Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Different types of runners? Why?

Options
  • 04-03-2013 11:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭

Hi
    I run 6 days a week and about 30 miles a week and was prescribed Mizuno Wave Alchemy by Runways when I started running 15 months ago. I got gait analysis done again in AK late last year and was advised to get the same shoe again. I have 2 pairs now which I alternate. I'm still fairly new to all of this so excuse the newbie question, but I see lots of runners on here and elsewhere have many different types of shoes on the go at the same time.
    So, if I'm to throw another pair of runners into the equation, do I just get the same ones again? Or is there any reason why I should buy a different brand/style/type of runner? Am I missing out on something? :D

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭spurscormac

If you're competitive about your times, you could consider getting a lighter shoe to use on race days.
    That's what a lot of people do, so you could go as far as a racing flat, or just a lighter training shoe.

Its good to alternate your runners in training as it gives them a chance to dry out fully and the foam to regain its full shape after being pounded into the ground for a few miles before the next session.

Personally, I have a couple of pairs, to be extended to 3 shortly. Each pair of shoes is slightly different. One will be used for long runs, one for 5-7 mile easy and tempo runs, and the new pair will be used for track sessions and 5k races, as they will be a very light pair, not really made for pounding out the big miles.