Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dragon's Den (IRL)

• Registered Users Posts: 140 ✭✭jescart

Part of me thinks a lot of these contestants deliberately overvalue their company, knowing full well they won't get invested in - just for the free product advertising on RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,540 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Don't think they'll get a cent. The music in the background gives it away...

• Registered Users Posts: 156 ✭✭Are I Mad

jescart wrote: »
    Ramona scares me

One minute she scares you and the next minute she is a big softie:D

So boring tonight... health and safety manuals.. Christ.. I'm going to bed

• Registered Users Posts: 156 ✭✭Are I Mad

That is some rock on Ramona's hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭omerin

Part of me thinks a lot of these contestants deliberately overvalue their company, knowing full well they won't get invested in - just for the free product advertising on RTE.

I think its the same for the dragons, just doing it for publicity, don't think they have money to invest and spend their time away from the den thinking up excuses not to invest. Having said that the vast majority of companies on the show is poor.

So boring tonight... health and safety manuals.. Christ.. I'm going to bed

I'd say that market is well and truly covered at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,186 ✭✭✭dee_mc

Who's watching tonight? Missed alot of it last week, undivided attention tonight! I'm such a saddo!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 67 ✭✭kinklee7

me too !

dee_mc wrote: »
    Who's watching tonight? Missed alot of it last week, undivided attention tonight! I'm such a saddo!

YOu didn't miss much last week, "health and safety manuals" was the highlight of the show

This is like the opening scene of a disturbing horror movie

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 133 ✭✭Sir Chops

Ramona scares me

Yeah but in a good dominatrix kinda way !!

YOu didn't miss much last week, "health and safety manuals" was the highlight of the show

Yawn! This pitch is yawnsome to me too, what do ye reckon?

the cloak ? Hardly Riverdance is it ?

It's a very visual story if you get me, I don't see how they'll blow us away with a visual representation of the cloak story. I'm declaring myself out anyway!

YAWN

Angela's Ashes meets Game of Thrones, he says sarcastically.
    Yes, that sounds about right, says the producer.
    Crikey, he was taking the mick, wake up man!

Not worth a million in fairness

They're not too hot with the figures!

kinklee7 wrote: »
    Not worth a million washer in fairness

FYP!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,420 ✭✭✭✭athtrasna

They haven't a clue about musical theatre in Ireland, not a hope of that being a hit!

Nice bit of free advertising for them all the same

Oh the dragons love it when people like Finian pull their sales projections from their bum! Come on, does this guy even watch the show like!

nyom nyom nyom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,657 ✭✭✭CountyHurler

I think RTE just let this lad in to the den so that they would have to feed the dragons themselves.. .. I'd say Chuck Norris has some appetite

Pizzas all the way to Hong Kong :confused:

What's alternative about them I wonder? Fair play getting into Hong Kong market, wonder why he needs investment?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭le la rat

A unique brown box

le la rat wrote: »
    A unique brown box

What a load of bull, a brown box makes it alternative and unique? Spoofer.

road_high wrote: »
    Pizzas all the way to Hong Kong :confused:

"20 mins or less or your pizzas free"

Very crowded and competitive market that..

Sarah Silverman is looking well

Ths is a good idea. Trollies are manky yokes!

It could catch on

Oh I love this idea! These were huge for soccer when I was a kid, I presume the horrible drawings are just for the prototype?

€10k is pocket change to these people, she will get a few investors

Again, great publicity. Her stuff looks good

Jesus Mary the website should have been the first thing you did

Before making the jewelry :pac:

There's something very sincere about her..

She is a nice woman indeed

A bit naïve but super genuine! She's wrong to discount the shamrocks and shillaleghs, massive American market for high quality tacky Oirish jewelry where I work :)

She is a nice woman indeed

I think Peter had a twinkle in his eye for her as well.. I'm not fully sure it was the product he was investing in there.

I went out to get a cup of tea... Do you nuns need investment? I'm out...

They don't want your money, it won't make them happy... So why are they on Dragon's Den.. oh right. Time for bed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

I'd say the nuns could buy out the Dragons.:D

LynnGrace wrote: »
    I'd say the nuns could buy out the Dragons.:D

They make brown hosts, it reminded me of a Fast Show sketch years ago where a churchgoer was lobbying for low carb communion hosts :D

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,106 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

dee_mc wrote: »
    Angela's Ashes meets Game of Thrones, he says sarcastically.
    Yes, that sounds about right, says the producer.
    Crikey, he was taking the mick, wake up man!

He should have made a better comparison. Game of Thrones is the hottest show on TV right now. It has a 9.5 rating on IMDB, it's made by HBO who are renowned for making excellent TV and even then it's their second most viewed show of all time and consistently breaks viewing records for them and is pretty much consistently the number 1 most downloaded show. If I produced something and someone compared it to Game of Thrones I'd be delighted.

I dont understand how this is legal... ? What's his next product... A "euro on a string" for vending machines?

And when the guy said "You need to go shopping", did you see the face of Ramona Nicolas... He obviously meant go "shopping more often" which he qualified shortly after... You'd think that she'd cut a nervous guy a break rather than getting in a strop... I mean the guy is looking for a few quid to help his product, he hasnt gone in there to eliminate the suffragette movement..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

They should ask this one how old she is. If she's 92, then they should invest everything they've got.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

The boys acting cool in front of Roz