Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UK teen commits suicide after being brought to court over 50p of cannabis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

Thankfully I am in good employment pal and contributing to the State via almost punitive taxes.

Boils my piss a bit when I see the hordes of hard faced skangers congregating in the centre of our capital city and think of the cost to the state of funding their habits.

Then listening to the bulldust been peddled in this forum from people who should know better and who think they are cool because "they smoke a bit of pot man ".

So sorry buddy if I don't put on the kaftan and the reggae musak and join the resident tokers in a spot of herb....

Too busy buddy.....earning a living !

As am i "buddy", in gainful employment for quite a long time "pal". your delusions are actually quite comedic. you're a cartoon character pal.

thankfully though, your days are numbered.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

As am i "buddy", in gainful employment for quite a long time "pal". your delusions are actually quite comedic. you're a cartoon character pal.

thankfully though, your days are numbered.

Oh ? Why so my friend. ?

Are you trying to bully me perchance ?

Hmmmmm ?

Oh ? Why so my friend. ?

Are you trying to bully me perchance ?

Hmmmmm ?

hmmmmmm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭Hoop66

Just my €0.02, but people who throw around words like "buddy" and "pal" and "my friend" are often arseholes.

I'm not suggesting that you are. Oh no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,941 ✭✭✭thebigbiffo

So you know more that the medical profession about the effects of cannabis ?

This the common cant of both elected and unelected hopheads and stoners.

The use of cannabis in an uncontrolled environment by immature teens is especially dangerous...both to themselves and to others and leads to experimentation with hard narcotics.

Peddle your bulldust in some other forum pal....it won't wash with the posters here ...

what utter, uneducated and narrow minded bulls'hit.

the 'gateway' theory has been rubbished by any independent study. where do you start anyway? is alcohol the real 'gateway', or sugar, or caffeine? jesus i thought people were more intelligent these days.

use of a shagging lawnmower by immature teens is dangerous 'in an uncontrolled environment'. illegality ensures that there can never be controls put in place on this drug, so what is a controlled environment?

you're a troll. i've seen your crap before. you've nothing useful to say.

leave this discussion to people who have a clue what they're talking about. we don't need your outdated rhetoric.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Hoop66 wrote: »
    Just my €0.02, but people who throw around words like "buddy" and "pal" and "my friend" are often arseholes.

M'Kay.............. as that ould soft cock Bantam used to say.

Thanks for sharing that pilgrim....you feel better now ?

Nice user name by the way..."Hoop" very appropriate.....:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 404 ✭✭frank reynolds

i dont understand why we dont have europe-wide laws for soft drugs the way holland does. it causes more harm than it does good in situations like this.

sad for his family. dead for nothing.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

Less of the personals compadre...I am entitled to put forward an opinion...or would you prefer to block all opposing views.

I am very familiar with the Spanish situation and I suggest you research the recent studies of Drug use in the Barcelona area....an explosion in the use of dangerous narcotics.

I have no time for these "happy heads" and so called "alternatives" who are in the main mainly spongers from the social welfare system...funded by the hard pressed taxpayer.

Time these tupes were called out.........

Ah you're one of these types that lumps all drugs together and yes I am familiar with the Spanish situation. There has always been a problem with hard drugs in Barcelona. There was years before small amounts of cannabis was decriminalised. There would still be if cannabis disappeared altogether.

As for social welfare spongers a lot of people on boards smoke weed and hold down jobs and have normal lives. Your stereotyping is pathetic.

Big Bottom wrote: »
    This just highlights how dangerous weed and cannabis is to young people mental health.

Very sad story.

no it DOES NOT.
    it highlights how out-dated and pointless our laws are in relation to cannabis possession

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Not sure about this report - wouldn't killing himself prevent him going to the US too?

catallus wrote: »
    And another thing, I hear an awful lot of nonsense about weed or hash not leading to violent behaviour. Try telling that to the families who have to deal with the mood swings of a regular smoker who has decided they're off it for the week.

well if it was legal and readily available then that would not have happened.

alcohol has been scientifically proven to be more dangerous than ecstacy AND heroin. cannabis is somewhere down the bottom of the list beside coffee and tea.

here is just ONE of MANY MANY lists that show that weed is LESS dangerous than alcohol (by a mile) and even less dangerous than tobacco!!!

so shove THAT in your pipes and smoke it. literally.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/science/2009/nov/02/david-nutt-dangerous-drug-list

And another thing, I hear an awful lot of nonsense about weed or hash not leading to violent behaviour. Try telling that to the families who have to deal with the mood swings of a regular smoker who has decided they're off it for the week.

