that there is no area of town that doesn't have a few escorts/call girls operating out of there. Barrack street is no different. I don't doubt that there are some there but it hardly makes it Sodom or Gomorrah, now does it?
    Do you regularly see girls on the street and kerb crawlers?

Oh, you're right. Just because no one believes you doesn't make it hearsay. It's the lack of credible evidence makes it heresay.

I suspect that there is no area of town that doesn't have a few escorts/call girls operating out of there. Barrack street is no different. I don't doubt that there are some there but it hardly makes it Sodom or Gomorrah, now does it?
    Oh, you're right. Just because no one believes you doesn't make it hearsay. It's the lack of credible evidence makes it heresay.

You don't doubt it yet you doubted what I said??

Are you for real?

I didn't say it was Sodum or Gomorrah, I didn't say there was loads of streetgirls or kerbcrawlers, did?

Nope, I didn't.

And you mention credibility :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,553 ✭✭✭AugustusMinimus

I must say, I don't think I've ever seen a person on Barrack Street at any hour who I suspected to be a hooker.

Compare this to Morrison Island :eek:

You don't doubt it yet you doubted what I said??

Are you for real?

I didn't say it was Sodum or Gomorrah, I didn't say there was loads of streetgirls or kerbcrawlers, did?

Nope, I didn't.

And you mention credibility :eek:

I wouldn't have asked you if you had seen streetgirls or kerbcrawlers if you had said you had, now would I?

So what's the problem with the area?
    Some people who may work in the sex trade live there?

You run down the area by saying there are brothels there, provide no evidence to back it up and get upset when it is suggested that it might be hearsay or exaggeration.

So, do tell us the scale of prostitution you believe that is going on there and why it would make it a bad area to live (that was the original topic of this thread - is it a safe/nice area to live?).
    BTW, do you live in the area or do you have some particular experience or knowledge of the area?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,015 ✭✭✭Ludo

Replace barrack street with any other area and you get similar results. Big deal.

I wouldn't have asked you if you had seen streetgirls or kerbcrawlers if you had said you had, now would I?

So what's the problem with the area?
    Some people who may work in the sex trade live there?

You run down the area by saying there are brothels there, provide no evidence to back it up and get upset when it is suggested that it might be hearsay or exaggeration.

So, do tell us the scale of prostitution you believe that is going on there and why it would make it a bad area to live (that was the original topic of this thread - is it a safe/nice area to live?).
    BTW, do you live in the area or do you have some particular experience or knowledge of the area?

I couldn't quantify the scale of prostitution activity in the area in a way that would appease yourself.

I live minutes from the area, the level of drug dealing and prostitution in the area makes it unattractive to live in imo.

No doubt you will follow up with another spatter of moronic questions, the dogs on the street know what goes on in the area, those who rely on the media etc have f all idea :)

Perhaps you wouldn't mind living next to apartments intermittantly used as brothels, perhaps you wouldn't mind living in an area where drug dealing is obvious, many would and despite your babblings it doesn't happen everywhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭MrFrisp

Jaesus Lads...No offence..

But any chance you both could take you in-differences somewhere else,and let the Thread get back on track? :confused:

MrFrisp wrote: »
    Jaesus Lads...No offence..

But any chance you both could take you in-differences somewhere else,and let the Thread get back on track? :confused:

You're right.

I've gone to the trouble of going through the thread and noting people's opinion of the area. For the benefit of the OP I have made a synopsis of the results, so far.

7 posters basically think the area is fine and would recommend it.
    4 posters say the area is awash with drunk unsocial students
    1 poster thinks it is generally a bit rough with poor housing standards
    1 poster and the dogs on the street, I'm told, know for a fact the place is a hot spot for brothels, prostitution and junkies.

Not a huge sample, I guess, but that might give you some idea of what to expect.

