Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Katy French's death: was justice done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

Im anti drugs, always have been and always will be.

The people dealing where scum bags, but guilty of nothing only dealing the drugs.

Life is about taking responsiblity for your actions, she paid the ultimate price for her folly. In this day and age there is alot of education about the hazards of drugs. For want of a better description, she was playing Russian Roulette.

Kids, dont do drugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

She knew the risks.

What I've hated about this whole debacle, including Gerry Ryan's death, over the past few years has been the Irish media painting these celeb deaths as something that dealers are solely responsible for, not the celeb who took the drugs themselves.

It somehow takes the responsibility away from the person who died, like they were forced to take the drugs under different circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

HondaSami wrote: »
    It was her choice to take the drugs, blaming everyone else is not going to bring her back. Her family need to stop looking for someone to blame and accept it was her own fault.

That's grand but waiting 90 minutes to ring an ambo is a bit weird

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭DaithiMa

Those who say she was a "junkie" are way off in my opinion. Big difference between a junkie and somebody who uses recreational drugs occasionally or the odd weekend. A junkie, in my opinion, is somebody who is completely addicted to and reliant on drugs, and will do whatever it takes to feed their habit. I do not think Katy French was one of those. I think she enjoyed a social drink, as many people do, and possibly enjoyed the odd line and maybe the odd spliff/pill too, as also many people do. It seems the anti drug brigade have serious issues distinguishing between the two.

And another thing, the toxicology report was never released- gardai "strongly suspected" drugs played a role in her death. That is all that was said. Anything else is pure speculation.IF it was the coke that caused her to die then it was her own fault-any drug user knows the risks involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

Taking drugs is suicide.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Of course justice wasn't done....because there was no need for it to be done.

Katy French was grown woman who made the decision of her own free will to take drugs that night and she paid the ultimate price for it.

A tragedy yes....but it was her own fault.

But her death was quite likely preventable.

If people are to crticise her family for their reaction to this sentencing, then one must put themselves in the family's shoes.

Imagine for a second if your sister died and you knew for a fact that she lay sick, becoming worse and worse for no less than 95 mins and there were 2 people there who did nothing. Would you accept that? Really?

Yes she may have initially brought the situation on herself (I say "may" as the amount of coke in her system was quite low), but the deterioration of said situation to the point of tragedy could likely have been avoided.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 240 ✭✭The Barefoot Pizza Thief

kraggy wrote: »

If people are to crticise her family for their reaction to this sentencing, then one must put themselves in the family's shoes.

Imagine for a second if your sister died and you knew for a fact that she lay sick, becoming worse and worse for no less than 95 mins and there were 2 people there who did nothing. Would you accept that? Really?

Yes she may have initially brought the situation on herself (I say "may" as the amount of coke in her system was quite low), but the deterioration of said situation to the point of tragedy could likely have been avoided.

Finally, someone with common sense.

Yet another aspect of this mess worthy of note not mentioned so far, was that, despite Katy buying €200 worth of cocaine and only having a trace amount in her system when she died, the rest of the cocaine was never found.

Donnie and Marie said they were "anti-drugs" and never touch the stuff and so where did it go?

Just read Ducie's Hotpress interview and the following quotes seem to contradict the timeline the newspapers have printed:
    I got home at about 6.45am. I’m not too sure of the exact time. It was Sunday morning – it was bright outside.”

When Ducie barrelled into his house after a hard night’s partying, he walked into the kitchen: the plasma TV was switched on, with the volume turned down. He saw that Katy’s mascara was running down her face – she had obviously been crying.

“I said, ‘What’s going on?’” says Ducie. “Katy started coming out with an awful lot of things. ‘They all hate me. They don’t like me... do you see the way the media are depicting me? I have no friends. I didn’t really have many friends in school... You and Ann are my mates and I can talk to you guys. I don’t have any other friends...’

“I said, ‘Of course you have friends... everybody has friends...’ My house isn’t five minutes away from the city centre, you know? The newspapers were making innuendos as if there was some sort of ulterior motive for Katy coming out to my house. We were having a heart-to-heart. The girl was spilling her heart out. That’s why she went to Ann. She rang a lot of people that night and nobody answered her calls. She told me that. She said it to Ann as well.”

