Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"I can't believe it's not Rag Week"

• Registered Users Posts: 8,173 ✭✭✭Wompa1

There are always going to be more arrests, especially on the Sunday/Monday. Even if people behaved exactly the same as every other week there would be more arrests.

Why exactly would there be more arrests on those days? Surely the Gardaí aren't arresting people on no grounds at all?

Also if anyone cares. A friend of mine who is middle aged and living in Renmore e-mailed me at 5:30am Irish time. He was e-mailing me about other stuff but mentioned that the timing of the e-mail was because he had to leave his place and went into work early to get away from the noise over there.

I'm not in Galway but it doesn't sound like it's just a normal week, in fairness.

• Registered Users Posts: 75 ✭✭Oliver_Ahern

no one answered my question about Des Bishop?? What was his involvement with this Rag week thing?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

Kieth Finnegan must be pissed off. He probably had his entire week of topics lined up and now there's next to no trouble to whinge about.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭antoobrien

no one answered my question about Des Bishop?? What was his involvement with this Rag week thing?

something to do with the twitosphere, he's claiming he had nothing to do with it..

• Registered Users Posts: 5,199 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

Taxi driver was telling me this morning that some girl was seriously assaulted in Foster Court last night ? Anyone hear anything about it ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

Taxi driver was telling me this morning that some girl was seriously assaulted in Foster Court last night ? Anyone hear anything about it ?
    Because that only happens in rag week, right?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,161 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

"A 21 year old man is in custody at Millstreet Garda Station this morning (21/2) following an alleged assault on a woman in the city overnight.

The woman in her early 20s claims she was assaulted by the man at Forster Street around 3a.m.

Gardaí arrested the man, who has a Loughrea address, under Section 4 of the Criminal Justice Act.

It's expected a file will be sent to the Director of Public Prosecutions" GA Facebook.

Wompa1 wrote: »
    Hopefully! Also Galway News was stating that the Gardai presence was to be stepped up for it.

Why do people have such a problem with an increased Garda presence. Every event where large numbers of people are in an area at the same time results in an increased Garda presence be it a match, concert, race week, sporting event etc.

I live in a studenty area - apart from a bit of noise the last couple of nights there hasn't been any trouble. Nothing out of the ordinary really. I haven't lost any sleep.

Dan_Solo wrote: »
    Because that only happens in rag week, right?

No but I'm sure it's an unfortunate student who's the victim. Great post though. :rolleyes:

Not as fantastic as your post about an alleged assault in Galway that you decided to post in a thread about Rag Week with pretty much zero to suggest a connection between them.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭antoobrien

http://www.advertiser.ie/galway/article/58761/gardai-confirm-rag-week-hassle-of-previous-years-not-repeated
    It has been confirmed that there was “none of the hassle seen before” and “very few arrests made”.

Not as fantastic as your post about an alleged assault in Galway that you decided to post in a thread about Rag Week with pretty much zero to suggest a connection between them.

You're right there's no connection between them to be fair, But I'm making assumptions based on It happening on a Wednesday night, It involves a young woman, Assault occurred in Foster street (Foster court is a student area as is College Road) in early hours of the morning during Rag Week.

You've found me out ...I'm a Student hating , moaning old person who eats Children. Happy !! :P

• Registered Users Posts: 925 ✭✭✭Amik

I can't complain this year as Newcastle is very quiet compared to last year. The colder weather has been a blessing, no sightings of shirtless guys crawling on rooftops with Dutch Gold in hand. ;)

I'm biggest complaint about Rag Week this year is the amount of idiot drunk male students who still think it's cool to go out with their Jeans hanging around their Arse showing off their manky jocks...IT WAS NEVER COOL !!!! and you look like morons !!!
    Sagging I think it's called..and here's an interesting fact for you lol
    "sagging did originate from the prison system. Belts are not allowed because a person can hang themselves or someone else with one."

You're right there's no connection between them to be fair, But I'm making assumptions based on It happening on a Wednesday night, It involves a young woman, Assault occurred in Foster street (Foster court is a student area as is College Road) in early hours of the morning during Rag Week.

You've found me out ...I'm a Student hating , moaning old person who eats Children. Happy !! :P
    It's Columbo reincarnate. With an added dash of hyperbole for extra tedium.
    So now every crime that happens outdoors involving someone under 40 is Rag Week's fault. Rag Week must be the new "pit bull did it".:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

That area has been the location of several media reported attacks on women over the past number of years. AFAIK wasn't some fella from Loughrea convicted recently of one of these attacks, the son of a local public representative?

TBH I can't see the reason for posting in this already polarized thread.
    What you've outlined above as validation for posting it here in this thread is bizarre.
    Chief Wigum would propose a better line of inquiry.

What you've outlined above as validation for posting it here in this thread is bizarre.
    Enda Kenny's cuts are forcing a reduction in frontline health services, including perinatal care.
    Enda Kenny went to NUIG.
    Therefore NUIG Rag Week kills babies.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,833 ✭✭✭intellectual dosser

With it being "unofficially" RAG week I would wonder how many of the drunken participants causing hassle are actually students of either NUIG or GMIT.

At least when it was official you could have organized events within the college and stopped anyone coming in, acting the bollocks, ruining the craic for a lot of people, and having your behaviour attributed to students in general or either of the colleges.

Enda Kenny's cuts are forcing a reduction in frontline health services, including perinatal care.
    Enda Kenny went to NUIG.
    Therefore NUIG Rag Week kills babies.

