Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Happy International Women's Day

• 08-03-2013 12:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Spoilt rotten? Do people get gifts and cards for International Women's Day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

its mothers day on sunday too, women are bleedin' spoiled this week :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭softy2012

Political correct bullshít

Womens day ??? F*ck off - if there was a Mens day there would be outrage ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

Thanks for everything ladies, it's great to share this life with ye, carpe diem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

softy2012 wrote: »

There is a men's day. The world continues to turn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Anyone

Relax, we have the other 364 days :P

• Registered Users Posts: 793 ✭✭✭jaja321

There is an International Men's Day on November 19 - outrage anyone? No.. didn't think so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

There is a men's day. The world continues to turn.
    Yup. On 19th November - and there isn't outrage over it. Sorry Softy.

I think the point of this day is to remember that women in a lot of societies around the world are still treated abominably (I know... nowhere near as badly as white, hetero, western, middle-class men :( but still pretty woefully), I wouldn't agree with just a celebration of women in general - I think that's a pretty divisive thing to do. Women are just people, it's not an achievement just to be a woman. It is definitely worth focusing though on what horrors women still face in many places, simply for being female.

But actually, no, feck that women face rape and torture and death and marginalisation simply for being women in many societies - that's just political correct (sic) bullsh1t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,104 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Yawn

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Meh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭hooradiation

There is and there wasn't.
    Shut up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Why is there an assumption that it should involve giving gifts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭hooradiation

humbert wrote: »
    Why is there an assumption that it should involve giving gifts?

Because who doesn't love gifts?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭johnny_knoxvile

word of warning to the men of AH,
    don't be sexist...b!tches hate that sh!t!

sorry I couldn't help myself.

• Registered Users Posts: 397 ✭✭whitewave

Is men's day not March 14th, steak and blowjob day?

Phoenix wrote: »
    Flowers etc are traditional in Russia etc a simple acknowledgement i think is what matters,gifts are nice of course
    So it's not about raising awareness of inequality or of women's achievements throughout history but instead getting the little lady some flowers. Womenfolk like flowers, and what's the point of a celebration if you can't commercialise it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

Completely overlooked this day,thanks AH, Going to go all out tonight and make the queen her favourite meal, Lord knows,she deserves it,great support in good times and bad.

And just to give a little consideration to all the females across the globe whose suffering derives from having xx chromesomes at birth, may tomorrow be kinder to you all.

Peace & Love

You are twisting my words.Of course there are important issues that this day helps raise.
    That's not my intention. I just feel that in Ireland (along with many other countries, I suspect) the day is really just another Hallmark gift giving day which is appealing to the women on the receiving end of the gifts and to corporate retail who promote the event as such but trivialises the day and what may have been its original purpose (I admit I'm guessing here).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

There will be Tay.

I'm throwing a little party this evening to celebrate today, everyone welcome. Girls ye might make a few sandwiches, good on ye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Let's hope our ladies can make it a really happy International Women's Day this evening and beat France in the rugby :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

Another commercial holiday to scam people into spending more money!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Jaysus, the ignorance is strong with this one!

International woman's day is huge all over the world. Ireland is the only country I know which completely ignores it. I just came back with flowers for misses shadowhearth. After she comes back home from work, there will be dinner ready and some flowers for her too.

And yes, with "woman day" you all lovely boards.ie woman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

Raf32 wrote: »
    It is? Thought it was an awareness initiative?

Where's this "commercial" notion coming from? Never in my life heard of gifts being given to mark this day, nor have I ever seen greeting cards for it.

I'd find it corny to be rewarded with gifts for being a woman on International Women's Day tbh - that's not what the day is about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

To all women on Boards,Happy Womens Day,hope ye all get spoilt rotten :)

Ye had your Valentine's Day last month. F*ck off and stop milking us for presents.

On a serious note though; women are often treated like sh*t in many parts of the world. In some countries they are forbidden to vote, to take part in juries or to drive. Sometimes they are forced into marriages or forced to give up paid work once married. Sometimes women are made to suffer forcible genital mutilation. Sometimes they are gang-raped and murdered e.g. Mexico and India. Even in wealthy countries women face many more barriers in the workplace on issues such as maternity or pay.

For Christ's sake, it was only a few months back when a woman died because doctors legally weren't able to abort a miscarriaging foetus.

Having a day to acknowledge that these issues exist is a good thing. In fact, we should be highlighting this all of the time.

People who know that the above is a daily reality for millions of women worldwide but can still decry a day as "PC bullsh*t" need a tall glass of grow the f*ck up to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Raf32 wrote: »

Yeah, fecking Tescos with their International Wimins Day decorations up since Christmas Eve.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

I hear this is big in Saudi Arabia

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Madam_X wrote: »
    Yup. On 19th November - and there isn't outrage over it. Sorry Softy.

