Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

So... I just served Jedward...

• 04-03-2013 2:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭

Yes, they do talk like that in real life :P

So what other minor celebs/ actual ones have you come across in your place of work?

My boss served Michael Fassbender about 2 weeks ago, heard he's lovely! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

Shirley Temple Bar.

Wish he'd ordered a fruit salad but he only had a stupid sandwich that I couldn't laugh at.

• Registered Users Posts: 904 ✭✭✭Drakares

It's okay folks, I'll take this one.

No one cares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,207 ✭✭✭maximoose

How long have you worked in female hormone therapy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

Served Louis Walsh.

Nice guy.

Hair is thinning - cant tell on TV. Quite short too.

Cool Maserati as well. Engine like a fcuking tiger.

• Registered Users Posts: 567 ✭✭✭.Henry Sellers.

Served....ye durty fecker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Everybody's the same at the end of the day. No need for any 'airs and graces' if you're just doing your job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭smcelhinney

Served?

I hope it was a fcuking restraining order from the Internet, TV and radio..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Loads, most of them were arrogant gimps.

Lots of the cast from Fair City were sound but I don't think I'd call them famous or celebs.

OP they leave a tip?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭SparkySpitfire

P_1 wrote: »
    Everybody's the same at the end of the day. No need for any 'airs and graces' if you're just doing your job.

I didn't even let on I knew who they were. Didn't wanna give them the satisfaction - they annoy the hell out of me in general so I wasn't gonna be a hypocrite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭13spanner

I was talking to the lad Mickey Joe Hart beat to go to the Eurovision in a porta-cabin once.

Nice guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,899 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

Served?

I hope it was a fcuking restraining order from the Internet, TV and radio..

I was hoping he served them their own heads on a plate

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 19,241 Mod ✭✭✭✭L.Jenkins

You served them! I hope you threw in a bag of Prozac for good measure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

when i worked in bewleys i met loads, mostly cast members from father ted

ardal o hanlon - sound if a little wired

the priest that played dick byrne - very rude

the priest that spoke like a monkey - sound

pat shortt - sound

sinead o connor - national c*nt

michael mc elhatton - extremely nice bloke

ive met loads more most of them have been sound

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

I served pat short years ago and he made some crack about my hair, I asked him was he some kind of comedian.

Found out later, yes, yes he was.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

It would be much better if you just served them with a double uppercut.

Or a 25-hit Killer Instinct Combo with finishing move. Each.

Or just served them in some sort of high school dance off.

• Registered Users Posts: 122 ✭✭GoldCobra

• Registered Users Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

Everyone was hoping you meant that in a Boris Becker way OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭SunnyDub1

was in café in the airport a couple of weeks ago when I hear this overly loud annoying voice , and stupid loud laugh. Turn around and there is Brian Dowling making his way into the café :rolleyes:

He was only short of saying "I'm Brian dowling, look at me, look at me, look at me" :rolleyes:

Frynge wrote: »
    I served pat short years ago and he made some crack about my hair, I asked him was he some kind of comedian.

Found out later, yes, yes he was.

This made me laugh :pac:

I wish I could've served them, but alas my stubby legs could not vault over the counter quick enough :(

I gave them their milk teeth and off they went into the sunset... :o

SunnyDub1 wrote: »
    was in café in the airport a couple of weeks ago when I hear this overly loud annoying voice , and stupid loud laugh. Turn around and there is Brian Dowling making his way into the café :rolleyes:

He was only short of saying "I'm Brian dowling, look at me, look at me, look at me" :rolleyes:

Really dislike him...

Minor celebrities seem to be way worse with this than actual ones. It's mad, why would anyone WANT people to take notice of them?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,440 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Jim Corr came into my office one day.. he tried to walk into a press thinking it led to another room

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭ashers222

couple of local GAA all stars and few national athletic champs and horsey jockey people who I wouldn't really know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

xzanti wrote: »
    Jim Corr came into my office one day.. he tried to walk into a press thinking it led to another room

Probably thought it was the secret entrance to the lair of the lizard men.

• Registered Users Posts: 96 ✭✭Clondalphian

I've served The guy that plays Eoin McLove in Father Ted. How I kept a straight face while serving him I'll never know.He was a nice guy in fairness. One of the other guys I worked with served Rhys Ifans. He said he was really sound.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

So ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 731 ✭✭✭inmyday

Dean0088 wrote: »
    Served Louis Walsh.

Nice guy.

Hair is thinning - cant tell on TV. Quite short too.

Cool Maserati as well. Engine like a fcuking tiger.

Hold on there. A man in his 50s is a bit thin on top???
    O my golly gosh!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,534 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Michael Martin, Colm Meaney, Bertie Ahern, Dermot O'Leary, Pat Fenlon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Brian Kennedy, absolute knobjockey

• Registered Users Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Pudders

I served Richard Harris in a pub in London in 1990. He paid for a pint of guinness with a £50 note, probably cost only about £2.50, and told me to keep the change. What a man.