Dam that was my next point !

• Registered Users Posts: 976 ✭✭✭_Puma_

All working off assumptions here, my theory it's some gobsh*te that got off a bus and is in Galway for week to get pissed, could have just of easily been race week or whatever, has nothing to do with Galway students per say. Let the Gardai deal with him and slap him with a prison sentence!

Problem is that this will be directly linked to Rag week and the students, hence why I was saying that the college and SU should have tried to get control of the thing instead of just walking away and getting indirectly linked to every public order offence for the week.

• Registered Users Posts: 94 ✭✭catgalway

My questions would be: Was there the usual 40+ arrested on the Monday alone? How busy was A&E? Was there much disturbances caused to the people living in the likes of Lurgan, Hazel Park, Cherry Park, Moyolla Park, Sean Mulvoy Rd, WellPark, Renmore etc.? Did the Gardai have to bring in extra resources? Was there any damage to business premises or cars? etc.
    Heard this morning that Richardsons had damage done to furniture and closed for a couple of hours on Mon or Tues?...anyone else hear that?

_Puma_ wrote: »
    Problem is that this will be directly linked to Rag week and the students, hence why I was saying that the college and SU should have tried to get control of the thing instead of just walking away and getting indirectly linked to every public order offence for the week.
    Arrrgghh.

What are you prattling on about?
    How the hell are you suggesting that this attack will be linked to rag week.
    No body is inferring that. I doubt even muppetkiler, who linked the article is.

Even if the attacker is say a NUIG student on a scholarship, he acted as an *individual.
    Or what; he was facilitated by the supposed incompetence of NUIG/SU that you keep banging on about?

You seem intent on bringing up the trouble from rag week of years gone by, as some kind of weird justification to compel NUIG and the SU to actually police the streets of Galway themselves during rag week to ensure absolutely no public order offence is committed by anybody, regardless of occupation.

I doubt even muppetkiler, who linked the article is.
    Hmm, he posted it under the topic "I can't believe it's not Rag Week". I guess he should move his post to the general Galway forum then if even he doesn't think it's relevant...

• Registered Users Posts: 976 ✭✭✭_Puma_

Maybe by the fact that it is posted under "I Can't believe it's not rag week" and it is a thread I am subscribed to.

As I said before this will be dealt with as a civil matter and probably has nothing to do with rag week, but of course will be inadvertently linked to Rag Week, mainly because of past troubles. Not happy about it but it is the reality.

*Edit beaten to it by Dan_Solo

• Registered Users Posts: 25,966 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

AFAIK wasn't some fella from Loughrea convicted recently of one of these attacks, the son of a local public representative?

Yes, he was convicted. But that assault actually happened up on Prosepct Hill, not Forster Court.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭BhoscaCapall

Why exactly would there be more arrests on those days? Surely the Gardaí aren't arresting people on no grounds at all?
    No but they do arrest people on far less grounds then they usually would. Granted it may be justified by the number of people genuinely acting the maggot but as a result they are extremely heavy handed with everyone else. Tis a good week to meet their targets.
    I'm not in Galway but it doesn't sound like it's just a normal week, in fairness.
    Of course it's not, but it's not that bad. It's just one week. I can't understand why people don't just put up with it. I'd be pissed if my neighbours were up til 6am partying most days of the week, all year but I can put up with one week.

If it was anyone apart from students the backlash wouldn't be as bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

I'm biggest complaint about Rag Week this year is the amount of idiot drunk male students who still think it's cool to go out with their Jeans hanging around their Arse showing off their manky jocks...IT WAS NEVER COOL !!!! and you look like morons !!!
    Sagging I think it's called..and here's an interesting fact for you lol
    "sagging did originate from the prison system. Belts are not allowed because a person can hang themselves or someone else with one."

have you been watching room 101 :pac::pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,173 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Why do people have such a problem with an increased Garda presence. Every event where large numbers of people are in an area at the same time results in an increased Garda presence be it a match, concert, race week, sporting event etc.

It costs a lot of money, also if it's just an unofficial event as in not sanctioned, why should there be a need for them?

More arrests this week = more arrests
    More property damage = more insurance claims or cases against people
    More Garda presence = pulling resources from other areas and possibly paying overtime
    More injuries = More demand put on the public hospitals
    More students not attending college = Lecturers and Campuses not operating at capacity

All of the above means tax payers taking a hit for students they are already helping to support with their taxes. Or at least that's how I would see it but then I'm not a huge fan of ultra-socialism

It costs a lot of money, also if it's just an unofficial event as in not sanctioned, why should there be a need for them?
    What's your criterion for an event, commercial backing?
    Who even has the right to sanction an event.
    I cant see how your point can be argued.
    More arrests this week = more arrests
    More property damage = more insurance claims or cases against people
    More Garda presence = pulling resources from other areas and possibly paying overtime
    More injuries = More demand put on the public hospitals
    Can you post your source for those statistics for this week. I'd be interested in seeing them. Plus how did you get them for the week; it being only Thursday afternoon?

More students not attending college = Lecturers and Campuses not operating at capacity
    Not that its compulsory, however attendance hasn't changed significantly this week.
    All of the above means tax payers taking a hit for students they are already helping to support with their taxes. Or at least that's how I would see it but then I'm not a huge fan of ultra-socialism
    Ultra-socialism, brilliant.