Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Blur 2013

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 676 ✭✭✭unichick

Looking forward to the gig. Haven't been to the venue before. Is there seats in it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Mickolution

I don't think there is for Blur. They set them up for some gigs, but as far as I know, for Blur it's all standing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭aka accounts 2010

unichick wrote: »
    Looking forward to the gig. Haven't been to the venue before. Is there seats in it?

It will be an all standing fully outdoor gig. No seating will be available.

Some people are making reference to the stage bring set up, that's for the Ennio Morricone gigs taking place there this weekend!! In fairness, the same stage will probably used for Thursday!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 robk84

Feck. Thought there would be some seats. I'm pregnant so hoping won't get jostled/pushed. Is it a tight venue? Hope I won't be squashed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭Eggonyerface

unichick wrote: »
    Feck. Thought there would be some seats. I'm pregnant so hoping won't get jostled/pushed. Is it a tight venue? Hope I won't be squashed.

No its a big field, you can hover around the back or sides. I was there for forbidden fruit a few times and even at entrance and exit there wasn't a hectic squash or bottle neck

Any rumours on capacity or sales for this gig? Not too many adverts around which is always a decent sign!!

Thanks eggonyourface. That's a relief. Really love Blur so don't want to miss it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭whitewave

Any rumours on capacity or sales for this gig? Not too many adverts around which is always a decent sign!!

You must not be listening to Today fm cos all I hear are ads for it - I presumed tickets weren't selling, complete opposite to you! Paul McLoone (sp?) was giving away tickets every night for a week or two aswell...I'm shocked, thought this would sell out straight away.

Ah well, more room for me to dance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

My housemate was down there today and saw Bulmers signs up. Does anyone know if they are for Blur or other gigs on this weekend? Would prefer Bulmers over Heineken!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭PaulieG

Yes. As stated Blur are not on until 9pm. Dave Fanning gave this time on 2fm. Great news for me as I can't get there 'til about 7pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,983 ✭✭✭Trimm Trabb

I had surgery on my knee on friday so on crutches and leg is in a bad way. Huge Blur fan so still hoping to attend, if I had a wheelchair is there a special area I would be allowed into or might I get a camping chair in?

I can manage it a bit but between getting there and back dont know if I could stand for whole gig too or don't think it would be safe to sit on the ground. Any suggestions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Mickolution

I had surgery on my knee on friday so on crutches and leg is in a bad way. Huge Blur fan so still hoping to attend, if I had a wheelchair is there a special area I would be allowed into or might I get a camping chair in?

I can manage it a bit but between getting there and back dont know if I could stand for whole gig too or don't think it would be safe to sit on the ground. Any suggestions?

There usually is at these type of gigs and I wouldn't be surprised if it was a legal requirement.

Best thing to do would be call the promoter. You may need some sort of pass to gain access to the platform or whatever it is.

Pod's contact details are here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

Anyone have any idea what sort of bar there'll be. I'm travelling over alone and it would be comforting to know I have a friend in alcohol :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭Zwillinge

Hey Guys!

Can't wait to see the lads again, they put on a beautiful show and the venue itself looks the same!

Have never been to a gig here before, am wondering is it a wellies or runners affair?? Soaked in grass or soaked on cement/cobbles? :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭ordinary_girl

Can anyone tell me if there are any radio stations/shows that are currently running competitions for tickets? Have absolutely no money and am hoping against hope I might win tickets!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,150 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Zwillinge wrote: »
    Hey Guys!

Can't wait to see the lads again, they put on a beautiful show and the venue itself looks the same!

Have never been to a gig here before, am wondering is it a wellies or runners affair?? Soaked in grass or soaked on cement/cobbles? :o

They normally cover the area so I think you'll be ok with runners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭The_Mask

What do people think of the Strypes? I heard of them only two weeks ago when they played T in the Park and I was blown away. Anyone going only to see them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Goolay

Anyone know if there's going to be a wristband pit at the front? Thinking of taking a half day to queue to get them if there is.

cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭sgarvan

I was in a similar situation a few years back after breaking my ankle. Had standing tickets for the Stereophonics in The Point.

