Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Newstalk part company with Off The Ball team

• 04-03-2013 5:39pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,276 ✭✭✭

Presenters Eoin McDevitt, Ken Early, Ciaran Murphy, Simon Hick and Mark Horgan have resigned. Hopefully they have just been poached by a 'bigger station'...really enjoyed listening to them for years.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,535 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

What bigger station?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

any reason for this and is it immediate effect?
    What bigger station?

assume he means RTE or Today FM, with 98FM and FM104 also "big".

• Registered Users Posts: 2,276 ✭✭✭IRISHSPORTSGUY

What bigger station?

One that writes bigger pay cheques ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,276 ✭✭✭IRISHSPORTSGUY

http://thescore.thejournal.ie/off-the-ball-818471-Mar2013/?utm_source=shortlink
    NEWSTALK HAVE TODAY parted company with the team behind the award-winning Off The Ball programme.
    Presenter Eoin McDevitt, Ken Early, Ciaran Murphy, Simon Hick and Mark Horgan have resigned according to the station.
    A statement issued to TheScore.ie reads: ”Ger Gilroy, Newstalk Sports Editor, who devised Off the Ball in 2002, will be joined by mainstays of the Newstalk sports team – Cian Murtagh, David McIntyre and Joe Molloy – in taking over the running of the show, starting tonight.
    “Newstalk would like to thank Eoin, Simon, Ken, Ciaran and Mark for their contributions to the station and wish them luck in their future endeavours.”
    The incredibly-popular nightly sports show has been running for almost a decade.
    More to follow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I am in mourning. The best show on radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Bollocks.

Really was great show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,592 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Pity alright, hopefully they pop up elsewhere before long and hopefully Newstalk keep the time slot for a sports show long term too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,926 ✭✭✭deisedude

I doubt they have been poached. Presenters wouldn't go with immediate effect because of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,056 ✭✭✭applehunter

Presume they have been approached by RTÉ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,364 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Feck sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,909 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

:(:(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Wait!! Wait!!!

<looks at calendar: Not 1st of April>

Awh... :(

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,535 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Yeah, I assumed so. None of them really have dedicated sports shows at the moment though.

Today FM can perhaps be ruled out because they have the same owner. FM104 wouldn't really be a good fit IMO. RTÉ/2FM are the only possibilities that stand out for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Best radio sports show by a mile. I hope they don't go to RTE as they won't be given proper time and editorial freedom as they obviously enjoyed at newstalk. RTE do a lovely line in dated cliched analysis so hopefully they won't go down that road.
    Does this effect the weekend shows or is this a completely different team

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

my money was on Today FM til I realised they (Newstalk) are owned by the same Co.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,948 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

The arse is going to fall out of Newstalk. Morning show gone to sh!te. And now the best radio show is gone too.

Disaster. I can only imagine the plunge in listeners will be staggering. The advertisers won't like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Same owner but presumably Today FM and Newstalk have separate budgets? May well turn up there. God I'd hate to hear them on RTE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

Never listened to it live . Always downloaded the podcast even though I can't stand Ken Earley .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Really pissed off at this,listened every night without fail and attended a few of the roadshows over the years.Far less puerile then most sports shows,and had nice little features on interesting stories that I otherwise would never have heard of.Plus it had Ken's weekly arguments with Graham Hunter!

RTE have that new sports show so they'll probably end up there unfortunately,no other viable alternatives really.Can't see FM104/98FM being able to afford hiring the whole team,or dedicating 15 hours a week to a sports show either.

Doubt Today FM would be a goer either seeing as they are also owned by DOB and operate out of the same studios as NT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Maybe they're off to 2FM - they've just started a nightly sports show I believe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭BOHtox

They never had enough LOI on it anyway...:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭jive

ahhh what the shít. my quality of life just dropped 10 fold... those long journeys up and down the country will now be spent looking at hedges only now my car won't be filled with joy and laughter, it will be filled solely by a callous, indifferent and very bored young man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Seems very strange for them to up and leave so quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,366 ✭✭✭✭8-10

The decision came after the crew requested to take an hour off the George Hook show and go on the air at 6.00pm but that was turned down by the station.

It’s thought station chiefs felt this did not make sense commercially and would also affect audience figures.

Insiders said the Off the Ball team also turned down the opportunity of an extra Saturday morning slot.

