Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cycleways Cup. 3rd March

13»

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Pawlie wrote: »
    Look lads yea need to be confident in your racing,nothing wrong with that,I never said I was gona win this race and that race,I will need some luck too,and be in the right place at right time,you can have all the skills in the world and not win a a4 race sure isn't that why some lads upgraded themselves as they prop found it too hard to win a4 races.

Confidence and goals are grand and hope you achieve them (maybe not at Easter 2013 though ;)).

My only comment would be to set realistic and achievable goals (and thats up to you to decide what is and what isn't tbh, not another poster here).

Good luck with the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Pawlie

And good luck all ye too for the season,might see ye race days please god.

Has the thread now ended peacefully lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Pawlie

I live in Kerry. Ras Mumhan has passed my front door for several years and will again this year. It is a great race and a worthy aspiration, very best of luck.

I am too crap, too fat and too old to race it. But I will be watching out for you. Send us your number. I anything I will give you a cheer.
    As a spectator, I hope it flogs rain and has a howling gale.
    Nothing is better than seeing guys suffer.

Your teammates are usually competitive in Ras Mumhan so at least you have a context for the race.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

I never once judged anyone that raced last weekend.

In fairness, you kinda did:
    going by the results then i would say that they where no strong riders out there and lads would just rather coast along,suppose this is a4 racing for you

jesus it was only the other day a guy was saying how bad the a3 was and that lads wouldn't work so whats the problem when a a4 guy says it.

People moan about the attitude in the bunch all the time, but it doesn't mean they're always right or even often right. I don't think its a coincidence that as you go up the categories, you see less of it happening.

I've seen plenty of new riders come into the sport and waste their energy blaming everything from the length of the races, to the lack of hills, to the attitude of the bunch.

Fact is that there were six lads who were cuter than you at that race by getting themselves a result. If it were me, I'd be asking myself what I did wrong rather looking to blame someone else.

Nobody owes you a win.

ROK ON wrote: »
    Pawlie

I live in Kerry. Ras Mumhan has passed my front door for several years and will again this year. It is a great race and a worthy aspiration, very best of luck.

I am too crap, too fat and too old to race it. But I will be watching out for you. Send us your number. I anything I will give you a cheer.
    As a spectator, I hope it flogs rain and has a howling gale.
    Nothing is better than seeing guys suffer.

Your teammates are usually competitive in Ras Mumhan so at least you have a context for the race.

Thanks man,yea I have a sister inlaw that lives in Listowel so i have had a few spins around there to get used to the weather while out on bike.

Quality country for mountain goats on bikes :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭1750W

colm_gti wrote: »
    Jeez I'm glad I upgraded to A3, sounds like everyone has their work cut out for them at A4 this year with all the undiscovered pros!

Sure Everyone has to start somewhere;)

Fact is that there were six lads who were cuter than you at that race by getting themselves a result. If it were me, I'd be asking myself what I did wrong rather looking to blame someone else.

Nobody owes you a win.

Actually my race went perfect and I was gunning for the sprint lieing in 3rd place with 300mtr to go until some dope thought an inch was enough to get his bike and 15stone thru and it was either go into ditch or brake and save me from crash and smashing bike up.......

I've seen plenty of new riders come into the sport and waste their energy blaming everything from the length of the races, to the lack of hills, to the attitude of the bunch.

Id love longer races and more climbs with odd cat 2 thrown in like this on http://app.strava.com/segments/1392084 so you wont hear me moaning about that.

And another thing I will earn my wins if they come,
    nobody owes me nothing never said they did.

Id love longer races and more climbs with odd cat 2 thrown in like this on http://app.strava.com/segments/1392084 so you wont hear me moaning about that.

And another thing I will earn my wins if they come,
    nobody owes me nothing never said they did.

Very interesting segment. Did you use a powermeter? there seems to be power data there but no HR data.

You should do very well at the des hanlon.

