Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Android App UI Advise. Screenshots Included

• 02-03-2013 2:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭

Hi,

EDIT: spelled advice wrong sorry

I'm working on an tablet-only Android app at the moment as part of a project. I really want to make the UI look nice. I have a strange love for beautiful apps and I've seen far too many awful ones on Android. However, I'm far from a graphic designer and while I can appreciate good design, I'm not very good at making it.

The app is aimed at secondary, maybe primary school students. I put together a "skeuomorphic" look but my supervisor said he thinks there's maybe a bit too many different elements on the screen, which I can see myself now.

Problem is though I don't have a better design to implement in it's place. I don't really want to go back to standard white background, black standard text for everything. It's too boring to read and this particular app needs to display a fair amount of information on the screen.

So basically I've attached a load of screenshots of the main screens and what I have at the moment. Any advice, suggestions, criticisms, links, articles, resources etc. would be very much appreciated.

Here's the screenshots

Thanks in advance :pac:

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭miralize