Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Joan Burton Heckled

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10 dondavenport

Madam_X wrote: »
    You make it seem like her policies are deliberately malicious. It's inevitable that her party will fall into line with FG's - that's unavoidable. People expecting Labour to retain its old ways when it wasn't part of a coalition/in government are not being realistic.

Most of these folks follow an ideology of anti-realism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Says the guy who has posted 18,000 on this website, and took the time to check the number of posts. Really, you want to take the moral high ground?

I took the time to shift my sight literally 1 inch to the left. What moral high-ground would that be? You'll need to reach it yourself before accusing others of 'taking' it!

And I don't have 18,000 posts, but I'm sure that's a minor detail to a 'realist' like yourself...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,404 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Most of these folks follow an ideology of anti-realism

Rather than a "what else can we to please you Mario?"

• Registered Users Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭lightspeed

doolox wrote: »
    Until the present shower are put out of office and a proper government is put in power.

Like the French do on a regular basis, we need a new republic and a new constitution put in place to recognise that the present set-up has failed miserably in providing stability, jobs, protection and proper ways to lead good lives for a lot of our people.

Ireland does not provide for the weak in our society.

If you are young you have no job and no hope of getting one.

If you are uneducated likewise and now fees are being brought in and increased to exclude even more people.

If you are in the private sector no hope of getting a loan for a proper place to live as most jobs in private sector are contract or in danger of being lost..
    A range of fees and service charges are being introduced with little or no account being taken of ability to pay, past impositions and taxes which were originally set to include these costs or what will happen to jobs depending on the money thus taken from general circulation.

Any wonder people are angry,

First off there still many jobs out there for young people but low level skilled jobs usually pay minimum wage. Im 26 work full time in customer services earning just over 23000 gross and i know people just out of college. Are they will to work for such wages? No not after getting a college degree which was mostly funded by the state from people like me working paying taxes to fund the education of others while i fork out over €2000 a year on tuition fees.

Look at the welfare state that this country is and tell me how Eirgi, Sinn fein, united left alliance, or the socialist party could do things differently?

In this country if a single mother applies for a house, she has one in a matter of weeks from what i have seen, and its fully furnished. If the boyfriend moves in which is inevitable unless she is single until the child moves out or decides to tell the state so they can reduce her welfare benefits. They will also most likely be exempt from tv licence and household tax. In addition to the almost free house policy for single mothers there is also our generous child welfare system.

Do you think the above could be some of the factors influencing why we have the highest rate of pregnancy in the EU?

http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/0626/326507-ireland-still-has-eus-highest-birth-rate-report/#article

If people on welfare are struggling to raise their children and austerity is so bad then why are they choosing to multiply so much?

Have a look at the below link and if you look at the bar chart you can see that we spend more on housing and development than any of the other Eu states.

http://www.ronanlyons.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/11/expenditure1.png

"The figure for housing – 3% of national income – is actually over four times the typical country’s figure of 0.7%"

http://www.ronanlyons.com/2010/11/02/where-should-ireland-cut-its-public-spending-thoughts-for-budget-2011-ii/

We need to reduce spending on health car and housing as those are the two major areas were we are overspending in comparison to other EU states.

Given the amount of money to maintain things as they are we would need to constantly borrow money and that seems completley flawed.

We borrowed excessive amounts of money that we could not afford and the previous governemnt bribed there way into power by offering exceptional welfare benifits along with giving in to union demands for hufe wage increases.

The ultimate question is how can things stay the same without further cuts or increased taxes which wll hur the middle class in order to preserve an unjust welfare system that only serves the lower class?

As for these arrogant jack asses heckling an elected minister, if they are an alternative, can anybody who supports they way of thinking advise me of their economic policies other than tax the rich because there are not enough rich people in the country to carry the cost of our healthcare and welfare system.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

I'd say the biggest toerag there was the best paid lady with the changing opinions and policies.

^ Well said Tayto :D

Maybe you had the two extremes in Dundalk, the extreme left and the out of touch politician, who smiled her way through without a care in the world.

It appears FF had a huge adverse effect on this country, as in now the present government actually believe that they can do what they like and still use the excuse that they they inherited the problems and they are better then the last lot.
    Well, heres some news, this lot are 10 times fkuking worse and they don't give a 5hit what we think because their whole mandate was a complete lie to get into office and now that their feet are under the table they can relax.

Joan Burton did not care she was been heckled because she like the rest of them think we are all illiterate dimwitted plebs and she knows better.
    Worst of all, she is one of the better ones, her current leader and the rest of the FG bunch are the most arrogant, superior fkucers I have ever seen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

lightspeed wrote: »

In this country if a single mother applies for a house, she has one in a matter of weeks from what i have seen, and its fully furnished. If the boyfriend moves in which is inevitable unless she is single until the child moves out or decides to tell the state so they can reduce her welfare benefits. They will also most likely be exempt from tv licence and household tax. In addition to the almost free house policy for single mothers there is also our generous child welfare system.

Kill!!!!!!
    Kill!!!!!!!!
    Kill!!!!!!!!!!
    Killlll!!!!111!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

No, I think everybody has a right to complain.
    But this was hardly a coherent or well conceived protest was it? What was the main point? It didn't come across very clear in the video

I'll say it again - the people shouting are jeering are toerags, and have nothing better to do.

Ah come on now Dondavenport.....read the banners...

They are "NON PARTY POLITICAL PEOPLE POWER-protecting Our Communities,Our Families,Our Homes"

They (as in Dundalk ) are agin Househould Water and Septic Tank Taxes
    They are agin Child Benefit Cuts... from the banners being carried by the female attendees.

However,the VOICE of Dundalk seems more taken with the concept of shaming people and of making them unwelcome in Dundalk,with the Germans getting an honourable mention at 3.26

"Get out ye toerag,No-one wants to talk to ye" shouts the voice of Dealgan....oblivious to the fact that his stenorian roaring prevents anybody from talkin to Mz B....

But dondavenport is correct....no coherent point at all,other than bein agin Joan Burton and Labour,and Water Rates,Septic Tank Charges,Child Benefit Cuts and most likely anything to do with Bankers and Millionaires....but they are probably for World Peace ?

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Nodin wrote: »
    Kill!!!!!!
    Kill!!!!!!!!
    Kill!!!!!!!!!!
    Killlll!!!!111!!!!!

Was just about to reply to that clop-trop so you saved me the bother:D

Won't someone please find another safe in a shed?:(

Smidge wrote: »
    Was just about to reply to that clop-trop so you saved me the bother:D

Won't someone please find another safe in a shed?:(

Theres no more sheds, as they've been given to single mothers.

So THATS what the government has spent all of the borrowed billions on, buying fecking sheds??:mad:

These shed dwelling strumpets should be ashamed of themselves putting the government under serious pressure with their Fruende in Germany.

Shure isn't it far from the luxury of sheds that "those" people came from?

So THATS what the government has spent all of the borrowed billions on, buying fecking sheds??:mad:

These shed dwelling strumpets should be ashamed of themselves putting the government under serious pressure with their Fruende in Germany.

Shure isn't it far from the luxury of sheds that "those" people came from?

They don't dwell in the sheds, they store their free buggies in them. They also allow their illegal asylum seeker nigerian dole-ite bf to hide from the HSE, even though the HSE isn't allowed to search for them in case they're called racist. My mate told me, and he knows.

And what's even worse is they are getting a FORTUNE in rent allowance for these free sheds:eek:

They will be safe in Waterford City so after Tuesday as the HSE is pulling out. Waterford will have an influx of Nigerians and single mums, B&q should reconsider pulling out of Waterford and maybe stock up on garden sheds

Look at the welfare state that this country is and tell me how Eirgi, Sinn fein, united left alliance, or the socialist party could do things differently?

Do you think the above could be some of the factors influencing why we have the highest rate of pregnancy in the EU?

http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/0626/326507-ireland-still-has-eus-highest-birth-rate-report/#article

If people on welfare are struggling to raise their children and austerity is so bad then why are they choosing to multiply so much?

Have a look at the below link and if you look at the bar chart you can see that we spend more on housing and development than any of the other Eu states.

http://www.ronanlyons.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/11/expenditure1.png

"The figure for housing – 3% of national income – is actually over four times the typical country’s figure of 0.7%"

http://www.ronanlyons.com/2010/11/02/where-should-ireland-cut-its-public-spending-thoughts-for-budget-2011-ii/

We need to reduce spending on health car and housing as those are the two major areas were we are overspending in comparison to other EU states.

