Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Quiz Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

In work today i tried to post that tweet to the humour thread.

Guess it didnt post, stupid work and well done lads we all follow @markcummins1 :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭G.K.

Who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,276 ✭✭✭batistuta9

G.K. wrote: »
    Who?

that's what i thought :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Conor Pope ‏@conor_pope 9h
    Hull City are the only professional football team in England with a name with no letters you can colour in. Thanks @popbitch!
    Retweeted by Mark Cummins

Sure lads you didnt see this tweet :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭roanoke

That answer will be rightly funked if yer man gets his way and calls them the Tigers

This is precisely why I was hoping he'd call them Hull City Minks.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,382 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

roanoke wrote: »
    This is precisely why I was hoping he'd call them Hull City Minks.

Pavee Point would complain about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,276 ✭✭✭batistuta9

dreamers75 wrote: »
    Sure lads you didnt see this tweet :rolleyes:

it's not as if the guy he retweeted discovered it.
    it's been around a while that bit of trivia

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

Who has had the longest gap between PL appearances, over 11 years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Graham Kavanagh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,831 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Kolido wrote: »

give us a hint, is he still playing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭101001

Someone's been reading Martin Tyler's on the sky sports site ;)

101001 wrote: »
    Someone's been reading Martin Tyler's on the sky sports site ;)

Ah man gotta get them somewhere. Was interesting piece if trivia so thought I would throw it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

OK, not going to moderate this myself so here's one ye can do for yereselves, loads of other quizzes on this page too.

Q. Can you name the nations of every footballer to win the English Premier League?

Answers here, there are 39, you have 8:00 minutes to get them

I got 37/39

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭Jarrod

38/39, I knew the player for the last one but hadn't a clue where he was from.
    Christopher Wreh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,705 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

I got 36. Missed
    Iceland, Bosnia and Montenegro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭Jarrod

Schwiiing wrote: »
    I got 36. Missed ...

You might want to put spoilers on there, for people who haven't done it yet.

Jarrod wrote: »
    You might want to put spoilers on there, for people who haven't done it yet.

My bad.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Red Kev wrote: »
    OK, not going to moderate this myself so here's one ye can do for yereselves, loads of other quizzes on this page too.

Q. Can you name the nations of every footballer to win the English Premier League?

Answers here, there are 39, you have 8:00 minutes to get them

I got 37/39

35/39

Missed :
    Jovetic
    Yorke
    Essien
    Berbatov

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

I missed one... because it wouldn't accept
    Bosnia
    , no... you have to go whole hog and go for
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    . Jaysus...

Was surprised at some nations I stabbed at that weren't there, biggest one being
    Switzerland
    . Did some
    Swiss
    defender (possibly
    Senderos
    ) not play for
    Arsenal
    when they won the League???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

DazMarz wrote: »
    I missed one... because it wouldn't accept
    Bosnia
    , no... you have to go whole hog and go for
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    . Jaysus...

That nearly got me with
    Trinidad and Tobago
    Was surprised at some nations I stabbed at that weren't there, biggest one being
    Switzerland
    . Did some
    Swiss
    defender (possibly
    Senderos
    ) not play for
    Arsenal
    when they won the League???

He would have been quite young (19/20) at the time so if he was there he probably hadn't played enough games anyway.

Got 37/39. Missed
    Ecuador (Antonio Valencia) and Liberia (knew it was Wreh but couldn't think of which country)

Did
    Mutu
    from
    Romania
    not win with
    Chelsea
    ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Schwiiing wrote: »
    Did
    Mutu
    from
    Romania
    not win with
    Chelsea
    ?

I thought he did too, but he was
    released from his contract with Chelsea in October 2004 following failing a drug test.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,952 ✭✭✭Morzadec

Here's one I was asked at the weekend and I only 3 out of the 4. Never actually found out the one I had missed so maybe you can help me out!

4 players named Chris/Christopher to have won the premier league.