From the Indo...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,797 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

No loss, I can't stand Ken Early.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭Jax Teller

Probably said we'll resign if you don't give us what we want & Newstalk called their bluff .

Full link from the Indo
    http://www.independent.ie/entertainment/tv-radio/entire-newstalks-off-the-ball-team-resigns-29107988.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,534 ✭✭✭SickBoy

sad_face-600x450.jpg
    Oh Noes :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Who owns the indo?that story doesn't wash with me at all!

The OTB lads aren't stupid,I'd doubt they'd resign en masse over a scheduling issue.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,586 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Disaster for my daily commute

:-(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Fromthetrees

RTE should pick them up and they can continue on the show. It'd be a shame if the show was lost for good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

Gilroy, McIntyre et al does not inspire much confidence.

Doubt I'll bother my arse listening anymore. The replacements have very little personality between them, imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

No loss, I can't stand Ken Early.

He was primarily on it for an hour. There was 2 hours where his input was minimal

Presenters Eoin McDevitt, Ken Early, Ciaran Murphy, Simon Hick and Mark Horgan have resigned. Hopefully they have just been poached by a 'bigger station'...really enjoyed listening to them for years.

Devastated isnt the word. I particularly enjoyed Richie Sadlier's piece of a Tuesday night. But i dont think we've heard the last from the lads tbh. 5 leaving together is a sign that they have been poached.

That said i cant help feeling Newstalk allows its presenters that little bit more creative freedom then the rest. Only my opinion but i cant imagine the stiffos on RTE being too pleased if they used the likes of Paul Kimmages 'He does and his B**lcks' as part of their intro jingle :D

The lads are brilliant though. They are 3 lads you'd gladly let into your home every night of the week to have a natter about sport and thats what effectively listeners were doing. There was real listener involvement and the lads are just brilliant, knowledgeable and seemingly extremely down to earth guys. Ken's football newsround with the cheesy music every night is another highlight ill miss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

What are we going to do without Murph's Country Pages?

Banjaxed82 wrote: »
    The arse is going to fall out of Newstalk. Morning show gone to sh!te. And now the best radio show is gone too.

Disaster. I can only imagine the plunge in listeners will be staggering. The advertisers won't like this.

Im still laughing at the Knorr stock cube plugs from a few weeks back :D or Richie Sadliers dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,406 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Neil3030 wrote: »
    Same owner but presumably Today FM and Newstalk have separate budgets? May well turn up there. God I'd hate to hear them on RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

Today FM, newstalk and 98FM are all owned by the same person...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,998 ✭✭✭leakyboots

Ken's football newsround with the cheesy music every night is another highlight ill miss.

Cheesy? That's Herbie Hancock!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,909 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

LuckyLloyd wrote: »

I presume it's because they wouldnt have the same editorial freedom maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,406 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

I presume it's because they wouldnt have the same editorial freedom maybe?

If they were able to transport their show whole to 2FM I'm not sure it would be a problem. RTE are the biggest game in town lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

This sucks monkey gonads.

I fricken love this show. Gilroy and the mercenaries brought in to keep it going dont have a patch on the lads.

Seriously, a sad day...

leakyboots wrote: »
    Cheesy? That's Herbie Hancock!!

Ohh?? i actually didnt know tbh. Whats the name of the music? Herbie slightly before my time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

RTE will sanitise and destroy them

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    If they were able to transport their show whole to 2FM I'm not sure it would be a problem. RTE are the biggest game in town lads.

RTE will stifle the sh*t out of it though although Gerry Ryan tbf had unbelievable freedom it must be said for a 9am slot. I think he was the exception as opposed to the rule though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Ya Ken Early's voice wrecked my head but his opinion wasn't usually too idiotic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,985 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Like others this is going to make my commute from work in the evenings a lot more boring. Really loved the show.

Just thinking there that if I had a dream job, i think it would be working with the lads. I mean think about it, meet up every night to talk about sport and get paid and have the craic with the boys. There is few better jobs i could think of

Apart from actually playing professional sport (which involves the hardship of training and fitness) i think working with them lads would be the next best thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 362 ✭✭limpdd

Ya Ken Early's voice wrecked my head but his opinion wasn't usually too idiotic

Need to listen more closely :-) I can still remember him arguing with Graham Hunter that center half was not a specialised position in top level soccer

• Registered Users Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭willowthewisp

Got way too big for their boots, pity though that we'll have to hear more of Ger Gilroy now.