Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Canada Solo

• 27-02-2013 1:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭

Ok so looks like im heading over solo now, as friend has pulled out unfortuantely. Just thought Id start a thread to see if there are many people doing it alone and what plans have they made, if any.

Im planing on flying out sometime in June , hitting Toronto. So really dont know what to expect but looking forward to it :), i guess going alone will make it more of an adventure. So anyone else in same situation ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭JustRoss23

Calgary april going solo all going well.. ya will be grand seems a good few in the similar position:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

Calgary August solo. My emotion hops from terrified to excited about 6 times a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭GrizzlyMan

ShooterSF wrote: »
    Calgary August solo. My emotion hops from terrified to excited about 6 times a day.

haha thats how im feeling at the moment, well the initial shock that im going alone seems to be waring a little now. Great to know there is other people in the same boat. The thought of staying in Ireland is more Terrifiying to me more than going to Canada alone tbh lol

JustRoss23 wrote: »

Nice one, waited too long for this opportunity to let it go :) you gotta love Rockys words of wisdom :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭flynnser19

I was gonna go solo but two friends jumped on last minute!!were leavin for Toronto in June too!!
    I had planned on staying in the Canadiana hostel when I arrived I I'd been alone cause apparently everyone stays there before they find a flat and people post jobs and all on the notice boards so I advise ya to look into there!! I wouldn't worry about being alone you'll meet people through work and that no point in missing out just cause noone else is adventurous enough to leave lol
    Best of luck though!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭WasterEx

Solo, Calgary, should be there in mid April! ;)

flynnser19 wrote: »
    I was gonna go solo but two friends jumped on last minute!!were leavin for Toronto in June too!!
    I had planned on staying in the Canadiana hostel when I arrived I I'd been alone cause apparently everyone stays there before they find a flat and people post jobs and all on the notice boards so I advise ya to look into there!! I wouldn't worry about being alone you'll meet people through work and that no point in missing out just cause noone else is adventurous enough to leave lol
    Best of luck though!!!

haha your so right, aint gonna have this chance again so no stopping me .thanks for the good wishes:) it will be june in no time, have fun :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭hdowney

Yup going alone, later this year/beginning next depending on finances. Tossing between Calgary and Toronto at the mo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 DeniseDee

I'm going to Toronto on my own too :)

Hopefully!

DeniseDee wrote: »
    I'm going to Toronto on my own too :)

Hopefully!

Great to see other people going to Toronto alone too :) I gather your still waiting confirmation too. Hopefully we will hear soon, although i only uploaded all my docs last weekend so im sure i have still a good wait yet :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭media101

im going solo too, hitting Calgary in oct. whenever the family or friends ask if im worried about traveling alone i tell them no sure it's an adventure but on the inside I'm terrified, but nothing will hold me back from going!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 DeniseDee

GrizzlyMan wrote: »
    Great to see other people going to Toronto alone too :) I gather your still waiting confirmation too. Hopefully we will hear soon, although i only uploaded all my docs last weekend so im sure i have still a good wait yet :(

Same here, put them all up on Sunday.
    I just wish I knew, as I have so much to do before I can go, and it is freaking me out!!!

media101 wrote: »
    im going solo too, hitting Calgary in oct. whenever the family or friends ask if im worried about traveling alone i tell them no sure it's an adventure but on the inside I'm terrified, but nothing will hold me back from going!!

well said, exact same thoughts with me. :D

DeniseDee wrote: »
    Same here, put them all up on Sunday.
    I just wish I knew, as I have so much to do before I can go, and it is freaking me out!!!

youll be fine, just think of the end results all the pllanning will be worth it and youll look back in a few months and wonder why you were freaked out ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 Afatpigeon

Yeah, heading to Toronto too. Will be there late May/Early June hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,734 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

i was up in toronto before xmas and its unreal the amount of irish around compared to when i first came over.

Come the summer its gonna be jammed with loads more.

wheres quite retalivity? did the Irish flock north yet? hay-river , Yellowknife etc? Calgary is meant to be wedged with them Edmonton not as bad:D

JustRoss23 wrote: »
    wheres quite retalivity? did the Irish flock north yet? hay-river , Yellowknife etc? Calgary is meant to be wedged with them Edmonton not as bad:D

London is quiet!
    Pretty much anywhere outside the GTA, Calgary & Vancouver. I'd guess 90% or people coming over will be in one of those 3 areas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭hdowney

Much going for London? And I suppose much going in London? I ain't a grafter type like Ross or them (sparkys and the like) I am more either Admin/IT or looking to become a Chef

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 beercan810

I'm heading off to the Rockies for a ski season on my own. Once the snow is gone the plan is to try get an IT job wherever the IT jobs are! Currently working in London.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 howlermonkey

Going to Toronto with 3 other friends at the end of May but thats all that we know for now. Even though we're going as a group we're still seeing who else will be out there with us for accommodation and stuff like that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

Assuming all goes well with the application Im for Vancouver solo in October.
    Cannot wait (although trying not to think about it in case my application is rejected.)
    I have never found traveling solo to be anything other exciting, fun and unpredictable.

hdowney wrote: »
    Much going for London? And I suppose much going in London? I ain't a grafter type like Ross or them (sparkys and the like) I am more either Admin/IT or looking to become a Chef

Its a mid-sized canadian city, with a decent tech/admin/business/service prospects in it afaik. From reading the local news this past few months, most of the job losses around here have been in industrial and mechanical plants as theyve downsized.

