Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Happy International Women's Day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Gbear wrote: »
    Boooo... down with equality.

More oppression for all.

....its all well and good abolishing oppression, but what alternative careers are the do-gooders offering to those in the oppression trade?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 683 ✭✭✭starlings

smash wrote: »
    Can't wait for March 14th!

yay, another fan of π!

:P

smash wrote: »
    Can't wait for March 14th!

??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,045 ✭✭✭Hilly Bill

Jaysus, the ignorance is strong with this one!

International woman's day is huge all over the world. Ireland is the only country I know which completely ignores it. I just came back with flowers for misses shadowhearth. After she comes back home from work, there will be dinner ready and some flowers for her too.

And yes, with "woman day" you all lovely boards.ie woman.

Do you need these made up days to buy your misses flowers and make the dinner?

Who actually decides on these pointless days?

Meh!

No one celebrated Giant Panda Day on 9th November :mad:

I did. I bought a skip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭clairefontaine

Hilly Bill wrote: »

This one was started by some socialists a long time ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭PandaX9

Ah some of you have no sentimentality!

It's nice to wake up with a nice small bouquet on your bedside tablet with a note simply stating "thank you for all you've done". It's a big thing for Russians, I've been bombarded by phonecalls from even the most obscure relatives. In Russia anyway, it's the thought that counts.

a non material gift I got today was a big hug and the ps3 controllers being fully charged for once!

And pretty much anything will suffice, there's no need to go out and blow money on a gift or giant bouquet for someone, a small handwritten note or thoughtful phone call will do

Its gone a bit too silly nowdays. The churches have their saints days all through the year and the rest have pointless days like valentines, this womans day thing, pancake day, no smoking day, Monday and Arthur and Paddy days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭Madam_X

Meh, there's only three hours of it left. When midnight strikes, those who claim this is a pointless day and "political correct" bullsh1t and a load of bull can go back to ignoring what is faced by many women around the world and has been clearly highlighted here... just like we should ignore the former.

Madam_X wrote: »
    Meh, there's only three hours of it left. When midnight strikes, those who claim this is a pointless day and "political correct" bullsh1t and a load of bull can go back to ignoring what is faced by many women around the world and has been clearly highlighted here... just like we should ignore them.

So you just think about it on this day every year then do you?

Its gone a bit too silly nowdays. The churches have their saints days all through the year and the rest have pointless days like valentines, this womans day thing, pancake day, no smoking day, Monday and Arthur and Paddy days.

when is nowaday? Have I missed it? :eek:

starlings wrote: »
    when is nowaday? Have I missed it? :eek:

It was yesterday.

Why does this day bother you....?

So you just think about it on this day every year then do you?
    Yeh, only this day. Never think about it for even a second outside of today, even when I read about it.
    Nodin wrote: »
    Sigh. Nodin, can't you read?! He already said it's because highlighting e.g. treatment of women by the Taliban, is pointless like pancake Tuesday. Sheesh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

Feck i forgot that was today, so is this the womens equivelent to steak and bj day next week then? ;):D

candy-gal1 wrote: »
    Feck i forgot that was today, so is this the womens equivelent to steak and bj day next week then? ;):D

Yep. Vino and Belgian Choclate night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

candy-gal1 wrote: »

Yes. Malteasers and massage day

It doesnt i just think these type of days are pointless especially when some women expect their fellas to make a fuss of them because of it.

Yes. Malteasers Mikado biscuits and massage day

they're scandalous!

It doesnt i just think these type of days are pointless especially when some women expect their fellas to make a fuss of them because of it.
    Never heard of any woman expecting her fella to make a fuss out of her because of it. Maybe it happens abroad, but sure as hell doesn't happen in Ireland - and I wouldn't agree with it either; it's not about pampering etc at all. On this thread, there seems to be a mix-up between today and Valentine's Day.
    Do you see International Men's Day as pointless?

Sigh. Nodin, can't you read?! He already said it's because highlighting e.g. treatment of women by the Taliban, is pointless like pancake Tuesday. Sheesh!

Did i????

Never heard of any woman expecting her fella to make a fuss out of her because of it. Maybe it happens abroad, but sure as hell doesn't happen in Ireland - and I wouldn't agree with it either; it's not about pampering etc at all. On this thread, there seems to be a mix-up between today and Valentine's Day.
    Do you see International Men's Day as pointless?

Yes.

It's almost entirely ignored in this country, and not for any good reason.

.....allow me.
    International Women's Day (IWD), originally called International Working Women's Day, is marked on March 8 every year.[1] In different regions the focus of the celebrations ranges from general celebration of respect, appreciation and love towards women to a celebration for women's economic, political and social achievements. Started as a Socialist political event, the holiday blended in the culture of many countries, primarily Eastern Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet bloc. In some regions, the day lost its political flavor, and became simply an occasion for men to express their love for women in a way somewhat similar to a mixture of Mother's Day and Valentine's Day. In other regions, however, the political and human rights theme designated by the United Nations runs strong, and political and social awareness of the struggles of women worldwide are brought out and examined in a hopeful manner.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/International_Women's_Day

I have no problem with any of the above. Do you?