Ducie sat down with the two women and they talked for the next two hours.

“They were drinking. I had Lanson champagne there... there was a couple of bottles of champagne. Ann was drinking coffee and I think there was vodka and Red Bull there as well. I had drinks with them. I sat down and had some vodka and Red Bull and Katy was drinking vodka and pouring champagne in on top of it.”

He says the conversation still haunts him. As the drinks flowed, Katy revealed that her relationship had ended that day.

“She was told it was basically because of the Star On Sunday interview and her friends weren’t talking to her either. There’s an awful lot of things Katy said that night that I wouldn’t tell anybody. It was very personal information.”

Katy hinted that she’d have to look for new accommodation. Whatever had happened, she could no longer stay in her City West apartment because of its proximity to her former love interest who was apparently shunning her over the cocaine story.

“The girl was visibly distressed. An awful lot had happened to her in three days. We sat and we talked for a while. She talked a lot about her sister and her mother that night. About how she was very proud of her Mam. And her sister being an artist.

“I actually said to Katy: ‘You need a break away from this... get a break and lie down low for a while... stop trying to push yourself. There’s a limit!’ It was like a machine and she was running with this machine and I think she felt she had to keep going and keep going. Katy always wanted a career – and that was what she was pushing for – in TV. That was the goal.

“I could be brutally honest with her – that’s what she liked about me. She’d be sitting there rambling on and I’d say, ‘Katy, you’re talking awful ****e!’ And she’d laugh because she had all these ‘yes’ ****ers around her, telling her that she was great. When it takes a friend to bring you down to earth, I think you kind of appreciate that friend a bit more. That’s how herself and myself and Ann got on. There was no bull**** around us.

“We just talked for a few hours and then she got up and said, ‘I want to go now...’ And she picked up her keys for the jeep. She was going to make dinner for her aunty on that Sunday. I stopped her in her tracks and I said, ‘No. Don’t take the keys for the jeep – you’re not driving’. God forbid if she drove down the road and the girl crashed into somebody on their way to mass. That’s what I thought.

“It was about 8.30am or 9am. I told her to go into bed. I brought her up to the room and I said, ‘Katy, get some sleep’. Ann pulled the blinds down. She still had her clothes on. I pulled the quilt back, took her shoes off her, and put her into the bed.”

“She said, ‘Kieron, would you get me a glass of water?’”

According to Ducie, these were Katy French’s last words.

“I brought her a bottle of Ballygowan and I put it beside the bed and I said, ‘There you go’. I went up to bed with Ann. I still had my clothes on. I was sitting at the side of my bed and Ann was telling me an awful lot of in-depth stuff – stuff that one girl would tell another girl. I was shocked. We were talking for about 10 or 15 minutes and then I heard a big bang on the floor. She had fallen out of the bed and hit a big mirror that’s in the room. I shouted down but I didn’t hear anything. I ran down to the room and Katy was on the floor and she was having a seizure.

“I grabbed her off the floor and lifted her onto the bed. Her body was just shooting... her arms were shooting back and forward. Her eyes were bulging. She was foaming around the mouth. I was just horrified.”

He remembers saying to Ann, ‘Just get the ****ing jeep open...’

“I got her into the jeep. There was no waiting. I don’t know what time it was. It’s like somebody throwing a grenade into this room now – time freezes. Go to the time of the 999 call and go back a couple of minutes because it was instant...

“The rest is history...”

Did you see Katy taking drugs that night?

“No,” he says, shaking his head. “The papers were making accusations that there was loads of drugs on the table. Ann doesn’t do drugs. There was no drugs done that night. Definitely no drugs. Ann said Katy never did drugs in front of her. The Guards asked about how many times Katy went to the toilet and Ann replied, ‘As many times as you go to the toilet or I go – how the **** would I know?’ The Guards checked the toilets – the wiped everything with swabs. Everything. Floors. Walls. They can pick up the most minuscule particle. You’d never – if drugs were used in your house – get away from it. Ann told me, ‘That girl never did drugs in your house’. I believe it.

