Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the fastest you've ever driven?

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭DonR8

133 mph way back about 5 years ago, never again scary ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

140 km per hr. Which for my poor little renault clio is very taxing...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

amacca wrote: »
    was this a powered flight or some sort of adrenaline fuelled wing suit escapade?

Powered flight over unpopulated terrain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,141 ✭✭✭✭listermint

100MPH in a campr van on the autobahn on route to Euro 2012 with a bitch of a cross wind in the unsheltered bits, went through a full pack of jocks in that short while I can tell ya!

We were doing that too. Although i have to say the Diablo handled it very very well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

240kmh on a closed road of course.

Anything that isn't in front becomes a bit of a blur

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭pcardin

slightly over 290 km/h mark on autobahn from Hannover to Berlin in my old Quattroporte. Consumption got brutal though - around 30 litres /100 km (9 mpg I think). :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

110mph on a downhill downwind section of the M7 years ago in an old Nissan Almera.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭davidd24

280 KPH. In my 93 Integra that I threw nearly 11 Grand at. Man I was stupid with money...

• Registered Users Posts: 23 spuddoorley

over 125mph in a hdi citroen xsara, clocks only go up to 120 so thats an estimation, bought the car for 100 euro

• Registered Users Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭MonkstownHoop

however fast a bumper car goes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

48 kilograms per metre cubed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

An indicated 130mph on the Portlaoise bypass going from Limerick to Dublin at about 3am one morning many moons ago, and I came up behind a garda car doing about 60. Luckily I had slowed down a lot but I got the filthiest look as I passed them at 70mph.

I think I made Limerick to Dublin in 1h 45m that night, and that was in the days when the only bits of motorway were Portlaoise and Kildare into Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,046 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I just realised I've been much faster in a train that I've ever been in a car.
    Car: about 190 km/h in a little Mazda 323, years ago on a motorway in South Africa. A cab driver in suburban Düsseldorf came darned close a few years ago, on a short section of (restricted) Autobahn. I think he saw me put on the rear seat belt and thought "O RLY?". :cool:
    Train: about 300 km/h on the Eurostar to and from Paris.

Ye Hypocrites, are these your pranks
    To murder men and gie God thanks?
    Desist for shame, proceed no further
    God won't accept your thanks for murder.

―Robert Burns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭littleteapot

143Kph in my 1litre Yaris. Shook the shít out of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

143Kph in my 1litre Yaris. Shook the shít out of me.

Freefall , off a cliff ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,703 ✭✭✭Mr.David

310kmh/193mph

In a Ferrari 458 Italia on a private test track.

Fastest on the public road would be 258kmh in a Jag XJR in Northern France on the way to Le Mans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

TVR Tuscan @ 180mph:-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭skyhighflyer

davidd24 wrote: »
    280 KPH. In my 93 Integra that I threw nearly 11 Grand at. Man I was stupid with money...

Things you don't see from the Celtic Tiger anymore thread. :P Still, money well spent IMO.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,958 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

About 115 mph on the M50 late one night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭Chemical Burn

Caliden wrote: »
    240kmh on a closed road of course.

Anything that isn't in front becomes a bit of a blur
    pcardin wrote: »
    slightly over 290 km/h mark on autobahn from Hannover to Berlin in my old Quattroporte. Consumption got brutal though - around 30 litres /100 km (9 mpg I think). :mad:
    davidd24 wrote: »
    Mr.David wrote: »
    310kmh/193mph

In a Ferrari 458 Italia on a private test track.

Fastest on the public road would be 258kmh in a Jag XJR in Northern France on the way to Le Mans.
    EazyD wrote: »
    TVR Tuscan @ 180mph:-)
    JupiterKid wrote: »
    About 115 mph on the M50 late one night.

Jesus

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 448 ✭✭tunedout

Sorry if this has been done before, but, my search yielded nothing.

fastest I have driven was 145 kph on way back from Belfast North o' the Border, taking advantage of the fact that the NI speed cameras can't pick up a Republic License Plate and the PSNI can't chase you over the border for speeding :) although it's soon to change ... YOU ?? Was it in a car/ bus / truck / motorbike?
    145 kph? You daredevil you. Lucky you were close to a border.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭The Royal Scam

I was with the father when he took his bosses Golf VR6 out for a spin a long long time ago. I read 135mph and I was freaking out.
    About 2 months later the boss was hammering along to Abbeyleix one day giving this Camry a bit of a race. Much to his suprise this camry seemed to have some blue lights and angry guards in it. Ah those were the days... speeding tickets that disappear in the night..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

1350mph LDN to NYC

efb wrote: »
    1350mph LDN to NYC

You were on the Concorde?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

You were on the Concorde?

I was the concorde- but then it nose-dived...

Or was it the Costa Concordia...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Sorry if this has been done before, but, my search yielded nothing.

fastest I have driven was 145 kph on way back from Belfast North o' the Border, taking advantage of the fact that the NI speed cameras can't pick up a Republic License Plate and the PSNI can't chase you over the border for speeding :) although it's soon to change ... YOU ?? Was it in a car/ bus / truck / motorbike?

145 kph? calm down Mr F1 driver

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

Wibbs wrote: »
    Very few. We've remarkably safe roads all in all.

168 isn't very few in my mind. Big improvement over the years, but a lot of work could still go into changing people's ideas of what's 'fun'. I know I'll get lambasted for that on here but feck it, I must not be the only one on here who thinks speeding isn't cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,954 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

80 km/h today on my fourth lesson! :D Yes I'm proud!

Bought a car this evening and should have it tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

160Mph in a E39 M5. Odd as its allegedly restricted to 155

• Registered Users Posts: 372 ✭✭The Pheasant

200 kph flat on the M50 last night around 2AM, was pretty cool

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

Did 100kph for the first time there the other day. Pants-wettingly terrified, I was :pac:. I've no stomach for this fast business :P

Yahhhh congrats ;) have you sneaked onto the motorway yet ?? :P