Yes, because the papers are full of stories like that...

Have you really seen/heard stories like this, or does it suit your point of view on the issue to suggest that you have?

I would suggest that the vast majority of stories about the suffering of an "addict"'s family are to do with alcohol.

*Decries cannabis.
    wftablueboy, I think this plan of yours needs a little bit more tweaking

I was so gutted last night, I had to go home and drink!

*Post in Gambling forum about drinking alcohol to drown sorrows.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

So you know more that the medical profession about the effects of cannabis ?

This the common cant of both elected and unelected hopheads and stoners.

The use of cannabis in an uncontrolled environment by immature teens is especially dangerous...both to themselves and to others and leads to experimentation with hard narcotics.

Peddle your bulldust in some other forum pal....it won't wash with the posters here ...

Jaysus, irony overload alert. (And that's before I even got to your closing statement there. I actually burst out laughing.)

karma_ wrote: »
    Jaysus, irony overload alert. (And that's before I even got to your closing statement there. I actually burst out laughing.)

Well done my friend...laughter is good for you...need to brighten up your dull existence.

Now lad...this is an adult forum...an tokies and potheads are not in that category...so...tighten up that greasy cargo and quit spouting disrespectful rubbish...

'Kay ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

Well done my friend...laughter is good for you...need to brighten up your dull existence.

Now lad...this is an adult forum...an tokies and potheads are not in that category...so...tighten up that greasy cargo and quit spouting disrespectful rubbish...

'Kay ?

You deliver 87.96% of the laughs I get at this site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭7 7 12

here is just ONE of MANY MANY lists that show that weed is LESS dangerous than alcohol (by a mile) and even less dangerous than tobacco!!!

so shove THAT in your pipes and smoke it. literally.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/science/2009/nov/02/david-nutt-dangerous-drug-list

That is Nutts.

The states of Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Montana, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont, and Washington currently legalize Cannabis use for varying reasons. Washington and Colorado approved recreational Cannabis use by adults, with regulations to monitor its possession, use and sale.

Expect more smoke In 2013.
    Alabama, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, New Hampshire, Maryland, North Carolina, Oklahoma, and West Virginia introduced bills to make Cannabis use lawful. On February 21 2013, for instance, Maryland Democratic Delegate Curt Anderson introduced a bill to legalize and tax Cannabis use by “over 21” adults.

Change is coming.
    America sneezes........... will we catch a cold?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 809 ✭✭✭frankosw

What about smoked-out mutherfckers who say "man" and "like" all the time while twirling thier stinking dreddlocks in a taxpayer-funded bedsit?

frankosw wrote: »
    What about smoked-out mutherfckers who say "man" and "like" all the time while twirling thier stinking dreddlocks in a taxpayer-funded bedsit?
    Are you spying on me?

20 years ago?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,225 ✭✭✭Yitzhak Rabin

mikom wrote: »

Change is coming.
    America sneezes........... will we catch a cold?

Glad you recognise that its a disease compadre...

I've seen plenty of youngsters throw their life down the swanny with drugs. Always starts with weed.

Even those that don't progress on to the harder stuff end up being non-contributing dopes who hang around bookies and join groups like the SWP or People before Profit.

Almost none of them join the ranks of John Q Taxpayer. That's for sure!

I've seen plenty of youngsters throw their life down the swanny with drugs. Always starts with weed.

Even those that don't progress on to the harder stuff end up being non-contributing dopes who hang around bookies and join groups like the SWP or People before Profit.

Can I have my tax back then please? I reckon about 250 grand should cover it.

Man.

Can I have my tax back then please? I reckon about 250 grand should cover it.

Man.

Note the use of almost buddy.

It's still an outrageous generalisation. With absolutely no evidence, other than your own anecdotal, to back it up.