“I know it’s frustrating. I remember the guards sitting there going ****in’ nuts over it as well. But, at the end of the day, I’m not going to say something that I didn’t see. I said that same thing to the coppers that I’m telling you.”

It subsequently emerged, according to Ducie, that Katy was captured on CCTV footage at a petrol station in Clonee, apparently purchasing drugs, prior to visiting Ann Corcoran. She had also been taking valium and diet pills, according to other reports. “There’s a big question mark – Katy left her mother’s house at 11.30pm and she got to Kilmessen at 1.30am. The M50 has no ****ing queues on a Saturday night,” he states. “They are saying it’s a seizure from a suspected drugs overdose, but I don’t know. She didn’t do drugs in my house that night – and that’s 100%. Whether she done drugs anywhere else that night I don’t know.”

Have you ever taken cocaine?

“No. Never. I’ve never used drugs,” he states. “To be honest with you, I never seen Katy doing drugs. I’m not going to say it doesn’t happen. But I never seen her doing drugs because Katy knew how I felt about drugs. I have a younger brother with a drug problem and I’ve seen what drugs can do to families. I’m totally anti-drugs. I’ll go into a nightclub and drink bottles of vodka and fall out of the door on my face and wake up tomorrow with a hangover. That’s all I do.”

Hotpress article

The timeline of the above is clearly far different from the one almost every single newspaper has reported.

Ducie says that he does not take drugs and never took drugs, but yet phoned Memery before he called 999 (according to his phone records at least). He also says that Katy drank Champagne on top of Vodka but yet her blood alcohol level was miniscule. Corcoran apparently never seen Katy do drugs and doesn't do drugs herself either, yet both her and Ducie know a drug dealer well enough to be able to phone him and arrange drug deals to take place on behalf of other people and of course, they have been now been found guilty of doing so.

Colour me confused.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭brandon_flowers

www.rte.ie/news/2009/0612/waterford.html

So there was nothing done about the two lads that died in Waterford?

Do a bit of research FFS.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭ebixa82

Am I the only one who feels a bit of sympathy for what this couple have gone through.

A young girl's death is attributable to her drug abuse. She is a socialite so the media are all over it and make her out to be a victim of the drug trade. Nobody forced her to take the drugs. 100% her own fault.

Dozens of people die every year as a result of drug overdoses, but because they are not well known or beautiful we hear nothing of it.

She played with fire and she got burnt. I would blame nobody except her for her actions. In fact if people want to go blaming people then blame the family who raised a girl who needed drugs to socialise. Obviously, it would be ridiculous to do so, but so to to blame her friends who procured drugs for her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭RossFixxxed

Hey does this mean none of us have personal responsibility anymore?

Hurray, let's all take smack and then blame everyone else when we end up losing a leg and dying on the street! Party!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭Crimson King

Wasn't this in the same week as two young men in Cork who also took Cocaine and died (one was in a Coma for a while if I am remembering correctly)?. I remember a media frenzy warning people not to take Cocaine as it could be lethal.

Yes I agree, she took the drugs willingly and yes no one forced her to. However to expect to die from it is a little bit ott. I feel sorry for her of course, and she was foolish for taking the drug but it does not seem to be an 'overdose'. Maybe that theory was discounted and I missed it but I remember something about a 'bad batch' of the drug and the public being warned.

Secondly, why is the media only concentrating on this death when the other two guys also had similar deaths? The fact she was pretty and semi-famous (never heard of her myself tbh) should not be a valid reason???

Wasn't this in the same week as two young men in Cork who also took Cocaine and died (one was in a Coma for a while if I am remembering correctly)?. I remember a media frenzy warning people not to take Cocaine as it could be lethal.

Yes I agree, she took the drugs willingly and yes no one forced her to. However to expect to die from it is a little bit ott. I feel sorry for her of course, and she was foolish for taking the drug but it does not seem to be an 'overdose'. Maybe that theory was discounted and I missed it but I remember something about a 'bad batch' of the drug and the public being warned.

