Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Marathon 2013: Mod Note #316 NO RACE SWAPS

1161718192022»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

runsir wrote: »
    Have my Boston entry, just looking to see their travel arrangements, be good to go with a group.

Yep, I am travelling with them to Bosoton. I have my own entry too. To be honest their package works out much cheaper than i can book on my own, and they come highly recommended by a few people who travelled with them last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,334 ✭✭✭jfh

menoscemo wrote: »
    Yep, I am travelling with them to Bosoton. I have my own entry too. To be honest their package works out much cheaper than i can book on my own, and they come highly recommended by a few people who travelled with them last year.

hi meno, would love to do a US marathon, are you saying it works out cheaper to go with that tour group rather than organising flights/accomadation oneself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

jfh wrote: »
    hi meno, would love to do a US marathon, are you saying it works out cheaper to go with that tour group rather than organising flights/accomadation oneself?

I don't know about other US marathons; but in the case of Boston it seems to be the case...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭cian_r

did anyone purchase their "Airtricity Dublin Marathon personal video"? Seems like you cant preview it without actually purchasing it first. Its only 15euro but I was already going to buy the offical marathon pictures (28euro). I was just wondering if anyone bought they video and could tell me what they thought of it?

http://www.mysports.tv/events/DM13/results.asp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

cian_r wrote: »
    did anyone purchase their "Airtricity Dublin Marathon personal video"? Seems like you cant preview it without actually purchasing it first. Its only 15euro but I was already going to buy the offical marathon pictures (28euro). I was just wondering if anyone bought they video and could tell me what they thought of it?

Have you taken a look at the sample video? Your actual video will be very similar, just slower.

Hypothetically speaking, imagine if you could edit the URL for the sample video and change the year and the split times and see yourself?! Sure that'd be gas craic altogether!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

I bought it, it alright not great really. There was a post on another board suggesting you look up those who finished with you and if they have paid for their video you will be able to view your self.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭saucyjack

Bought both the vid and photos (my first and suspect last marathon). The vids good quality but in all truth unless you're running ~2.3 hours don't know how fast any of us look in a crowd :) The photos are much better though - in one it looks like I'm sprinting at mile 20 (I wasn't - it's just a lucky shot :)). To be fair though I get 16 short (30sec to 1.5m) vids (3 each at each of 10k, 13M, 20M and finish and some 'panaorama' ones. There's also what looks like a bike camera from the DCM '11 I think - the route looks different through the park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,469 ✭✭✭Shedite27

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

I was wondering who he was!

saucyjack wrote: »
    Bought both the vid and photos (my first and suspect last marathon). The vids good quality but in all truth unless you're running ~2.3 hours don't know how fast any of us look in a crowd :) The photos are much better though - in one it looks like I'm sprinting at mile 20 (I wasn't - it's just a lucky shot :)). To be fair though I get 16 short (30sec to 1.5m) vids (3 each at each of 10k, 13M, 20M and finish and some 'panaorama' ones. There's also what looks like a bike camera from the DCM '11 I think - the route looks different through the park.

Did you have to sign up for the photos before the marathon? I got an email about the photos but it just say s zero photos ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭Dilbert75

No sign up needed but your number needs to be legible at the end or they can't identify you. Mrs. D was very annoyed to be in the same situation as you - especially seeing how there were 6 photos of me!

Dilbert75 wrote: »
    No sign up needed but your number needs to be legible at the end or they can't identify you. Mrs. D was very annoyed to be in the same situation as you - especially seeing how there were 6 photos of me!

My number was fine, I must have been running that fast they couldn't capture me!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,703 ✭✭✭BrokenMan

SamforMayo wrote: »
    My number was fine, I must have been running that fast they couldn't capture me!!!!

Check the photos of people who finished with you and I'm sure you'll spot yourself.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

They have had a way previous years that you could search through the untagged photos based on what colour top you were wearing or something. You'll often find more pictures of yourself any way due to an arm getting in the way of them being able to properly tag the numbers.

That's there again. Worked well last year but Mrs. D still isn't showing up this year. I'll have to try find someone who finished at the same time as her.

Dilbert75 wrote: »
    That's there again. Worked well last year but Mrs. D still isn't showing up this year. I'll have to try find someone who finished at the same time as her.

I tried that as well so she is not alone! When I get the numbers of people who finished with me then what do I do with them?

Fire them into the webpage and see what photos they have of them. But Mrs. D tried that just tonight and found that the only photos of the people who finished at the same time as her were taken out on the course, so they weren't close at those points. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

heard a rumour that they might be bringing the course further northside next year. anybody know if any truth in that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

RedRunner wrote: »
    heard a rumour that they might be bringing the course further northside next year. anybody know if any truth in that?

Well they have to change it due to the planned Luas works on O'Connell street etc so it could be possible. Hope the finish stays as is though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭Big Logger

blockic wrote: »
    Well they have to change it due to the planned Luas works on O'Connell street etc so it could be possible. Hope the finish stays as is though!

It used to be more Northside than Southside for years, I remember it used to come down Collins Ave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭npresto

RedRunner wrote: »

I heard from someone it's starting on the northside quays near the Custom House. Just a rumour though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

Any chance they might shorten it a bit?:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭HelenAnne

Big Logger wrote: »
    It used to be more Northside than Southside for years, I remember it used to come down Collins Ave.

yes, I remember watching it in Raheny when I was a kid.

HelenAnne wrote: »
    yes, I remember watching it in Raheny when I was a kid.

Yeah, the hill there on Malahide road used to hurt the runners so I'm told, it went on for ages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,604 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Yeah, the hill there on Malahide road used to hurt the runners so I'm told, it went on for ages.

The route came down that hill though, as far as I recall. :)

murphd77 wrote: »
    The route came down that hill though, as far as I recall. :)

No it was up that hill cause then you went on to Raheny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭PVincent

It came along the Collins ave into the back end of Raheny , and went down the Howth road...don't think it ever went up the malahide road. It was only a couple of the early years when it went thro Raheny

The route was clockwise in ye olde days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,469 ✭✭✭Shedite27

Anyone have the old route map? Or remember it to do a mapmyrun of it?

Here's some good video of it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭HelenAnne

PVincent wrote: »
    It came along the Collins ave into the back end of Raheny , and went down the Howth road...don't think it ever went up the malahide road. It was only a couple of the early years when it went thro Raheny

Yes, I'm thinking of the 80s sometime.

Here's some good video of it...

That was great :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,601 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

It used to pass our house in Finglas. As I remember, it went from the Park to there and on along Collins Avenue. One of my uncles ran it twice in the early 80s.

That was great :rolleyes:

Ha ha- forgot the link. Here it is: http://www.rte.ie/archives/2013/1025/482668-1st-dublin-marathon-in-1980/

Got to love the "policing" of the start line.

Ha ha- forgot the link. Here it is: http://www.rte.ie/archives/2013/1025/482668-1st-dublin-marathon-in-1980/

Got to love the "policing" of the start line.

haha, rather them than me, they all look like maniacs at the starts
    You'd swear it was a 100m sprint.

The camera action on some woman who's clearly not wearing a bra is gas, if a camera man shot that on RTE these days he'd be sacked.

Dick Hooper looks so young there.

We'll have to get a map of the route

They had a map of the route on display at the expo in the "marathon history" booth. Maybe someone took a picture, or the race office might email it if you ask nicely. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭ergo

re 2013 DCM

lots of photos too on racepix.com - I threw up a few myself there in recent days - in case you haven't found yourself or many of yourself in the official photos