Yes.
    Well that's fair enough. You did include pancake day though on the post where you listed what you view as pointless celebration/awareness days. Fair enough that you don't see the point in designating days to certain issues and so on (I do get where you're coming from in one sense - one specific day doesn't seem enough, but I accept it for what it is) however pancakes compared with women's experiences in many societies outside the West... is a bit of a dubious one. :pac:

It's almost entirely ignored in this country, and not for any good reason.

.....allow me.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/International_Women's_Day

I have no problem with any of the above. Do you?

Already answered that one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

Until fairly recently, my birthday was MY birthday. Now I have to share it with Wimmins Day. Happy Birthday dear Oldyouth, happy birthday to you. :(

Well that's fair enough. You did include pancake day though on the post where you listed what you view as pointless celebration/awareness days. Fair enough that you don't see the point in designating days to certain issues and so on (I do get where you're coming from in one sense - one specific day doesn't seem enough, but I accept it for what it is) however pancakes compared with women's experiences in many societies outside the West... is a bit of a dubious one. :pac:

You can add xmas day to that list as well. Designating a day to a cause that is already well known wont make a difference to any suffering that may be experienced by any women in this world. If its that big of a deal then why just assign the one day? Its like valentines or Hallmark day , i dont need a day to be set aside so that i can tell the wife that i love her. If i was concerned about women issues then i would be concerned all year round and not just on one day that some political correct looney decided was the day .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

^ ^ ^
    Yeah. Mondays. What's the point?

oldyouth wrote: »
    Until fairly recently, my birthday was MY birthday. Now I have to share it with Wimmins Day. Happy Birthday dear Oldyouth, happy birthday to you. :(
    Aw... :(

Here: /puts on Monroe-esque singing voice

"Happy birthday to you... Happy birthday to you... Happy birthday Mr President Oldyouth... Happy birthday to you." ;)

Mildly NSFW

oldyouth wrote: »
    It is also highly likely you share your birthday with millions of people born on em... your birthday. It's worse than.. I don't know what's worse.. Poor you.
    :P

Johro wrote: »
    ^ ^ ^
    Yeah. Mondays. What's the point?

It should be done away with along with tuesday and wednesday. People would be happy starting work on thursday knowing the weekend is near :)

Tuesday's worse than Monday IMO. That's when the horrors properly catch up. :mad:

It should be done away with along with tuesday and wednesday. People would be happy starting work on thursday knowing the weekend is near :)
    Can't argue with that.

Tuesday's worse than Monday IMO. That's when the horrors properly catch up. :mad:
    Fair enough, it's true.

I'm having a non confrontational day.

Non confrontational day should be enshrined in the constitution, before being adopted worldwide, growing into non confrontational week.
    It won't last though. Someone will make you want to punch someone, sometime.

Johro wrote: »
    I'm having a non confrontational day.
    Boozing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

im sorry but i saw my wife push out our 2 children . she can have as many womens days as she likes. :0)

Boozing?
    No, sober. Only just logged in, give it time.

im sorry but i saw my wife push out our 2 children . she can have as many womens days as she likes. :0)

Did you stay at the safe end, or go full natal down the other...?

I'm putting my money on full natal with a camcorder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Happy annivbirthvalentin... Women's Day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

Did you stay at the safe end, or go full natal down the other...?

LOL feck me lads are ye crazy, i stayed well behind the blanket. ive heard of people who never (NEVER) got over that **** .

That's it. I'm pissed now..:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Ah if it was so bad ye wouldn't have bothered doing it a second time :pac:

LOL feck me lads are ye crazy, i stayed well behind the blanket. ive heard of people who never (NEVER) got over that **** .

So have I, hence the question. Personally, I wouldn't go in at all, at all. My brain would likely revert to its basic commands...."Woman in Pain!!! Must Hit Someone...thing!!!!".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

"Happy birthday to you... Happy birthday to you... Happy birthday Mr President Oldyouth... Happy birthday to you." ;)

Mildly NSFW

If I worked in a cake factory with Heidi Klum in my wedding cakes then it wouldn't be NSFW.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

Why did they decide to have it so close to Mothers Day? They should have it in April and make it a bank holiday.

Daveysil15 wrote: »
    Why did they decide to have it so close to Mothers Day? They should have it in April and make it a bank holiday.

They could just make it a bank holiday as is. Doubtless some goon will complain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭ashers222

Daveysil15 wrote: »
    not all women are mothers maybe?