Secondly, why is the media only concentrating on this death when the other two guys also had similar deaths? The fact she was pretty and semi-famous (never heard of her myself tbh) should not be a valid reason???

Because stupid people will keep buying magazines and reading Daily Mail like sh1t about these people.

I refer you to three posts up about the guys in Waterford and not Cork, justice was done in both cases.

The media reporting of both is the difference not the justice system.

The Gardai did their job by apprehending the criminals in both cases,
    The judges did their job by sentencing the criminals in both cases,
    And the media will sell newspapers and magazines by reporting on the case which interests their customers. Therefore the media did their job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭Crimson King

My apologies, don't know why I thought Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭fishy fishy

kraggy wrote: »

probably happens all the time with people on drugs, but we don't hear about it because they are not "well known".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

katy french did herself no favours but there was few hours gap before she was taken to hospital so had ducie acted quicker , she might have survived , who knows, her family have admitted to her drug problems so its clear she was still quite addicted and there was a problem here for sure, even if this had not occurred, she may well have have overdosed a few months down the line

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,941 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

She was old enough and bold enough to take it herself so she can't balme anyone but herself,
    I'm sure it wasn't the first time either,
    In the Mirror today Page 4 and 5 are both on French then hidden away on page 27 there are only a few lines about the 21yearold lad who died at the Swedish house Mafia gig last year of the same thing,
    If Kathy French wasn't a model and from an under privillaged part of city how many people would say its her own fault and not care,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭Chocoholic84

catallus wrote: »
    "Her own fault that she died"; there is some cold sh1t coming from here tonight.

But it's the truth....nothing cold about it.
    I don't care if someone is the most hopelessly addicted person in the country; I won't degrade them by calling them "junkie"

Junkie = someone who's consumed by an addiction.
    Anybody who dies by drugs deserves the same amount of consideration as anyone who dies by other means.

Actually - I don't agree. I would feel a hell of a lot more sorry for someone who was raped and murdered rather than someone who is poisoning themselves day in, day out (or even just taking 1 lethal dose as a one-off) knowing the dangers.
    Some of the vitriol coming from here is actually shocking to me, some of it from posters who I would consider to be normally quite level headed.

I wouldn't call it vitriol - I'd call it sense!
    Everyone seems to be in rush to totally absolve those who supplied the drugs to her: in my opinion it is quite a display of moral acrobatics, to totally blame the dead person and to claim those who gave her the drugs are actually innocent.

Of course they're not innocent...I despise all drug-takers. BUT Katy did this of her own free will, they weren't forced into her. As someone said earlier, live by the sword, die by the sword.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

anncoates wrote: »
    Who?

There was rumours floating about of an aspiring young model who took cocaine, she denied it and took part in an anti-drugs advertising campaign, soon after died of what appeared to be a drug overdose.

My apologies, don't know why I thought Cork.

Shortly before all 3 incidents there was a lot of cocaine found in a bay somewhere in Cork. It was thought to be possible that someone could have gotten a hold of some prior to the Gardaí collecting it themselves. It was assumed that if it were so, than this "wet Cocaine" could have been an issue that was related to the 3 incidents. Although I think that was just media speculation.

FFS people they weren't charged with killing her. Nobody is trying to say they murdered her. They were charged with arranging drugs for her. If she didn't die they still committed the same offence. People get caught with a few €100 worth of coke every weekend.

So what if she took it herself, so what if she shoved it all up her ****ing arse and died. The drugs were arranged for her. They committed the offence and they were charged and sentenced. The very same as the deaths in Waterford a week later, the very same as the lethal heroin that showed up in Cork. Selling, supplying, aiding the supply of and carrying cocaine are all illegal.

The only thing different here is the media reporting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

There was rumours floating about of an aspiring young model who took cocaine, she denied it and took part in an anti-drugs advertising campaign, soon after died of what appeared to be a drug overdose.

Shortly before all 3 incidents there was a lot of cocaine found in a bay somewhere in Cork. It was thought to be possible that someone could have gotten a hold of some prior to the Gardaí collecting it themselves. It was assumed that if it were so, than this "wet Cocaine" could have been an issue that was related to the 3 incidents. Although I think that was just media speculation.

maybe but i thought there were reports about contaminated cocaine as there were a few deaths around the same time as katy french

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

FFS people they weren't charged with killing her. Nobody is trying to say they murdered her. They were charged with arranging drugs for her. If she didn't die they still committed the same offence. People get caught with a few €100 worth of coke every weekend.

So what if she took it herself, so what if she shoved it all up her ****ing arse and died. The drugs were arranged for her. They committed the offence and they were charged and sentenced. The very same as the deaths in Waterford a week later, the very same as the lethal heroin that showed up in Cork. Selling, supplying, aiding the supply of and carrying cocaine are all illegal.

yes but the people who provided the number for "the man" usually don't face a charge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Apocalypse

I'm from Kilmessan
    Its a quiet little village , no one knows that Ducie fella...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

maybe but i thought there were reports about contaminated cocaine as there were a few deaths around the same time as katy french

It was speculation about left overs from Cork a month or 2 before this happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Then why are her family looking for 'justice' for her death? There is no justice to be had. They may have supplied the drugs, but it was at her behest.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

It's funny how people keep calling her a "druggie", "junkie", etc, that she almost deserved to die because she was such an addict.
    Nearly everyone I know does or has at some stage partied a little, if everyone who dabbled in drugs a little bit were to die there wouldn't be many people left in this part of the world.

kylith wrote: »
    Then why are her family looking for 'justice' for her death? There is no justice to be had. They may have supplied the drugs, but it was at her behest.

Because they're her family - to them, she was obviously pretty special. The odd part, is the independent trying to push a "model" (read: bottom of the barrel photo-call model who probably didn't even earn a living from it) as some sort of Irish Diana.

I would doubt that she was an addict also. Irish coke is overly stepped-on ****. She'd have gotten a better buzz drinking a few cups of strong coffee. I'd say she just bought into the "models do coke" myth and essentially died trying to seem cool. Which is the saddest part - but pragmatism and honesty are certainly not values which are held dear to the Indo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    Because they're her family - to them, she was obviously pretty special. The odd part, is the independent trying to push a "model" (read: bottom of the barrel photo-call model who probably didn't even earn a living from it) as some sort of Irish Diana.

I know they're grieving, but they need to wake up and take off the rose tinted glasses.

You're right about the Diana bit, I googled her name and she came up as 'Irish socialite, model, writer, television personality and charity worker'. I had literally never heard of her until she was dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭D-FENS

‘No. Don’t take the keys for the jeep – you’re not driving’. God forbid if she drove down the road and the girl crashed into somebody on their way to mass. That’s what I thought.

Yet at 10am, after no sleep and after being out all night “socialising” then drinking V & RB when he got home, he decided to drive her to the hospital.
    Guess all the lovely Christians would have made it safely to the church by then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I never understood the all-out witch hunt that happened after she or Gerry Ryan died. Obviously, dealers should be prosecuted and sentenced accordingly.

But they were both adults who were well aware of the risks they were taking shoving that stuff up their noses. They died as a result of the punishment their bodies suffered, all due to their own actions.

They need to not be made heroes, they were fools. I had initial sympathy for Katy's family, but it's wearing thin- they need to take off the blinkers and see her for what she was: just another coked up model.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

I never understood the all-out witch hunt that happened after she or Gerry Ryan died. Obviously, dealers should be prosecuted and sentenced accordingly.

But they were both adults who were well aware of the risks they were taking shoving that stuff up their noses. They died as a result of the punishment their bodies suffered, all due to their own actions.

They need to not be made heroes, they were fools. I had initial sympathy for Katy's family, but it's wearing thin- they need to take off the blinkers and see her for what she was: just another coked up model.
    I always felt it was a case of drawing attention away from who else in the public eye might also be doing casual drugs.

yes but the people who provided the number for "the man" usually don't face a charge

Yes they do. Read my previous posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,810 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    It's funny how people keep calling her a "druggie", "junkie", etc, that she almost deserved to die because she was such an addict.
    Nearly everyone I know does or has at some stage partied a little, if everyone who dabbled in drugs a little bit were to die there wouldn't be many people left in this part of the world.

