Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Move from London to Dublin

Options
  • 22-02-2013 4:34pm
    Registered Users Posts: 6

Hi,

I am a 27 yr old female health care professional. I have been living and working in London since I graduated 4 years ago and have now just accepted a job back home in Dublin.

I am extremely nervous about moving home and the practical side of making friends/things to do etc.. as most of my age group seems to have left the country with me four years ago, and I have not heard of many returning. Any suggestions?

On the more practical side I want to know about tax/benefits etc...

- Will I be tax exempt for a certain period of time as I have not actually paid tax or built up a tax free allowance? (sorry that could be a dumb question)
    - How do I stop emergency tax with the HSE?
    - How/Can I claim back any of the tax I have paid in UK over the last four years, if so how do I go about that?
    - How long is my european health card (NHS) valid to use in Ireland after I leave I London?

I would really appreciate the practical support.

Thanks,

Little Red

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭dissed doc

littlered wrote: »
    Hi,

- Will I be tax exempt for a certain period of time as I have not actually paid tax or built up a tax free allowance? (sorry that could be a dumb question)
    - How do I stop emergency tax with the HSE?
    - How/Can I claim back any of the tax I have paid in UK over the last four years, if so how do I go about that?
    - How long is my european health card (NHS) valid to use in Ireland after I leave I London?