Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My News AH thread closure?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

Super-Rush wrote: »

Well if you have to close your account because your thread was closed then maybe After Hours and boards is not the place for you.

That's nice...

• Registered Users Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Well if you have to close your account because your thread was closed then maybe After Hours and boards is not the place for you.

That's a fairly inflammatory statement to be making to be fair.

Just for clarification, are you saying that in a personal capacity or in a modding context?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Squeaky the Squirrel

God...worse ye are getting by the day.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

In fairness I don't think it was the best time to choose to close his account, it has been mentioned before that it is just too easy to click a link, and that's it, your account is gone. An 48 hour cooling period makes sense.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

P_1 wrote: »
    That's a fairly inflammatory statement to be making to be fair.

Just for clarification, are you saying that in a personal capacity or in a modding context?

Both.

Both.

And you wonder why there is such a negative 'us and them' divide here?

With all this talk of 'cliques' there is a fairly large elephant in the corner here that we have so far not mentioned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

To be perfectly fair, he was told AH and FB wasn't the place for him long before he closed his account.

Outrageous statement to make about a brilliant contributor, and subscriber. Pretty sure he donated a lot of money to the SSF too, but yeah, clearly boards wasn't for him :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

K-9 wrote: »
    In fairness I don't think it was the best time to choose to close his account, it has been mentioned before that it is just too easy to click a link, and that's it, your account is gone. An 48 hour cooling period makes sense.

Completly agree with you K9. All to easy to go nuclear when you may well be thinking with an unclear head, or just píssed off. Cooling off period would be very welcome if indeed this thread is why he left. Who knows though?

A post like that of Super Rush, is akin to pissing on a corpse if you ask me.

Yes, it's the only the internet, Boards is supposed to be a community though, and fúck me if that's the spirit of Boards these days.

themadchef wrote: »
    Completly agree with you K9. All to easy to go nuclear when you may well be thinking with an unclear head, or just píssed off. Cooling off period would be very welcome if indeed this thread is why he left. Who knows though?

A post like that of Super Rush, is akin to pissing on a corpse if you ask me.

Yes, it's the only the internet, Boards is supposed to be a community though, and fúck me if that's the spirit of Boards these days.

Absolutely. Thread closure is a moot point now. To be honest Super-Rush, your attitude absolutely stinks.

keith16 wrote: »
    To be perfectly fair, he was told AH and FB wasn't the place for him long before he closed his account.

I didn't notice that at all, can you link to those posts?

I did notice his posts were very generalistic on the mods overall on AH, it seemed to stem not just from this particular decision, water of a ducks back to me at this stage, but I really don't have a clue what other issues, if any, there was.

I suppose we'll probably never know which is the pity.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

anncoates wrote: »
    Not sure people understand how boring flirty off topic chat type threads are to follow if you are not part of the 'group' or not interested in that.

You end up scrolling through the thread getting pissed off trying to pick up the trail of the original topic again.

A bit of banter is grand but pages and pages of esoteric flirting and chat...

There are lots of places you can chat in that way or even start a private forum.

I never flirted in that thread! :eek: :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Can you not reopen it?

I thought you are just changing group membership like subscriber

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

K-9 I don't think it was because the thread he started was closed that Where To closed his account. He always struck me as quite the level headed and amicable poster, and I think in his attempts in this thread to find a justifiable reason for the thread closure, he probably felt he tarnished his good reputation by coming off as a bit hard on LizT.

I think we're all aware that Where To wouldn't have meant anything particularly malicious by it and was only trying to show perhaps modding inconsistencies moreso than anything personal.

The fact is in his short time as a member of the site, Where To gave a hell of a lot more than he got back; when he wasn't starting some great threads and making people laugh, he was digging deep in his pockets and subscribing to boards, donating a nights Christmas takings to SSF, and he created a thread which for many, posters and viewers alike, was a great outlet for some, and light relief for others.

What does he get for it?

Jesus I have to turn away from the screen before the smugness radiating from this post burns my eyeballs!

An absolutely disgraceful "thanks and go fùck yourself" from a Mod who hopes to shape the future of AH? Community my hole, not when a person who contributed so much to the forum in their short time here is so easily dismissed like they threw the baby out with the bathwater.

SR it'd be more in your line now to remove that goatse sex pic post I reported about an hour ago, plus the other half a dozen threads started in AH today that I reported that could be told keep that crap off AH and save it for facebook.

A bit of consistency and transparency with Mod decisions and what is and isn't acceptable posting standards in AH wouldn't go astray either, so maybe instead of insulting former posters with the sort of dismissive posts above, how about you and your fellow Mods get together for another good long chat, have a good hard think about the direction ye want to take AH in, and come back with a new, fresh and updated charter that lays out clearly what standards ye expect of threads in AH, what standards of posts are and are not acceptable, and give members a clear road map of where you're taking the forum and how we can all help each other to get there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭ashers222

everything on boards just seems inane and uninteresting to me today, not sure if that's a good thing or a bad thing.

Thats my news for today today.

Czarcasm wrote: »

K-9 I don't think it was because the thread he started was closed that Where To closed his account. He always struck me as quite the level headed and amicable poster, and I think in his attempts in this thread to find a justifiable reason for the thread closure, he probably felt he tarnished his good reputation by coming off as a bit hard on LizT.

I think we're all aware that Where To wouldn't have meant anything particularly malicious by it and was only trying to show perhaps modding inconsistencies moreso than anything personal.

The fact is in his short time as a member of the site, Where To gave a hell of a lot more than he got back; when he wasn't starting some great threads and making people laugh, he was digging deep in his pockets and subscribing to boards, donating a nights Christmas takings to SSF, and he created a thread which for many, posters and viewers alike, was a great outlet for some, and light relief for others.

What does he get for it?

Jesus I have to turn away from the screen before the smugness radiating from this post burns my eyeballs!

An absolutely disgraceful "thanks and go fùck yourself" from a Mod who hopes to shape the future of AH? Community my hole, not when a person who contributed so much to the forum in their short time here is so easily dismissed like they threw the baby out with the bathwater.

SR it'd be more in your line now to remove that goatse sex pic post I reported about an hour ago, plus the other half a dozen threads started in AH today that I reported that could be told keep that crap off AH and save it for facebook.

A bit of consistency and transparency with Mod decisions and what is and isn't acceptable posting standards in AH wouldn't go astray either, so maybe instead of insulting former posters with the sort of dismissive posts above, how about you and your fellow Mods get together for another good long chat, have a good hard think about the direction ye want to take AH in, and come back with a new, fresh and updated charter that lays out clearly what standards ye expect of threads in AH, what standards of posts are and are not acceptable, and give members a clear road map of where you're taking the forum and how we can all help each other to get there.

Like the new rule where you can't link to someone else's posts on other parts of site.

When did that come about and what caused it?

Zaph wrote: »
    Those sort of cliquey, chat-filled threads in AH (and other forums) are a relatively new phenomenon, spawned from an influxof posters whose introduction to the internet has been via Facebook. They never existed when I joined Boards and they have only really become an issue for mods in the last couple of years. If people want to use Boards like Facebook, then just go and post on Facebook. Boards is, and always will be, a discussion site, not somewhere to bring people up to date with the most trivial aspects of your life that they don't really give a crap about anyway.
    I didn't notice that at all, can you link to those posts?

I did notice his posts were very generalistic on the mods overall on AH, it seemed to stem not just from this particular decision, water of a ducks back to me at this stage, but I really don't have a clue what other issues, if any, there was.

I suppose we'll probably never know which is the pity.

I think this is straw the broke the camels back for Where To. Zaph hasn't even had the courtesy to reply / defend his remarks here.

When did that come about and what caused it?

Some guy started a thread about playing porn on his laptop in the library. People checked his posts and he had been saying he was on the dole then someone found one saying he was doing the leaving. Micky said no linking to posts on other flora.

Right, so now we're not allowed to refute somebody's arguments based on what they may have said in the past?

Christ on a Bike!!

I accept all that, I enjoyed his posts, a genuinely funny guy. I did take him up on the more personal posts in the hope that would be the end of it.
    What does he get for it?

Seeing as he closed his account, we'll never find out, and that's a shame. Jaysus, I've many the embarrassing posts and a couple of episodes in my time here, got pissed of at moderation too, I'd take time away from the site before closing my account. It isn't as if the site would lose much of importance, but still.

Indeed, fair point, it is frowned on in some forums to quote posts from other boards to undermine a poster.

We also shouldn't be discussing a poster who left or closed their account!

I sincerely hope you didn't start serially reporting posts to prove a point?

I accept all that, I enjoyed his posts, a genuinely funny guy. I did take him up on the more personal posts in the hope that would be the end of it.

Seeing as he closed his account, we'll never find out, and that's a shame. Jaysus, I've many the embarrassing posts and a couple of episodes in my time here, got pissed of at moderation too, I'd take time away from the site before closing my account. It isn't as if the site would lose much of importance, but still.