1750W wrote: »
    Very interesting segment. Did you use a powermeter? there seems to be power data there but no HR data.

You should do very well at the des hanlon.

Didnt have anything only my garmin 305,only recently started training with my hrm and doing intervals,dont have a power meter yet,thing they just give rough estimate instead.

Its a tough climb gradient at times is close to the 15's but super views when its clear,kinda keeps yer mind of how hard it is :D

Yea Im looking forward to the des hanlon whether im in a4 or a3,have it in with some of my goals for this season

does that include the vee?

1750W wrote: »
    does that include the vee?
    No man,the vee is nearer to lismore and dungaravn,

here is the vee segment http://app.strava.com/segments/652463 longer but not as steep or hard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Pawlie, you might have misinterpreted my statement, which is fair as I tend to ramble.

Respect isn't about not shouting during the race, it's sport, shouting and hot-blooded moments are what make it what it is.

I meant that for some people, being an A4 might be the pinnacle of their cycling career. Don't piss on this by announcing on a public forum that you considered the race to be far too easy for you and the only reason you didn't win or solo to victory is become some fatty with crap bike handling got in your way.

Take a note out of Mr. Grieves' book, be gracious in defeat and modest in victory. If you are as great as you say you are, your talent will do the talking. Coming on here and saying A4 is too easy/short/flat for proper racing is a slap in the face for people who might genuinely be at their limit in A4 races.

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    Pawlie, you might have misinterpreted my statement, which is fair as I tend to ramble.

Respect isn't about not shouting during the race, it's sport, shouting and hot-blooded moments are what make it what it is.

I meant that for some people, being an A4 might be the pinnacle of their cycling career. Don't piss on this by announcing on a public forum that you considered the race to be far too easy for you and the only reason you didn't win or solo to victory is become some fatty with crap bike handling got in your way.

Take a note out of Mr. Grieves' book, be gracious in defeat and modest in victory. If you are as great as you say you are, your talent will do the talking. Coming on here and saying A4 is too easy/short/flat for proper racing is a slap in the face for people who might genuinely be at their limit in A4 races.

There ye go again not once did i say i was going to win the race,nor did i say it was too easy,read the report i did,I actually enjoyed the race and had a great day out and was glad i didnt crash or bust me bike,

If people are going to comment on what I say will they please repeat what i said and nothing else.

Sure Pawlie. I was just trying to give you some general advice about how to get along with your fellow racers. Take it or leave it.
    Long hilly it was not,85km with one cat 4 is not tough,

Like I said, a good proportion of A4 might disagree.
    It would have been tough to stay out alone for 30km yesterday especially with the head wind along the final 10km stretch,
    and that is why I was jumping is too see if they where any takers and get something going

Just by this, you sound like you have contemplated riding solo to victory.
    Anyway after my efforts to get away I just sat in around 15th position and kept rolling up to 3rd maybe 4th and back down just to check and see how lads where going.Then with about 5km I moved up slowly to 5th then with every maybe half km I would move up and eventually with a km to go I was in 3rd,I was feeling great,legs where fine spinning away and I was actually buzzing for the sprint.

And again from your talk of sitting happily in 3rd position, legs spinning away, feeling great, sounds like you expected to storm across the line in first. Or were you happy to conserve all that energy and spin over in 3rd?

Look, you already have some A4 points, you are clearly on your way to A3 and probably higher. My question is, why not do it with a bit of class? Some guys would kill for the talent you have.

Maybe it's just me, I'm more a Messi than a Nani man.

I'll take all the advice I can get as long as lads don't twist what I say and knock me down because I want to do the Ras Mumhan for example.

Well another guy posted here wondering why aren't all a4 races like last sundays one,has he upset guys that would be happy never to see a race like it ?.....how come he is been told not to write about how he feels.....

Reason I jumped again was to see if some lads would come especially as it was do-able,and when no one came I sat up cause it would have been too hard,I was not contemplating going solo,it would have been suicide and imo thats using your head.

Im sure I was'nt the only one buzzing and feeling great coming to the finish.

Actaully I have nil points lol,

Jesus lads need to relax out there,getting all hot and bothered over what one chap thinks.

Sorry Pawlie, didn't mean to have a go at you there.

It's good your enthusiastic and enjoy the sport. If you have the ability, it makes it all the more enjoyable.

It's a long season, plenty more races to pick up points.

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    Sorry Pawlie, didn't mean to have a go at you there.

It's good your enthusiastic and enjoy the sport. If you have the ability, it makes it all the more enjoyable.

It's a long season, plenty more races to pick up points.

Not directed at you man none whatsoever,like all i did is write about race and how it went for me,they have been others that have done the same.I just don't understand why lads get all upset over it.

Actually loves it to be honest,cycled when i was younger but the awl soccer took over,gave it up and took the cycling back up since last oct and the bug for it got bigger lol,even thou I came away empty points wise I actually had a great time over the two days,saturday was a real eye opener but on sunday with the climbs and the longer km's it was like a real race if yea get me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

it was like a real race if yea get me.

Yeah I hate them fake races! :P

colm_gti wrote: »
    Yeah I hate them fake races! :P

good one lmao :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Quigs Snr

Well as the chairman of Pawlie's club I feel like I should step in and (a) commend him on his enthusiasm which is infectious at times and also (b) remind him of the club rule that all the talking is done on the road, with the legs or at the very least backed up on the road.

Only two scenarios exist which permit a rider, particularly a newbie to be able to talk with authority on the performance of others 1. you have won a race or done well in several races (by done well we specifically mean have scored points) - training performance counts for nothing or 2. you have taken part in and completed (without making a show of yourself i.e. finished mid classification or better) in races which automatically command and infer respect for the average mortal. In Ireland these are Ras Mumhan, Tour of Ulster, Tour of the North, Suir Valley, National Championships in any road discipline and of course the RAS (the ones without A1's or with handicaps although commendable in their own right do not count unless of course you get a result as mentioned earlier).

You'll get there Pawlie. Patience. And when you do you can talk all the smack on here that you like. Everyone will think you are an ass but no-one will be rushing to challenge you to a race ! (Although Ryan Sherlock and a few others are on here, so they might - you can take it up with them down in Kerry if you make it - team is entered, but we have kept a slot open just in case....)

Quigs Snr wrote: »
    Well as the chairman of Pawlie's club I feel like I should step in and (a) commend him on his enthusiasm which is infectious at times and also (b) remind him of the club rule that all the talking is done on the road, with the legs or at the very least backed up on the road.

Only two scenarios exist which permit a rider, particularly a newbie to be able to talk with authority on the performance of others 1. you have won a race or done well in several races (by done well we specifically mean have scored points) - training performance counts for nothing or 2. you have taken part in and completed (without making a show of yourself i.e. finished mid classification or better) in races which automatically command and infer respect for the average mortal. In Ireland these are Ras Mumhan, Tour of Ulster, Tour of the North, Suir Valley, National Championships in any road discipline and of course the RAS (the ones without A1's or with handicaps although commendable in their own right do not count unless of course you get a result as mentioned earlier).

You'll get there Pawlie. Patience. And when you do you can talk all the smack on here that you like. Everyone will think you are an ass but no-one will be rushing to challenge you to a race ! (Although Ryan Sherlock and a few others are on here, so they might - you can take it up with them down in Kerry if you make it - team is entered, but we have kept a slot open just in case....)
    Yea 110% quigs,slap on wrist taken onboard

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

@Paulie hope you get upgraded soon. I'd tend to agree with Dirk though in that you should try to go for a win rather than ticking off points. A4 can be difficult to get out of. some good Swords riders found it very difficult especially with the 3/2/1 points for races under 50k.
    Checked CI's rules and you could have applied for a A3 licence at the start of the year but once you got an A4 one are stuck with it. You can appleal to the grading officer AFAIK but would need a convincing argument.
    Getting a win at the Des Hanlon would be a start ;)

