Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NLD Spurs v Arsenal

• Registered Users Posts: 12,558 ✭✭✭✭AdamD

irishmover wrote: »
    Dunno about thumping them, would settle for a one nil win from a crooked Walker shot flying in off Schzeny's arse. Seriously, Arsenal are not a bad side and any win would do.

It's more the sheer animosity of Arsenal fans on forums that had me say that. I'd be happy with a result but I would love it if Arsenal were hammered, the fans shut up and actually realized their club is in dire straits.[/QUOTE]

Arsenal are supposedly in dire straits yet are only 4 points off Spurs who are 3rd, and 2 of Chelsea who are 4th. Right, okay.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,746 ✭✭✭irishmover

AdamD wrote: »

Arsenal are supposedly in dire straits yet are only 4 points off Spurs who are 3rd, and 2 of Chelsea who are 4th. Right, okay.

You've obviously forgotten where that club once was, not so long ago. Also who said Chelsea aren't in dire straits too? They are. Spurs are the only one's of the three punching above their weight at the moment.

Using the term 'dire straits' is just complete hyperbole. In terms of wages and transfer fees Arsenal are pretty much exactly where they should be, and they've built a new stadium during this time.

They pay £50m a year more than Spurs on salaries, give or take £5m. Their revenue is larger than Spurs' largely due to their new fancy stadium and fanbase over the past 20 years. Cost of their first team is too. Their profit margins are much larger and have been for quite a while. In terms of financial's they're healthy. In terms of league position, trophies, squad ability they aren't. Dire Straits might be a little harsh but all things considered their fans have good reason to not be happy. They should be well ahead of Spurs but for the second year running aren't.

Arsenal finished above Spurs last year. They have the 4th highest wage bill, and came 3rd last, currently sitting 5th. They spend less on transfers than pretty much everyone, they aren't in dire straits, they do however have a money grabbing board and the fans have every right to be unhappy with them. But lets not exaggerate as to how bad the position is, because its really not that bad. Spurs are punching above their weight and doing very well however.

• Registered Users Posts: 143 ✭✭starskey77

i thought esso ekotto was poor against Lyon central midfield will be the
    problem against gooners will defoe be back. calker and dawson for me
    just stop wiltshire controling the game

Arsenal finished above Spurs last year. They have the 4th highest wage bill, and came 3rd last, currently sitting 5th. They spend less on transfers than pretty much everyone, they aren't in dire straits, they do however have a money grabbing board and the fans have every right to be unhappy with them. But lets not exaggerate as to how bad the position is, because its really not that bad. Spurs are punching above their weight and doing very well however.

Arsenals squad cost more than Spurs. They spend more on transfers than most. Arsenal finished above spurs last year? Didn't know that. By how much?

Look. If you look at Arsenal over the past 10 years its pretty clear they're not in a good position. They were very lucky to finish in the top 4 last season due to Chelsea being awful and Spurs blowing a 13pt advantage. They might get lucky again this season but really they used to be a force and are now a club with a manager who rates 4th as a trophy.

All I had said was that some Arsenal fans seem to think they're still way ahead of Spurs and that Spurs are a piss poor club. Arsenal have hugely fallen from grace over the past 8 years and are now currently equal to Spurs. I'd like Spurs to give them a hiding and finish well ahead of them this season to take some of their fans back down to earth. That was all.

• Registered Users Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Devo from Dublin

Although we say AVB has to make sure we keep a cool head....
    the new guys from Arselol will be just as anxious especially if we get behind the team from the off, and get a early goal.....
    cant bleedin wait for sunday!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭yiddo59

I'd go with
    Lloris,
    Walker, Vertonghen, Dawson, BAE,
    Lennon, Dembele, Parker, Bale,
    Holtby,
    Adebayor

Biggest NLD since the last one :D;)

COYS

yiddo59 wrote: »
    I'd go with
    Lloris,
    Walker, Vertonghen, Dawson, BAE,
    Lennon, Dembele, Parker, Bale,
    Holtby,
    Adebayor

Biggest NLD since the last one :D;)

