Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

What Age Do you stop being a young person/

• 22-02-2013 9:31pm
    Registered Users Posts: 659 ✭✭✭

I'm 22 and regard myself as young. I know someone 3 years older and said that they are not young anymore.
    What age did you stop feeling young?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Giggiddy

• Site Banned Posts: 253 ✭✭theidiots

28 is the aversge age you start to die

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

21 in answer to the thread title, and nothing to do with because you are 22 either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭lockon...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭GRMA

30. The "last big contract" time for most footballers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

When peace and quiet becomes the thing you strive for in life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Pilotdude5

When I was 20 I thought I knew it all and was very self-confident. Now I'm 23, realise I know nothing and feel like a 16 year old again.

I hope this answer helps.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

When you're an old person :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Im 29, I don't go out on the piss with my pals as much as I used to or get up to anything near the antics I used to but I'm having so much more fun now than I ever did in my life before. Alot more social outside my usual circles, healthier lifestyle, alot more open to trying things.

I'm finding my "fun" times are usually less and less alcohol fueled, which is good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I'm 33 , just sitting here wetting myself and dribbling. My nurse will come around soon to feed me. It all went down hill after 30 :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

I'm 25 now and feel like 69

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

When the wrinkles start appearing! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Im 29, I don't go out on the piss with my pals as much as I used to or get up to anything near the antics I used to but I'm having so much more fun now than I ever did in my life before. Alot more social outside my usual circles, healthier lifestyle, alot more open to trying things.

I'm finding my "fun" times are usually less and less alcohol fueled, which is good.

I'm going to echo this. I'm also 29 (about 6 weeks of it left!) and after years of over indulging ;) and playing too much football and soccer i.e. burning the candle at both ends, I'm physically starting feel a bit older. I can't drink for sh!z anymore but that's a good thing.

Mentally I'm still an immature sap and long may it continue!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭carrig2

You stop being young at 6 months older than I am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Its all relative. I need a few years myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Loud noises hurt my ears :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

When you turn 20 your brain starts to shrink. When you turn 27 your memory starts to diminish and by the time you reach forty you lose 10,000 brain cells a day.

I can't find a link for any of this but it was on a 2007 episode of Horizon called How Does Your Memory Work.

• Registered Users Posts: 54 ✭✭BrenCann

33, Hangovers get worse but am 39 now and still feel young ( about 33 ).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

When you turn 20 your brain starts to shrink. When you turn 27 your memory starts to diminish and by the time you reach forty you lose 10,000 brain cells a day.

I can't find a link for any of this but it was on a 2007 episode of Horizon called How Does Your Memory Work.

Apparently your works well......that or you are demented and just made all that up:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭Froggy123

I'm 22 also!! Still feel like an 18 year old...a LOT smarter than i was then but know i still have a lot to learn;)

I'd say 35/40 is when you start to feel really old:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭Kettleson

Is this so u can get a half fare on a bus? If you are adult and small, its still worth a go.

Or is it cos u are underage and want to get into an 18+ movie? If so, try smoking a cigar on your approach to the ticket kiosk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

Apparently your works well......that or you are demented and just made all that up:)
    My memory isn't what it used to be but I still have the Horizon episode on my computer. It was one of the most interesting episodes I've ever seen.

There's a few clips here, although it doesn't mention the memory loss that I was talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,506 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

When you watch MILF porn and think that it's time you settled down.

• Registered Users Posts: 54 ✭✭BrenCann

I am 39 and know lots more than when i was 23 . but still no very little.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

I reckon you start to get proper old at 50. I'm 44 pretty young looking for my age and aside from smoking the odd spliff I look after myself in terms of fitness and off the sauce ten years. I've lots of energy some days but I do get quite knackered out of nowhere other days. One or two wrinkles, one or two grey hairs, find it hard to get the old chap standing proud sometimes (he's gone into semi retirement). Also find myself shouting 'Go on son' when I'm watching soccer. I'm not making a deliberate effort to dress young but neither do I wear old man jumpers either. I'm also a lot more content than I was in my 20's and 30's. Yes you do mellow out with age. When I get to 50 i'll probably say that you don't get old until you're 60.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

for others;
    young is 10% younger than you are once you hit 30
    old is 20% older than you are till you hit 25

for yourself;
    young is your age untill you have kids then its whatever age you had kids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Talked about feeling older but today I bought my first Lego set!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,083 ✭✭✭carbsy

Hmmm I'm 38 now and I have just had the best year of my life.This year is shaping up to be even better! What happened? I quit smoking and started runnning 2 years ago.What a life changer! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,348 ✭✭✭✭starlit

You suddenly realise it when you are a day older....:/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,075 ✭✭✭questionmark?

When you realise going out on the piss isnt something you want to do every weekend and things like paying bills and planning for the future is important. Then again is that getting old or just maturing?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭HowAreWe

When it starts to dribble when you've put it back in your pants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 579 ✭✭✭cartell_best

What age do you stop being a young person?

At 25: Quarter of a century (Some sense kicking in)
    At 30: settling down time
    At 35: Look back at what you've accomplished
    At 40: Milestone, it is actually a Brilliant start :)

You stop being a young person, when you feel you do. That's when you have doubts, have crazy thoughts of what if?