RobFowl wrote: »
    @Paulie hope you get upgraded soon. I'd tend to agree with Dirk though in that you should try to go for a win rather than ticking off points. A4 can be difficult to get out of. some good Swords riders found it very difficult especially with the 3/2/1 points for races under 50k.
    Checked CI's rules and you could have applied for a A3 licence at the start of the year but once you got an A4 one are stuck with it. You can appleal to the grading officer AFAIK but would need a convincing argument.
    Getting a win at the Des Hanlon would be a start ;)
    Thanks man,and look all I was saying in rhe report was how the race went for me,last thing I would do is insult fellow riders no matter what grade they in,I asked about a3 but cause i am a newcomer I couldn't,either way I like to earn my way up to a3 thru getting the points needed :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭not sane

Haven't enjoyed a thread as much as this in ages. Now Pawlie, let the bike do the talking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭dedocdude

best of luck this weekend @Pawlie - I think the boardsies are ganging up on you a bit - id say its probably due to your very confident postings -

Ras Luimni is not a hilly one so have a chat with the Waterford boys about the best strategy for you - you have a lot of experience to draw from with those around you. Looking forward to your race report on Sunday evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭ericzeking

Some thread...what's your number Pawlie? I'll follow when you jump the bunch.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭High Nellie

Actually my race went perfect and I was gunning for the sprint lieing in 3rd place with 300mtr to go until some dope thought an inch was enough to get his bike and 15stone thru and it was either go into ditch or brake and save me from crash and smashing bike up.......
    Maybe he had bigger balls as well

Id rather have smaller ones than cause a needless crash where some one could break a collar bone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭elchupanebrey

Sorry to reopen an old thread. I was googling the cycleways cup and a link to this came up.

I was curious as to how Pawlie fared out in the last couple of years.

Not trying to stir anything and don't follow the forum religiously so if ye want to close the thread fire away!!

Just wondering how his journey has gone since this race :-)

Sorry to reopen an old thread. I was googling the cycleways cup and a link to this came up.

I was curious as to how Pawlie fared out in the last couple of years.

Not trying to stir anything and don't follow the forum religiously so if ye want to close the thread fire away!!

Just wondering how his journey has gone since this race :-)

Riding A2 next year, completed 2 brutal RAS Mumahans, 3 Suir Valleys (last years one was only stage 1,got thrown outha that race for a wing mirror moment:(, didnt feel as bad after when nibili got done for the same :D), got upgraded March time 2013 to A3, then collected 9 points in a3 racing against Dunbar, Foley and co, following year was a disaster after completing RAS Mumhan I had my fair share of crashes and didnt get to race much, and last year I collected 13 points racing against a flaming brutally strong junior crew while missing 10 wks of racing after dislocating shoulder and tearing my acl in shoulder in a crash while racing in late May, didnt get back racing properly until week before Suir Valley.
    More bad days than good days but thats racing baby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭elchupanebrey

Riding A2 next year, completed 2 brutal RAS Mumahans, 3 Suir Valleys (last years one was only stage 1,got thrown outha that race for a wing mirror moment:(, didnt feel as bad after when nibili got done for the same :D), got upgraded March time 2013 to A3, then collected 9 points in a3 racing against Dunbar, Foley and co, following year was a disaster after completing RAS Mumhan I had my fair share of crashes and didnt get to race much, and last year I collected 13 points racing against a flaming brutally strong junior crew while missing 10 wks of racing after dislocating shoulder and tearing my acl in shoulder in a crash while racing in late May, didnt get back racing properly until week before Suir Valley.
    More bad days than good days but thats racing baby.

Soundd like you had a bad run of it injuries wise. Best of luck with the year ahead mate

Thanks dude, what don't kill you makes you stronger, and once yea stay smiling on the bike all is good, the day I don't enjoy it is the day I stop riding no matter at what level ;)