Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Budweiser taken to court over "Watered down beer"

13»

• Site Banned Posts: 166 ✭✭Cash is king

I think Bud is horrible and taste less and gives me a horrible hangover too. If I do drink beer its normally Erdinger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

gallag wrote: »
    Is Carlsberg really 4.3% with you guys? Ours is 3.8 (tasts very week but is good if you have a few matches to watch) and Carlsberg export is I think 4.8.our bud is 5% and pretty potent.
    Irish market bud & carslberg are 4.3%, you can get cans of carlsberg at 3.8% which is really intended for the UK market, you usually see a UK contact address on the can. The 5% bud is also usually "export" stuff intended for UK market or other markets.

Heineken is 4.3% only here and 1 other country (some small country you would not readily guess, the name escapes me). 5% heineken is easy enough to get here if you try.

My eurospar regularly have 4.3% & 5% heineken in cans alongside each other, the 5% is cheaper. Both are brewed in holland, the 5% is intended for the Scottish market. I assume heineken charge different wholesale rates in different markets, so eurospar source from a UK agent. People are often to ready to blame the retailers for high prices here, when the manufacturer is often the one setting the high price.

1 bud drinker I know was amazed when he found out I actually like the taste of beer, and would have a single can with a curry. He said he solely drank it to get drunk and went for it since it had the least beery taste, he seemed to figure most people do not actually like the taste of beer. Spirits & mixers are extremely expensive to drink in pubs, and a pint lasts longer. I imagine many drink it for the same reason. Sort of similar to people not liking high cocoa lindt chocolate and going for dairy milk. I know guys who would have mince over fillet steak, and cod portions over cod fillets in a chipper, and easy singles over "proper" cheese -each to their own,

Bulmers is also heavily watered down, more water than juice and has loads of added sugar. They have an awful bare faced cheek to put out ads going on about being 100% pear juice. This only means that the little fruit juice in the product is pear, not that the can is 100% fermented pear juice. The ads actually go on about other products with dodgy adverts when their own is FAR more misleading.
    The spokeswoman said: "As stated, in order to ensure consistency of product, we make some post-fermentation adjustments to Bulmers sweetness, colour and acidity. As you can appreciate however, the detail of the recipe is confidential."

Nothing added but time ... sugar, chemicals and sulphites

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭pastorbarrett

I do like craft beers, and do on occasion go out of my way to get the drink I'm hankering after.

That said, I'll hop off a bottle of Bud on a warm day, at a session, whatever...
    Once it's cold, it's not too bad.

Surprised no one has mentioned the potential danger of selling beer of which the ABV is lower than that labelled. It's not unfeasible to think a regular Bud drinker will overestimate their abilities where general alcohol consumption is concerned...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,454 ✭✭✭batistuta9

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Right.

Saying 'I only drink normal, everyday beers I'm used to' is like saying 'I only eat a couple of meals I've always eaten'.

Also, the idea that Bud / Carlsberg / Heineken / Guinness / Smithwicks are 'everyday' beers and craft beers are 'fancy' beers is a testement to the success of Diageo killing the Irish alcohol market stone dead for decades. Having a variety of locally brewed beers of different kinds is such a staple of North American and European countries. We were somehow convinced that the same narrow range of beers should be available and consumed by everyone everywhere. Very sad really, but it's good to see things gradually changing.

It's more like saying "I've tried burgers from the butchers and don't really like them, i prefer the processed ones from the supermarket" what's wrong with that, nothing.

people eat & drink what they think is nice, if someone one thinks craft beers aren't nice & prefers the others - then that's their choice and they're not wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

batistuta9 wrote: »
    It's more like saying "I've tried burgers from the butchers and don't really like them, i prefer the processed ones from the supermarket" what's wrong with that, nothing.

people eat & drink what they think is nice, if someone one thinks craft beers aren't nice & prefers the others - then that's their choice and they're not wrong
    True. Some people prefer horseburgers to beefburgers. Nothing wrong with that. And some people prefer horsepiddle to beer. Also nothing wrong with that. A bit odd, but nothing wrong with it per se.

endacl wrote: »
    True. Some people prefer horseburgers to beefburgers. Nothing wrong with that. And some people prefer horsepiddle to beer. Also nothing wrong with that. A bit odd, but nothing wrong with it per se.

not the best time to use burgers as an example but still...

you can't impose on people what tastes nice and what doesn't, it's down to the individual to decide

endacl wrote: »
    And some people prefer horsepiddle to beer. Also nothing wrong with that. A bit odd, but nothing wrong with it per se.