I think the point of this day is to remember that women in a lot of societies around the world are still treated abominably (I know... nowhere near as badly as white, hetero, western, middle-class men :( but still pretty woefully), I wouldn't agree with just a celebration of women in general - I think that's a pretty divisive thing to do. Women are just people, it's not an achievement just to be a woman. It is definitely worth focusing though on what horrors women still face in many places, simply for being female.

But actually, no, feck that women face rape and torture and death and marginalisation simply for being women in many societies - that's just political correct (sic) bullsh1t.

And this is what today is about for me: remembering women around the world who aren't so lucky and feeling grateful that I wasn't born elsewhere.

I'm not expecting gifts, not using it as an excuse to rant about men, not as a day for feeling proud for simply being born a woman or any of that. It's just one day of the year to remember those millions of women globally who are treated worse than the dogs in the street in these supposed modern and progressive times for simply being born female.

This, more than anything, is a human rights issue. These shocking stories are reported in the papers all the time and it's appalling and tragic this is still going on in this day and age. If you refuse to see the wood for the trees and acknowledge what is happening just because women are the victims and you associate any call for women's rights with extremist feminism, then I ask you kindly to just suck it up and zip it for 24 bleedin' hours so we can get on with it. Go out for a walk or something. It won't have any direct impact on you, so what is the big deal?

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Madam_X wrote: »
    It is? Thought it was an awareness initiative?

Where's this "commercial" notion coming from? Never in my life heard of gifts being given to mark this day, nor have I ever seen greeting cards for it.

I'd find it corny to be rewarded with gifts for being a woman on International Women's Day tbh - that's not what the day is about.

Chalk it down. Today should be about politics and debate, not buying your old doll flowers. All that sort of nonsense detracts from the significance of the day; there's enough twee commercial sh*te in the form of Valentine's Day without diluting other events.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

To all women on Boards,Happy Womens Day,hope ye all get spoilt rotten :)

Thank you Phoenix! I don't think most of us need to be spoilt rotten though, we are in general lucky enough in the Western world. Today is a day to raise the profile of women who don't have the rights and opportunities that we do in countries where they are still treated as less than second class citizens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Meh!

No one celebrated Giant Panda Day on 9th November :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Meh!

I did! I rubbed all the bellies :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭Luap

Happy Mens day for the other 364!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Or as its known in the Middle East, Friday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

All of these "days" and "worldwide awareness" days are ruining my twitter feed.

However as 50% or more of the planet are women I will let this day slide.
    While I'm in a good mood, I suggest we let them vote now, and drive cars too.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Saudi Arabia, where women still cannot vote.
    That's what this day is about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Beruthiel wrote: »
    Saudi Arabia, where women still cannot vote.
    That's what this day is about.

Explains the awful menu options in the work canteen today so. Much prefer the 4th of July, and Chinese NewYear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

I was inspired to look up this speech by Joss Whedon (creator of Buffy and many other awesome female characters) where he talks about inequality and people's difficulty with wrapping their heads around the fact that he likes to create "strong female characters". I think it's a nice speech, for the day that's in it.

"Why do you write strong female characters?"
    "Because you're still asking me that question."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

Boooo... down with equality.

More oppression for all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

I was inspired to look up this speech by Joss Whedon (creator of Buffy and many other awesome female Women characters) where he talks about inequality and people's difficulty with wrapping their heads around the fact that he likes to create "strong female Women characters". I think it's a nice speech, for the day that's in it.

"Why do you write strong female Women characters?"
    "Because you're still asking me that question."

Strong Women character not female.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Weathering

Ugh wat a load of bull

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,633 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

It's kind of incredible that half the population of the planet, half of most households were only truly emancipated in the last couple of decades out of recorded history as they get the same rights as the other half of the world's population have taken as their right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Meh!

Usama bin Laden did...

*gets coat*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

A woman goes to the Doctor, worried about her husband's temper.

The Doctor asks: "What's the problem?
    The woman says: "Doctor, I don't know what to do. Every day my husband seems to lose his temper for no reason. It scares me."
    The Doctor says: "I have a cure for that. When it seems that your husband is getting angry, just take a glass of water and start swishing it in your mouth. Just swish and swish but don't swallow it until he either leaves the room or goes to bed and is asleep."
    ... Two weeks later the woman comes back to the doctor looking fresh and reborn.

The woman says: "Doctor, that was a brilliant idea! Every time my husband started losing it, I swished with water. I swished and swished, and he calmed right down! How does a glass of water do that?"

The Doctor says: "The water itself does nothing. It's keeping your mouth shut that does the trick...."

Morag wrote: »
    Strong Women character not female.
    Just in case we miss that they are human females?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Can't wait for March 14th!