Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Questions from an Exchange Student

Options
  • 25-02-2013 1:28am
    Registered Users Posts: 3

Hello everyone, this is my first time here so I apologize if I posted this in the wrong section.
    I'm a 20 years old guy going to Dublin as a exchange student next month. It'll be my first time abroad so you can imagine how confused/worried I am.
    The school recently sent me the information about my placement: I’m going to live in Finglas West.
    I’ve read a lot of things about Finglas and, I know people always exaggerate, but I’m a little bit scared since it appears to be the worst (and most dangerous) neighborhood in Dublin.
    What can you tell me about it? Is it REALLY dangerous? What are the chances of getting stabbed/mugged by those guys called "knackers"? Advices are appreciated.
    Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 161 ✭✭Chikablam

If you see someone in tracksuits, anywhere throughout Ireland, play it safe, and just avoid them.
    A lot of people in tracksuits are nice, and few would start something without real cause, but why risk it?
    Ask for Finglas itself, not to educated on that, someone else can inform you

• Registered Users Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Santi20 wrote: »
    Hello everyone, this is my first time here so I apologize if I posted this in the wrong section.
    I'm a 20 years old guy going to Dublin as a exchange student next month. It'll be my first time abroad so you can imagine how confused/worried I am.
    The school recently sent me the information about my placement: I’m going to live in Finglas West.