Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United v Reading | FA Cup 5th Round | KO 20:00

• 18-02-2013 5:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭

manutd_1.pngBadgeManchester_United.pngvsBadgeReading.pngreading_1.png

Monday 18th February 2013
    FA Cup 5th Round
    Old Trafford, Manchester
    KO: 20:00 GMT
    Live: ESPN
    Team News

Sir Alex has confirmed he’ll make full use of his squad and make changes for the game. Anders Linegaard, Chris Smalling, Nemanja Vidic, Alex Buttner, Nani, Anderson, Ashley Young and Javier Hernandez could all come in with Robin van Persie, Rio Ferdinand, Patrice Evra and Michael Carrick among the key men likely to be given a rest.

The only player definitely out is midfielder Paul Scholes, who is sidelined with a knee injury and isn’t expected back for another two weeks.

Reading manager McDermott is sweating on the fitness of Mikele Leigertwood and Jimmy Kebe but the pair are expected to be passed fit to play. Striker Jason Roberts is out but Adam Le Fondre and Noel Hunt are pushing for recalls.

Quote/unquote: "We'll take nothing for granted. In the FA Cup you always expect the unexpected. It happens so many times. You just hope you're not a casualty or a shock. We've had a few over the years. But I can't be more pleased than I am at the moment with the form and spirit in the place." – Sir Alex.

Sub-plots: United have not lifted the FA Cup since 2004 and Sir Alex's men are desperate to end that drought this season. Surprisingly, only four current Reds - Paul Scholes, Ryan Giggs, Darren Fletcher and Robin van Persie - have lifted the famous trophy, and the latter did so with Arsenal.

Whistle blower: Andre Marriner, a Midlands-based official who has dished out 74 yellow cards in 25 fixtures this season, will take charge of Monday night’s match at Old Trafford. United fans last saw the 42-year-old during a 4-0 win over Wigan on New Years’ Day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,844 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

For United's team I'll go with
              Lindergaard
    Rafael Smalling Jones Buttner
    Nani Cleverly Anderson Young
                Kagawa
               Hernandez 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭supersean1999

Is Powell available, I thought he would of had a few more appearances this yr, I'd say vidic will start tonight,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,370 ✭✭✭b757

I know this may look like an easy game, but i think we may struggle a bit in the first 30 min.

Hope Powell gets a run in.

Prediction - United win, 2-1...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

Handy session for United. Win by 2 or 3 goals.

Reading have bigger fish to fry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

What time does coverage start?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

What time does coverage start?

Now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

Man Utd: De Gea; Jones, Vidic, Smalling, Buttner; Young, Cleverley, Anderson, Valencia; Hernandez, Welbeck

Bench: Lindegaard, Ferdinand, Giggs, Carrick, Nani, RVP, Kagawa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Blatter wrote: »
    Man Utd: De Gea; Jones, Vidic, Smalling, Buttner; Young, Cleverley, Anderson, Valencia; Hernandez, Welbeck

Im ok with that! Except Val instead of Nani -_-

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Happy enough with that team. Should be good enough to do the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭NUTZZ

Reading: Federici, Kelly, Shorey, Mariappa, Morrison, Karacan, Leigertwood, McAnuff, McCleary, Hunt, Le Fondre

Le Fondre starting says a lot imo.

No Nani? WTF, did he sleep with Fergie's horse or what?

Reading making 4 changes from their last league match - not taking this match as seriously as they could be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

Le Fondre is a huge Man United fan. He'll desperately want to score today I'd say!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,623 ✭✭✭double GG

How so?

No Nani? WTF, did he sleep with Fergie's horse or what?

Reading making 4 changes from their last league match - not taking this match as seriously as they could be.

Nani must be on the way out, makes me sad... I'm happy to see Anderson start though considering the amount of "quotes" that have been reported recently.

double GG wrote: »
    How so?

He's normally a sub

Arguably their best player this calendar year. Didn't he get Barclays player of the month for January??

He's normally a sub

Perhaps, yet he is Reading's top scorer by a country mile. He's a very clever player and I rate him pretty highly. He's scored goals at every level and I can see him having a massive part in wheter Reading stay up or go down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

What channel is this on lads? Only on way home... :(

To pub or not to pub...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,559 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Blatter wrote: »

Bench: Lindegaard, Ferdinand, Giggs, Carrick, Nani, RVP, Kagawa
    nani for Valencia and I would be delighted.Strong team out .Hopefully Nani and kagawa get a run out as well.

Al Capwned wrote: »

To pub or not to pub...

ESPN. PUB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,949 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Al Capwned wrote: »

To pub or not to pub...

ESPN

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭shadowcomplex

espn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭shadowcomplex

yabadabado wrote: »
    nani for Valencia and I would be delighted.Strong team out .Hopefully Nani and kagawa get a run out as well.
    I wouldnt have started jones, we need him for Real and hes injury prone

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,667 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Pub!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

Thanks guys.

Pub it is so.
    Might regret this on stupid health and safety course tomorrow... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,559 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

jaysus McManaman is one annoying mother****er

• Registered Users Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭shrewdness

cambo2008 wrote: »
    Arguably their best player this calendar year. Didn't he get Barclays player of the month for January??

Yeah and according to ESPN there he only played 86 minutes in the whole month! That must be a record for a player of the month!

shrewdness wrote: »

Yeah and according to ESPN there he only played 86 minutes in the whole month! That must be a record for a player of the month!
    Didn't think it was that low. Crazy that he doesn't get more game time.

cambo2008 wrote: »
    Didn't think it was that low. Crazy that he doesn't get more game time.

They just mentioned he scored a goal every 17 minutes in January. No wonder they're starting him :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,949 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Hopefully Le Fondre starting will have a reverse effect on him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

can someone send me a stream to the game please

should be a very good game. Hopefully United can get an early goal to settle this game early.

I'm guessing there will be plenty of goals tonight.

Very good start there. should have scored...

Oh Danny again!!! Lovely by Young.

If Nani is finished, why bother putting him on the bench? This would be the perfect game to play him.

Fair old smack from Vidic and Hunt there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

Ouch!

Noel Hunt went down noticing he was bleeding. Someone had to tell Vidic that he was bleeding :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,364 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Dat ass...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,389 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

This could be bad, the rip roaring start was always going to happen but the problems are apparent whenever Reading have the ball that there is nobody in midfield to keep the shape when it goes forward.

Keno 92 wrote: »
    Dat ass...

Reminds me of Kevin Kilbane. He wanted to play on with his shorts down too... :pac:

Go on Vidic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

Martin Tyler & Stewart Robson on Fox Soccer giving out about De Gea not coming for the ball .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Stupid decision from the ref, Hernandez was thrown to the ground. Obviously he had eyes on the defender, how else would he knows where he was? Great play by Hernandez.

Hunt certainly has the brain of a dog.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Hunt is a bit of character/chancer :)

wtf

What a double save!

The commentators have gone barking mad with the dog commands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭Just An Opinion

Horrendous commentary, I'd rather Niall Quinn x 10 over these tools!