Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork City Marathon 2013

• Registered Users Posts: 875 ✭✭✭scriba

Name|Plan|Week|Weekly Sessions Completed|Miles/KM This Week| Total Miles/KM | Comments
    Mr.Wiggle|RunRepublic Sub3.30|4|5|41 km| 177.55 km |Back into it. No LSR this weekend, mallow10 on Monday:)
    scriba | P&D 18/55 | 7 | 5 | 79.95 km | 447.93 km | Back in the running groove, all muscles and joints behaving themselves. 18 mile LSR :D
    Karenmtob|hal higdon novice 1|7|5|40km|206km|Good week, had a running partner for the LSR, it made all the difference
    ncmc|P&D 18 week up to 55 miles|6|4|25|317| Stepback week and missed my LSR :D
    Ecoenergy|Makey Uppy Plan|1|4|27M|27M| 7 Miles @ PMP
    ||||||

• Registered Users Posts: 4,852 ✭✭✭ncmc

How did you get on in mallow mr wiggle?

• Registered Users Posts: 162 ✭✭Ecoenergy

Name|Plan|Week|Weekly Sessions Completed|Miles/KM This Week| Total Miles/KM | Comments
    Mr.Wiggle|RunRepublic Sub3.30|4|5|41 km| 177.55 km |Back into it. No LSR this weekend, mallow10 on Monday:)
    scriba | P&D 18/55 | 7 | 5 | 79.95 km | 447.93 km | Back in the running groove, all muscles and joints behaving themselves. 18 mile LSR :D
    Karenmtob|hal higdon novice 1|7|5|40km|206km|Good week, had a running partner for the LSR, it made all the difference
    Ecoenergy|Makey Uppy Plan|2|1|7.4M|48.5M| 12 x 400m Intervals
    ||||||

Saturday: 14mile LSR with 4 miles @ PMP. Felt comfortable after the 4 miles at planned race pace and I was tempted to keep going for the remaining 3 miles at that pace (7.46/mile) but thought better of it after a few tough days and slowed to 8.30/mile.

Monday: 12 x 400m intervals with 2m w/up and c/dwn. Had to really drag myself out into the cold last night for this run at about 9.30 when the couch, coffee and biscuits were calling me. I felt i deserved the fruit cake and crisps afterwards.;)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,156 ✭✭✭jcsmum

jcsmum|makey uppy plan 2|1|6|47.5m|47.5m| Good solid training week for me

ncmc|P&D 18 week up to 55 miles|7|5|50 m|367 m|First time ever hitting 50 miles in a week!

• Registered Users Posts: 842 ✭✭✭mr.wiggle

Ran the Mallow10 yesterday and thoroughly enjoyed it. My 10 miles at MP went out the window around mile4 once a training partner of mine jogged by doing 6.50's. I fought the urge for about 60secs ,then took off after him. So instead of a comfortable 75 min finish, I was coerced into a sub72 min finish. :-D . Ah well, an easy 5 mile run today to loosen the hammys.

I've just realised that I've been updating the table after each run and not weekly like everyone else. Oops. :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,156 ✭✭✭jcsmum

Ecoenergy wrote: »
    I've just realised that I've been updating the table after each run and not weekly like everyone else. Oops. :confused:

Do you have a training log - you could start one up.

I've been browsing through the logs for quite a while as there's always something to learn but I've never started one. Maybe I'll take the plunge sometime but I'll stick to updating my desktop spreadsheet for now.
    Cheers.:)

mr.wiggle wrote: »
    Ran the Mallow10 yesterday and thoroughly enjoyed it. My 10 miles at MP went out the window around mile4 once a training partner of mine jogged by doing 6.50's. I fought the urge for about 60secs ,then took off after him. So instead of a comfortable 75 min finish, I was coerced into a sub72 min finish. :-D . Ah well, an easy 5 mile run today to loosen the hammys.
    Nice running Mr W! 'coerced' into a sub 72? I couldn't be 'coerced' into that time if there was a herd of raging bulls behind me!

What was the race like other than that? Was it a hilly course?

-
    ncmc wrote: »
    Nice running Mr W! 'coerced' into a sub 72? I couldn't be 'coerced' into that time if there was a herd of raging bulls behind me!

What was the race like other than that? Was it a hilly course?

Thx ncmc, it was a perfect day for it. Only a couple o hills really so a great course for a pb. Best organised race I've done so far. And as its local for me its a bonus!

Great running mrwiggle, you'll be in great nick by June!

I took a rest day today, and am now looking at 5 days in a row. I needed it though. But I'll need more after that! Early start so tomorrow. :(

Sure whatever works for you. If it's of benefit, keep updating here by session.

Hi Scriba, took a bit of time..but i just spotted your 18 mile LSR !!
    How did it go for you and how are the legs holding up??

• Registered Users Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Steroo

ncmc|P&D 18 week up to 55 miles|7|5|50 m|367 m|First time ever hitting 50 miles in a week!
    StephenRooney|P&D 18/55|7 |5|50m|320m|first 50m week, going well so far
    May as well add myself to the mix!

mr.wiggle wrote: »
    Hi Scriba, took a bit of time..but i just spotted your 18 mile LSR !!
    How did it go for you and how are the legs holding up??

Legs are grand, but feeling a bit lazy since. Going to drag myself out for 12 miles tonight. Sorry I didn't get my runs done in the brighter weather this week now, there's some filthy rain coming over the horizon for the rest of the week.

The run itself went really well, much easier than I thought it would be. Really time consuming thought, I'm definitely going to try do this weekend's one as early as possible, otherwise it eats into the day.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭Beef

Nobody panic - but just over 10 weeks to go... :P

Beef wrote: »

Exactly what I needed to hear. I'm going home, getting my runners, and doing a session.

• Registered Users Posts: 438 ✭✭docjewel

Beef wrote: »

Time for me to get the finger out & get the entry in before prices go up :P

Mr.Wiggle|RunRepublic Sub3.30|5|6|76 km| 253.5 km |Mallow10m on Monday and a 15m LSR today made it a big mileage week - all good T.G.:)

Gotta look after the legs tonight, ( in work :( ), with stretching and rolling. Don't want the calf's to act up again after a great weeks running.
    Was absolutely freezing this morning on the LSR. Didn't see the usual amount of sloggers out there braving it.

Mr.Wiggle|RunRepublic Sub3.30|5|6|76 km| 253.5 km |Mallow10m on Monday and a 15m LSR today made it a big mileage week - all good T.G.:)
    Ecoenergy|Makey Uppy Plan|2|4|28.5M|69.5M| missed 2 sessions this week inc LSR

Little Eco has been sick over the past week so marathon training has taken a back seat. Only completed 4 of the planned 6 runs and missed my planned 16m LSR. I'm contemplating running the 16 miles today instead of the planned 800m intervals as I've got 18 miles planned for next weekend. My thoughts being its better to get the miles in than an interval session. Bearing in mind little Eco gave me very little sleep last night is this a good idea? :confused:

Hi Eco - I'd definitely prioritise the Long Run. Just fuel up well before you go out. If you don't get it done today I'd let it go & focus on the 18m for the weekend.

I’d be inclined to let the 16m LSR go to be honest Eco, I think it’s a bad idea to start chasing missed runs and trying to wedge them in to the following week. It would leave this week very high mileage. I’d do your interval run as planned and just pick up the plan where you left off. Everyone misses runs, a missed 16m isn’t a massive deal in the scheme of things.

I’ve missed two 12m runs in the last few weeks, not going to worry about it. Sometimes you have to take a step back from the plan and realise that a missed run isn’t going to have any effect on your time.

scriba | P&D 18/55 | 8 | 4 | 68.5 km | 516.43 km | 20 mile LSR :D, but I dropped a 19km easy run during the week because the filthy weather. Enjoying a rest day today.

ncmc|P&D 18 week up to 55 miles|8|4|45 m|412 m|Missed a 12m MSR, but added a mile on to a few other runs, so only was down 9 miles

scriba wrote: »
    StephenRooney|P&D 18/55|8 |5|51m|371m|first 20M LSR done, no issues

Well I gave in and ran my LSR today. 16m @ 8.22/mile
    A few miles @ 9 min pace in order tomorrow I think.:rolleyes:

Well I gave in and ran my LSR today. 16m @ 8.22/mile
    A few miles @ 9 min pace in order tomorrow I think.:rolleyes:
    Tut, tut! 10 minutes on the naughty step for you! ;)

That's an impressive pace for an LSR, what time are you targeting in Cork?

ncmc wrote: »
    Tut, tut! 10 minutes on the naughty step for you! ;)

That's an impressive pace for an LSR, what time are you targeting in Cork?

Ran 3.43 for my first marathon in Dublin so hoping for somewhere sub 3.30. I know 8.22 is a little fast but I had to get back to work after my extended lunch 'hour'.:D

:eek::eek::eek: It's posts like this that scare the crap out of me! I have some mad notion of a 3:30 time and my times are sooooooooo much slower than yours! I am beginning to think that I am being a tad optimistic!

16 miles in your lunch hour... I doff my cap to you sir, that it serious dedication :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭Beef

Ah here, 16 mile lunch time runs...? Feic this I'm taking up knitting.