Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United vs Real Madrid Match Thread. 5/3/2013 K.O 19.45

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

Rekop dog wrote: »
    I can't think of a single logical argument of how the team could be stronger without Rooney.

If he's not injured it may be the single most baffling decisions of Fergie's long career

Go read Blatter's post on it, there's clear logic to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭Renn

I can't think of a single logical argument of how the team could be stronger without Rooney.

If he's not injured it may be the single most baffling decisions of Fergie's long career

And again, did you see his performance last week? Maybe something to do with that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

I imagine Ferguson thinks Carrick and Giggs can replicate the performance they had against Chelsea in the Champions league 2 seasons ago.
    The problem is that Real are a far faster ,more clinical and better side.

Utd will have to score first with that team lineup ,it's very negative.

What? Giggs Cleverely Nani Welbeck RVP are all starting and you think it's a negative line up. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

Giggs vast Euro experience will be beneficial. Dropping Rooney is very strange. He's a very versatile player so surely he could have been fitted into any system SAF is going to play. No doubt about RVP displacing Rooney as the talisman now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,328 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

adox wrote: »
    Still trying to figure out exactly what shape Utd will play?

4-5-1? 4-3-3?

It looks like 4-2-3-1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,502 ✭✭✭recyclops

linekar is not a happy man

Gary Lineker, BBC Sport
    "Completely flummoxed as to why SAF would leave out Wayne Rooney. Huge gamble! I mean Nani?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 376 ✭✭sawfish

Left out Beckham in the last game united played against madrid.

Beckham came on near the end, scored twice but it was too late..

http://manutdvrealmadrid.com/previousmatches.html

Ferguson doesn't do negative tbf.

Over the last few seasons Giggs has been off the pace in big CL games. Big gamble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,365 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

What type of reverse Scouse sorcery is this you WITCH!

could not believe it myself.

Fergie will come out of this looking like a genius or a numpty; I don't think there's a middle ground with thst team selection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

I don't see the shock with Nani starting, he's top notch. Giggs I'm concerned about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Jesus, that lineup :eek:

Let's see how this goes. I really hope Nani steps up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,172 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Oh no....Gary Lineker isn't happy....cancel the game!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

Pudsy33 wrote: »
    I don't see the shock with Nani starting, he's top notch. Giggs I'm concerned about.

It wouldn't be a Utd match thread without an unhealthy dose of pessimism.

Pretty sure if Jesus Christ himself was starting there'd still be moaning over it! (I mean can he even play football!?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Fall_Guy

How do people see this united team lining up??

4-2-3-1 with Carrick and Cleverley in midfield with Giggs-Welbeck-Nani Ahead of them?

Welbeck to sit on Alonso? Nani to provide outlet ball for counter attacks? Giggs to float around giving me heart attacks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

You'd swear Rooney is a luxury player that can't play in multiple systems the way people going on. His workrate eclipses most in the team not to mind his ability.

I can't get my head around it at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

recyclops wrote: »
    linekar is not a happy man

Gary Lineker, BBC Sport
    "Completely flummoxed as to why SAF would leave out Wayne Rooney. Huge gamble! I mean Nani?"
    Holy shit, those MOTD lads never cease to amaze me... Nani??? Nani's not the goddamn problem, it's starting Giggs is the problem.

Fall_Guy wrote: »
    How do people see this united team lining up??

4-2-3-1 with Carrick and Cleverley in midfield with Giggs-Welbeck-Nani Ahead of them?

Welbeck to sit on Alonso? Nani to provide outlet ball for counter attacks? Giggs to float around giving me heart attacks?

I fear that's inevitable!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,391 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Giggs should not be starting with Rooney and Kagawa on the bench, I fully realise he'll now probably score but it's a ludicrous decision.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭m.j.w

best game of the season and its on tv3 ffs! have to listen to mark lawenson talking complete ****e!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

OctavarIan wrote: »
    Pretty sure if Jesus Christ himself was starting there'd still be moaning over it! (I mean can he even play football!?)

He's brilliant at going up for the cross

• Registered Users Posts: 553 ✭✭✭BASHIR

m.j.w wrote: »
    best game of the season and its on tv3 ffs! have to listen to mark lawenson talking complete ****e!!

I've been informed its on utv, thank feck.

