Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Marathon 2013: Mod Note #316 NO RACE SWAPS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭jmcc99_98

Such sad news. RIP. Two tragic losses in the race series. Thoughts with both their families.

RIP

That's awful news :(

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

We do this for fun, mostly, and as a hobby, but this is a reminder that we all need to keep an eye on our heart health and general health in the midst of all this. I know I for one, dont get checkups, and we all should.

My sympathy to that guys family, such an awful thing to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 dubrgn

RIP Ricki, at least, we can take some comfort, that his family from the UK where given the opportunity to be with him in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭RoryW

foxyboxer wrote: »

Your photo is now No 2 in the all time views on my Flickr Account !!

This is the No 1 http://www.flickr.com/photos/rorywilliams/3188777295/ and you are catching fast....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Just did a quick analysis of the top 1,000 runners:
    • 87% of the runners (myself included) ran a positive split (second half was slower than the first half).
    • For those who ran a positive split, on average they ran the second half just under six minutes slower than the first half
    • For those who ran a negative split, on average they ran the second half 1 minute and 37 seconds quicker than the first half
    • Tunkuska ran the third most impressive negative split
    • Some (genuine) runners improved by over 1,400 positions, between the 10k chip timing mat, and the finish line
    • Success does not come cheap. Many runners with aggressive goals (1:20 - 1:30 first half) paid the price, and were passed by 300-500 runners.
    • Most evenly paced negative split? Maria Mc Cambridge, with a 1:19:26 first half, and a 1:19:25 second half (despite having to stop).
    • Most evenly paced positive split? Claire Mc Carthy, with a 1:19:43 first half, and a 1:19:44 second half
    • Some people cheated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

• 87% of the runners (myself included) ran a positive split (second half was slower than the first half).
    • For those who ran a positive split, on average they ran the second half just under six minutes slower than the first half
    • For those who ran a negative split, on average they ran the second half 1 minute and 37 seconds quicker than the first half
    • Some (genuine) runners improved by over 1,400 positions, between the 10k chip timing mat, and the finish line
    • Success does not come cheap. Many runners with aggressive goals (1:20 - 1:30 first half) paid the price, and were passed by 300-500 runners.
    • Most evenly paced negative split? Maria Mc Cambridge, with a 1:19:26 first half, and a 1:19:25 second half (despite having to stop).
    • Most evenly paced positive split? Claire Mc Carthy, with a 1:19:43 first half, and a 1:19:44 second half
    • One cheeky runner managed a 1:50 first half and a 1:05 second half, out-performing the entire field in the second half of the race :eek:
    • Another cheeky runner crossed the 10k mark in around 7,600th place, and managed to improve to a top 200 position overall :eek:

There is always one :rolleyes:

ecoli wrote: »
    There is always at least three. ;)

It's a bit of a massive co-incidence that the first and second females managed the most even splits (out of the top 1,000 runners).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭Dilbert75

And I'm sure deep down I'm happier with my 4 hr + non pb than he or she is with that "result".

Dilbert75 wrote: »
    And I'm sure deep down I'm happier with my 4 hr + non pb than he or she is with that "result".
    He looked fairly happy crossing the finish line. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭rob w

• One cheeky runner managed a 1:50 first half and a 1:05 second half, out-performing the entire field in the second half of the race :eek:
    • Another cheeky runner crossed the 10k mark in around 7,600th place, and managed to improve to a top 200 position overall :eek:

Thats a great summary!

How did you work out the position of runners at the different markers? Was it just by sorting results on the tdl website or something else?

I would love to find out what sort of position I was in at the half and finish markers!

rob w wrote: »
    How did you work out the position of runners at the different markers? Was it just by sorting results on the tdl website or something else?

I would love to find out what sort of position I was in at the half and finish markers!
    It's all on the TDL site; no sorting required. Just look at the stage position and chip position columns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

Nice facts but I think you should be busy writing a race report......
    Did I say well done to you on monday? My brain was mush and my teeth chattering with the cold, I couldn't remember if I had congratulated you or not. Plus I was concerned about you're colour, I shouldve taken a picture. You were sitting on a step, face purple, shivering and drinking a can of cheap looking beer.....
    Well done you ran a great race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭rob w

Thanks, only had a quick look yesterday, ill check it out later!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,703 ✭✭✭BrokenMan

Feck sake. There's photos of one if them walking in the park. No bloody shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭sassyj

BrokenMan wrote: »
    Feck sake. There's photos of one if them walking in the park. No bloody shame.

It baffles me every time I hear of people doing this, it really does :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,195 ✭✭✭Gavlor

tunguska wrote: »
    . You were sitting on a step, face purple, shivering and drinking a can of cheap looking beer......

Krusty is taking the username way to serious!

Great race and report by yourself Tunguska......

Put it another way I feel I've more to be proud of with a slow but honest time than he has with a fast but fictitious time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,469 ✭✭✭Shedite27

It's all on the TDL site; no sorting required. Just look at the stage position and chip position columns.
    Sorry if I'm being an idiot, but where are these links? Is it on this page somewhere? Leaderboard or Tracking tab?
    http://track.rtrt.me/e/TDL-DUBLIN-2013#b=RSXMLT9P&v=lboard&c=top-men-marathon&l=10K

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭PWEI

Funnily enough he doesn't have any chip time at the 20 mile mark. :rolleyes:

What ever happened to the guy who took a shortcut last year? Did he get banned from taking part again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭morceli

ecoli wrote: »
    It's funny, myself and the brother were at that 10 mile mark and the finish, When looking atthe finish there were 2 runners who went well sub 3 it was very clear he had only just joined the course. Dont think I even need to check photos to know who they were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭scargill

Could any of those dodgy results be chip errors?
    If not then I presume the result will be DQ'd?
    Name and shame if they are genuine cheaters....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭morceli

scargill wrote: »
    Could any of those dodgy results be chip errors?
    If not then I presume the result will be DQ'd?
    Name and shame if they are genuine cheaters....
    Nope, easy to check photos of people running and can see one of them walking in the park early in the race, won't post photos after what went on last year but its jsut silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

• One runner managed to finish in 2:59:59. Impressively precise pacing, that! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭PWEI

He did his first 10k in 57:57 but finished in a time of 02:53:00 in 157th position. :D
    At least the other fella ran the first half.

PWEI wrote: »
    He did his first 10k in xx:xx but finished in a time of yy:yy:yy in zzzth position. :D
    Less of the lynch mobs, please folks. I kept the statistics intentionally vague to avoid any finger pointing. They know they cheated. It's enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭cian_r

Less of the lynch mobs, please folks. I kept the statistics intentionally vague to avoid any finger pointing. They know they cheated. It's enough.

Maybe I'm naive here, but I dont get it. What do they gain from cheating in a marathon? Unless you are in with a real chance of actually winning the race, you are only really competing against yourself. So whats the point of cheating??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 shoottherunner

Shedite27 wrote: »
    Very sad. Experienced club runner too, although first time at the marathon distance - finished in 3:10

Ironically running it to raise funds for the British Heart Foundation

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/dublin-marathon-runner-dies-following-collapse-on-monday-29712049.html

Had just sat down to write a race report when I read this. Quite a shock. Ricki finished a few places ahead of me, the paramedics were arriving as I passed the finish line. I was too busy over celebrating by my own finish to take much notice, it was only a few hours after the race that I started to wonder what had happened. Like everyone else, i've been hoping he'd pull through since then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭Monkey Allen

How is it possible to cheat in this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭dechol

How is it possible to cheat in this?

Take a short cut! Missing chip times from Timing mats / unusual splits though would mean disqualification I would think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭Monkey Allen

dechol wrote: »
    Take a short cut! Missing chip times from Timing mats / unusual splits though would mean disqualification I would think.
    Yes I understand they could take a short cut but, I would have thought they wouldn't register a finish time if they didn't reach every checkpoint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭overpronator

So are people actually biking or driving from certain points in the course to another and jumping back in, is that the general jist? Jaysus that's about as sad as it gets in marathon terms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭patsypantaloni

I finished in 5.15 which for most people is a very slow time, but I know the effort that went in to covering every step of that 26.2 miles to get to the finish line, and I know the sense of achievement that comes with that...

Just can't get my head around the mentality of those who would cheat, in the end they're fooling only themselves and have absolutely nothing to be proud of. I guess I'd rather be a very slow finisher than a very fast cheat :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

Richie's charity page has gone up by 10 times the amount today. Was £200 or so, it's now over £2600

https://www.justgiving.com/RickiSavage/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

PWEI wrote: »
    He did his first 10k in 57:57 but finished in a time of 02:53:00 in 157th position. :D

I love reading through these types of stats - I would not have even checked my own split stats if I hadn't looked at these, having done so, I have just realised I had a completely even split - DOWN TO THE SECOND :eek:

Marathon's are good :D

nerraw1111 wrote: »
    Richie's charity page has gone up by 10 times the amount today. Was £200 or so, it's now over £2600

https://www.justgiving.com/RickiSavage/[/QUOTE]

This really does put perspective on the whole thing - similiar to the poor lad in the half earlier in the year. RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 foralongtime

You're far too nice! "They know who they are" works fine if someone makes a mistake, wins at something and then feels remorse or guilt. These guys put a lot of planning and organisation into ducking out somewhere in the PP, hopping on a stashed bike and sneaking back in on the other side. I don't like internet vigilantism either but a marathon is a hard fought achievement and these people cheated.

That aside, fair play on the numbers, I love seeing statistics :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭Big Logger

You're far too nice! "They know who they are" works fine if someone makes a mistake, wins at something and then feels remorse or guilt. These guys put a lot of planning and organisation into ducking out somewhere in the PP, hopping on a stashed bike and sneaking back in on the other side. I don't like internet vigilantism either but a marathon is a hard fought achievement and these people cheated.

That aside, fair play on the numbers, I love seeing statistics :D

I think KC is right saying what he said there, its not being nice its being civilised, especially if you have an influence on other peoples opinions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 foralongtime

Big Logger wrote: »
    I think KC is right saying what he said there, its not being nice its being civilised, especially if you have an influence on other peoples opinions.

I'd love to know why they did it though. Was it an idea from the very start or did they go through with the training, realise they wouldn't be able to do it and then rather than pull out, do this. People go to all sorts of lengths to protect their pride, like that guy in the UK who got arrested for phoning in a bomb threat on his wedding day because he hadn't booked a venue!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭Big Logger

I'd love to know why they did it though. Was it an idea from the very start or did they go through with the training, realise they wouldn't be able to do it and then rather than pull out, do this. People go to all sorts of lengths to protect their pride, like that guy in the UK who got arrested for phoning in a bomb threat on his wedding day because he hadn't booked a venue!

haha, that's bloody crazy!

Yeah, id say a lot of it is to do with pride and ego, knowing their friends and family will look it up and they can claim to be this great runner.
    Its a bit extreme and you have to feel sorry for them.
    I wouldn't even bother getting annoyed about it, they won't experience the exhilaration of actually achieving an honest finish.

Big Logger wrote: »
    Its a bit extreme and you have to feel sorry for them.
    I wouldn't even bother getting annoyed about it, they won't experience the exhilaration of actually achieving an honest finish.

Exactly this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Hard Worker

I know there's a lot of posters here who volunteered all through the weekend and on Monday. Well done and thanks. Also, well done to the pacers who again did an excellent job. Can't really thank you all enough.
    The runners did the easy bit :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭runsir

Hey, could anyone tell me if these guys from http://www.sportstravelinternational.com/STI/Home.html had the stand in the expo or was it another company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

http://www.dublinmarathonexpo.com/
    lists them among the exhibitors

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,538 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Sent off a link to the charity page for the runner that died to thejournal.ie asking them to post it, they've just posted it
    Figured some good might as well come from the tragedy

http://thescore.thejournal.ie/dublin-marathon-runner-charity-donations-1154088-Oct2013/

Might be no harm trying to get any other news sources to list the link,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

There's a story in today's Irish Mirror about Gary O'Hanlon having his phone stolen at the Marathon Expo. He had his hand broken when trying to get it back, and thinks that's why he didn't break 2.20 on Monday: http://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/other-sport/athletics/dublin-marathon-phone-thieves-cost-2657662

vitani wrote: »
    There's a story in today's Irish Mirror about Gary O'Hanlon having his phone stolen at the Marathon Expo. He had his hand broken when trying to get it back, and thinks that's why he didn't break 2.20 on Monday: http://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/other-sport/athletics/dublin-marathon-phone-thieves-cost-2657662[/QUOTE]

Some going to finish where he did all considered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭Sparkles2012

runsir wrote: »
    Hey, could anyone tell me if these guys from http://www.sportstravelinternational.com/STI/Home.html had the stand in the expo or was it another company.

Yeah they were there, Boston was the only tour sold out incase you were interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭runsir

Yeah they were there, Boston was the only tour sold out incase you were interested.
    Have my Boston entry, just looking to see their travel arrangements, be good to go with a group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,663 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Condolences to the family of the man who passed away. Desperately sad. To go for a run and to not return home. Tragic!