Given the amount of money to maintain things as they are we would need to constantly borrow money and that seems completley flawed.

The ultimate question is how can things stay the same without further cuts or increased taxes which wll hur the middle class in order to preserve an unjust welfare system that only serves the lower class?

As for these arrogant jack asses heckling an elected minister, if they are an alternative, can anybody who supports they way of thinking advise me of their economic policies other than tax the rich because there are not enough rich people in the country to carry the cost of our healthcare and welfare system.

OH dear,oh dear oh dear Lightspeed,I was just about to pass you the tin-hat,but I'm too late I see......

Your points about the Single Parents simply cannot be true,it's impossible and not happening at all,at all,at all....you are mistaken and probably devious in your intent too !

Total 2010 births...75,600,of which 33% were to single mothers,so c.25,000 births fit your bill.

Now,of course not all of these mothers are being maintained by the State,and afaics the report does not provide such stats,but it's a significant proportion nonetheless.

Which might just have spurred the latest bit of administrative attention....
    Elsewhere, the Government has approved the drafting of new legislation that will require the inclusion of the name of the father on birth certificates for non-marital births.

The new rule follows a recommendation from the Law Reform Commission.

But I'm sure its not going to be about getting lads to pay for their own babbies n stuff.....if it is,then Joan's bit of heckling will be in the h'apenny place !!!

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

They will be safe in Waterford City so after Tuesday as the HSE is pulling out. Waterford will have an influx of Nigerians and single mums, B&q should reconsider pulling out of Waterford and maybe stock up on garden sheds

Don't forget the Eastern Europeans!!!
    They'll be arriving by the truck load;)

Don't forget the Eastern Europeans!!!
    They'll be arriving by the truck load;)

Again, with the lack of interest in Waterford and the South East, most of them can come on in through Rosslare and travel on down to Waterford on the N25. If they jump out at Bellview port they can join in the candlelit vigil with the vegans, who are protesting over the sale of live cattle to Libya ;)

Is it your sarcasm detector that's banjaxed or mine?:confused::D

Vegan cattle bein fed to muslims? And people starving in our own streets?

AlekSmart wrote: »
    OH dear,oh dear oh dear Lightspeed,I was just about to pass you the tin-hat,but I'm too late I see......

Your points about the Single Parents simply cannot be true,it's impossible and not happening at all,at all,at all....you are mistaken and probably devious in your intent too !

Total 2010 births...75,600,of which 33% were to single mothers,so c.25,000 births fit your bill.

Now,of course not all of these mothers are being maintained by the State,and afaics the report does not provide such stats,but it's a significant proportion nonetheless.

But I'm sure its not going to be about getting lads to pay for their own babbies n stuff.....if it is,then Joan's bit of heckling will be in the h'apenny place !!!

I didn't see many young ladies with buggies or prams there in the video. No shouting anything about single parents either. Rather a good many middle-aged women shouting about their children having to emigrate to find work.

Another poor attempt at labeling a very angry section of Dundalk's population as "toerag" and dependent. Poor stuff.

Is it your sarcasm detector that's banjaxed or mine?:confused::D

I prefer the sarcasm, it keeps me from reality

I didn't see many young ladies with buggies or prams there in the video. No shouting anything about single parents either. Rather a good many middle-aged women shouting about their children having to emigrate to find work.

Another poor attempt at labeling a very angry section of Dundalk's population as "toerag" and dependent. Poor stuff.

...middle aged single mothers, OAP single mothers - they're all the same. Firin out babies to fleece the state.

Slightly easier for the "older" one's to fire them out tbh
    By that stage of your life they practically slide out unassisted :eek:;)

No wonder they can keep having so many:rolleyes:

Minister for Social Protection. ! Sure was it not a ministry made up to placate her and Labour, for a made up ministry she is sure doing some damage the wagon

Sarcasm at its best

Nope.....the only toerag comment is on the video ;)

I prefer the sarcasm, it keeps me from reality

Tis true indeed...as it does to others also....:)
    Nodin: ..middle aged single mothers, OAP single mothers - they're all the same. Firin out babies to fleece the state.

