Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United vs Real Madrid Match Thread. 5/3/2013 K.O 19.45

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,312 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

The red card wasn't "the worst decision of all time". He went studs into a player. Red card, simple. Looking at the ball, not the man isn't an excuse to kick someone like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,038 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Liam O wrote: »
    Something will have to change with refereeing. That ref has just cost United millions of pounds.

Hang on if anyone questions the refs in the premier league with utd involved we are called mad and conspiracy theorists. Not a bit of double standards.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Why weren't we playing like this when they got the first one :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,428 ✭✭✭.jacksparrow.

Mickeroo wrote: »

I'd go so far to say the ref was looking for an excuse. I'm not usually one for conspiracy theories but Spanish teams getting decisions like this in the CL happens too often for my liking.

It's a conspiracy joe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

0ph0rce0 wrote: »
    As are you

grow up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,042 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

FutureGuy wrote: »
    explain why chopper? Tried to control the ball.

I already explained why. It was a ball coming down from height that he knew was not going to go unchallenged by a Real player, yet he still went in with his foot high and studs showing.

He then proceeded to kick another player square in the chest.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 731 ✭✭✭inmyday

naughtb4 wrote: »
    Rooney for Giggs?

Would like to see the Sending off again, didnt really see it first time, like to make up my own mind, looked a bit stupid from nani, but a yellow

No, stop it.

I dont support utd, and Ive got money on madrid. But Nani was not stupid. He is very very unlucky.

The people on here saying Nani deserved a red are being silly. basically just trying to kick utd fans while they are down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,991 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

The games has gone down the toilet.

Have to admit the ref did truly **** this game right up.

I want to say it was a red but just cant bring myself to do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

Whoever thinks that was a red needs their head examined.

There was only one person that called that a red and he has a whistle in his hand.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Poor mods

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Just tuned into the match late so missed the sending off live. I have checked it out on YouTube and tbh if you go into a tackle like that then there is a good chance you will be sent off. It is a real shame as the match was evenly balanced. I would blame Nani for being stupid rather than the ref for a bad decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭RidleyRider

As are you

What have you contributed other than trolling?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,889 ✭✭✭✭klose

While ramos methods and style grates on people i still think hes an excellent centre half, deserves the hype. Lives on a tightrope

• Registered Users Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭derfderf

I'd go so far to say the ref was looking for an excuse. I'm not usually one for conspiracy theories but Spanish teams getting decisions like this in the CL happens too often for my liking.

The Chelsea - Barca semi final a few years ago was the worst I've ever seen

• Subscribers Posts: 16,592 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Ah ffs, why didn't he give a peno and send Rafael off when he saved it on the line then?

He just isn't a great ref.

grow up

I am grown up.

Stop getting smart and you wont get smart answers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,312 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

efb wrote: »
    It was yellow minimum- and could be seen as a red, ITV is beyond biased, it was harsh but not a ridiculous decision some are making out. And und should have tightened up. Plenty carry on with 10 men.

Spot on imho. A lot of refs might would give a yellow, you could call it harsh. But follow the letter of the law and it's a red.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,800 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Sacramento wrote: »
    Oh look at all the attention you'll get! Does it make you feel good?

Sad.
    Are you for real? A lot of people disagree with your opinion, and they're sad?

It was an awful tackle.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭handsomecake

Ashley young to dive? What are the odds

gandalf wrote: »
    Just tuned into the match late so missed the sending off live. I have checked it out on YouTube and tbh if you go into a tackle like that then there is a good chance you will be sent off. It is a real shame as the match was evenly balanced. I would blame Nani for being stupid rather than the ref for a bad decision.

Explain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,769 ✭✭✭dmc17

The ref's wiki page is providing some amusing updates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

IT WASN'T A ****ING TACKLE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

10 mins left for Pepe to get his card.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 755 ✭✭✭sea_monkey

It was an awful tackle.

see, thats the thing, it wasnt a tackle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Leiva wrote: »

There was only one person that called that a red and he has a whistle in his hand.

And a professional referee.

ITV worried no British teams in the quarter final. Two German teams in the final for me.

(Is that possible with the draw?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭stooge

must resist the urge to respond to the WUMs on here :)

Sending off changed the game alright, but Ferguson didnt help by winding the crowd up. Best thing would have been to get rooney on to hold the ball up and calm the team down. Cant believe the decision, could be forgiven if he made a spur of the moment decision, but he had loads of time to think about it. Fergie tirade coming up in he post match conference I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

Giggs going to get the full 90?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Was just thinking the same

Chelsea, Arsenal, Utd could all complain about decision

Funnily when one teams fans complain the others prob just tell them to get on with it ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,984 ✭✭✭Soups123

It was an awful tackle.
    You and some other trolls. It was a shocking decision full stop

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭handsomecake

Called it a red myself straight away. Support neither team

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

It was an awful tackle.

Stop making a tit of yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭bluefinger

nanired.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,040 ✭✭✭markie29

and a few people on here too called it a red which i have to say the red card was unwarranted

I already explained why. It was a ball coming down from height that he knew was not going to go unchallenged by a Real player, yet he still went in with his foot high and studs showing.

He then proceeded to kick another player square in the chest.
    You are a troll, sir. How dare you use your eyes to see what's blatantly in front of you to make an informed decision :pac:

Shocking thread this, Any negative comments about utd and your a troll.

And yous are telling me to grow up.

Get a grip lads.

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

You's can stop the corners now, my bet is in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

The conspiracy theory forum is gonna be rocking tonight!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

derfderf wrote: »

The Chelsea - Barca semi final a few years ago was the worst I've ever seen
    Aye that was outrageous and I detest chelsea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I don't care how hard Danny Welbeck works, how quick and athletic he is and how much he loves Man United. The lad is a striker, his sole responsibility should be to score goals, and 1 goal in 30 odd games doesn't paint the picture of a Champions League standard player.

It was an awful tackle.

Yeah I am for real. As someone else said, the second things started going bad for United the thread was flooded with rival fans looking to kick United fans when they're down. It's truly pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

A lot of red tinted specs on display.

He deserved to be sent off.

No he didn't!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Dont think its over yet

• Site Banned Posts: 26,456 ✭✭✭✭Nuri Sahin

Jaysus :eek:

Stop making a tit of yourself.
    Oh ffs.

I explained my reasons why it was a red, the foot was up high, the studs were showing, Nani had no control and he connected directly into the stomach of the opposing player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Aw you can't miss those Rooney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Explain?

If you go into a tackle with your foot that high especially if an opposition player is challenging then its not going to end well. Add the fact you are up against a Spanish team who are known to be the kings of simulation then you need to use your brain. Nani didn't hence the card. That said if it was the premiership it probably would have been a yellow.

If that header went in we'd be looking at a very good finish!

United were caught vulnerable for the second goal, pity really.

I really hope Lawrenson is sacked soon. He's been a disgrace all night.

Ive stuck a tenner on UTD to win this. They can do it i reckon.

UTD + AN Hour Extra Time = Loads of monies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

efb wrote: »

And a professional referee.

ITV worried no British teams in the quarter final. Two German teams in the final for me.

(Is that possible with the draw?)

Just because he's a referee doesn't make him any good or less probe to an absolute disaster of a decision like this one. Stop grinding your sad agenda. Bad decision is a bad decision

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Shocking thread this, Any negative comments about utd and your a troll.

And yous are telling me to grow up.

Get a grip lads.

Nope, just trolls are trolls and this place is full of them. It's an embarrassment and the people doing it will be the very ones complaining when a United fan posts in the Liverpool match thread at the weekend