She didn't 'deserve' to but it was completely self-inflicted, knowing the consequences, and when somebody dies through their own actions like that I don't really consider it 'tragic'. I don't really care if that happens to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

humanji wrote: »
    I always felt it was a case of drawing attention away from who else in the public eye might also be doing casual drugs.

Sure everyone knows that RTE was awash with coke back then (and probably still is to some extent). It was an open secret, there's very few I would be surprised to hear it about.

anncoates wrote: »
    Who?

Do people really think when they disingenuously post "Who?" on a thread that an unpopular person is the topic of, that people believe they're being sincere?

Even if you never head of her, you've heard of Google right?

Can you link me to an interview with the family where they are blaming anyone but Katy for 'taking' drugs, because I keep reading users implying this and so you all must be aware of some interviews that I am not. The way the family are spoken of, you'd swear they had been on The Late Late, Joe Duffy, Hello magazine and gave newspaper interviews on a daily basis. All I see is a family that kept their mouths shut for five years and then, when they finally spoke, expressed their anger, not at people being charged for making Katy take drugs or making her a drug addict - that is something which people seem intent on believing for reasons only known to themselves but rather, that they were not charged with the second dropped charge, which would have basically amounted to them being held culpable for her death for not contacting the hospital earlier:
    In a statement, the family said they were grateful for the efforts of the Gardaí to “get justice” for Katy’s death, but that they felt “saddened and angry” that a second charge against the pair – of endangerment to the 24-year-old model’s life – was not brought.

“The DPP has explained their reasons, and we understand them, even though they are hard for the family to accept,” Janet French said.

“We are now left without a full picture of what happened. We would have liked Kieron Ducie and Ann Corcoran to take the opportunity of the court case to give an explanation but they did not.”

I fail to see how their feeling that these two should have called the hospital as soon as they found Katy "foaming at the mouth" and "bouncing" off their floor suggests in any way shape or form, that they hold anyone other that Katy herself responsible for her own drug habit. Having the opinion that Ducie and his partner have a measure of culpability in her death and believing that they are to blame for Katy 'taking' drugs are not one and the same, they are quite different in fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Whoah, I only read that properly now.

The two people involved didn't even supply the coke, they just got in contact with a dealer and who she went and met and bought the coke off? And the family blame them?

FFS, is there any length people won't go to to try and convince themselves that they can't be blamed for their own actions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

If she wasn't a 'celebrity', no-one would care.
    She played Russian Roulette with drugs and lost. Simple as.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

OT but how the hell do you pronounce 'ducie'? Dooshie, duckie, dooshea

Douchebag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭irishgirl19

I think the 2 should have been charged in relation to the delay in calling emergency services but I think it was too harsh for charging them for arranging her to get the drugs.it was of her own free will its just a tragic outcome.

Yup, spot on (if the official timeline of events is to be believed that is).

I would say either Ducie or one of the family members will make an appearance on The Late Late this weekend - should be interesting.

What is harsh about it? They facilitated the sale and supply of drugs, which is illegal. Russell Memery (the dealer) was charged separately also.

I agree regarding the delay in calling the ES, which is a bigger crime IMO but it doesn't diminish the fact they facilitated her getting the drugs.

What is harsh about it? They facilitated the sale and supply of drugs, which is illegal. Russell Memery (the dealer) was charged separately also.

I agree regarding the delay in calling the ES, which is a bigger crime IMO but it doesn't diminish the fact they facilitated her getting the drugs.

Think your posts have all been 'nail on the head' so far but without similar previous convictions, should they have been really charged with the offense which they were?

I'm not so sure but yeah, the fact that other people who have done similar have been charged, blows the whole: "They would not have been charged if Katy was from Darndale" nonsense out of the water.

• Haven't read the whole thread, but I don't really see what 'justice' needs to be done. The girl decided to take illegal drugs, knowing that she had no idea what was in them and that illegal drugs always carry an element of risk and she was unlucky. Obviously, the people who supplied them should be punished as drug suppliers usually are, but I don't see how that brings 'justice' for Katy herself.