RikkFlair wrote: »

So so bad, it's almost good :pac:

tumblr_lsoqxd85wh1qg07poo1_500.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nolars

Nani hahaha

• Registered Users Posts: 8,500 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

Should we lose Fergie has left him self open to massive amounts of criticism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭R019912

I heard someone the other day saying there's no way Fergie would let sentiment get in the way of football decisions- I think this proves the opposite. I love Giggsy but surely he would've been much better option to bring on with 20 mins to go and use his experience to see out what is hopefully a winning position

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭HoPpiE

RikkFlair wrote: »

Nah, he gets nailed every time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,844 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

bassy wrote: »
    There's no way In hell giggs will start this game,he will be a sub and come on with 20 or so minutes to go.

You were saying?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

Did anybody watch Rooney in the first leg at all?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

I reckon Giggs will play a stormer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Coleen Rooney ‏@ColeenRoo Can't believe @WayneRooney isn't starting tonight!!!

lol Coleen gonna have a word with Fergie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

MD1990 wrote: »
    Coleen Rooney ‏@ColeenRoo Can't believe @WayneRooney isn't starting tonight!!!

lol Coleen gonna have a word with Fergie

Can't believe you are following Coleen Rooney on Twitter. :pac:

R019912 wrote: »
    I heard someone the other day saying there's no way Fergie would let sentiment get in the way of football decisions- I think this proves the opposite. I love Giggsy but surely he would've been much better option to bring on with 20 mins to go and use his experience to see out what is hopefully a winning position

There is 0% sentiment in this decision.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

Ferguson looks to be trying to nick this one with maybe a 1-0 as that line up looks like its designed to keep possesion for as long as possible.

Genius or stupid?

Not gonna even try and guess that one cause he has shut many up before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Rooney on his way out going by that decision.

Thought Madrid were going to win anyway but this seals it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,364 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Nani ‏@luisnani
    Ready for the game.

Rooney on his way out going by that decision.

That's a big leap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

adox wrote: »
    Can't believe you are following Coleen Rooney on Twitter. :pac:
    im not following her though seen a retweet of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,980 ✭✭✭doc_17

No Rooney? Must have a read trough and se what United fans think this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,391 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Ultimately it didn't work against City last season and I can't see it working tonight. It's like Fergie thinks it's Wigan not Real Madrid coming to town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

Lot of over reaction from the Rooney thing. Just look at Blatters post explaining it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,829 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

United to get 2 goals in the last 30mins once all the subs are brought on!

Lot of over reaction from the Rooney thing. Just look at Blatters post explaining it.

Link?

Keno 92 wrote: »
    Nani ‏@luisnani
    Ready for the game.

Whats nani doing tweeting 25 minutes before the game!! Maybe its his family or somethin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

sawfish wrote: »
    Link?

As you wish.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 68,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Grid.

Giggsy startin'.....bloody hell!!!!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Keno 92 wrote: »
    Nani ‏@luisnani
    Ready for the game.
    He'd f*cking better be. Biggest game ofthe season so far and he's barely played. Ferg is placing a huge amount o trust in him.

Blatter wrote: »
    I wonder what chance of Rooney not starting?

Chance he could go with:

RvP
    Kagawa
    Welbeck
    Nani

Reason I say is because in Madrid, he shifted Welbeck (even though he had the option to put Rooney there) into that position in the second half, and it worked really well in terms of stifling Alonso and Rooney was quite ineffective from the wing (as he is against most top level opposition in that position, it's just not his position) so SAF might be thinking that an in form Nani would give the side a far greater outlet playing out wide, and he isn't that much worse defensively in that position than Rooney, if at all. Kagawa is again a lot more suited than playing out wide than Rooney, and is off the back of a hattrick.

I must qualify this by saying that I don't think the above will happen but I think there is a chance of it if SAF really wants Welbeck on Alonso again and doesn't fancy Rooney out wide.

Great shout.

But Alonso is a very clever player.lets see

• Registered Users Posts: 8,984 ✭✭✭Soups123

Enjoy Manu fans looking forward to it ads neutral more than any game for a long while.

United 3-2

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

As an outsider this is a great decision by Ferguson, if you stifle Alonso then Madrid don't play. 3 in midfield will mean he sees much less of the ball.