Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Need to improve english!

• 06-03-2013 11:20pm
    Registered Users Posts: 10

I feeo lost when it comes to english right now. I studied quite a bit for english and i felt like i achieved quite an indepth analysis in my essays in the exam. Placing in quotes that she has marked as too long, so its not a case of not knowing the material. I got 58% in my mocks and i really feel i can get higher, but im lost in how i can improve. When i ask her, i only get vague generic responses. So im just looking for any useful tips to improve my english essays.

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 835 ✭✭✭kingcobra

Maybe improving your vocabulary could help? Get yourself a thesaurus (or thesaurus.com and so whenever you come across a word you feel like you could elaborate on, such as "excellent," whip out the thesaurus and it'll give you words like "exemplary," "exquisite," "superlative" or "incomparable" and this makes your essays more noticeable and descriptive, even by just changing one word. Don't overdo it by filling your essays with tonnes of complicated words but a few interesting words per paragraph would do just nicely. However DO NOT forget who you are addressing so keep your language direct, relevant and straight to the point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 676 ✭✭✭chocolatechips

Do not take all of your mocks point to heart, especially with subjects like English! It really depends on the examiner. I got around 50% in my English mocks, did no more work than pay attention in class from then up to the LC, got an A1 in the actual thing.