Indeed, fair point, it is frowned on in some forums to quote posts from other boards to undermine a poster.

We also shouldn't be discussing a poster who left or closed their account!

I guess that could be another day's debate but perhaps the 'close account' function needs to be revisited to make it better for all concerned.

keith16 wrote: »
    I think this is straw the broke the camels back for Where To. Zaph hasn't even had the courtesy to reply / defend his remarks here.

That's different to what you stated.

In the interest of being fair, sometimes people read too much into a post, guilty myself.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

What does he get for it?

I called it as i saw it.

I won't apologise for it.

We've had several discussions about where we would like the forum to go and have a charter for people to follow but this thread is full of people complaing about it.

You want us to go and change it because you don't like it. If you find something you don't like next week do we have to change the charter again?

Things have been going well for a long time and i don't see the need to change anything.

I sincerely hope you didn't start serially reporting posts to prove a point?

K-9, I have reported OP's in the past that haven't been as much as a link or a short sentence.

AH is FULL of dross like this and I have rarely seen anyone apart from El Weirdo (who we don't see much of anymore), challenging these type of OPs.

As far as I know, an OP is supposed to give a decent level of input and provide their own view on the subject they are hoping to solicit discussion on and contribute to the discussion at hand.

There are a lot of threads in AH like this and nothing is done to cut them out. I may have to go back to reporting these based on the reasons so clearly outlined against the where to thread.

Perhaps then they will be applied more evenly throughout the forum.

Right, so now we're not allowed to refute somebody's arguments based on what they may have said in the past?

Christ on a Bike!!

Not necessarily. Somebody dragged up an old AH thread from about 4 years ago on my opinions on Public Service pay, it's an annoying thing to do, especially considering my opinion has completely changed in the interim, what with the recession and all that has occurred in between, a rather material change. Others bring up irrelevant stuff to win an argument.

Unfortunately, people use it to point score and abuse it, so posters who might use it for genuine reasons suffer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Where Now?

Hi

Just to end the speculation, I closed my account because I felt I had put myself in an untenable position. I thought long and hard about it before I did it, there was no rash movements.

If Super-Rush bothered to read my posts he would see that I was not particularly annoyed about the closing of a thread I started, if I was I would have been out of here gone long ago.

But as he says, boards is not for me.

That Was My News

Where To:)

I called it as i saw it.

I won't apologise for it.

We've had several discussions about where we would like the forum to go and have a charter for people to follow but this thread is full of people complaing about it.

You want us to go and change it because you don't like it. If you find something you don't like next week do we have to change the charter again?

Things have been going well for a long time and i don't see the need to change anything.

Nobody is complaining about the charter, things these days just seem like they are being made up as they go along.

One thing I will say about where to is that he at least stuck to his guns in terms of commitments he made to the SSF.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Panda that's a long standing rule and even if it was never written into the charter, it's covered by the number one rule of boards which is "don't be a dick!". Just to be crystal clear- I didn't once even tacitly approve of Where To's method of making his point, I'm only saying I can see when the frustration set in, as he had mentioned earlier in I think this thread that the thread had come to an end, let it go, but then something ticked him off (I don't know the guy, never even as much as exchanged PMs between us, so I can't offer any explanation for his motivation), and he went on a linking spree.

If I had my way, and this is only personally speaking, I'd disable the post history and search features altogether and only make them available to Mods in their Mod Utils consoles, for the purposes of weeding out consistent trolls, etc.

There's no need for ordinary posters to have the ability to search through another posters ten years of posts in various forums all over boards and throw it back in another posters face.

I've had it done to me which is one of the reasons I closed my previous account and why I suspect many others are closing theirs too. It's not pretty, it's not clever, and it's the absolute height of being a dick, which is why I detest such behaviour.

In Where To's case however, sure what he did was being a dick (hell even discussing another poster is a breach of the charter, but hopefully the Mods will see these as extenuating circumstances), but to weigh that against how much he contributed to AH and the site overall as a whole, I think he'd be the first person to admit to it himself that it wasn't one of his finest moments, and hence why I think he closed his account after the fact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

Where Now? wrote: »
    Hi

Just to end the speculation, I closed my account because I felt I had put myself in an untenable position. I thought long and hard about it before I did it, there was no rash movements.

If Super-Rush bothered to read my posts he would see that I was not particularly annoyed about the closing of a thread I started, if I was I would have been out of here gone long ago.

But as he says, boards is not for me.

That Was My News

Where To:)

In case you're lurking, you'll be sorely missed. Great poster, great contributor and all around a great boards member! Feel free to come back and visit us :p