When I arrived at the venue I asked to speak to one of the promoters management and asked to be seated in the wheelchair area. No issues at all with it.

Goolay wrote: »
    Anyone know if there's going to be a wristband pit at the front? Thinking of taking a half day to queue to get them if there is.

cheers

Just had a look on POD Live facebook page. Someone asked if there would be a pit and they confirmed there will be and it will be a first come, first serve basis!!

Think I will head along early enough myself. Hard to know what way the crowd will be especially midweek. Could be alot arriving from 6.30-7.30 I reckon. Might try and head for few pints close by around 2pm and judge the crowd from there!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Goolay

Just had a look on POD Live facebook page. Someone asked if there would be a pit and they confirmed there will be and it will be a first come, first serve basis!!

Think I will head along early enough myself. Hard to know what way the crowd will be especially midweek. Could be alot arriving from 6.30-7.30 I reckon. Might try and head for few pints close by around 2pm and judge the crowd from there!!

Good stuff, earliest I can get in is 3pm but hopefully queue won't be too mad at that stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭Tedious Bore

just bagged me an email ticket there on eBay. Would anyone know is there any smart way to verify how legit my ticket is? ....or do I just have to risk the possibility that any chancer can flog a hundred copies of the same ticket by email?

No way of checking it I'm afraid. You'll just have to take your chance. Ticketmaster refuse to verify tickets sold between third parties (i asked them a few weeks ago).

Only way to be certain is to get there when the gates open and get in early. The barcode you have will scan once so even if it's been sold 50 times, the first person through the gate is sorted.

I'm taking it you got a decent bargain on ebay seeing as you didn't just buy one on Ticketmaster??!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 507 ✭✭✭Tedious Bore

Thanks. actually didn't know they were still available, just presumed it was sold out. got one for 30 so fingers crossed!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 15,830 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

Only way to be certain is to get there when the gates open and get in early. The barcode you have will scan once so even if it's been sold 50 times, the first person through the gate is sorted.

I'm taking it you got a decent bargain on ebay seeing as you didn't just buy one on Ticketmaster??!!

Thanks. actually didn't know they were still available, just presumed it was sold out. got one for 30 so fingers crossed![/QUOTE]

€30 for the ticket? Maybe could just be me but that sounds dodgy if its so cheap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Ticketmaster refuse to verify tickets sold between third parties (i asked them a few weeks ago).
    They did for me, after asking over and over.

They did not say much but did say there were no other queries about the ticket reference number, to me this meant no other people ringing up asking about it like I was.

I would be checking the ebay sellers history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭spodoinkle

Would anyone have a rough idea of when to start queuing for pit armband?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

No way of checking it I'm afraid. You'll just have to take your chance. Ticketmaster refuse to verify tickets sold between third parties (i asked them a few weeks ago).

Get there early ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭DrConor

Get down to this after for some fun Big Hooky is in town

9394755329_2f1d12cecf_z.jpg

Buy Tickets here - http://www.bodytonicmusic.com/events/3936/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

Does anyone know if I go down at 4pm and get a pit pass, if I'll be allowed leave the venue again? I'm only living about 15 mins walk away so I'd prefer to just go back to my place and have a few cans rather than watching those nonces The Strypes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭delbertgrady

dulux99 wrote: »
    Does anyone know if I go down at 4pm and get a pit pass, if I'll be allowed leave the venue again?

As with every other concert, there's no readmittance.
    By that rationale, anyone who had no interest in the support acts would go down early and get a pit pass, wander off and do their own thing for the afternoon and evening, and just turn up again in time for Blur.

2025 Gigs and Events: Stuart Murdoch, Lyle Lovett, Camera Obscura, The Corrs/Imelda May/Natalie Imbruglia, Olivia Rodrigo, Iron Maiden, Neil Young/Van Morrison, Dua Lipa, Lana Del Rey, Weezer, The Doobie Brothers, Billie Eilish (x2), Oasis, Sharon Van Etten, The Human League, Deacon Blue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭gloobag

Took a walk through the Old Kilmainham Hospital just now. Looks like almost the exact same setup as was used for the Ennio Morricone show so far.