Although some of them prefer to sit around in their reeking bedsits talking about animal rights and the need to overthrow the "system".

Thing is the only thing weed makes you good for is talking..no stoners ever actually got anything done.

Mind you,they keep Tesco Express in business buying pringles and roll ups.

It's still an outrageous generalisation. With absolutely no evidence, other than your own anecdotal, to back it up.

I conducted an empirical study on it while completing a masters in common sense at the university of life.

Its a fairly well established fact that stoners would sleep on the floor if they thought there was work in the bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Really? Or did it start with nicotine (which chemically changes your brain to make you more susceptible to becoming addicted to other substances). Are you saying they didn't drink before they used cannabis? I've seen plenty of people try weed and move straight onto harder drugs abandoning weed altogether because it's not the kind of high they're looking for.
    Just because they try cannabis in amongst trying all the other drugs doesn't mean cannabis had any play in them becoming addicted to those other drugs. Those other drugs are more than capable of turning someone into an addict with or without any influence from cannabis.

I conducted an empirical study on it while completing a masters in common sense at the university of life.

Its a fairly well established fact that stoners would sleep on the floor if they thought there was work in the bed.

They also prioritise their spending so that weed or hash comes first and silly things like food,hygene or bills come pretty far down the list.

Wheras dope isnt physically addictive the whole mindset of potheads revoilves around getting stoned and talking shiite.

Although some of them prefer to sit around in their reeking bedsits talking about animal rights and the need to overthrow the "system".

Thing is the only thing weed makes you good for is talking..no stoners ever actually got anything done.

I know exactly what you're talking about frank. A bunch of save the rainforest types talking ****e and playing video games. Bone idle. Up in college, and all paid for by daddy and taxpayers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

It's a well known fact that all drug users began with routinely drinking milk in their early childhood.

As a result by the age of 29 half of the population have smoked weed.

Milk is destroying this country. One life at a time.

Seachmall wrote: »
    It's a well known fact that all drug users began with routinely drinking milk in their early childhood.

Yeah,man you're sooo out there dude...very random :rolleyes:

Seachmall wrote: »

Milk isn't a psychoactive addictive substance. Silly comparison. Doesn't make any sense :confused:

Conceived in the bottom of a Bong it makes perfect sense to the stoner...

Milk isn't a psychoactive addictive substance.
    Neither is cannabis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Thatnastyboy

They also prioritise their spending so that weed or hash comes first and silly things like food,hygene or bills come pretty far down the list.

Wheras dope isnt physically addictive the whole mindset of potheads revoilves around getting stoned and talking shiite.
    I know exactly what you're talking about frank. A bunch of save the rainforest types talking ****e and playing video games. Bone idle. Up in college, and all paid for by daddy and taxpayers.
    Yeah,man you're sooo out there dude...very random :rolleyes:

Pretty much sums up the argument against proper legislation,

Condescending bullsh!t backed up by nothing but scutter direct from "reefer-madness"

And yee're the ones saying "stoners" only want to talk sh!te, try reading the crap you're posting first.

Despite being repeatedly shown facts & studies and being met with reasonable argument, you lot still have to resort to this kind of crap.

Trying to discredit any reasonable argument by imitating "Flutt" with remarks such as "john q taxpayer" and calling people "pal", "buddy", "chum", etc is fcuking pathetic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

I usually smoke a joint late in the evening after my day is done. I never smoke during the day. It's pretty much the same as someone drinking a glass of wine in the evening to unwind. No hangover in the morning and off I go again about my day. Just because somebody smokes a joint in the evening doesn't mean that there life falls apart.

Pretty much sums up the argument against proper legislation,

Condescending bullsh!t backed up by nothing but scutter direct from "reefer-madness"

And yee're the ones saying "stoners" only want to talk sh!te, try reading the crap you're posting first.

Despite being repeatedly shown facts & studies and being met with reasonable argument, you lot still have to resort to this kind of crap.

Trying to discredit any reasonable argument by imitating "Flutt" with remarks such as "john q taxpayer" and calling people "pal", "buddy", "chum", etc is fcuking pathetic

Chillaax there dude..you'll give yourself The Fear.

some people dont need drugs to have fried brains it seems.

I'll be OK Frank

Haven't drank in a good few weeks, no fear here.

Thanks for proving my point btw

some people dont need drugs to have fried brains it seems.

What exactly does that mean?

I'm having a hard time understanding anything the pro-drugs brigade come out with..i suppose its my own fault for not being stoned :rolleyes:

What exactly does that mean?

I'm having a hard time understanding anything the pro-drugs brigade come out with..i suppose its my own fault for not being stoned :rolleyes:

it means that you have voided any argument you had with such a childish brainless rebuttal to anything that's been put before you to debate on this topic.

you're arguments are rubbish, you are way off topic, you are too stupid and lazy to research any so called "fact" in your arguments, and just to let you know i am not "pro-drugs" i think alcohol is an awful drug which kills millions per year and damages lives of everyone who becomes addicted or reliant on it. this particular drug however, i have already shown (by way of link to prove my point) in a previous post - is LESS harmful than tobacco even.

it's just science. you must be a man of "god" to not have faith in science.

it means that you have voided any argument you had with such a childish brainless rebuttal to anything that's been put before you to debate on this topic.

you're arguments are rubbish, you are way off topic, you are too stupid and lazy to research any so called "fact" in your arguments, and just to let you know i am not "pro-drugs" i think alcohol is an awful drug which kills millions per year and damages lives of everyone who becomes addicted or reliant on it. this particular drug however, i have already shown (by way of link to prove my point) in a previous post - is LESS harmful than tobacco even.

it's just science. you must be a man of "god" to not have faith in science.

You can quote all the psuedoscience in the world the fact is that being stoned all the time is not conducive to a healthy lifestyle.

Stoners are invariably underweight,pale and malnourished with blank expressions on thier faces and rarely even pay lip service to personal hygene.

This isn't scince i know but its a fact none the less...stoners do nothinng except get stoned and watch tv or play videogames...sure it passes the time but it's nothing but a waste of a life.

You can quote all the psuedoscience in the world the fact is that being stoned all the time is not conducive to a healthy lifestyle.
    Your probably right but this is another example of going overboard into the realm of nonsense to prove an invalid point. People who smoke weed don't smoke it constantly. It's impossible for you to make such a claim because you don't know enough smokers and are clearly getting your opinion of drug users from badly made 80s action films.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

It's not a comparison, it's an example of a spurious relationship.

Stoners are invariably underweight,pale and malnourished with blank expressions on thier faces and rarely even pay lip service to personal hygene.

This isn't scince i know but its a fact none the less...stoners do nothinng except get stoned and watch tv or play videogames...sure it passes the time but it's nothing but a waste of a life.

you're SO way off the mark - you're so dopey i'd smoke you!

look Frank, you're totally WRONG. i am in work right now at ONE of my jobs. tonight, i'll go home, enjoy my smoke and then im going out to DJ at my other job. i'll be working this weekend, and keeping time to relax too.

i'm not underweight, i have obviously not got a blank expression, i am animated, i do presentations in work on a near daily basis, i own my own home, i pay taxes, i am a landlord and im only 28.

you have no argument.

without sounding like im bigging myself up, all of the above is true.

im settled in my life, i have everything i want - house, 2 jobs (not that i have to - one was a hobby that turned into paid work over the years), a relationship, i make money from property and i'm on the ball.

you have nothing more to say on this, so why dont you go and spout your sh!te somewhere else.

first paragraph: Probably so, even moreso with constantly drinking coffee, certainly winos and alcoholics are a prime example of how constant substance abuse affects a person.

Second: Invariably my bollocks, absolute tripe - and another fine example of what i said earlier.

Third: thats no fact, not even close, thats a narrow minded, uninformed & ignorant opinion, vast difference between that and a fact, perhaps you should look it up.

Obvious anti-cannabis trolls are obvious.

thankfully their days are numbered. the world is changing and their laughable rhetoric will be a thing of the past.

I wonder if I'm alone in thinking that perhaps frankosw and Yitzhak Rabin are two teenage lads, caning a bong, sitting at their computer?
    "Tee hee, now say they all smell"
    "Dude! That's a good one"

It's nigh on inconceivable that people exist with such a stunted and ill-informed worldview.