Big enough college town, with one massive university and a fairly large college. Less than 2 hours from Toronto, Nigara Falls and Detroit. Quite warm in the summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭gary27

retalivity wrote: »
    Its a mid-sized canadian city, with a decent tech/admin/business/service prospects in it afaik. From reading the local news this past few months, most of the job losses around here have been in industrial and mechanical plants as theyve downsized.

Big enough college town, with one massive university and a fairly large college. Less than 2 hours from Toronto, Nigara Falls and Detroit. Quite warm in the summer

My brother was there last summer on the wider horizon programme, he liked it.

gary27 wrote: »
    My brother was there last summer on the wider horizon programme, he liked it.

there was another donegal man in London and I didnt know about it???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭gary27

retalivity wrote: »
    there was another donegal man in London and I didnt know about it???

he worked in one of the rona stores as part of the course and stayed in apartments in dundas street.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 15,610 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

Going Toronto hopefully in April of next year via New Orleans (So i can finally go to a Wrestlemania :) ) . All on my own (bar New Orleans who ill be going with a few friends) but going to Canada on my own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Berzerker

Currently in Waterloo/Kitchener and come on my own. Best decision in my life! :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

On the Island myself, it be really chilling here man:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭amster

GrizzlyMan wrote: »
    Ok so looks like im heading over solo now, as friend has pulled out unfortuantely. Just thought Id start a thread to see if there are many people doing it alone and what plans have they made, if any.

Im planing on flying out sometime in June , hitting Toronto. So really dont know what to expect but looking forward to it :), i guess going alone will make it more of an adventure. So anyone else in same situation ?

Hey! I'm going to Toronto on my own - won't be until September though. I'm really excited but at the same time I have a lil freak out every now and again that I won't meet other people lol. You are right it will def be more of an adventure and from the looks of it there are a few of us in the same boat. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 johnplayer20

Well! heading over on my own too, hopefully in may or June, either Calgary or Ontario, but still waiting on visa! I must admit i find some comfort in finding i not only one going solo as i dread it one minute and excited the next. hopefully it will be an adventure to look back on! great thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 clodgh

Heading to Toronto on my own on 30th April.. like a lot of ye I'm jumping from terrified to excited several times a day! :P Booked into the Canadiana to start with.. looks like a fun place!! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 howlermonkey

What would be the recommended hostels to stay in for the first few days that are affordable in Toronto would anybody know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 KevinFQB1

Same as everybody here, think it's looking like Toronto for me as I put down Ontario as my port of entry when I applied a few months ago. Don't really know what I'm getting myself in for and only starting to do some research now so I'm absoloutely sh***ng it :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Calgary22

it does not matter what you put as your port of entry you can where ever you want:D

Really?? Because on the IEC parts it says your application was sent to the port of ontario and that's where you will present your visa?

nah lad you can go anywhere sure its just printing the work permit off a computer. they only wanted that as a reference.

Wow, well this changes everything!

yea several people have stated they wanted to go somewhere and went to a different city and it was fine if you search the mega thread you will be find it. good luck with it i will be heading solo to Calgary at some stage. probs july

What do you plan on doing when you get out there then, is there certain employment you will be looking for?

i am a sparks so i will go at that:D

Fair play, hope everything works out for ya and who knows, might meet ye in Calgary yet!

Hello, first time poster here. I plan on going to Canada by myself and I am scared s**tless. I am currently going through the stages of getting the IEC working holiday visa. When filling out the visa I put down Ontario as my port of entry and presumed this is where I had to go but I was told on here recently that is not the case! I will be 25 next month, I graduated from college with a degree in IT (multimedia) and basically I need everybody's help.

I don't plan on just going over to Canada for a year or two for the experience, I plan on staying there for as long as possible. So I am looking for help/suggestions on where is the best place to go in terms of job prospects, accommodation, general living, etc, etc? There are so many possibilities I literally don't know where to start.

As I said I just graduated from college, I have been working for the last 10 years, 7 of them in the tourism trade as a tour guide and floor manager, the other 3 as a barman so I will have a bit of experience going over, just none in the industry I studied.

Toronto and Vancouver are the most popular destinations coming up here but I see a few people saying they are full of Irish and jobs are slack. All I am looking for is honest opinions from anybody who would like to give one.

Thanks for your time,

Kev

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,951 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Thread Merged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 Phillybyrne

ShooterSF wrote: »

Haha im also going to calgary solo in august aswell and i also go from excited to nervous all the time ha but it will be well worth it once you start making that $$$$$ :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭PSRJ17191438b

Haha im also going to calgary solo in august aswell and i also go from excited to nervous all the time ha but it will be well worth it once you start making that $$$$$ :D
    awhh stop i'm shíting meself going Calgary solo in August aswell, but as ya said once we start making that mulla it should be alright!

Yeah thats it man band new after the first week once ya get your bearings yano. So whats your plans for some where to stay??? Im gonna hit a hostel for the first week then look for a room to rent! What sort a work ya looking to get?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

Im vancouver bound on December 1st on me lonesome. half brickin it, half excited.

Ahhh ya be grand man ya'll meet people in no time. One good thing about the irish is they really do look after there own :)