The only differences I could see were that the seating and plastic flooring has been removed (although there was plastic flooring in a sectioned off area upfront, which I imagine is the pit). The main area is grass, so prepare to be covered in mud if the weather isn't kind. The forecast for Thursday right now is for occasional showers.

Also, it looked like the bar (which is run by Bulmers) was being extended a little bit. I couldn't make out the drinks menu, but it looked like there was about 5/6 items on it. All the other food/drink vendors looked to be the exact same as the previous shows at the weekend. There was also a few wooden picnic benches being setup close to the food stalls.

I couldn't see anything that looked like a special needs area, but there was still a bit of construction going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 TomC2

This is where its at after Blur I reckon

qpntyh.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,492 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Going to need the rain jackets by the looks of it.

What's peoples current view of footwear?

Given that the majority of flooring has been removed and the heavy rain of late!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭delbertgrady

Re: The Grand Social aftershow...

Who are Block Party? :rolleyes:

2025 Gigs and Events: Stuart Murdoch, Lyle Lovett, Camera Obscura, The Corrs/Imelda May/Natalie Imbruglia, Olivia Rodrigo, Iron Maiden, Neil Young/Van Morrison, Dua Lipa, Lana Del Rey, Weezer, The Doobie Brothers, Billie Eilish (x2), Oasis, Sharon Van Etten, The Human League, Deacon Blue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭Dr.Winston O'Boogie

Given that the majority of flooring has been removed and the heavy rain of late!!

So its going to be on grass, with no plastic covering?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Boots/Wellies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,134 ✭✭✭✭maquiladora

Why in the name of god would they remove the plastic flooring with heavy rain/flooding forecast for Wednesday/Thursday?

Ugh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

It doesn't make sense. Would it be likely that they took the plastic off to let the grass breathe a bit and then they'll put it down again on the day??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭but1er

Looks a beautiful arena the blur 21 picture gallery is poor the only good thing was the park life album cover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭PaulieG

Driving up from the midlands, does anyone know if it's possible to park anywhere nearby or am I better off parking at the Red Cow and getting the Luas in? Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭Oasis_Dublin

I reckon it's workman's or grand social afterwards. Screw paying 12e in anywhere!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

PaulieG wrote: »
    Driving up from the midlands, does anyone know if it's possible to park anywhere nearby or am I better off parking at the Red Cow and getting the Luas in? Thanks.

Better off parking at the red cow and getting the LUAS in I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blastman

It doesn't make sense. Would it be likely that they took the plastic off to let the grass breathe a bit and then they'll put it down again on the day??

That's what I thought, they're hardly going to remove the floor and allow the place to be turned into a swamp, are they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭gloobag

Took another walk through just now. Looks like they're installing more toilets, and putting up a screen facing the food/drink area. Other than that, everything is the exact same as I said yesterday.

Plastic flooring is still only present in a (largish) sectioned off area up at the front of the stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭lc180

PaulieG wrote: »

There is an underground car park at the Hilton in Kilmainham, ten min walk to the entrance and literally across the road from one of the exits.

But im pretty sure its pricey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,847 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

gloobag wrote: »
    Took another walk through just now. Looks like they're installing more toilets, and putting up a screen facing the food/drink area. Other than that, everything is the exact same as I said yesterday.

Plastic flooring is still only present in a (largish) sectioned off area up at the front of the stage.

So the choice is get out early to be in the "pit", have something half decent under your feet and get rained on from 5 or 6. Or get in around 8, get rained on and be stuck in the muck. Either way it should be a really good night!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

The weather forecast doesn't sound too bad for tommorow evening, its saying rain during the day but its to clear in the evening, I could live with with that. A mate of mine has just realised that this is an outdoor gig :D