If I could turn back the clock to when I was 30 and have the happiness that I do now, but then all the experience's I've gone through probably wouldn't have made me who I am :)

I'm 40, and I can still dance and throw the best of shapes on a dance floor, regardless of what is predominant belief...and when I do dance like a mad thing, I feel 18 all over again. You stop being young when you allow people to tell you otherwise, because for whatever motive is going through their heads, may be a wee bit doubtful! sound! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭confuseddotcom

When you can't tolerate loud music anymore! :o

When you notice your parent's getting old; grey hair, wrinkles, weak shrivelled crinkly hands and fingers....... :( And realize time is moving on..... :/

There's that saying I can't remember it now about how grown-up x is looking or something like that, that all "old" people say, wish I could remember it now. :( But a lot say it and it usually means nothing to ya lol, ya don't get what's being said, until, you actually are older and realize exactly how fricking genuine and true the saying really is!

I'm yet waiting for the one though where you actually recognize a baby's face as another family member! I'm still waiting for that one! How in tha fork do ya recognize a baby's face as someone else?!?! Don't all babies look the same?!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

Stuff like not being able to tolerate loud music, becoming less interested in going out, finding wrinkles and grey hairs... all happen at different ages, including very young ones.

The person spoken about in the OP btw can think all they like that they're not young at 25, but believe me, they'll think it's extremely young in years to come.

It's all subjective/relevant to a point (40 is obviously young to a 60-year-old; 30 isn't young to an 18-year-old etc) but IMO, a person starts middle-age at 45. Elderly doesn't seem to start until one's 70s these days though - the 60-pluses are way less auld than they used to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭carrig2

Madam_X wrote: »
    Stuff like not being able to tolerate loud music, becoming less interested in going out, finding wrinkles and grey hairs... all happen at different ages, including very young ones.

The person spoken about in the OP btw can think all they like that they're not young at 25, but believe me, they'll think it's extremely young in years to come.

When you start finding them in more than one place you are really in trouble!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

40 is the end of it. All you've got to look forward to then is bitter regret and death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

I'm 25 now and feel like 69

Dirty fecker ye. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,807 ✭✭✭ablelocks

my sister, age 34, told my granny hat inside she still feels 25 and maybe it's time she should grow up a bit. my grandmother, age 94, and in a nursing home, replied "you think that's bad, I think I'm only 25 and I'm stuck in here with a load of auld ones"

age is only a state of mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭chughes

I'm in my 50's but I feel like a 20 year old.

Where will I get one this time of night.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

When they are closing the lid on the box. Or having to put on your glasses to find your false teeth.

• Registered Users Posts: 4 Shaz021_91

when you find your first grey hair!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

When they are closing the lid on the box.
    Metaphor for menopause? :pac:
    Shaz021_91 wrote: »
    when you find your first grey hair!!
    That means I stopped being young at 17/18. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 4 Shaz021_91

That means I stopped being young at 17/18. :pac:[/QUOTE]

Yeah same for me actually. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

ablelocks wrote: »
    my sister, age 34, told my granny hat inside she still feels 25 and maybe it's time she should grow up a bit. my grandmother, age 94, and in a nursing home, replied "you think that's bad, I think I'm only 25 and I'm stuck in here with a load of auld ones"

age is only a state of mind.

I can scarcely imagine a worse thing than being stuck in a nursing home with your full mental faculties. Still fair play for being young at heart

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Dwork

It's at the precise moment when you spot a Marks and Spencer and think "Hmm, they sell nice Cardigans, I think I'll nip in and get one"

• Registered Users Posts: 863 ✭✭✭GastroBoy

When you start shopping for pants that are comfortable. That's it. Game over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

GastroBoy wrote: »
    When you start shopping for pants that are comfortable. That's it. Game over.

So you used to shop for uncomfortable pants :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,325 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Froggy123 wrote: »
    I'm 22 also!! Still feel like an 18 year old...a LOT smarter than i was then but know i still have a lot to learn;)

I'd say 35/40 is when you start to feel really old:D

Don't make me punch you.

Seriously though, like others have said, I'm in my thirties and don't feel old. I know people in their 20's who seem sooo old to me.

i think you're young when you
    a) still feel young &
    b) still think you have plenty to learn

You're old when you think you've learned all you need to know and look at anyone who's not in the same mindset as feckless youngsters or stupid contemporaries.

• Registered Users Posts: 863 ✭✭✭GastroBoy

So you used to shop for uncomfortable pants :confused:

When you're young, you'll put up with uncomfortable for the sake of fashion.
    Also, elastic waistbands, an excellent sign of age!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,325 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

When you realise going out on the piss isnt something you want to do every weekend and things like paying bills and planning for the future is important. Then again is that getting old or just maturing?!

I think it's possible to be sensible and young at heart. See, going out on the piss every weekend is being young. Being old is when you think why would i want to go out. I already know as many people I ever want to and it's financialy sensible to stay at home.
    Being sensible and young at heart is still going out occasionally. Or not to old to have a few pints on a week night.