Seeing as bud is one of the most popular beers going it is by definition not "odd" to prefer it, it is seemingly quite normal.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 68 ✭✭andymurphy93

i like bud
    it will prepare me for when i get stranded in a desert with no water

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Dwork

I also like Budweiser, the beer snobs and p1ss flingers are knee deep in this thread. I've also worked in some of the mass-market breweries in the course of my day-job, and I have to lol at all the "I prefer Wankenbrau iiV, it's so much more flavoursome". Yeah, whatever.

It's the same stuff pretty much, except flavouring number 11 is changed for flavouring number 14 and the can's different. It's all just water anyway, with some added stuff, so adding more water is err, like adding more water. Big whoop. Don't like it, don't drink it, but feack away with the "shure anyone who drinks that is well mad, lads" guff. Sure ye'd drink thinners if there was nothing else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

I tend to mishear people who ask for a Bud when it's my round. I refuse to buy it. If Budvar is available I return with České Budějovice's finest Budweiser and tell them how Bud isn't Budweiser as the Czechs brewed it for CENTURIES before AB got hold of the name.

I'm a prick, but I mean to educate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

Sponge Bob wrote: »
    Coors is worse, it feels like drinking soap.
    Yeh, Carling tastes like what I think cold washing-up water would taste like.
    AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Hah! I like a thing and because other people don't like it they're "hipsters". Hopster is the new catch all phrase for anyone who likes anything that's mass produced and shoved down their throat every ad break is it?
    Yeh, this "reverse hipsterism" craze is as wanky as "hipsterism" (if it exists to the extent people say it does, which I don't think it does).
    I couldn't care less if people enjoy Bud; me saying I like more obscure beers (but I also like popular ones, just not Bud and Carling and Coors) and not liking Bud is me simply expressing a personal preference. It is not an implicit "looking-down" on people who enjoy Bud.

Although I like your term - "hopster": ideal label for a genuine beer snob. :pac: :D
    It's the very same as someone saying they like Bud and Carling and dislike craft beers or Belgian beers or whatever... yet they're not accused of sneering at people who like the latter... because they're just being "unpretentious" and "real"... or something.
    the porterhouse came to Cork
    Where's the Porterhouse in Cork? Franciscan? Hub?
    MadsL wrote: »
    I tend to mishear people who ask for a Bud when it's my round. I refuse to buy it. If Budvar is available I return with České Budějovice's finest Budweiser and tell them how Bud isn't Budweiser as the Czechs brewed it for CENTURIES before AB got hold of the name.

Ok, in fairness you're definitely a hopster. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Jamsiek

Madam_X wrote: »
    Yeh, Carling tastes like what I think cold washing-up water would taste like.

Yeh, this "reverse hipsterism" craze is as wanky as "hipsterism" (if it exists to the extent people say it does, which I don't think it does).
    I couldn't care less if people enjoy Bud; me saying I like more obscure beers (but I also like popular ones, just not Bud and Carling) and not liking Bud is me simply expressing a personal preference. It is not an implicit "looking-down" on people who enjoy Bud.

Although I like your typo - "hopster": the ideal term for a beer snob. :pac: :D
    It's the very same as someone saying they like Bud and Carling and dislike craft beers or Belgian beers or whatever... yet they're not accused of sneering at people who like the latter... because they're just being "unpretentious" and "real"... or something.

You hit the nail on the head there, there is nothing wrong with liking beer with a bit more substance than some bland everyday beer.
    It's just nice to have more choice, it's reverse snobbery to deny people this choice IMO

Ok, in fairness you're definitely a hopster. :pac:

Well at one point Diageo went to court to make it illegal to sell Budvar in Ireland so I feel retribution is deserved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

You're the kinda guy who puts horse in burgers, aren't you! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭MonkstownHoop

Well at one point Diageo went to court to make it illegal to sell Budvar in Ireland so I feel retribution is deserved.

Sure the piss water gang are at constant war in europe trying to have the piss the only 'beer' allowed be called Bud

at least you know it, i can't believe you've the cheek to do that

Its in the Mardyke bar complex, downstairs beside the Woolshed.

meanwhile in the normal world ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭nucker

dttq wrote: »
    I can sell you a few bottles of bud on the cheap, just give me a few empty bottles, a tonne of water, and 2 minutes in the jacks.

I think I will decline that offer, but to me it doesn't taste like piss....not that I've tasted piss on purpose, just fell foul of one of those school yard pranks :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭mccarthy37

Anheuser Busch brew budweiser. Working in America a few years ago there was a billboard advert that had
    Anheuser Busch but some smartass added to it.
    How's your mother Anhueser Busch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

It could be worse you could have to drink Tuborg or Dutch Gold .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

I like both. Prefer them to Bud.

Hmmm, I wouldn't have put you down as a six for a fiver type of girl :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

Next time your going drinking in a field or park can I join you ?