It bugs me quite a bit to see Katy French painted as the innocent victim. A close friend of mind was murdered just over a year ago for no reason at all. Minding her own business, walking down the street, dragged into a park, assaulted and murdered. This is a case where justice needs to be done - a totally innocent person's life taken away on purpose. Katy French took a gamble and lost. Sure, someone provided her with drugs but nobody forced her to take them.

Haven't read the whole thread, but I don't really see what 'justice' needs to be done. The girl decided to take illegal drugs, knowing that she had no idea what was in them and that illegal drugs always carry an element of risk and she was unlucky. Obviously, the people who supplied them should be punished as drug suppliers usually are, but I don't see how that brings 'justice' for Katy herself.

It bugs me quite a bit to see Katy French painted as the innocent victim. A close friend of mind was murdered just over a year ago for no reason at all. Minding her own business, walking down the street, dragged into a park, assaulted and murdered. This is a case where justice needs to be done - a totally innocent person's life taken away on purpose. Katy French took a gamble and lost. Sure, someone provided her with drugs but nobody forced her to take them.

How may times do I have to say it? They were charged with facilitating the supply of drugs not with murder or manslaughter. It was a court case defined by law not some moral judgement.

It was her choice to take the drugs but Ducie/Corcoran also had the choice to not phone the dealer. No one is saying he/they are responsible for her death but they are responsible for her having the drugs to take and this is what they were convicted for.

nobody forced her to take them.

Is someone of the opinion that she was? No idea why this point continues to be made, again and again and again.

Nobody, not her family nor even a poster on this thread, is of the opinion that other people are responsible for Katy having a drug habit.

Asking for people to be held responsible if they deliberately chose not to seek medical help when they found her fitting, foaming at the mouth, bouncing off the floor =/= wanting to hold others responsible for Katy snorting cocaine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Asking for people to be held responsible if they deliberately chose not to seek medical help when they found her fitting, foaming at the mouth, bouncing off the floor =/= wanting to hold others responsible for Katy snorting cocaine.

But they weren't held responsible for this as this part of the case was dropped.

• Is someone of the opinion that she was? No idea why this point continues to be made, again and again and again.

Nobody, not her family nor even a poster on this thread, is of the opinion that other people are responsible for Katy having a drug habit.

Responsible for what? They made a bad decision as well. Plenty of people underreact in a crisis, should they all be locked up?

My issue here is, what justice needs to be done for Katy? The term in itself implies that Katy was wronged. How was she wronged, exactly? She wanted some drugs, her mates sorted some out for her and now they're responsible for her death?

Boombastic wrote: »
    But they weren't held responsible for this as this part of the case was dropped.

Hence the thread title, comments throughout the thread so far and the family's comments yesterday.
    My issue here is, what justice needs to be done for Katy? The term in itself implies that Katy was wronged. How was she wronged, exactly? She wanted some drugs, her mates sorted some out for her and now they're responsible for her death?

All these questions have been answered. I know you said you didn't read the thread but come on, that point was addressed in the OP.

In this post also:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=83303599

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

This whole case is typically Irish really , as many have said she took drugs that she had chosen to take herself and she died, as far as I know nobody rammed them down her throat. But of course it's everybody elses fault because she was a 'celebrity' apparently, I'd never heard of her to be honest before this came up.

If she'd had gone to an off licence or had her mates go and buy her 5 litres of Vodka, drank it and died are the of licence and her mates responsible for her death?

What about those lads hooked on drugs sleeping rough every night, who's responsible for their down fall and death's?

I'm sorry the girl lost her life , but anyone who's ever taken drugs should know the risks when they do it and the consequences of their actions. Her friends are no more responsible than she was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

I think her family when making their comments should have warned all other families and young people of the dangers of taking illegal drugs.

I hate this attitude of "its just a line or two at the weekend" or "what harm can an odd spliff do?"

Ask Katy French what harm can the odd line do!

Oh wait ....you can't.