One oft he ones I got was quite obscure, the other 2 very gettable, the 4th I have no idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,058 ✭✭✭finnharpsboy

smalling, wreh, sutton and ??? cris ronaldo :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,113 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

smalling, wreh, sutton and ??? cris ronaldo :)

I think that's the answer, but it's a stupid answer. It is derived from a totally different name :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,952 ✭✭✭Morzadec

I'm not sure what the answer is il have to sk the guy. I agree that it's a **** answer if they include cristiano

The other 3 were the ones I got

In English top flight, who scored a hat-trick against 3 different keepers in the same game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭asdfgh86

Apologies if this has been asked before:

What player is a Premier League runner-up, a Community Shield runner-up, a Champions League runner-up, a League Cup runner-up and an FA Cup runner-up, without winning one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,205 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

asdfgh86 wrote: »
    Apologies if this has been asked before:

What player is a Premier League runner-up, a Community Shield runner-up, a Champions League runner-up, a League Cup runner-up and an FA Cup runner-up, without winning one?

Ben Haim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭asdfgh86

Lucas Hood wrote: »
    Ben Haim

5qPDJtW.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Green Giant

In English top flight, who scored a hat-trick against 3 different keepers in the same game?

Alvin Martin for West Ham. Think they beat Newcastle 8-1 that day

Correct

Name something all these clubs had in common :

Arsenal
    Chelsea
    Coventry City
    Derby County
    Everton
    Liverpool
    Luton Town
    Manchester United
    Norwich City
    Nottingham Forest
    Oxford United
    Queens Park Rangers
    Sheffield Wednesday
    Southampton
    Tottenham Hotspur
    West Ham United
    Wimbledon

Hint : It's vaguely topical this week.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

Lost a final in extra time?

Possibly, but that's not the answer I'm looking for.

Hint: The commonality is exclusive to this list.

Note : There's a consideration that some other clubs should be on the list (eg Crystal Palace, Leeds, Man City, Blackburn) but I think that's too much of a 'what if' and I probably don't agree with it at present. However if one wants to consider those clubs as 'part of this list' also then that may also help you solve it.

Anything to do with national team captains at the world cup?

No, nothing to do with international teams. Purely a club related question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,366 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Did they all qualify for Europe but weren't allowed to compete?

8-10 wrote: »
    Did they all qualify for Europe but weren't allowed to compete?

Correct! They all missed out on European football because of ban resulting from the Heysel Stadium disaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,366 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Correct! They all missed out on European football because of ban resulting from the Heysel Stadium disaster.

:) I focused on what Luton, Norwich and Oxford united had in common as they seemed to be the most obscure and figured it had something to do with the League Cup wins in the 80's

Nice question!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,722 ✭✭✭golfball37

I don't think the league cup winners qualified for Europe back then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

What colour did the ROI originally play in as first choice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

Blue?

I would imagine it's always been green if you mean from the 50s onwards when they became known as ROI

Al Capwned wrote: »
    Blue?

Yeah, correct. Green, white and Orange been associated with Ireland is only a fairly recent introduction. If you notice the Presidents flag its Blue.

Ireland played in Royal Blue at the 1924 Olympics - Great story.

http://www.historyireland.com/20th-century-contemporary-history/irelands-footballers-at-the-paris-olympics-1924/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

Yeah, correct. Green, white and Orange been associated with Ireland is only a fairly recent introduction. If you notice the Presidents flag its Blue.

Ireland played in Royal Blue at the 1924 Olympics - Great story.

http://www.historyireland.com/20th-century-contemporary-history/irelands-footballers-at-the-paris-olympics-1924/

As Kolido said, that would have been the Irish Free State not the ROI.

/pedant :p

As Kolido said, that would have been the Irish Free State not the ROI.

/pedant :p

Actually you are right just remembered that NI played as Ireland for years after the split.

Ah i knew what you meant. And I got it right, so carry on
    Nothing to see here..... :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,064 ✭✭✭✭eh i dunno

Name the two Australians with premier league winners medals

eh i dunno wrote: »
    Name the two Australians with premier league winners medals

Bosnich is one anyway.