+1 for Staropramen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭mcwinning

Way too many people here seem to know what piss tastes like...

mcwinning wrote: »
    Way too many people here seem to know what piss tastes like...
    Well ever since Germany took over....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭JessePinkman

i usually drink Heineken its my favorite,Will often Drink a creans lager if i see it about just to change it up.
    all the mainstream lagers are fairly similar and i like them also dont see the difference between heineken,carlsberg and the craft lagers like creans.

im gonna try a pilsner urgell next time i see it though it supposed to be lovely.

Bud tho from a bottle is sound..id rather it than Heino..

Token "Piss " comment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Jamsiek

i usually drink Heineken its my favorite,Will often Drink a creans lager if i see it about just to change it up.
    all the mainstream lagers are fairly similar and i like them also dont see the difference between heineken,carlsberg and the craft lagers like creans.

im gonna try a pilsner urgell next time i see it though it supposed to be lovely.

Bud tho from a bottle is sound..id rather it than Heino..

Token "Piss " comment

Can't say I've heard of Creans, I'm curious now. Do they export it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭wilkie2006

Drinkers of Budweiser - marketed as the "King of Beers" - are taking the company to court over allegations the popular American lager is watered down to boost profits...

One of those bringing the lawsuit, Nina Giampaoli, claimed: "I think it's wrong for huge corporations to lie to their loyal customers.

"I really feel cheated. No matter what the product is, people should be able to rely on the information companies put on their labels."

http://uk.finance.yahoo.com/news/budweiser-rejects-watered-down-lawsuit-065304255.html

What the fuck are these heads doing?! Yea, they're taking Budweisser to court because the company *might* have "violat[ed] consumer protection laws"... but Bud drinkers have enjoyed this fucking violation for at least 5 years! It's not like there was one batch that went out and people spotted it immediately - these fucking twats are "fans" of the shit. They'd probably hate the unadulterated version.

So what's the story here? Why don't Bud just keep manufacturing the same old insipid shite and change the % stats on the side of the cans? The watery stuff is what people want...???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 906 ✭✭✭LiamMc

Bottoms Up...Sweetie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,972 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

id rather it than Heino..

That's not much of an endorsement though to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Ericaa

What the hell, I love Budweiser. Now I feel like an asshole from reading this thread, hahaha

Ericaa wrote: »
    What the hell, I love Budweiser. Now I feel like an asshole from reading this thread, hahaha

Your whole life is a lie, clearly. Morto for ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Ericaa

Your whole life is a lie, clearly. Morto for ya.
    I need to reevaluate myself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,457 ✭✭✭Lenmeister

Ericaa wrote: »
    Haha just change your beer to something else quickly and claim it never even touched your lips.
    I used to drink it when I was younger but after a while I thought this is more like Sudweiser..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭jimthemental

A bloke once came to my bar and asked for a pint of bud with no head. He made me fill the pint to the brim and scrape off the thin layer of head on the top with a knife. I really do despair sometimes.

Maybe he needed water for the radiator in his car. The suds on top would've just been messy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I thought it was common knowledge that Bud was beer flavoured water.

Technically speaking every beer is beer flavored water. Unless you know of beer which does not have water as its main ingredient.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Technically speaking every beer is beer flavored water. Unless you know of beer which does not have water as its main ingredient.

Bud is the piss of the beer world. Doesn't compare to the Blondes, Dubbles and Triple beers. Full of flavour and body.

Do you also get people pint bottles of guinness to teach them a lesson? when they obviously wanted a draught pint.

Does anybody purposely get you something they know fine well you don't want as payback?

Bud is the piss of the beer world. Doesn't compare to the Blondes, Dubbles and Triple beers. Full of flavour and body.

I'm not saying bud is great, but all beers are mostly water also. Give me Guinness or Bavaria before Bud or any of the fancy names you mention.
    rubadub wrote: »
    Do you also get people pint bottles of guinness to teach them a lesson? when they obviously wanted a draught pint.

Does anybody purposely get you something they know fine well you don't want as payback?

I'd give him a pint of actual piss if he did that on purpose regularly, friend or not.

Its fierce wankerish and the kind of thing that makes people use terms like beer snob.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 809 ✭✭✭frankosw

Pisswater.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭starskey77

ive just bought a home brew kit 12 gallon container sterilized 8 pound of sugar
    some yeast a packet of strange brown stuff and instructions. 14 weeks time
    im your man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭starskey77

craft beer is that something by the freemasons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Kev_2012 wrote: »
    I like most beers but Budweiser is horsepiss. I didn't think they could water it down anymore!

but I have start drinking coors light too which is actually quite decent for american .
    You hate Bud cos it's horsep/ss, but you think Coors Light is decent??!

:eek: :confused: