Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Golf Tips Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 913 ✭✭✭tomaussie

Good homework done for the RBC Heritage. Feeling confident and looking forward to prices already.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭MonkstownHoop

Any decent bets for the last day of The Masters?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,989 ✭✭✭Potential Underachiever

tomaussie wrote: »
    Good homework done for the RBC Heritage. Feeling confident and looking forward to prices already.

Spill the beans, don't be shy.

Any decent bets for the last day of The Masters?

Hoffman is value at 35/1.

Spill the beans, don't be shy.

I will when I get my bets on.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,320 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

First pick for Masters in Speith at 10\1.

Can't leave him out with form he is in and last years display plus he has come on few gears since then.

I have 20 names which need to be narrowed least 66% too.

Hope to have most my picks done by tomorrow.

You beauty Speith!! 2 years in a row now. Hopefully get 3 next year.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,946 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

I won back a grand total of ~£19 from £10 of bets. Ah well, a 90% profit is a 90% profit.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭skippymac6

skippymac6 wrote: »
    Outright
    Speith
    Day
    Scott
    Walker

The way I am breaking down the masters the last ten years is you need course form and you have to be a long hitter. Added to that you have to be in good form (win or multiple top 10s preferably) the current year and be in the top 20 in the world. This might be a bit of a simplified version but I think it holds a lot of water in the Masters. I do think Rory if he plays to his zenith will win but at 5/1 or 11/2 he’s a crazy price. Tiger used to be able to justify that sort of price in his heyday but I can let Rory win at 5/1 here to be honest. you’d have to be putting a nice amount on him and I’d rather just put a few bob on a couple of other lads.

I know in masters past that a few guys from left field have won but I do think that it will be one of the more established stars doing the business. All of the above players have finished in the top 10 in a previous masters, every one of them have a victory this year (except for Scott but he has 4 top 5s this year and a green jacket to his name) and are in form at the minute. Walker is coming into this off the back of a win and last year on his first attempt he came T8. Speith is the hottest golfer on the planet right now and he’s got back to back seconds in his last two events on top of a win this year. He could have won last year but for finding the drink close to home when he had Bubba rattled. All four guys drive the ball in or around 300 yards consistently and I think that will be key this year as the weather might make the course play even longer.

Fair play to Speith he was awesome. The cream rose to the top in the end with Rory, Rose and Phil playing some very good golf. Rory will be sick he didnt deliver more with the putter. Even yesterday he could have been another four shots to the good if he hit form. Murphy's law I backed Matsuyama in all four majors last year and deserted him this year. He was brilliant in the final round yesterday and I wouldn't be surprised to see him go close in the other three majors before the year is out.

• Registered Users Posts: 17 seanog_athlone

had Poulter among one of my bets at 100/1e/w but got nicely screwed due to the fact he was jointed 6th, always drives ya mad when that happens in the golf oh well something is better than nothing

• Registered Users Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

YayaBanana wrote: »
    Spieth, Reed, Garcia, Sang Moon Bae, Casey and Lahiri.

Good luck everyone.

PP made a boo-boo and paid the full return on Casey, I withdrew everything last night, checked my account this morning and it's - €35. Last time I'll be using that account so. Had stopped using them anyways but I was abroad when placing my bets so I couldn't access my SJ account. I saw a few people online last night with the same problem happening.

Congrats to all the Spieth backers, the most obvious pick we will have all season.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭qwabercd

PP made a boo-boo and paid the full return on Casey, I withdrew everything last night, checked my account this morning and it's - €35. Last time I'll be using that account so. Had stopped using them anyways but I was abroad when placing my bets so I couldn't access my SJ account. I saw a few people online last night with the same problem happening.

Congrats to all the Spieth backers, the most obvious pick we will have all season.

Same happened me on the Casey payout but they corrected for it before I took it out.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

As a goodwill gesture they have returned my account to €0 and accepted my full withdrawal. Happy days. I'll still only use them as a last resort.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭abarkie

had Poulter among one of my bets at 100/1e/w but got nicely screwed due to the fact he was jointed 6th, always drives ya mad when that happens in the golf oh well something is better than nothing

Betfair sportsbook went 1st 7

80/1 I backed him for a friend

As a goodwill gesture they have returned my account to €0 and accepted my full withdrawal. Happy days. I'll still only use them as a last resort.

Happy days there. Think they did the right thibg . not your fault

I'm looking at Jaco Van Zyl to record his first European Tour victory this week. 25/1 is a decent price for a guy who has been close. Hoping this is the week !

I'm giving Luke Donald a shot at 33's in America. Course record is awesome and he could come right back to form here. Only missed the cut at Augusta by a shot.

My saver is on Zach.

• Registered Users Posts: 325 ✭✭MUFC91CS

The willingness to put in any amount of decent research is down this week. Gone with win only bets on Johnson and Furyk in the Heritage and Yeon Ryu in the Lotte.

GL all

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭Trouble in P

Bubba playing in the Shenzhen International (China) this week, that might be a tip in itself if he can play anywhere near his best. Without a detailed look, I also think he is the only player to have played in the Masters. 7/1 general price might not last

Only going in small this week.

Reed 25\1ew
    Henely 40/1 ew
    Knox 60\1 ew
    Berger 80/1 ew

FRL Luke Donald 40\1, Perez 66\1, Brian Davis 125\1.ew all 3

• Registered Users Posts: 573 ✭✭✭m1ck007

Poulter ew and bubba reed ew double.

• Registered Users Posts: 325 ✭✭MUFC91CS

MUFC91CS wrote: »
    The willingness to put in any amount of decent research is down this week. Gone with win only bets on Johnson and Furyk in the Heritage and Yeon Ryu in the Lotte.

GL all

Won a bit on the football last night so added Kevin Streelman ew. Coming off a good week last week and has decent course form the last few years with the exception of 2014.

Also backed Kevin Phelan ew and a win double of Jimenez and Inbee Park for added interest.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭superfurry1

Levy,Quiros,Dyson and Hoey in China.
    Boo and Cink in Amerikay.

One winner please.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭Thepoet85

I'm on Bubba this weekend too. Couple of short par 5 's and a few par 4's under 400 yards. If he drives well he could be worth it. Only got 13/2 on him but doing him for the win only.

Henley,Furyk & Snedeker Win Only

Weekley, Hadley,Villegas, Baddeley E.W Top 5.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,750 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

All over bubba this week and if he is even 75% right he walks this event The only thing that can beat him this week is a masters hangover but I imagine he is glad to have the hustle and bustle of being reigning champion over with. I had him at about a 4/1 shot for this event.

America is lot more difficult. I have gone for.
    snedeker
    Simpson
    Perez
    Kirk

Perez frl also

• Registered Users Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭bobwilliams

Matt every 80/1
    Knox 66/1
    Heard 200/1
    Stuard 175/1

• Registered Users Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭bobwilliams

Just added Bubba as he's still 6/1, no real winners up there so I think it's a great price

Very late posting this week

Kuchar & Reed in Heritage

Grillo & Bourdy in Shenzen

Bet on Wednesday

Bit gutted after watching Mickelson go close (Would never have backed Speith - just didn't / couldn't see it)

Had planned to have 2 in the Masters - went off Mickelson and thought Scott and Kuchar and as no Euro event was going to double with Many Clouds (who I backed for the National before the Gold Cup) & Al Co

But I didnt and I am rambling and some may say after timing, so will move on

Good luck all as ever

abarkie wrote: »

Bet on Wednesday

Bit gutted after watching Mickelson go close (Would never have backed Speith - just didn't / couldn't see it)

Had planned to have 2 in the Masters - went off Mickelson and thought Scott and Kuchar and as no Euro event was going to double with Many Clouds (who I backed for the National before the Gold Cup) & Al Co

But I didnt and I am rambling and some may say after timing, so will move on

Good luck all as ever

Don't worry about aftertiming, I'm gonna do some myself.... I backed Reed and DeLaet today pre round, it worked out well enough as they both managed to miss the cut!:( It's all shoulda woulda coulda but if I had any cop on I'd have took Spieth at 40/1!

abarkie wrote: »

Bet on Wednesday

Typical :mad::mad:

Grillo drops a place on 18th after gaining one n 17th and out of the places! :mad::mad:

Onto next week!

Henley,Furyk & Snedeker Win Only

Weekley, Hadley,Villegas, Baddeley E.W Top 5.

That'll dink dank do for me!

render_definition.php?defid=365865