Nope.....the only toerag comment is on the video ;)

I think you'd be better directing your energy towards the Michael Lowry tapes in fairness. More damage done there than in Dundalk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

These are blatant lies.

I think you'd be better directing your energy towards the Michael Lowry tapes in fairness. More damage done there than in Dundalk.

What a corrupt former fine gael politician, whatever next?
    Maybe a former labour leader and socialist politician (LOL) chairing the most septic bank in the state, Whoops sorry that already happened :rolleyes:

I know, Enda burning the bondholders, FG and Lab keeping an election promise (Sorry, I am ona roll) Enda writing his own speeches, and on and on and on.

These are blatant lies.

you are correct he/she is talking absolute bollox...

But thats what you get from the FG/Lab jetset, smoke and mirrors, tell enough lies and some of them stick, pick a subject that deflects from their policies and abject political failure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Horseshit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭skintiam

Do you know there are actually single parents who have mortgages from before when they had jobs and partners and through no fault of their own lost jobs/partners and find themselves on their own struggling with the same bills as everyone else? There's no exemption for tv licence or property tax but what there is is a big stigma and having to deal with comments like yours.

Of course there are those that take the p*** with the payment but it happens with all payments - jobseekers, disability... Your comments are both misinformed and insulting.

How many of these mothers are not receiving child benefit?

I never made the point that those people in dundalk were receiving welfare. The point I'm making is that these people are unhappy with the austerity measures and probably the cuts to public sector pay despite the fact the only reason public sector pay and our huge welfare payments were ever so high is due to the side effects of a booming economy created by borrowing so much money an injecting it particularly in the construction industry.A side effect of borrowing that much money means you then have to pay it back.

So the question is how do you continue to spend more on welfare and on public sector pay whilst paying back the dealt you built up?

We cant borrow more money and nobody wants austerity so if you were in government what would you do?

Continue to overspend and borrow more money 4 ever and ever and hope this pyramid scheme is 4 ever soundproof?

How many of these mothers are not receiving child benefit?

I never made the point that those people in dundalk were receiving welfare. The point I'm making is that these people are unhappy with the austerity measures and probably the cuts to public sector pay despite the fact the only reason public sector pay and our huge welfare payments were ever so high is due to the side effects of a booming economy created by borrowing so much money an injecting it particularly in the construction industry.A side effect of borrowing that much money means you then have to pay it back.

So the question is how do you continue to spend more on welfare and on public sector pay whilst paying back the dealt you built up?

We cant borrow more money and nobody wants austerity so if you were in government what would you do?

Continue to overspend and borrow more money 4 ever and ever and hope this pyramid scheme is 4 ever soundproof?

Well for one I wouldn't be looking to increase the wage for the incoming head of the HSE as it's already 198k..
    I wouldn't be employing my own wife at 90k plus into a new position as it's cronyism.
    There's just two off the top of my head. There are hundreds more.

Well for one I wouldn't be looking to increase the wage for the incoming head of the HSE as it's already 198k..
    I wouldn't be employing my own wife at 90k plus into a new position as it's cronyism.
    There's just two off the top of my head. There are hundreds more.

Who's wife is getting 90k?

Gilmore's, I think he means.

• Registered Users Posts: 123 ✭✭rock chic

At last at bit of fight from the Irish people. I hope we see more of this.
    much much more of this

Gilmore's, I think he means.

I wonder do they have children and are in receipt of child benefit for them.
    Poor Mr and Mrs Gilmore will be in the "higher" bracket for the cut in child benefit so.

Hope it doesn't put them to the pin of their collar:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

rock chic wrote: »
    much much more of this
    Done by other people of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

Madam_X wrote: »
    Done by other people of course.
    Where are you getting the idea that she would never protest herself?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭TheLastMohican

Had to do a double take. Thought it read Joan Burton Wolfwhistled :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

Where are you getting the idea that she would never protest herself?
    True. Fair enough.

These are blatant lies.

Not from what i have seen. Now perhaps if we are talking about council houses, there may be quite a. waiting list but i know several people who were only waiting a few weeks before renting a 2 bedroom house, fully furnished and in receipt of rent allowance.

Im not trying to have a debate of whether single mothers should receive rent allowance or not, im merely making the point, that they dont have such welfare benefits along with such well paid public sector employees in the healthcare industry in other EU countries.

Also according to wikipedia, we spend €1 billion a year

"In a 2011 comment on Irish education, Professor Ed Walsh deplored the fact that the State spends about €1,000,000,000 p.a. on teaching Irish".

Im not sure other countries spend so much money teaching people how to speak their own language. I could be mistaken on that but does anybody know if french pupils are that how to speak french in addition to English grammer/literature.

I absolutely believe that our politicians in this country are overpaid but the fundamental facts still remain. We are spending more money than we are taking in and considering it was the previous government that created this awful mess,i fail to see why the current government should be condemned so much when there is no alternative to austerity.

If those protesting along with the left wing parties in this country have a way of maintaining our welfare system and public sector pay without any tax increases or cuts to the public sector, i again ask the question of what is this magical solution?

We are spending more money than we take in

The solution is pretty simple: The EU implements some actual recovery policies, most likely involving centralized bond issuance (possibly supplemented by money creation), and from the funds that can be generated through that, invest them throughout the EU to create jobs, or the EU will eventually fall apart (which could take the best part of a decade, causing enormous damage while countries are in limbo).

If such recovery policies are not going to happen at an EU level (as many would argue), and if the EU is thus going to fall apart anyway due to inaction and lack of recovery policies, then there is no sense delaying the pain of the inevitable breakup, and every reason to get back local control of monetary policy (which is another solution, but far more painful than the 'best case' scenario, of an EU-level recovery).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,985 ✭✭✭mikeym

The Labour Party are a joke.

Are they a socialist party that represent working people?

No they only look after themselves.

Oh dont worry I hate Fianna Fail aswell.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,534 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

The solution is pretty simple: The EU implements some actual recovery policies, most likely involving centralized bond issuance (possibly supplemented by money creation), and from the funds that can be generated through that, invest them throughout the EU to create jobs, or the EU will eventually fall apart (which could take the best part of a decade, causing enormous damage while countries are in limbo).

If such recovery policies are not going to happen at an EU level (as many would argue), and if the EU is thus going to fall apart anyway due to inaction and lack of recovery policies, then there is no sense delaying the pain of the inevitable breakup, and every reason to get back local control of monetary policy (which is another solution, but far more painful than the 'best case' scenario, of an EU-level recovery).

Why would EU states such as the Netherlands and Germany want centralised bond-issuance when they can issue bonds themselves with effectively negative yields? Why should they have to place such a burden of risk on their own citizens to bail-out some basket cases economies that refuse to regulate their spending? If I was a German citizen, I'd rather a breakup of the monetary union than have to finance the citizenry of the PIGS?

The system at present is the only fair way to achieve fiscal stability without further integration of the Eurozone. I don't see why people expect to be bailed out by Europe when we're continually running current budget deficits.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

No it isn't. It's a legitimate form of protest. And an effective one in this case... the protestors didn't want her to speak at the event and had their way. I don't think a candlelit vigil or silent protest from a respectable distance would have been any more effective than that.

Acting like animals is NOT a legitimate form of protest!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

jank wrote: »
    Acting like animals is NOT a legitimate form of protest!

jank

Hard to do it from the other side of the world.

Why would EU states such as the Netherlands and Germany want centralised bond-issuance when they can issue bonds themselves with effectively negative yields? Why should they have to place such a burden of risk on their own citizens to bail-out some basket cases economies that refuse to regulate their spending? If I was a German citizen, I'd rather a breakup of the monetary union than have to finance the citizenry of the PIGS?

The system at present is the only fair way to achieve fiscal stability without further integration of the Eurozone. I don't see why people expect to be bailed out by Europe when we're continually running current budget deficits.
    You don't understand what centralized bond issuance is; individual countries do not buy up bonds (thus individual countries are not 'financing' anyone), they are bought up on the bond markets, and they are not a 'bailout', they are no different to Ireland selling bonds on the markets for funding, except these are EU-wide and at much better rates.

Understand what you're criticizing, instead of throwing out straw-men.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

mikom wrote: »
    Hard to do it from the other side of the world.

Hard to do what?