Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Three less scumbags roaming tonight.

• 06-03-2013 11:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭

Today, brother noticed a young guy hopping a side wall of an elderly couple's home. He drove in the driveway and three of them were trying to break through the back door. They fled through some fields at the back.
    A few phonecalls later( neighbour watch is wonderful) , me and 2 friends noticed them running through the fields behind my workshop and we gave chase , catching one of them and as we pinned the little **** to the ground we were able to direct the gardai ( who were incredibly fast arriving) by phone which way the other 2 scumbags were heading. A large crowd had now gathered, (some armed ) and the 2 scumbags were very relieved the gardai got them first.

I have to say the gardai were superb, full credit to them in every way.:cool:
    Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Fair play. A good news story on AH for a change. No-one got hurt and the scumbags were caught.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭JohnMarston

Good stuff :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,340 ✭✭✭Please Kill Me

Nice one, fair play man.

• Registered Users Posts: 986 ✭✭✭joe stodge

Did ya hit him a few slaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

No officer he totally like fell under my boot, then he tried to headbutt my fist, strange man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭JazzyJ

Have they been let back out on the streets yet? :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,641 ✭✭✭Hardonraging

Few nasty bruises and bump's on them I'm sure, from all them fences and bushes they ran through Garda ...

• Registered Users Posts: 71 ✭✭rocoso

hope ya did

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,225 ✭✭✭Yitzhak Rabin

Good on you Rush. Fair play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Good job man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭mosstin

galwayrush wrote: »
    Today, brother noticed a young guy hopping a side wall of an elderly couple's home. He drove in the driveway and three of them were trying to break through the back door. They fled through some fields at the back.
    A few phonecalls later( neighbour watch is wonderful) , me and 2 friends noticed them running through the fields behind my workshop and we gave chase , catching one of them and as we pinned the little **** to the ground we were able to direct the gardai ( who were incredibly fast arriving) by phone which way the other 2 scumbags were heading. A large crowd had now gathered, (some armed ) and the 2 scumbags were very relieved the gardai got them first.

Hard to reconcile this claim from what you've told in your story there. Surely the credit goes to you and your mates. Other than escort them away, sounds like they did bugger all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

OP you need to get onto that elderly couple and explain what you did

Try get some money out of them, like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Some sort of hat-trick I like :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭Ruudi_Mentari

I have to say the gardai were superb, full
    credit to them in every way.:cool:

how modest! good man yerself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 724 ✭✭✭Flibbles

Shame the Gardai got there first, they won't learn a damn thing and won't be punished in the slightest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Dwork

"Jasus Gard, Whacker kicked the ball over some wall, I was going in to get it and next thing some gang of lads were kicking the shyte out of us. I have injuries. Unbelievable it was. I'm going to sue Gard, so I am, sue I tell ya".

"Don't you worry Jegser, there's a great Solicitor on his way. More Tea?"

Welcome to Ireland, c.a. 2013.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

( neighbour watch is wonderful) , me and 2 friends noticed them running through the fields behind my workshop and we gave chase , catching one of them and as we pinned the little **** to the ground we were able to direct the gardai ( who were incredibly fast arriving) by phone which way the other 2 scumbags were heading. A large crowd had now gathered, (some armed ) and the 2 scumbags were very relieved the gardai got them first.

mosstin wrote: »
    Hard to reconcile this claim from what you've told in your story there. Surely the credit goes to you and your mates. Other than escort them away, sounds like they did bugger all.

There. I have reconciled it for you.

Escorting them back to the station and having to deal with the scumbags back there is not "bugger all".

Jesus fucking Christ, any excuse to bash the gardai in a thread praising them.

"Sorry OP, even though you were there and I wasn't, I am still more informed than you".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Trying to rob an elderly couple? Brave men indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭mosstin

keith16 wrote: »
    There. I have reconciled it for you.

Escorting them back to the station and having to deal with the scumbags back there is not "bugger all".

Jesus fucking Christ, any excuse to bash the gardai in a thread praising them.

"Sorry OP, even though you were there and I wasn't, I am still more informed than you".

Simply making the point that they were responding to a call from a responsible citizen and that the praise should rightfully go to the OP. Chill out there Chief Inspector.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭Thunderbird2

Definitely wasn't the Newbridge Garda anyway .....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 829 ✭✭✭xLexie

The gardai do a great job! Definitely not an easy job. Fair play OP :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Dwork wrote: »
    "Jasus Gard, Whacker kicked the ball over some wall, I was going in to get it and next thing some gang of lads were kicking the shyte out of us. I have injuries. Unbelievable it was. I'm going to sue Gard, so I am, sue I tell ya".

"Don't you worry Jegser, there's a great Solicitor on his way. More Tea?"

Welcome to Ireland, c.a. 2013.

Are you saying that's what actually happened or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Weathering

It won't be made in to a blockbuster

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

mosstin wrote: »

Simply making the point that they were responding to a call from a responsible citizen and that the praise should rightfully go to the OP. Chill out there Chief Inspector.

So which is it is then? Did they respond to the call or did they do bugger all?

Yes credit should go to the OP, but not the gardai?

What's with name calling by the way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,702 ✭✭✭flutered

this country needs more people like the op and his mate, the usual thing here is to look the other way, a medal should be awarded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭RosyLily

First thought reading the thread title- "Ooooh murder!":o

Must stop watching copious amounts of the Crime & Investigation channel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭islanderre

Did this happen in the corofin / turloughmore area???????? noticed a high speed unmarked Garda car speeding through the area about half one this afternoon....
    Well done OP..... nice to see justice......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭slavetothegrind

well done op. well done.

dont be surprised to see the cnuts walk though, but doubt they'll be back your way!

you did right not to do what we all want to do to such little cnuts!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭space_man

shame the Gaurds apprehended them so soon.
    about time some of these little knackers got a good beating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

islanderre wrote: »
    Did this happen in the corofin / turloughmore area???????? noticed a high speed unmarked Garda car speeding through the area about half one this afternoon....
    Well done OP..... nice to see justice......

Lackaghmore to be exact, it's between Lackagh and Turloughmore village....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭HTML5!

Well done on your part though OP. You did the right thing. Part of me wishes these knackers got a serious beating though.

Pity they'll be let out tomorrow, a court appearance in a couple of months, off on a suspended 4 hour sentence and allowed break the law while possibly terrorising innocent elderly people another 20 times before they get any sort of punishment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭space_man

personally i think i'ld lose it if i caught some little scumbag in those circumstances.

"I'll be back on the street in 24 hours!"
    "We'll try to make it 12."

• Registered Users Posts: 1,823 ✭✭✭Horsefumbler

They're not gonna get locked up for that. You should have called the cops. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,116 ✭✭✭Mech1

one "bad guy" shot in meath today, four arrested, all goes well we are 5 "bad guys" less on the streets, keep it up, i'm loving it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭islanderre

Cheers Galwayrush,
    That explains the Garda presence in the area this afternoon..... was at the sisters house when I heard and seen the unmarked squad car speed up the side road across from the wood factory place @ annagh hill..

Well done in any case....... hope they accidentally received a few slaps by accident.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

why can't the Galway Gardai do that good a job during Rag Week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,495 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Fair play to ya Rush, would love to have been in that position myself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

Lackaghmore to be exact, it's between Lackagh and Turloughmore village....
    I know it well.

I'm proud to say we hunted down a few ne'er-do-wells in a van a few years ago just beyond Cashla and introduced them to the business ends of the camogie team's hurleys ("Sure they were in the boot Guard, the young wans have a match tomorrow").

Well done OP, community policing at its very best.

• Registered Users Posts: 6 Joy1

Well done! You and your neighbours have officially begun restoring my faith in humanity. My neighbours are more concerned with dog poop on the sidewalks than forming a neighbourhood crime watch. Would you and your neighbours consider exchanging jobs and homes with my family? Just for a decade or so? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

Well OP !!!! I would have given them a few sly kicks and punches .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

Am I the only one who actually liked the fact that the OP didn't mention any kind of violence?
    I get that we all have the idea of giving a few punches to some scumbag but I like the way it happened with the OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Cheers Galwayrush,
    That explains the Garda presence in the area this afternoon..... was at the sisters house when I heard and seen the unmarked squad car speed up the side road across from the wood factory place @ annagh hill..

mm..2 near the scene of the crime

Out already lads, Who's yer friend? :pac:

Boombastic wrote: »
    mm..2 near the scene of the crime

Out already lads, Who's yer friend? :pac:

So much for the OP "directing the guards". OP is probably in on the whole thing, leading the gardaí away from the two scummers in the tread. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭FoxyVixen

Why can't positive news like this be reported on RTE instead of informing us of all the negatives in the world!! Amount of terrible deaths on earlier was depressing. This kinda thing would actually help re-store the faith in people if only for a few minutes before carrying on with their daily lives.

Well done OP and to the community effort put in. Gardai did well getting there so quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

Well done Op. Just thinking. Is the station at LoughGeorge still manned? Would explain their speedy arrival at the scene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,652 ✭✭✭fasttalkerchat

FoxyVixen wrote: »
    Why can't positive news like this be reported on RTE instead of informing us of all the negatives in the world!! Amount of terrible deaths on earlier was depressing. This kinda thing would actually help re-store the faith in people if only for a few minutes before carrying on with their daily lives.

Well done OP and to the community effort put in. Gardai did well getting there so quick.

They can't because it encourages vigilante action.
    You only hear that people take on criminality and protect their communities when there has been violence used and even then they don't mention the exact crime and circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Am I the only one who actually liked the fact that the OP didn't mention any kind of violence?
    I get that we all have the idea of giving a few punches to some scumbag but I like the way it happened with the OP.
    Ah come on now, you dont seriously believe that these lads werent bate around a bit by the townsfolk, do ye?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

In other news my spidey senses were tingling earlier and I noticed a burning building in the distance so I put on the suit and was off
    120 people , 7 dogs , 13 cats and a pot bellied pig named potsy all saved because of me
    Bit tired now after all that so off to me web

Ah come on now, you dont seriously believe that these lads werent bate around a bit by the townsfolk, do ye?

Well he didn't say it so I assume nothing happened.