• Registered Users Posts: 325 ✭✭mr bungle.

i never really heard of anything too bad going on there these days.personally i never had any hassle there and wouldn't mind living there at all.i can think of far worse places in the city to live

• Registered Users Posts: 701 ✭✭✭lostinsuperfunk

• 7 posters basically think the area is fine and would recommend it.
    • 4 posters say the area is awash with drunk unsocial students
    • 1 poster thinks it is generally a bit rough with poor housing standards
    • 1 poster and the dogs on the street, I'm told, knows the place is a hot spot for brothels, prostitution and junkies.
    I live nearby and walk through all the time, including the Noonan Road flats. It's grand. I haven't seen any trouble in the last 5 or 6 years apart from antisocial behaviour from students which is an annoyance rather than a threat to life and limb and, in fairness, doesn't occur too often. Definitely no overt signs of prostitution or drug dealing. Some of the housing is of poor quality, and there is some dereliction, but this could be said for any of the inner suburbs of Cork. On the plus side, you get friendly locals, a very good pizzeria (La Tana), several good pubs, and a few handy local shops within walking distance.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭indough

I couldn't quantify the scale of prostitution activity in the area in a way that would appease yourself.

I live minutes from the area, the level of drug dealing and prostitution in the area makes it unattractive to live in imo.

No doubt you will follow up with another spatter of moronic questions, the dogs on the street know what goes on in the area, those who rely on the media etc have f all idea :)

Perhaps you wouldn't mind living next to apartments intermittantly used as brothels, perhaps you wouldn't mind living in an area where drug dealing is obvious, many would and despite your babblings it doesn't happen everywhere.

so in summary you have no evidence whatsoever that the area is any worse than any other area in the city for these activities, bar of course what the dogs in the street (ie curtain twitchers who don't even live in the area) have to say.

there is nothing wrong with the area, you can walk up and down it at any time of night. you will be in more immediate danger doing your grocery shopping in the city centre during the daytime

• Registered Users Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

WhiteRoses wrote: »
    There's never any trouble around Desmond Square, Mt. Sion Rd and the terraced houses around there.

Majority of the people in that area are senior citizens, very quiet part of Greenmount. I've seen more hassle and gangs up by Deerpark which is essentially considered the "nice" part of Greenmount than I've ever seen around Mt Sion Rd.

My car has had stones fired at it twice while driving through that area...by groups of little knackers. Other than that i've not had any hassle there.

• Registered Users Posts: 452 ✭✭AwayWithFaries

I used live on Barrack Street. Barrack Street itself tends to be full of drunken students and house-parties. Never seen any ladies of the night though. If you are looking for them try Copley Street. (I used live there too, hookers everywhere!)

But generally the areas just off Barrack Street tends to be pretty quiet, mainly older people or professionals. I live in Deerpark myself at the moment, lovely quiet spot.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭Bacchus

Myself and my fiancee were walking up past Barrack Street (heading up towards Evergreen St.) after going to the Gate cinema on Saturday night. Never seen so many rough groups of drunk lads stumbling around the place. It was very disconcerting (I've NEVER felt like that in Cork city before). Anyway, at the branch where you can continue on up to the right on Barrack Street I could see up the road, around about where Tom Barry's is, 2 lads absolutely whaling on some poor soul. One of the lads had a bat or a bar or something. Never seen anything like it. Thankfully the Gardai were on the scene within a beat as my first instinct was to get my fiancee as far away from there as possible. Moral of the story, never walking up Barrack Street after dark on my own again.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

Whatever about the talk of brothels and dealers and other hearsay, I think Barrack St's problems are mostly cosmetic. It looks pretty dingy but I've never felt the slightest bit of hostility or menace around the place. I agree with other posters that the only real visible antisocial problems in the general area are down to drunk/rowdy students, and areas like Washington St and Grand Parade are a lot worse IMO. There are some really great pubs/takeaways/other businesses on the street itself and its within spitting distance of some of the prettiest parts of Cork (e.g. the Lough and St Finbarre's)

My 2c from experience. (I don't live there but I walk up/down there every day/night, and my sister lived there for years)

• Registered Users Posts: 82 ✭✭Paulie Walnuts

Lived just off Barrack St for 6 six years, the area is generally grand. Obviously the students can be a pain but I'd like to add that it's not just the students. On several occasions over the years we had neighbours (most defo not students) that were a total nightmare. Scummers of the highest order, some of the housing in the area is in such bad shape the landlords weren't too picky about who lived there. They never lasted too long though.
    In general, the area has a certain charm. The little alleys remind you that the area is very old (Keyser Lane - from the cop station down to the river - is a good example. Keyser being a Viking word meaning "passage to the water"). Nice bars Like Tom Barrys and Bradley, good eateries (La Tana do the best pizza in the city). Don't bother with Lennoxes, it's pure ****e.
    As for prostitution, I never saw any evidence of this, though its worth mentioning that the area was apparently a den of sleaze at one point....150 years ago.