COYS

I'd drop bale. Bet Wenger wouldn't see that one coming!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,946 ✭✭✭SuprSi

How about we wait until after the match before saying that Arsenal are a team in decline?! I know their results and performances over the last two seasons haven't been as good as everyone would expect, and they've been losing their key players, but until the match is over on Sunday, and in reality until the end of the season I think it would be best for all of us to stay out of the fight and hope that we win on Sunday and go on to finish 3rd/4th. If that happens, we can boast and gloat all we want, but not until then.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,713 ✭✭✭2nd Row Donkey

I wouldn't play Dawson. He hasnt done anything wrong. But its horses for courses and while he did excellent against Carroll, Walcott and co are a different prospect altogether - I'd have either Caulker or Gallas alongside Verts.

I watched the highlight of last Novembers game and Walcott destroyed Naughton at left back. Big game needed from BAE (would be too risky playing Vertogen there aghain this weekend - not fast enough)

SuprSi wrote: »
    How about we wait until after the match before saying that Arsenal are a team in decline?! I know their results and performances over the last two seasons haven't been as good as everyone would expect, and they've been losing their key players, but until the match is over on Sunday, and in reality until the end of the season I think it would be best for all of us to stay out of the fight and hope that we win on Sunday and go on to finish 3rd/4th. If that happens, we can boast and gloat all we want, but not until then.

Irrespective of Sunday they are in decline and have been for a while. Hopefully Sunday will be another nail in the coffin.
    As for the boasting and gloating I do it at every opportunity. Always have even when we were really sh1t back in the late 90s. When as happened last season they finished above us I got it back big time but so what? Sticks and stones! It's only a bit of craic :D

Anyone see the statue Arsenal are erected for Bergkamp? Really impressive looking.

http://sulia.com/channel/soccer/f/0e94b8e7-62c5-45d8-8e5e-e62b1af943c4/

@SpursStatMan: Spurs have not lost against Arsenal at White Hart Lane in the Premier League since 2007.

Jinxed :(

• Registered Users Posts: 5,395 ✭✭✭Hatch99

I'd take a scrappy one nil now ye shower of headcases

Hatch99 wrote: »
    I'd take a scrappy one nil now ye shower of headcases

Everyone would. But wouldn't it be great to hammer the ****e out of them to shut them up?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭jobeenfitz

Everyone would. But wouldn't it be great to hammer the ****e out of them to shut them up?

Whether We beat them by one or four It will be cause for celebration and no chance of working monday. It may only be a bit of craic for some I cant say the same. I am really looking forward to 4pm Sunday but I am as anxious as a young one about to do it for the first time. Then its onto Liverpool next in the league, probably rehab after that.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,395 ✭✭✭Hatch99

Fcuking sure it would mate, I'd love nothing more than a 4 zip win

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭mickman

• Registered Users Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Dublin Spur

they just don't come any bigger than this

• Registered Users Posts: 2,994 ✭✭✭KingdomYid

they just don't come any bigger than this

The definition of a six pointer, with the bitter rivalry thrown in. I can't bloody wait. COYS! :D

@physioroom: #Defoe has trained ahead of the North London derby & will be available for selection #Spurs

• Registered Users Posts: 6,910 ✭✭✭Sugarlumps

Yes!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,713 ✭✭✭2nd Row Donkey

I assume Tom Mayes is still the place to watch the game in Dublin these days. I used to live across the road but havent been in there in yonks.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Antisocialiser

Have a match at 2.30pm... so I'll be bouncing out of the shower and running straight into the pub... hope we are already 2-0 up so I can (kind of) relax and enjoy a few pints!

No work on Monday; in the immortal words of Delia:

Let's be 'avin ya!

@SpursStatMan: Spurs have not lost against Arsenal at White Hart Lane in the Premier League since 2007.
    Jinxed :(

If Adebayor plays as well for us Sunday as he did that day we'll hockey them.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

I'm off Sunday and have a week off work then..... think I might need it

ziedth wrote: »
    I'm off Sunday and have a week off work then..... think I might need it

I'm off work with a head injury. Hence why I'm home in Ireland. For the sake of my health we better win!