Also served loads of other mainly b list celebrities who generally were cocks so I couldn't be arsed listing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

I served loads but I didn't get an impression of them. Didn't say much. Just got their stuff and left.
    I did serve one of the cheeky girls and she was lovely. Looked way better than she did on TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Pudders wrote: »
    I served Richard Harris in a pub in London in 1990. He paid for a pint of guinness with a £50 note, probably cost only about £2.50, and told me to keep the change. What a man.

Also served loads of other mainly b list celebrities who generally were cocks so I couldn't be arsed listing them.

National hero.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

Yes, they do talk like that in real life :P

Dundrum shopping centre is not real life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭kingtiger

served loads of them in a swanky bar in London years ago

Alex Ferguson was an absolute gent (thought he would be a wank8r)

Jimmy White (arsehole)

Buzz Aldrin (sound out and a good laugh)

Wendy James (hmmmmmm)

Michael Hutchence (off his face at the time)

Micheal Cane (brilliant laugh)

plus a few more but to lazy to list them

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,508 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I was hoping it was a subpoena rather than a sub sandwich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 500 ✭✭✭Jarrod

I sold Ronnie Delaney a lotto ticket once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

A waitress in a Prague Irish pub I worked in slammed the door in the face of an American couple as "Sorry, we are closed", manager looks up, goes "Holy ****" runs over, opens the door and says "Good Evening Mr Cruise, Ms Kidman, so sorry about that, do come in".

They were in town filming Mission Impossible, held the wrap party in the pub and left a tip of......

.......nothing. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭greenbicycle

Have met/served/talked to lots of minor celebs, again not all really worth listing

Some notable points however:

Sinead O'Connor is even smaller and scruffier in real life than you would think
    Kathryn lynch is very arrogant when she doesnt get what she wants
    Cian from westlife is really small
    BrendanO'Connor is skinner in real life and he is as rude as one would expect
    Ryan Tubridy loves haribo jellies
    Ray D'Arcy is a lovely man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭hollster2

Brain mc FaTTen when I was into westlife total pig

Louie Walsh he was sound seen him at a westlife concert with Daniel o Donnell lol

Kurt Russell, Goldie Hawn and Kate Hudson came into my local pub couple of years ago they were all lovely!!

Ryan Tubirty in a chipper he was nice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

What's the best way to serve celebrities? Deep fried? Sauteed? Roasted on a spit? With chips or side salad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Dave0301

hollster2 wrote: »
    Brain mc FaTTen when I was into westlife total pig

Louie Walsh he was sound seen him at a westlife concert with Daniel o Donnell lol

Kurt Russell, Goldie Hawn and Kate Hudson came into my local pub couple of years ago they were all lovely!!

Ryan Tubirty in a chipper he was nice

You're very witty!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭hollster2

Dave0301 wrote: »

HaHaHa:D:D

Dundrum shopping centre is not real life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Kev_2012

Kerry King, Corey Taylor, The Corminator hahaha, most of the munster team when they were langers drunk, Rob Kearney who was taking the piss out of me for wearing a Munster jersey to an Ireland match in Thomond park. They were all fairly sound! Except Jean De Villiers was avoiding people a lot (wouldn't blame him tbh.)

padraig harrington in harolds cross a few years ago, he was a twat

brian cowen in 2004, was very nice

not really a celeb but saw a supposed model who's daddy sung about a woman in red in a pub a while ago. made it my business to turn my chair to her so i was facing away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭HowAreWe

I'm friends with their first cousin.

He ****ing hates them. Says they act like that at family meals etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Martyn1989

One of RTEs newsreaders or weathermen or whatever he is, don't know his name, don't want to.

Danny Dyer in a hotel I was working in Wales, the fact that he's famous didn't stop the fat pig of a manager stealing a few chips before his plate went out. No different from any other customer.

The Trailer Park Boys in the bar I'm currently working in Calgary. Seemed decent enough, then the drink got to them, then the coke got to them, then they went a little weird. Tried to bring all the waitresses to their hotel but none of them would have it. Didn't leave a decent tip considering the amount of free stuff they got.

Kev_2012 wrote: »
    Kerry King, Corey Taylor, The Corminator hahaha, most of the munster team when they were langers drunk, Rob Kearney who was taking the piss out of me for wearing a Munster jersey to an Ireland match in Thomond park. They were all fairly sound! Except Jean De Villiers was avoiding people a lot (wouldn't blame him tbh.)

Wow, the Corminator, aren't you lucky :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Aidan Quinn: Nice, down to earth guy, his entourage were awful cnuts though
    The Frames: Surprisingly sound,and offered to put me on guest list for the gig they were playing that night
    Hector: Great craic, and a big tipper
    Tommy Tiernan: An even bigger dickhead than I thought he would be. And thats saying something
    Madge Bishop from Neighbours: One of the most polite people I've ever met
    Sharon Ni Bheolain: Didn't leave a tip

Kev_2012 wrote: »

were you calling in the jury when you saw him?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,439 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

Daniel Day Lewis. He was a regular in a cafe that I worked in. Incredibly nice and you'd barely recognise him or know that he was famous. Just so down to earth.
    Was fairly cool holding his credit card too. Imagine the money on that! :-D